This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor)

Molokini and turtle snorkeling

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/02/23

The overall trip was great. The snorkeling was fun but crowded. Snorkeling to see turtles was fun and I am happy we got to see them but they are not guaranteed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I glad to meet you!

Reviewed by: Seo hyunggon, 2018/02/04

I meet very kind crew. Surprisely She have work there during 12 years. I met her 12 years ago at honeymoon. So I glad meet her.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time snorkeling for my Mom and I.

Reviewed by: Cori, 2017/12/07

We didn't get to either spots listed in the title of the tour due to weather. Maybe, in the future, they can offer a discounted 2nd trip so you can actually get to Molokini Crater. They don't offer that, so you get what you get. The "glass bottom" boat is also a deceiving description of this boat. Don't go based on this alone. The area we went was suitable for a relaxed first time snorkel. Lots of people, but my Mom still got first class treatment due to her fear of the new adventure. Heather ensured she felt comfortable in the gear and went into the water with her to get her comfortable to go off on her own! It was a very good experience, although I would not take a tour like it again. I would opt for something with less people on a smaller boat, for sure. If you choose to purchase the photos at the end, make sure you sought him out to actually take some pictures of you first or you will just have a lot of pictures of other people. The pics he took of my Mom are really good, although there are none of me while snorkeling. But, there were a LOT of people, so how could he possibly get pics of everyone.
All in all the boat was clean, the people were nice, and the snorkeling was really great! The food was pretty good, too.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The crew was great

Reviewed by: Stephen Puglisi , 2017/11/04

The morning check in was very easy and they had coffee. We brought our own gear but bought wet suits to stay warm. The creator had some different varieties of fish. Turtle Town was my favorite. They gave us more than we could eat for lunch. The crew was fantastic and we had drinks on the way back. Thanks again for the great time



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No good coast for snorkel

Reviewed by: Lele, 2017/10/11

There was not much fish to see:-(
The organization for the trip waa good.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Caroline, 2017/10/04

Nice boat, great service, and the location is so different from snorkeling anywhere else!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great overall adventure

Reviewed by: Lane W, 2017/09/20

Great attentive staff. Great venues at Molokini and Turtletown. I swam with a turtle. The food was great- best burger I've had in a while. The boat ride was great. I liked having the option of being out of the sun on the main deck or outside on the the deck or up on top and there was plenty of seating. It was nice having a restroom available. We really enjoyed it and I would highly recommend this trip for all ages. There was a toddler on board and some older people who did not swim but stayed on the boat and still had the option to view fish through the glass bottom window.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Experience!!!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2017/08/07

Fun, knowledgeable crew. Crystal clear waters. Brilliantly colorful fish as far as the eye can see. And I got to swim with two sea turtles! Good food. Definitely the highlight of our Maui vaca. We were a little concerned with the advertised "open bar". We really weren't looking for a booze cruise. But the bar doesn't open until AFTER both snorkeling stops. Yay!


  • Molokini Crater getting ready to jump in the water!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Dave,

Thanks for your review of the Pride of Maui. Molokini Crater truly is a snorkelers paradise, with remarkable water clarity and a diverse ecosystem. Due to the water quality, the reef at Molokini is healthy and vibrant. Some of the coral species are endemic to Molokini Crater and as such, not found anywhere else. The variety of fish at Molokini is great too, as you point out.

We are so lucky to have a location like Turtle Town, where the Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles congregate, to share with our guests. We're pleased you enjoyed swimming with the turtles. We are definitely not a booze cruise, although feel our guests enjoy eating a big juicy burger or chicken sandwich, hot off the grill along with an ice cold micro brewed beer after snorkeling. It makes for a wonderful end to a perfect day.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Scott Turner
CEO
Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Snorkel Trip

Reviewed by: Thomas Family, 2017/07/19

Great Trip. Crew was great and very friendly. They were very helpful with my daughter who had a broken foot and made sure she was safe in the water and had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We LOVED it! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Reviewed by: Kathye, 2017/07/07

We had a great time! The crew was very friendly and helpful with the gear. Will do it again one day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Snorkel Excursion - do this one!

Reviewed by: lsupeke, 2017/05/05

Snorkel in comfort and be treated like royalty. Huge boat, plenty of room for everyone. A place to upstairs to get sun or a place downstairs to shade yourself. Clean restrooms on board. Place to change out of those wet clothes. Everything available from snorkel gear, wet suits and cameras! Lots of delicious food. Just fabulous. This is a must do if you want a great snorkel adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Way to Begin Snorkeling in Maui

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

The Pride of Maui Molokini Snorkel Cruise was a great snorkel package. There were two snorkel locations, provided meal, drinks, miscellaneous items available to use or rent (see below), and the information from the optional 5-minute class gave some useful tips for the subsequent snorkeling we later did on our own on our trip.

The waters by Molokini were so clear, it was unbelievable how far through the water you can see. Turtle Town waters were less clear than Molokini but had more varied sea life. Whales were breaching along our path to the crater.

I wasn't expecting much from the barbecue but it was surprisingly tasty and filling. They offered neoprene suits to rent. A variety of underwater camera and camera accessories could be rented. Waist floatation and noodles were available for use. Environmentally-friendly sunscreen was also provided. There was a life guard nearby who would let you know when a turtle was in the area at Turtle Town. The slide on the boat was also fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini, turtle town, lunch and bonus whales

Reviewed by: Schultz, 2017/03/19

The boat and crew were fabulous. What a great way to see the coast of Maui and experience the magic. Everyone was well informed and treated us very well. Your experience and knowledge was greatly appreciated. Mahalo!,The Schultz clan

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Jess, 2017/03/05

One of the best snorkeling tours we have ever been on. Friendly staff and awesome snorkeling. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snuba was amazing!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2016/09/25

All of the staff were extremely helpful and made this experience really wonderful. I had not signed up for snuba initially, but after getting on the boat my Mom and I decided we would really love to have that experience - and Justin the snuba instructor made it happen for us! I am completely hooked what an amazing experience, Justin couldn't have been more attentive to the group and made sure we saw all sorts of things - eels, octopus, fish you name it! Turtle town was a little rough once we got there due to weather but still managed to see at least three turtles!! I did get motion sick intermittently but the staff had this great fresh ginger drink kept me going so I could enjoy as much snorkeling as I could handle. Would definitely do this again, might even go get scuba certified now!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Deal on Maui

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/09/01

Nice boat, great friendly staff and good equipment. 5+ hours on the water with breakfast, lunch and a bar included. Just wear a swim suit and bring a towel. Great snorkeling locations too!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable day, great service

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/08/28

Overall and enjoyable day. Catamaran was nice and comfortable. Guides, chiefs and barman very good service. Snorkeling was fairly good, lots of sea turtles to be seen - guides very helpful in locating and ensuring everyone had a chance to view them. Unfortunately on the day we went we were unable to go to molokini due to rough waters - I was very disappointed about this as a big reason I booked this was to see the under water crator. The tour guides however did their best to accommodate for another spot. Breakfast, lunch dessert and alcohol were all served - food was good. I was pleasantly surprised about the amount of catering/alcoholic drinks that were provided given the length of the tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini snorkeling

Reviewed by: J.Z., 2016/07/22

Fui con mi familia, La organización excelente, el equipamiento que nos dieron en perfecto estado, ademas tenían todo tipo de accesorios para alquilar, trajes cámaras, filtros, etc.
El desayuno y la comida muy buena, mai tai, cerveza y gaseosa.
Todo excelente.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel

Reviewed by: Joseph , 2016/07/20

We did Real enjoyed. Cudos. ................,..,,.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had an awesome time

Reviewed by: LizG, 2016/05/09

The trip was great! Service was excellent, the staff was very helpful. The two snorkeling locations we visited had great diversity. We saw turtles at the second location, which was awesome. The food was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Snorkeling i've done

Reviewed by: AlexM, 2016/05/04

This was a great cruise out to the best place I have ever snorkelled, the water at Molokini Crater is really clear and there are lots of fish we even saw a Reef Shark. Turtle Town was great too and we saw a couple of Turtles while we were there, it is just a shame that most people don't listen to guidance and surround the poor things.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and when I was feeling unwell made up a nice drink to help. I would definitely recommend this tour to other, however check before boarding if you will make it to the crated or not as they won't tell you until you have left the dock (experience of some friends who went a few days before us).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was great!

Reviewed by: NJ family, 2016/03/31

Crew was amazing! Had a great day! I was the only one in our group of 4 apprehensive, but the crew was so accommodating, I joined the fun! Great day, great excursion!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

pride of maui snorkel

Reviewed by: c. thompson, 2015/09/07

The boat was in excellent condition, the crew was very helpful and organized so that all were safe at all times and having the greatest experience Molikini is the most awesome snorkel trip
That we do on maui every time we vacation we have gone , but pride of maui is the best experience yet. We will definitely book on this boat again .. captain Scott made it a very safe and enjoyable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most Enjoyable Trip

Reviewed by: CTJ, 2015/08/23

The entire crew on the "Pride of Maui" was wonderful and caring. The trip was awesome. The weather was in our favor. We went out to the Molokini crater and snorkeled while there my son and I tried snuba for the first time and loved it. The guide for that was very knowledgeable and helpful. The videographer was very concerned to get everyone's picture. We moved to a different location to see the turtles and again the crew was concerned that everyone got to see a few of them. The food on board was also enjoyable. The only downside for me and my kids was that it didn't last longer.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience of Maui!

Reviewed by: Justin Daniels, 2015/05/24

My wife and I had never gone snorkeling before, and during our honeymoon, we had planned many activities, but this was the one we weren't sure how it would turn out. We decided to do the snuba diving, and our instructor was amazing. He was laid back and helped encourage us when we were first nervous in the water. After a few minutes, everything got easier, and before we knew it, it was time to come up. We were also able to snorkel at Turtle Town, and got to swim by a sea turtle, and that was a super unique experience. Of all the things we did in Hawaii, this is the one thing that I would be sure to do again when we come back.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini Snorkel

Reviewed by: Maui girl, 2015/03/31

Felt like I was on a cattle boat. Too many people. Hard time seeing anything. The whole time I was wishing I had researched better and booked on a smaller more intimate boat. Hardly any fish at Molokini then went to rocks south of Wailea and saw much more, but had just been there the day before on our own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best snorkeling ever, but tour was fun

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

Molokini is not as stunning a snorkel spot as some say: there's only a select variety of fish and there's no impressive coral reef. The water is very clear though. But there are definitely much better snorkeling options elsewhere to be found.
We had a muddy water day for Turtle Town sadly, but I got to see a turtle nonetheless, which was nice.
The tour organisation was class though, well-spirited. Breakfast was decent, lunch was very good. And there were a lot of whales to be seen! I must say that even with Molokini not completely living up to its reputation I had a good fun day. Time well-spent.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Magical!

Reviewed by: Letitia, 2014/12/07

What an experience. Little island in middle of ocean. I never imagined that I would be snorkeling in the middle of the ocean and actually enjoying it. Loved every minute of it. My 11 year old did not want to leave. Bring your video cameras as well or rent them. We brought back the experience to enjoy all the time.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful snorkeling experience

Reviewed by: Sagar Magdum , 2014/12/06

Molokini snorkel delux cruise was an awesome experience for me and my family. Unfortunately bad weather didn't allow us to go to molokini island but they took us other snorkeling spot which was beautiful. All the crew members were very helpful & caring. It was nice to see that every crew member was making sure everyone is safe and enjoying . Food & drinks were just awesome . Me and my family are vegetarian and most of the places we get very little or less options. But on this cruise we could enjoy lot of food like vege burgers ,pasta ,salad & juices. Overall very efficient service . I must recommend this cruise .

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Molokini Snorkel AWESOME!

Reviewed by: barbara schafer, 2014/12/03

The day started off well as a greeter showed us where to park. A quick walk to the boat where we filled out the waivers and were able to see the sun come up behind the island in the distance. We formed a line to board (very organized) and took a boarding picture.

Unfortunately the weather at Molokini was not favorable, so we went to two alternate stops. At the first we were able to see four sea turtles! (along with the associated tropical fish cleaning them). The second stop was closer to the rocks which was pretty awesome to watch the waves crash and the reef was much shallower. A few different fish were there as well.

There was a slide for the children and the adventurous adults. Lunch was served after the first stop. Hamburger, hot dog or chicken and some side items.

Throughout the day Ryan (the videographer) took excellent underwater shots and generally just had a very pleasing demeanor. He seemed to really love his job (who wouldn't, right?)

After the second stop the bar service opened and there were crew members walking around offering refills. Talk about service! As we rounded back to the harbor the wind and waves picked up but the captain still kept the boat stable.

It was a very enjoyable snorkeling experience and I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |