Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor) reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor)

Overall Rating

4.45 4.45 / 5

Reviews

250 reviews
Post a review

Staffs on board are really nice!

Reviewed by: Chris Qee, 2020/03/07

Excellent experience, suitable for the first time snorkeling people.
Foods are staffs are amicable and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtles, Mai Tais, and Good Times!

Reviewed by: Emily Feagin, 2020/03/03

The boat crew was outstanding. Very informative and helpful in all aspects of the trip. Many whales were spotted throughout the entire adventure and the crew's commentary on the whales was interesting. Breakfast and lunch on the boat was also excellent. Breakfast was light and more so appetizers so if you need more sustenance make plans for that. Lunch had plenty of food leftover if you wanted/needed seconds. Around lunch time the bar was opened for drinks and the bartenders were all awesome! A handful of beers (crafts, domestics) and mixed drinks were served. The snorkel gear provided by the boat was great as well. They provided anti-fog spray for the masks so don't worry about bringing any. Oh, there's also a slide on the back of the boat. Good time.

Our group was lucky enough to spot a handful of sea turtles, which really made the trip a special one. The guides on the water were careful to ensure trip members did not get too close or touch the sea turtles, which was nice to see. The bathrooms on board were clean and had no issues. The top of the boat was bench seating with plenty of room for the amount of passengers that were on the trip. Sunscreen was provided on board so do not worry about bringing your own.

Overall, there is nothing I can think of to improve the experience we had. Would highly recommend and even do again if ever back on the island! A+

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A beautiful and fun experience!

Reviewed by: Hillswilliams, 2020/02/16

This excursion was one of my favorite things we did on the island! The crew members were fun and were very helpful to any and every one on board to ensure a great experience. They encourage first timers to attend a quick snorkeling class before you head out in the water, provide you with sunscreen, wetsuits if you are easily chilled, and also have “snuba” gear for those seeking extra adventure. The crew members were personable and eager to get to know the participants if you are willing to talk and mingle. We went on the first tour of the day, so we were provided with coffee and a tasty continental breakfast, as well as lunch, cocktails, and homemade cookies. The hospitality was nothing short of outstanding. Everyone on board was educated about what to expect from both stops and and we got to have a few whale watching experiences on the ride over! Also, don’t miss out on the photo package (we got some great shots and some belly laughing video footage of our group) - and certainly go down the slide for the extra excitement! I would recommend this to people of all ages!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Friends, 2020/02/10

This was a great cruise! The staff was very helpful to get everyone in the water in a timely manner. The reef at Molokini and turtle town were amazing! We saw a variety of sea life while at both location. Also we were able to see multiple turtles in turtle town which made the trip extra special! The boat had a slide that we were able to go on while at Molokini which was so much fun! The food and drinks were good as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So many turtles and whales!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2020/02/09

We picked a great time to go during whale season because we not only got an amazing snorkeling cruise but a whale watch cruise as well! We saw so many whales going out to Molokini as well as when we were coming back into the Harbor. I was also blown away with the amount of turtles that we got to see at Turtle Town and the crew was helpful shouting out when they would see one so that everyone would get the chance. Parking was very easy to find and the boat was right behind the lot that we parked at. I was also amazed with how quickly they got everyone checked in with the amount of people that were there. We had the best day and I would definitely go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do while in Maui!

Reviewed by: Jenna , 2020/02/09

Pride of Maui Molokini and Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour is a must do while in Maui. The views both from the boat and in the water were beautiful. The staff was great from giving facts about the island and sea life while on the boat to helping direct your attention to the beautiful sights during snorkeling. The boat has a slide that is a fun way to spend the day when you need a break from snorkeling. This event is a must do while in Maui!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The weather did not cooperate, so it turned into a whale watch

Reviewed by: Katharine, 2019/02/17

The staff was excellent, we were sorry that we were unable to snorkel, but thoroughly enjoyed the whale watch. Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent snorkeling tour

Reviewed by: Raidon, 2018/11/25

This was first time using tour company for snorkeling.
The ship is nice and big, so I did not get seasick at all.
They provided lots of drinks and food. Hamburger and hotdog was good.
They provided free snorkeling kit including fins. Swimsuit for extra money. I brought my own suit, so it helped me to swim in cold water especially in winter season.
Snorkeling at Molokini crater was good experience.

  • Molokini Crater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable

Reviewed by: Loretta, 2018/11/15

That was a really nice activity. We saw turtle amd the crew was there for us at any moment.

I recommand that activity to everybody who like water.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini and turtle snorkeling

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/02/23

The overall trip was great. The snorkeling was fun but crowded. Snorkeling to see turtles was fun and I am happy we got to see them but they are not guaranteed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I glad to meet you!

Reviewed by: Seo hyunggon, 2018/02/04

I meet very kind crew. Surprisely She have work there during 12 years. I met her 12 years ago at honeymoon. So I glad meet her.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time snorkeling for my Mom and I.

Reviewed by: Cori, 2017/12/07

We didn't get to either spots listed in the title of the tour due to weather. Maybe, in the future, they can offer a discounted 2nd trip so you can actually get to Molokini Crater. They don't offer that, so you get what you get. The "glass bottom" boat is also a deceiving description of this boat. Don't go based on this alone. The area we went was suitable for a relaxed first time snorkel. Lots of people, but my Mom still got first class treatment due to her fear of the new adventure. Heather ensured she felt comfortable in the gear and went into the water with her to get her comfortable to go off on her own! It was a very good experience, although I would not take a tour like it again. I would opt for something with less people on a smaller boat, for sure. If you choose to purchase the photos at the end, make sure you sought him out to actually take some pictures of you first or you will just have a lot of pictures of other people. The pics he took of my Mom are really good, although there are none of me while snorkeling. But, there were a LOT of people, so how could he possibly get pics of everyone.
All in all the boat was clean, the people were nice, and the snorkeling was really great! The food was pretty good, too.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The crew was great

Reviewed by: Stephen Puglisi , 2017/11/04

The morning check in was very easy and they had coffee. We brought our own gear but bought wet suits to stay warm. The creator had some different varieties of fish. Turtle Town was my favorite. They gave us more than we could eat for lunch. The crew was fantastic and we had drinks on the way back. Thanks again for the great time

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No good coast for snorkel

Reviewed by: Lele, 2017/10/11

There was not much fish to see:-(
The organization for the trip waa good.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Caroline, 2017/10/04

Nice boat, great service, and the location is so different from snorkeling anywhere else!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great overall adventure

Reviewed by: Lane W, 2017/09/20

Great attentive staff. Great venues at Molokini and Turtletown. I swam with a turtle. The food was great- best burger I've had in a while. The boat ride was great. I liked having the option of being out of the sun on the main deck or outside on the the deck or up on top and there was plenty of seating. It was nice having a restroom available. We really enjoyed it and I would highly recommend this trip for all ages. There was a toddler on board and some older people who did not swim but stayed on the boat and still had the option to view fish through the glass bottom window.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Experience!!!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2017/08/07

Fun, knowledgeable crew. Crystal clear waters. Brilliantly colorful fish as far as the eye can see. And I got to swim with two sea turtles! Good food. Definitely the highlight of our Maui vaca. We were a little concerned with the advertised "open bar". We really weren't looking for a booze cruise. But the bar doesn't open until AFTER both snorkeling stops. Yay!

  • Molokini Crater getting ready to jump in the water!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Dave,

Thanks for your review of the Pride of Maui. Molokini Crater truly is a snorkelers paradise, with remarkable water clarity and a diverse ecosystem. Due to the water quality, the reef at Molokini is healthy and vibrant. Some of the coral species are endemic to Molokini Crater and as such, not found anywhere else. The variety of fish at Molokini is great too, as you point out.

We are so lucky to have a location like Turtle Town, where the Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles congregate, to share with our guests. We're pleased you enjoyed swimming with the turtles. We are definitely not a booze cruise, although feel our guests enjoy eating a big juicy burger or chicken sandwich, hot off the grill along with an ice cold micro brewed beer after snorkeling. It makes for a wonderful end to a perfect day.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Scott Turner
CEO
Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Snorkel Trip

Reviewed by: Thomas Family, 2017/07/19

Great Trip. Crew was great and very friendly. They were very helpful with my daughter who had a broken foot and made sure she was safe in the water and had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We LOVED it! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Reviewed by: Kathye, 2017/07/07

We had a great time! The crew was very friendly and helpful with the gear. Will do it again one day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Snorkel Excursion - do this one!

Reviewed by: lsupeke, 2017/05/05

Snorkel in comfort and be treated like royalty. Huge boat, plenty of room for everyone. A place to upstairs to get sun or a place downstairs to shade yourself. Clean restrooms on board. Place to change out of those wet clothes. Everything available from snorkel gear, wet suits and cameras! Lots of delicious food. Just fabulous. This is a must do if you want a great snorkel adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Way to Begin Snorkeling in Maui

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

The Pride of Maui Molokini Snorkel Cruise was a great snorkel package. There were two snorkel locations, provided meal, drinks, miscellaneous items available to use or rent (see below), and the information from the optional 5-minute class gave some useful tips for the subsequent snorkeling we later did on our own on our trip.

The waters by Molokini were so clear, it was unbelievable how far through the water you can see. Turtle Town waters were less clear than Molokini but had more varied sea life. Whales were breaching along our path to the crater.

I wasn't expecting much from the barbecue but it was surprisingly tasty and filling. They offered neoprene suits to rent. A variety of underwater camera and camera accessories could be rented. Waist floatation and noodles were available for use. Environmentally-friendly sunscreen was also provided. There was a life guard nearby who would let you know when a turtle was in the area at Turtle Town. The slide on the boat was also fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini, turtle town, lunch and bonus whales

Reviewed by: Schultz, 2017/03/19

The boat and crew were fabulous. What a great way to see the coast of Maui and experience the magic. Everyone was well informed and treated us very well. Your experience and knowledge was greatly appreciated. Mahalo!,The Schultz clan

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Jess, 2017/03/05

One of the best snorkeling tours we have ever been on. Friendly staff and awesome snorkeling. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snuba was amazing!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2016/09/25

All of the staff were extremely helpful and made this experience really wonderful. I had not signed up for snuba initially, but after getting on the boat my Mom and I decided we would really love to have that experience - and Justin the snuba instructor made it happen for us! I am completely hooked what an amazing experience, Justin couldn't have been more attentive to the group and made sure we saw all sorts of things - eels, octopus, fish you name it! Turtle town was a little rough once we got there due to weather but still managed to see at least three turtles!! I did get motion sick intermittently but the staff had this great fresh ginger drink kept me going so I could enjoy as much snorkeling as I could handle. Would definitely do this again, might even go get scuba certified now!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Deal on Maui

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/09/01

Nice boat, great friendly staff and good equipment. 5+ hours on the water with breakfast, lunch and a bar included. Just wear a swim suit and bring a towel. Great snorkeling locations too!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable day, great service

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/08/28

Overall and enjoyable day. Catamaran was nice and comfortable. Guides, chiefs and barman very good service. Snorkeling was fairly good, lots of sea turtles to be seen - guides very helpful in locating and ensuring everyone had a chance to view them. Unfortunately on the day we went we were unable to go to molokini due to rough waters - I was very disappointed about this as a big reason I booked this was to see the under water crator. The tour guides however did their best to accommodate for another spot. Breakfast, lunch dessert and alcohol were all served - food was good. I was pleasantly surprised about the amount of catering/alcoholic drinks that were provided given the length of the tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini snorkeling

Reviewed by: J.Z., 2016/07/22

Fui con mi familia, La organización excelente, el equipamiento que nos dieron en perfecto estado, ademas tenían todo tipo de accesorios para alquilar, trajes cámaras, filtros, etc.
El desayuno y la comida muy buena, mai tai, cerveza y gaseosa.
Todo excelente.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel

Reviewed by: Joseph , 2016/07/20

We did Real enjoyed. Cudos. ................,..,,.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had an awesome time

Reviewed by: LizG, 2016/05/09

The trip was great! Service was excellent, the staff was very helpful. The two snorkeling locations we visited had great diversity. We saw turtles at the second location, which was awesome. The food was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Snorkeling i've done

Reviewed by: AlexM, 2016/05/04

This was a great cruise out to the best place I have ever snorkelled, the water at Molokini Crater is really clear and there are lots of fish we even saw a Reef Shark. Turtle Town was great too and we saw a couple of Turtles while we were there, it is just a shame that most people don't listen to guidance and surround the poor things.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and when I was feeling unwell made up a nice drink to help. I would definitely recommend this tour to other, however check before boarding if you will make it to the crated or not as they won't tell you until you have left the dock (experience of some friends who went a few days before us).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]