Maui to Lanai Ferry (from Lahaina Harbor) reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Maui to Lanai Ferry (from Lahaina Harbor)

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

56 reviews
Post a review

Great ferry ride with lots of whales!

Reviewed by: Andrea , 2020/03/14

We had a great ferry ride to Lanai’i and a fun day on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great trip

Reviewed by: jade, 2020/02/29

we had a great trip to Lanai. There were whales jumping on the way over and the beach was beautiful. one day is not enough time to see everything. one should rent a car or get a shuttle up to town to get to see more than just the ferry harbor and the beach.

  • fishermen's trail

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go To Lana’i!!!

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2020/02/27

The ferry ride to Lana’i was amazing! It was a smooth sailing with a professional crew. Ship was clean, comfortable, and safe. We sat on the upper deck and received several salt water showers which was fun! A bonus was seeing the whales spouting, blowing and playing in the channel! This was a special trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Trip Between Lahaina & Lanai

Reviewed by: MauiBound!, 2020/02/23

The ferry made our overnight trip to Lanai so easy. The boat itself seemed to be well-maintained and clean. It was not overly crowded and was very punctual. I think the price is reasonable considering the service provided.
A side note: We saw more whales on our trips to and from Lanai than we have on any whale watch we have ever taken!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fast Ferry

Reviewed by: Joyce, 2020/02/07

Saw lots of whales we had beautiful weather. Lanai City is a cute little town. Blue Ginger was a great place for lunch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whales!

Reviewed by: Carolyn B, 2020/01/31

We were lucky to see numerous whales on our trip to Lanai. We took this trip LY to snorkel at Hulopo'e Beach (which is a short walk from the marina) and had such a great time we decided to repeat the experience. It's a pretty straight forward trip - just be sure to buy your ticket a day ahead and arrive at least 30 minutes before so you can get in line to snag a good seat if you want to whale watch (in season).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip, excellent customer service

Reviewed by: Kody from Oahu , 2020/01/07

There were 6 of us who decided to take the trip for the day to walk from Manele harbor to the beach for snorkeling and fun in the sun. A few people in our party were late to the dock and staff was able to change our tickets to a later ferry at no charge. Was easy to walk to the beach 5 minute walk and we saw tons of fish and had tons of room on a beautiful beach. Saw whales, dolphins, turtles, and flying fish on the ferry ride. Everyone had a blast!

  • Manele Harbor

  • Beach

  • Lahaina docks

  • Beach campground, showers, picnic tables, and bbq grills

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry to Lana’i

Reviewed by: Captain Dave , 2019/12/07

Great trip! Nice cruising both ways. Took the 0900 ferry, had lunch at the Four Seasons, then caught the 1400 ferry back to Lahaina. We even had some whale sightings! Very nice. Have done this before, will do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day trip

Reviewed by: Casper, 2019/12/04

We loved our day trip to Lana’i. We saw whales on the way to Lana’i right from the ferry. We rented a Jeep and enjoyed exploring the island. We enjoyed the 5th Friday festival en took the evening boat back. Great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Open Seas

Reviewed by: Apple Huffman, 2019/08/26

It's a small boat on the open water, take something if you're one that feels the motion or sea sickness. My wife hated it, I loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ride of your life if against the wind and tide

Reviewed by: Tia, 2019/08/01

Boat was clean and on time. If you get motion sickness going to Lanai is not an issue, coming back depending on the time you may get tossed and splashed pretty well. Coming back make sure you sit inside to avoid being soaked if you leave after 1 p.m.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy trip to Lana'i.

Reviewed by: Timothy, Wailuku, 2019/07/09

The ferry was promptly on time and made the trip without any problems. The staff was friendly and welcoming. As it was a very warm day I appreciated to A/C in the main cabin lower deck!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant ferry ride

Reviewed by: Sw , 2019/05/18

Took the round trip ferry ride to Lanai. Very comfortable ride. We expected Lanai City to be at the ferry dock...should have done more research.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry for the day or for overnight to Lanai is a great way to see the island

Reviewed by: bbresh, 2019/05/17

The ferry runs regularly from Lahaina to Lanai. They are efficient and get you there safely. The ferry is comfortable with enclosed cabins to stay warm and dry...or cool and dry depending on the day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Seamless and affordable

Reviewed by: Dorothea morgan, 2019/04/16

Nice ride. I appreciated that I could change my return time

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice ride on a beautiful day!

Reviewed by: Lorat, 2019/04/16

The crew was fast and friendly, the ocean was calm and a brilliant blue. Easy does it, there on time and a great way to travel!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wanna do it again!

Reviewed by: Val from Maui, 2019/03/30

It started out as an ordinary boat ride, on a beautiful clear day, light variable winds. Then, nearing Lanai, we noticed dolphins swimming close to the ferry, going the opposite direction. Some were leaping and spinning. Our boat captain took the moment to slow the boat and loop back around to circle the dolphins again. Thrilling boat ride after all!
I guess part of my delight in the day was the weather -- beautiful and warm on the island. Return trip just as smooth as when I went out in the morning. Then saw a whale.
I'd do the trip again in a minute!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best kept secret

Reviewed by: Tony, 2019/03/28

The ferry ride was exceptional! Lanai was beautiful! This day trip was the highlight of our Maui stay for my wife and I and our three teen daughters. We will be back again very soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip

Reviewed by: Whales , 2019/02/26

We had a comfortable trip there & back. Wish you still had a ferry running to Molokai

  • Manele Bay

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ferry! Safe, fun and affordable.

Reviewed by: Marina, 2019/01/08

We live on Maui but decided to venture out to Lanai. This little ferry was great! I was able to book trip for 5 people fast online and confirm it within 15 minutes just one day ahead.
Weather was great and ride was smooth to Lanai. We even managed to see wails. On island we decided to stay longer and I was able to move our tickets to last ferry without any problems (there is a phone number on the tickets, they do pick up the phone fast). Ride back was in the dark but it still was fun, we got to see amazing starry sky!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day trip to Lanai

Reviewed by: rachnmark , 2018/12/11

Great experience!! Would recommend the Expeditions to my friends and family. Friendly and great customer service!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Luis and Dana , 2018/10/17

Everything was perfect the minute we stepped foot on the vessel, everybody was friendly. We wanted to come back early and they were accommodating to making that happen. 100% satisfied! Definitely recommend for anybody that wanted to take a trip to the night to use them as their transportation needs!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Marcie, 2018/10/09

We had a great trip, very beautiful day.everyting was perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular trip on a beautiful boat.

Reviewed by: Albert S., 2018/06/18

On spur of the moment my wife and I decided to take the ferry to Lanai then rent a Jeep to go exploring. The cost was reasonable and it was a spectacular day. We caught the 6:45 morning ferry. The Jeep was waiting for us in the parking lot. We headed out not really sure what to expect. We ran into Mikee as we were driving up the hill towards Lahaina City. Mikee is the guy we rented the Jeep from He gave us some tips on what to expect and where we should go. His suggestions were bang on. We had a leisurely day exploring the island; so many amazing sights that will take your breath away! We planned to take the 6:45 return ferry that day. It gave us some leisure time after we were done exploring. The return on the ferry was a bit rough but the boat handles it easily.

  • Garden of the Gods

  • Polihua Beach

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Challenge at Manele Bay is a fantastic golf course!

Reviewed by: Lee, 2018/02/06

In my opinion, the Challenge at Manele Bay is one of the finest golf courses in North America and I have been playing for over 50 years. Every hole has an ocean view and they are spectacular. The ferry ride to Lanai made the day even more special, as we saw over 40 whales on the trip back to Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Schedule change

Reviewed by: Robert, 2017/02/20

I was allowed to make a time change on my return time to Maui. The process was smooth and employees were polite.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry from Lanai to Maui

Reviewed by: allen, 2016/12/18

Nice experience, I will use again for the next trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry From Maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: allen, 2016/12/18

Nice experience, I will use again for the next trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

disappointed

Reviewed by: Dean, 2015/04/26

I wish that the people on the phone would have alerted us that the lodge at Koele was closed to have us make a decision if we wanted to go to the island or not. Maybe it was left out of the discussion on purpose.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

We are sorry to hear that the Four Seasons Resort Lanai, The Lodge at Koele was unavailable during your visit, and due to the ever changing nature of hotels and activities throughout the islands, we are not always made aware of specific closures. Had we known about this, we would have been more than happy to let you know.

Thank you very much for you choosing HawaiiActivities - VELTRA, and we hope that you were able to enjoy your visit to island of Lanai.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

HawaiiActivities - VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry trip from Maui to Lanai (round-trip)

Reviewed by: Amy Prchlik, 2015/04/25

The ferry ride was fun. We went to the beach for awhile and then visited the small town. It was a very friendly town with such nice people. It was a great day trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]