Road to Hana Waterfalls, Black Sand Beach & Seven Sacred Pools Adventure

Pickup from hotel was 50 minutes after pick up time

Reviewed by: PL Wong, 2017/09/14

Pickup time came and went. We had to call to remind that we had made a booking. And the pickup only came at 750 am which was 50 minutes after pickup time.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. We apologize for the pick-up being delayed and we have shared your feedback with the activity provider to better so they can better serve future guests.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Eh

Reviewed by: newlyweds, 2017/07/19

There are so many stops along the way and some you don't stay at very long. So go on your own with a rental car so you can see what you want to see. The tour guide was pretty awful and so were the other passengers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Little Dissapointing

Reviewed by: Less Than Expected, 2017/07/19

We took a group of seven people on this tour and some of our group had done this trip previously. The driver had a tough time managing the people on the tour and other guests were up to 30 minutes late getting back to the bus on several occasions. The lunch situation was not good either. We waited in line for 30 minutes out doors in the heat at the one little stand available for lunch. Then sat out doors to eat with no AC and were dripping. On previous tours there were much better lunch set ups. We were never given enough time to get into the water at the black sands or the seven pools. Mostly because other people were late and the driver didn't manage the group well. But what really took the cake was our departure. My 71 year old father and his new wife were leaving and the driver asked if he could "kiss" the bride. She thought he was going to give her a peck on the cheek, but instead gave her a full on mouth kiss. So inappropriate. Too bad we had already tipped him. Not my favorite day on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Adventure!

Reviewed by: MSB, 2017/07/09

The trip was well worth the money. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long ride.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Thissell, 2017/04/17

Larry the tour guide talked way to much. He pointed out every leaf and flower we passed by and then when he started talking about his personal life half way through the tour i really just wanted to get off somewhere. It would have been nice to be able to talk to my husband about the things we seen and point out to each other but Larry was talking so loud we couldn't even here each other. And it wasn't just us that didn't like not being able to talk to each other most other couples sitting near us thought the same. But some of the information we hears about was interesting but most was just nonsense . And also would have been nice to know that we couldn't go swimming. We and alot of other couples wore their swim suits under our clothes and if we would have known that we weren't going swimming we would have wore more comfortable clothing for that long ride. Next time instead of a tour we will take the road to haha on our own in a rental car.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Road to Hana Waterfalls, Black Sand Beach & Seven Sacred Pools Adventure/ Gold Package with Lunch

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/03/15

Awesome adventure, Larry was great! He knew so much about the area and the people that live there. Larry answered our questions as best as he could. He told us funny stories, history and folk lore about the plants and land formations as we came upon them. He was entertaining and we felt safe and comfortable with him at the wheel. We had quite a few times where we could get out and take pictures or explore the area at our many stops during the day. Our lunch was delicious. It was a great opportunity to get to know our fellow travelers while taking in the scenery.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

hana tour

Reviewed by: dee, 2017/02/16

Bruce was our driver.. he was very informative and we enjoyed our day greatly !!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very long day

Reviewed by: Michele , 2017/02/11

Good but very very long day so hard on the younger kids. Glad we did it but wouldn't do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Awesome Day!

Reviewed by: DLG - Norman, OK, 2016/10/26

This was an amazing adventure to take! The only thing I would want to change and suggest is to bring a cushion. The seats on the bus were extremely uncomfortable. Also, I wished we would have stopped at more waterfalls, seemed to rush through them pretty quickly, but I figured they have a set schedule and placement with all the other tours. It might be better to be different and step out of the norm of all the other charters? Anyway, I did enjoy the driver Larry, he was so knowledgeable and sometimes funny!


  • 7 Pools


  • Waterfalls from the bus

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Guide

Reviewed by: Alex Bruce, 2016/09/17

The weather was pretty bad and it meant we didn't get to swim in the pools or take the backside road back from Hana however, our driver Wayne was superb and incredibly knowledgeable and friendly.

My wife and I were kept entertained by his stories and information about the local cultures, plants, animals and food for the entire journey and despite it raining heavily and being very foggy, we always felt safe and in good hands.

The only downside was the lunch at the Trevasa hotel, it was very poor quality and despite being a buffet, you were ushered out after a single plate. I would recommend you select the non lunch option and take your own food!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing! Truly unforgettable!

Reviewed by: Joe Ciaccia, 2016/08/14

Did the road to Hana tour today in Maui. We had the pleasure of getting Peaches as our tour guide. She was one of the friendliest and most knowledgeable individuals I have ever encountered. Being in the people business myself it was a breath of fresh air to find someone like her that takes pride in her job and her island. The information that she gave made the tour not just amazing for the scenery, it was very educational and personal. I would 100% recommend this tour to anyone who visits Maui and I would highly recommend Peaches! Thank you for all that you do and making this a trip to remember!


  • Road to Hana tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late pick up

Reviewed by: Carol, 2016/07/27

We ended up not going on this trip. The pick up was scheduled for 6:30 at a hotel we were not staying at. After 15 minutes we called the company. Oh our driver was on his way. We called again after 7. Same response and no apologies. We called and canceled . The driver didn't show up until 7:40!!! We did get our money back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very disappointing

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2016/04/30

Although the bus driver was very knowledgeable, this trip did not meet our expectations. The young adults on the trip were anticipating a dip in one of the Seven Pools only to find they were closed as was the trail leading up to see 5 of the seven. No mention of this was made until we were driving in. We would not have taken this excursion. Also, the bus driver talked 100% of the time and coughed about 50%. Not an enjoyable day as I am now sick.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Informative & Exhilerating

Reviewed by: Clen, 2016/04/08

The tour guide was very informative and stopped at every opportunity to take photos or show us the local markers and beauty

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous views, very long day

Reviewed by: Maureen, 2016/03/28

The tour overall, for the ticket price, is worth it. Our family of four went on the Gold package which included lunch and it was a good value for the dollar.

On the way up you drive through beautiful rainforests and curvy roads. The driver is informative and gives a lot of good info - wish he was more interactive with the visitors.

On the way down, you go through the back side -- very bumpy and not as beautiful. This is when you realize it's a very long day. I was very thankful our driver was competent and made us feel safe as the roads were precarious in some spots.

Overall, a good day -- just very long. I do think it was better to take the tour vs drive ourselves because it would have been hard to see anything other than focusing on the road. And we learned about a lot of things we wouldn't have known otherwise. Not going to do this again though - once is enough!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Slightly Over-rated

Reviewed by: Caroline and Bernie, 2016/03/23

The web sites all boast of waterfall swims and swimming in rock pools. This does not happen as there is insufficient water at these locations. The rock pools were more like insect infested cess pools and there are warning signs about the dangers of swimming in them. The only swimming option is at the black sand beach where a 30 min stop was taken. I think the description needs to be altered to be more accurate.

Other than that, it was quite interesting but we were definitely ready to get off when it was finished. It is a long and tiring day.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour

Reviewed by: YBD , 2016/01/01

The tour was good overall. Due to weather we didnt get to swim by the waterfalls, I wish they had offered another option like more time in black sand beach, knowing that it was impossible to swim in the other part. (I had brought my swimsuit, towel and extra clothes). I liked it that they offered complimentary juices and water bottles on the bus. If you don't pay for the tour that includes lunch, there are more options to find good food walking distance from where the bus stops for lunchtime, so I didn't regret not paying for that


  • Short walk in one of te stops p

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Heaven More Like

Reviewed by: Donald Owen, 2015/12/16

A long but excellent day trip. Always felt safe with Bruce, our driver, despite some hair-raising hair-pin bends. Some of the views have to be seen to be believed. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road To Hana Tour - My Vacation Highlight

Reviewed by: M Lizalde, 2015/12/07

I am so glad I decided to take this tour! We had taken the Road to Hana on our own 4 years ago. The experience was such that I felt the need to come back, but this time by means of a tour guide that would tell us the background of all the wonders we got to see and experience back then. This stretch of the island of Maui is so rich in history. Turns out I was right. Thanks to our tour guide/driver, Larry. He made this experience all the more magical. I am a history enthusiast. Larry touched on every aspect of this journey. From the vegetation's different species (origin, current and past uses, etc.), rock formations, the incredible waterfalls and grottos, to the towns people of present and past. Oh, and the beaches, breathtaking. I loved soaking my feet at Blacksand beach. Wish we could of stayed there longer. I appreciated our stop at the local's farmers market. Got to sample a taste of the locals organic fruits, banana bread, fruit jams and honey. I was able to purchase of everything I sampled. This is definitely a tradition for my family. When in Maui...Tour Guided Road to Hana Highway Adventure is a must. These drivers are experts, I will leave the driving to them! While I sit back and enjoy the trip.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Sachin Gupta, 2015/12/01

Awesome tour . Very scenic drive . Our tour guide was Charles, he knew everything about all the places we went through right after we started from hotel until back . He knew exactly where to stop or slow down to take awesome pics or view the beauty of Hana . 5 on 5 for this beautiful tour and knowledgable guide.. I took 1 star for the lunch provided . Breakfast was light fruits and rolls and being on entire day trip, we were expecting a better lunch . Besides salad , steamed rice and watermelon, there was chicken and being vegetarian this did not feel like lunch . We got a veg taco plate when asked about the veg option, which was equally bad and cold
Apart from this I would say this is a must do if in Muai to see actual nature ..


  • Road to Hana waterfall

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana

Reviewed by: Kandyce Zhong , 2015/11/27

Overall it was a very fun trip. However the trip time wise is a little too long. The food wise too need a little improvement. It was only a little rice and bbq chicken. This trip include a simple breakfast too, but don't expect a continental breakfast. It's just coffee fruits and croissant. Thank you Steve our driver and our guide for the informative trip and the scenery is exceptionally beautiful. You will never get to view all the scenery spots if you didn't attend this trip. We went to see a few water falls, it was absolutely beautiful, however we weren't able to swim in the pools as they were closed on that day. We went to black sand beach also, the sands are black, it's really cool... We took awesome lots of picture, it's definitely a memory that you will never forget. Advise to not go to the trip if you're tiered or sick cuz it's a energy consuming trip. Overall you will have fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The trip was a nice

Reviewed by: Cindy P., 2015/11/20

The trip was a nice trip this is something you would like to do as a group. We had a really good driver and the tour guide seem to know the area. Gave some information about the different areas and offer take our picture which was nice. The meal we had was ok just the basic chicken and rice. Would like to see a place to get souvenirs the place we went to are so expensive. disappointed about the pool was not open at the state park. Sometimes it seem we were rushed and like at the state park nothing to do since the pool was closed. Tour guide did a good job also taking pictures with me and my spouse. You can do it on your own but i think you would miss a lot of extras. Thank you for a wonderful time and memories.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Laurie , 2015/10/21

I wished we had a more outgoing/energetic group of passengers along with us, but our driver, Sam made up for it, amazing me with his non-stop humor and entertainment. As others said, I am very glad I did not have to drive that one-lane two-way road with rusty railings and precarious turns myself for hours and hours of driving (see the one photo attached where looking out my window you could see an inch of pavement and then the drop). The tour buses being higher than car height and having large windows provided a wide-open view i would not have see from my rental car. Sam educated us on Hawaiian history, and pointed out dining spots, fauna, flora, and talked of herbal uses of the plants. He talked about his family and their land, and told stories of growing up in Hawaii. He made certain to stop and let us take photos from the tour bus, at perfect photo spots along the road often near its many bridges, rivers, falls. We were handed a map at the beginning with spots high-lighted in yellow where we would get out and walk around, so we could gauge how long we had to go. The places we stopped were gorgeous. Some had very short paths to explore. The banana bread stop nice. At one popular waterfall stop, the road jammed up and Sam was out there, cooling tempers with his humor, making friends, and directing traffic to clear the gridlock. The open air restaurant in Hana was good, beautiful artwork, nice lunch. Sam brought us tastes of a local dish, Poke, the restaurant made. Unfortunately at the one stop for swimming at the 7 Sacred Pools of 'Ohe'o, the park has certain conditions the surf must meet to let you down there to swim: it was closed that day, and I was terribly disappointed after seeing so many beautiful pictures on the internet and hoping it to be the big finish, but Sam still gave us time enough time to do the circular hike out to the point above there, as consolation. I am very glad I signed up for this tour. Was sad when the day was over.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana Tour

Reviewed by: Iliana, 2015/09/15

We had a fantastic time on our Road to Hana tour! Larry is a great tour guide. I just wished we could have spent more time at the Seven Sacred Pools. We saw many waterfalls, so this is an excellent choice for people that love nature!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glad we chose to go on a tour instead of driving it ourselves!

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2015/06/09

Our tour guide/bus driver Rory was one of the best tour guides we had during our trip to Hawaii. He made our trip to Hana worthwhile and made us feel comfortable. Not only was he funny and made our trip interesting with his sense of humor but he was very knowledgeable with the history of Hawaii and everything we saw on the Road to Hana. The Road to Hana was a crazy ride but Rory did a great job with the turns and making us feel safe. He made it worth dishing out the money to go on a tour rather than driving it ourselves. We stopped by a couple of places that were not on the schedule, simply because we asked about them and wanted to stop by. We stopped by Hana Farms which was a small stand by Hana that sold the best banana bread. We also stopped by a general store in Hana with cool knick knacks and some snacks. Although it was not on our schedule, he was more than willing to stop and let us look around and buy some stuff. He always cracked jokes and talked about his family. It made us feel like he wasn't just doing his job but that he was enjoying his job and getting to know his guests at the same time. Our Road to Hana wouldn't have been so great if it wasn't for our tour guide from Polynesian Adventure Tours. We recommend this company and this tour guide for any future visitors to Maui who want to go on this tour. You'll have a blast!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana

Reviewed by: Jana Killion, 2015/04/15

What a great time! Sam our driver was very informative and most of all entertaining. He kept us in stitches throughout the tour. Such beautiful views and botanicals.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice scenery

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

The scenery along Road to Hana is nice, it's an impressive ride. We got to stop where possible, and the driver tried to add some little spots here and there for quick extra photo opportunities.
I was most impressed with the final part of the road that nobody seems to mentions: the part after the Seven Pools which goes through the barren drier south side of the Haleakala. I liked this scenery a lot!

Be aware: if you want to stay on a budget: lunch is very expensive at the chosen restaurant. I brought my own lunch, which turned out to be the right choice.




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Been there, done that, and I'd do it again!

Reviewed by: Carol, 2014/11/08

Coming down the back side of Hana is ever so much prettier than going up, and much more challenging.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: JBR, 2014/10/20

The trip was truly amazing! We love nature, so we truly enjoyed the trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The road was narrow and sometimes scary, but our driver was very skilled and careful. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hana Highway Trip

Reviewed by: Red Headed Sister's, 2014/09/16

The day was awesome. Could not have been better! Our driver and guide were excellent. Would highly recommend this tour

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI