(All Reviews) Luau Dinner Show & Entertainment, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Luau Dinner Show & Entertainment in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.69 4.69 / 5

Reviews

391 reviews

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Great family fun

Reviewed by: Lori B, 2024/06/20

Food was fantastic
Show was entertaining
Gardens were spectacular

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Wonderful Family Friendly Luau

Reviewed by: LaRisa Replogle, 2024/06/18

We absolutely loved the Smith Family Luau and the show! Upon arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and small shell leis, took a Family photo and hopped on a shuttle for a tour of the grounds. After the shuttle ride was over we were able to walk about the property, feed the birds, and enjoy the gorgeous grounds. The emu Ceremony was wonderful. We especially liked the stories and history told by the host of the Laua and the Polynesian & Fire Dance after the dinner. The dances being performed over the water made it new and exciting for our family. We will definitely be back if we ever get the chance to visit Kauai again. Mahalo.

  • The family photo, minus the two workers on either side.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Amazing Show!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/04/25

Authentic experience, the crew really goes extra to explain hawaiian histories!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Great luau! A little late for jet lagged kids

Reviewed by: KW, 2024/04/05

Great luau! A little late for our 3 and 5 year old (no dinner, just the show). But they slept on the benches with our jackets and we were able to enjoy the show. Next time, I would plan this later in the trip than our 2nd night so the kids could have enjoyed it more. Jet lag was tough on the little ones!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

?

Reviewed by: Danita Docka , 2024/03/10

The meal was lacking in authentic Hawaiian foods. The drinks were too sweet.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

“Ohana”

Reviewed by: San Francisco , 2024/03/02

The Smith family really made you feel like “Ohana”. They were very welcoming and embraced and welcomed each and every guest with a pooka lai; photo, tram tour, exhibition on how pig was prepared and cooking process; unlimited buffet style meal with authentic cultural entrees, desserts and “poi”; and evening entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

It was ok

Reviewed by: B Denney, 2024/02/21

When I think of a Luau, I think of the movie with Adam Sandlin, Jennifer Aniston, and Nicole Kidman in Just Go With It - in Maui.

The Luau we attended here was different than my expectations. The arboretum on the property was beautiful and full of a variety of plants, trees, animals, and some sea life.

The buffet style food approach was ok, but nothing exceptional unfortunately.

After dinner, there was a show to reflect the Hawaiian history and culture through dance, which culminated in a one-man fire stick show.

Again, all okay. Probably the coolest thing to me was the fact that it's a family business of more than 5 generations. Hats off to them!

  • Cooking a pig underground

  • Cooking a pig underground 2

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Kauai’s Got Talent

Reviewed by: Tempest535, 2024/02/02

Perfect experience! Enjoyed ourselves and learned a few things!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Really Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/01/28

Food was better than expected, and the plantation grounds are breathtaking beauty.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Excellent Luau and location

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2024/01/06

Wonderful Luau show and food. The venue was beautiful and protected from any weather that might occur.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2023/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Luau

Reviewed by: Darius , 2023/12/14

The event was awesome and the food was outstanding

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Excellent luau experience, esp with kids!

Reviewed by: Dana, 2023/12/10

I specifically booked this luau because I read it was a great experience for kids. We loved the train ride, especially, which is unique to this location. You get to feed the pigs, cows, and horses at a stop along the way! My 2 and 5 year olds loved it. The food was good - lots of variety for different diets - and open bar is awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2023/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

This is a Kauai "Must See"!

Reviewed by: judi, 2023/11/19

There are several luaus that take place on the island of Kauai and I am not familiar with the others. Having said that, this show blew me away! I was not expecting such a beautiful, dramatic, outdoor setting, so many different types of dances, and a wonderful history of Hawaiian culture! My mother and I opted for the "show only" experience since we are not big carnivores. The check-in and tram ride were super efficient and helped to set the scene for the big show. As soon as the show started, I knew we'd made the right choice to see the Smith's Family Garden Luau. If you want an amazing experience for a very reasonable price, book this luau when you are in Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Wonderful Show

Reviewed by: Norma M, 2023/11/12

The show was wonderful, I was surprised by the great cast and the excellent presentation with the fire.

The food at the buffet was delicious with 3 main dishes to choose from, plus salad, fruits, dessert and drinks all included in one price.

I recommend this show for the whole family, it is a wonderful experience.

All under a giant tent.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Great show

Reviewed by: Carlos García , 2023/10/30

My first show ever , I did not know what to expect but I loved it . I am definitely coming back and enjoy the garden next time . The theater was something I really loved . The last act with the fire was my favorite. I do recommend for families or even for solo travelers . I learned a little more about the culture and the different races that have made Hawaii a paradise with culture and history

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2023/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Definitely the best Luau in the island

Reviewed by: camila and manny, 2023/10/25

The food, the show, the decoration, the stuff… everything on point

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

It was a great production!

Reviewed by: Mary M, 2023/10/24

The uncovering of the pig was very interesting, and it tasted so very delicious, as well as everything else. The Smith family kept everyone well entertained. I would definitely see it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Rave Warning

Reviewed by: Lisa G, 2023/10/19

Great experience! Even my snarky teens loved it! The food was very good. Lovely and engaging atmosphere. Great staff! The performances were impressive and high caliber. Definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Absolutely Top-Notch Experience and Loving Staff

Reviewed by: Cameron Immesoete, 2023/09/23

I've been fortunate to attend somewhere between 10 and 12 different Lu'aus, mostly in O'ahu, Kaua'i, Maui, and Hawai'i. Our experience at Smith's was superior for the following reasons:

1. Atmosphere and ambience: the Garden is absolutely beautiful, and few lu'aus have an ambience like this. Another good one for this to be fair is the Polynesian Cultural Center Lu'au.
2. Authenticity: the Polynesian & Fire Show, and other traditions (like pulling the pig from the earth) encompassed in the lu'au, were top-notch and very well-executed.
3. The Food & Drinks: a greater variety, quantity, and quality of food & drinks were offered here versus any other lu'au I've attended. There were two times as many food choices, and thanks to the buffet style, you can feast on them all.
4. The Staff: the staff here is so genuinely kind. My fiancee and I biked a few miles over to this lu'au and we had to bike back in the dark. Our hostess ran to her car and gave us some headlamps! It was so kind of her. We're really grateful for the Smith Family team.

Thank you all very much. I highly, highly, highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Must do in Kauai!!

Reviewed by: Sabra , 2023/09/21

This luau is informing and very exciting! They talk a lot about the past of Kauai and ancestral history. Price point at only $25 (without dinner) is absolutely great, especially for families with little ones. Handicap seating is available. Main seating area is at a slant so if you want to sit towards the bottom (closer) come early. My 1 year old even loved it and was clapping. Attire is Hawaiian style and it’s wonderful to see all the cool outfits. Bathrooms are close by and water is provided. I felt it ran a bit short this time compared to last year but it was still super amazing and would 100% go again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2023/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Luau (not on a beach)

Reviewed by: Colorado, 2023/09/16

Entertainment was great! Everyone was very nice. Pictures were awesome. It was not all you could eat and drink. The food was cafeteria style and put away before we could get seconds. Desert was basic. Not at all what we expected at a luau.

Where is the pig on a spit?? Fresh fruits and vegetables from the island?

Definitely should’ve done more research before attending a Luau. If you want a Beach Luau, this is not the one for you. If you wanna plantation in Luau, where the people are friendly, and the food is average, this is your place!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Wonderful luau

Reviewed by: Sharon Blackwood, 2023/08/24

Perfect night. Seating was good, the variety of food was plentiful and delicious. The show was great. Very beautifully done. Loved the story of the love a father has for his daughter and interesting history of the island. Marvelous performances, great fire dances, wonderful cast. Recommend to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Amazing Event

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/08/21

Grounds the luau takes place on is breathtaking- my favorite luau on all islands.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Excellent 10 out of 10

Reviewed by: Etcheverry , 2023/08/04

So good highly recommend great food, amazing show, loved it all!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Great family evening.

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/31

Loved this event and so did my daughters- the hula dancing is simply gorgeous and unforgettable.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Great cultural experience

Reviewed by: Angie, 2023/07/13

Beautiful venue, dancing, music, and storytelling. All the performers were very talented. We enjoyed the show - it was a great way to spend our last evening in Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Best all around

Reviewed by: Kimberly Tan , 2023/07/07

We have been to several luaus on different islands. The total experience here from start to finish was excellent. The grounds are beautiful with a lot of great photo opportunities and the food was surprisingly delicious! The drinks were tasty and they kept them coming. The show was not only entertaining with traditional components but had a flare of different cultures that really added to the experience! Absolutely a must when choosing which luau to attend. I was worried when the price was significantly more affordable but wow was I ever so happy with my choice. Would definitely recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Good Evening

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/01

Wish they had a greeting better, but the authentic show was really great.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Vanessa , 2023/06/28

Great show , amazing time, kids had fun getting tattoos , drinks were great , food Can be a bit better other than that . Great time .

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2023/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Polynesian & Fire Show, Dinner and Open Bar

Exciting Show

Reviewed by: Gage, 2023/05/25

Staff did a wonderful job. Beautiful lush garden setting. Tram and set up was wonderful. Just paid for the show -- best deal on the island. Seemed like a few dancers at different parts of the show forgot what they were doing. It was actually kind of laughable. Other than that, all-in-all it was a good time.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Kauai Categories