This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Kauai Luaus in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.69 4.69 / 5

Reviews

286 reviews

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Nice surprise

Reviewed by: Mikaela, 2018/08/29

My idea about a Luau was...some food and a little bit of Tahitian dancing on a hotel property...This is what we saw year after year walking on Kaanapali beach - Maui .

Smith Family Garden Luau IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT- worth attending. They are very well organized and offer you a unique experience!

1. You get greeted by a local girl and boy who are offering a lei and at this point you get a group picture taken- nice touch- no pressure to buy it,

2.They offer you a tour of the garden and after that you have time to wander by yourself- 50 min- until they do the pork ceremony.

3. You are invited to your table- parties 6 or more have assigned seats- very thoughtful. They have a neat system to invite you to get the food without overcrowding the area. BTW- plenty of good food and drinks.
4. During the meal they entertain you : a little bit of dancing and singing and they invite people from the crowd to teach them how to dance. It was really neat !!
4. After the meal you are invited to an outdoor theater for an 1 hour show. It was A REAL show...lights, music...put together very professional! Enough seats for everyone, you can seethe scene from every seat . At the entrance you can pick up your photos.


I think it is the only Luau worth attending :)

  • In the garden

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Excellent Tour.

Reviewed by: Emma, 2015/02/01

We usually choose to avoid the tours in favour of exploring on our own. However, on advice from friends who previously lived in Hawaii, a Luau is an experience not to be missed.
We chose the Fern Grotto River Boat Tour and Smith's Tropical Paradise Garden Luau combination tour with pick up and drop off from our hotel. It proved to be a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon and evening.
The Fern Grotto, despite now missing a large number of ferns after the hurricane, is still a beautiful and tranquil spot to visit.
The highlight of this tour was definitely the Luau though. From start to finish, the service and quality of the show were seamless. The grounds are beautifully manicured and a photographer's delight. The food was delicious and ample in quantity; especially the pork. We were most impressed with how they managed to serve so many people in such an organised fashion. Everything was so very orderly and most visitors were invited to help themselves to second and third helpings. The Mai Tais and Punch were delicious and soft drinks were also readily available.
The show itself was very good and we were highly impressed with the quality of the performance.
Overall, a fabulous tour and highly recommended for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

An authentic Polynesian evening in Kauai

Reviewed by: Darcy, 2018/06/06

On our last night on the island, my friend and I went to the Smith's Luau, and it was one of our most memorable times on Kauai. It was not only informative, but entertaining as well. You can tell that this family owned and operative business is run with love and a true appreciation for Hawaiian culture.

The tram ride took us along the huge gardens, and was a great way to get a quick view of the area. I loved that they have a herd of goats! The babies were just so cute! It was also close to where they were doing the imu or underground oven ceremony. Picture time!

The food was plentiful and really tasty. I loved that they had entertainment (music and dancing) while we ate, and the only thing is that I would personally skip the fruit punch. It was just too sweet! But the food, man! I had two full plates and would have had more, but would have ended up rolling out of there.

Our night concluded with some fantastic performances, and although they weren't the most polished, they were filled with sincerity and a love of hula that can't be matched. You can tell that they truly enjoy being on that stage and it is just so moving. Really happy we went :)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Makaiwa - Kauai Oceanfront Luau with Open Bar at Coconut Beach

Great Luau

Reviewed by: Pauline, 2019/02/19

The Luau Makaiwa was a fantastic experience. We visited the island in February and were greeted by lot of rain during the majority of our trip. Luckily, the Luau is inside a giant tent outside and by the water. The buffet food at the Luau was tasty! I wish there were more options for entrees and desserts however. Open bar had wine, beer, and mai tais. It was my boyfriend and I's first Luau and we both had a great time. This is a smaller production Luau which in many ways could be a great thing. Every table had a good view of the stage and it had a smaller family vibe rather than an extravagant production like the other luaus on the island. There were some vendors and activities planned but there could have been more in my opinion. The musicians and dancers were funny and talented. The performances were both entertaining and educational encompassing all of Polynesian culture. I can see this being a great activity for families who want to avoid the crazy crowds at the other Luaus and still get a authentic experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Not dissapointed at all!!

Reviewed by: Blest12, 2010/10/14

I chose Smith's Tropical Luau because I had read some previous reviews and one reviewer stated they had been to a different luau every night and Smith's was the best. I was a passenger on the NCL Pride of America and the reviews for that luau were not good and I hate nasty food. So I chose Smith's for myself and my party and let me tell you, we were not dissapointed. First of all and probably the best thing was it was not as expensive as the other luau, next the food was great everything was very good (except the purple sweet potato, it was too dry and tasteless). The staff was great, they kept coming around asking if everything was okay. Also, there was a large crowd there, maybe 500 people maybe more, but everything ran smooth and efficiently. When we arrived we were escorted to a tram that took us for a narrated tour of the plantation and it was beautiful. Then we went into the large lanai to be seated for eating. Some went to watch the roasted pig taken out of the place whe

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smith Family Luao!

Reviewed by: ZNmez, 2014/03/08

So much fun! You enter and receive a shell lei and then take a ride on a tour through the beautiful botanical gardens. We watched as they dug up the traditional kalua pig steamed beneath large banana leaves. The buffet was delicious! don't hold back on the fried rice!! All you can drink mai tai's too! The botanical gardens were even more enchanting as dusk set in and you can walk across bridges to small islands on the grounds. Through dinner we were entertained by the Smith Family singing island music and hula dancing. Also sang happy birthday and the wedding song to all those celebrating honey moons and birthdays! Afterwards we all headed to the outdoor theater to watch many different traditional island dances and songs. It was beautiful, including a fire show! Highly recommend the entire experience. Well worth the cost. WE even paid for the $20 picture that they took for us when we entered with some of the crew members. We have it hanging on our wall!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Aloha Hospitality!

Reviewed by: Dyana Hagan, 2010/07/24

Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau takes place on the family's 36 acre tropical paradise. Beforehand, guests are invited to stroll the gardens, see the lagoons, and pet the peacocks or can be driven around the grounds via tram with commentary on the variety of trees, flowers, and other vegetation.

Conch shells are blown, and the ceremonies commence with the uncovering of the pig, known as the "Imu Ceremony." A huge buffet with delicious shredded pork, salads, rice, breads, fruit, desserts and open full bar follow as you listen to native island songs performed by the Smith family.

An elaborate after dinner show follows at sunset in the open air theater. Hula dancers, fire dancers, and others display native island dances from as far away as New Zealand and China for your enjoyment.

Smith's Tropical Paradise Luau is not to be missed! It is a way to sample true island culture complete with the welcoming Hawaiian spirit that makes Kauai so unique!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smith's Family Luau

Reviewed by: TheTexas Nicholas', 2008/02/19

WHAT A TREAT!! We went to the Luau after visiting the Fern Grotto and had the perfect ending to a perfect day! We had a lei greeting then boarded the tram that took us along the winding path so we could see the beautiful gardens, lush tropical trees, lovely scenery. After walking around the grounds, we all gathered at the in-ground oven to view the digging up of the roasted Imu (pig). Then everyone went to the lovely dining area where we all enjoyed tropical drinks and the delicious feast. During dinner, Hawaiian entertainers performed traditional Hawaiian music, singing, and hulas. Children were invited onstage to learn the hulas so it was great fun to watch!! Following the feast, everyone went to the grand outdoor theater to witness the torch lighting and a spectacular Polynesian music production where each of the Islands presented dramatic traditional hulas and music. It is great family fun, not to be missed!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/03

We enjoyed this luau a lot. We've been to several luaus on Oahu, but the ground where this luau sits is just so pretty. They have a tram that goes around the property, and we even fed peacocks that roam around freely. We even saw a local wedding that was taking place.

The foods were really good, and we definitely enjoyed their open bar. We had 3, 4 of their mai tai drinks, and they made it just perfect. Foods were great so were the entertainment during the show.

Although we enjoyed the show, I thought they could improve it a little more. It was cool to see dances from non-Polynesian countries such as Japan, China and Philippines, but they could add more story line to the whole show instead of presenting it like a mix-plate. The fire knife dance was pretty good, and everyone was in awe.

All in all, I highly recommend this luau if you go to Kauai. You will have a good time for sure.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smiths Tropical Paradise Luau Kauai

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/11

This was amazing !!!
The Smith family really know how to put on a show!

Pros: Great food, awesome gardens, great fun time, plenty of time to have fun and take pictures. Easy fun experience. Great for ANYONE! Lots of peacocks to take photos with. Great staff. The after show was AMAZING cultural world tour far beyond my experiences at othe Luau's. It could easily compete with a Lav Vegas show!! You have to see to believe! Iwon't share more to avoid giving too much away. Smith's is one of the best Luau in Kauai. Even my teenager had a ball ! She was grinning ear to ear. PRICELESS!

Con: Its a really BIG CROWD becauses they seat so many, there's lots of people you eat with etc but not overwhelming. Just alot.

What to take with you. SunGlasses, mosquito spray, camera of course, easy dress (Where something comfy, pretty or fun). Hawaii dress or whatever. Its easy and nice.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Everyone Had A Great Time

Reviewed by: H Baxter, 2009/02/24

We highly recommend this luau - the whole family from age 7 to age 75 enjoyed it. The food was awesome, the gardens were beautiful and the dancing was amazing. I love that this is a family run business, and you can tell that they all really invest their time and care into every detail. Even grandpa Smith was out in the food line making sure the buffet was tidy and fresh. I was really impressed by the quality of the dancers! Some might say, though, that this is a bit on the "schmaltzy" side - it might not have the cosmopolitan feel of some of the other luaus, I certainly wouldn't say it was a romantic or upscale sort of thing - but I liked the old-time feel of it. Also, don't rush to get there, we arrived at the very beginning and took the tram ride through the gardens - then waited about an hour for the entertainment and refreshments to start.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Great Food, Great Entertainment, Awesome Time.

Reviewed by: JJ Salazar, 2016/11/28

The tour of the Garden was fantastic. Peacocks all around. The tour guide was very hospitable and funny. The start of the Luau celebration was very informative and they explained about the tradition the Hawaiian people do and of their honorable way of life and respect for the planet in general. The seating was very organized and tables were called one at a time and in an expeditious manner. The food was very well presented and plenty of it. The salads and dressings were island flavor and very delish. The main dishes were local fish, Roasted Pork, Teryaki Chicken with your side of fried rice. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The Show was a great ending to the night with a history of the evolution of the Hawaiian Islands and its people. I would definitely do it again. Worth the time and money. Take a camera...plenty of photos.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smith Luau Extraordinary

Reviewed by: Brad McRee, 2008/07/08

The Smith Luau was an overall extraordinary experience and great value. The evening begins with a tram or walking tour of Smith's Tropical Paradise. The grounds include a wide variety of birds and fish, and labelled foliage. The luau was in a covered open-air pavillion, and preceded by giving thanks for the food and asking God's blessings. The luau was served buffet style, including fish, pork, chicken and beef dishes, and a wide variety of vegetables and desserts. While eating, we were serenaded by a live band, playing traditional Hawaiian music. Following the luau, we moved to a covered open-air amphitheater for a live show, including segments depicting the many cultures of the Hawaiian islands. The staff was genuinely courteous and kind. Overall, this was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, and is highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smith Family Garden Luau with a Toddler

Reviewed by: Patty, 2019/05/09

This was a good experience all the way around! Ordering tickets was easy through Veltra. Check in was seamless.
The 10 min tram ride around the beautiful grounds was just long enough to give an overview of the area but not so long that a 3 year old would get bored. They allowed time before dinner to walk around and get the wiggles out. The food was good and they even marked the gluten free dishes. There was another break before the show to run around and use the restrooms (even had a golf cart to transport there & back). The acts were exciting enough, and short enough to keep the toddler entertained and the fire dancer was great! Only drawbacks: cell service almost non-existent (hard to connect with late arrivers), lots of waiting to get in because of the photo line-maybe do it after tram ride).

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

( THE LUAU )

Reviewed by: Dave Woehrman, 2012/11/11

Arriving on the island of kauai with so many things planned was so exciting but the garden tour before the luau and touring the grounds was fantastic. Everthing about the whole show was very exciting from the necklace greeting all the way to the spectacular fire dance at the end of the show. My family and I found this adventure to be one of our favrorites while on our stay on Kauai.
The staff along with all the people in the show were just great it was plain to see that the ALOHA spirit was alive and well.
The food was unbeatable the colorfull costumes and the show priceless !! Smith's tropical paradise luau is best discribed as the Big Kahuna. If your planning a trip to Kauai put this at the top of your list of things to do
Mahalo Smith's tropical paradise

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Makaiwa - Kauai Oceanfront Luau with Open Bar at Coconut Beach

Wonderful luau!

Reviewed by: R and D, 2018/11/13

We thoroughly enjoyed this luau! The singers, musicians, and dancers are all outstanding. Hula master Halao o Leilani does a beautiful job telling the stories of the islands through a variety of performances. It is a smaller venue for a luau and there was not a bad seat in the house. The luau is set in a big white open-aired tent along the shores of the Coconut Coast. We enjoyed walking around the grounds before the luau began. There was plenty of food and desserts and lots of refreshments. There are bottomless mai tais, beer, wine, and soda from 5:30 to 7pm. Be advised that the beverages are no longer served after 7pm. The performance goes until ~8:30pm. The mood at the luau was upbeat and celebratory and we were so glad we went!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Polynesian Show & Island Dinner Feast

Awesome Luau show and decent dinner!

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

The show is definitely the best part of it. Very entertaining, and great production. The dinner buffet is good -- more than enough food to stuff yourself, and decent selections of Hawaiian food. We didn't opt for the train ride before the dinner, and there's really not too many booths and demonstrations to walk around and see. A lot of people end up just sitting at their table early to wait for dinner to start, especially those who don't drink alcohol that much. My only complaint of the night was it was quite chilly and even cold after sitting there for a while watching the show. It's essentially "outdoors" (with cover) and it's December, so night time it's in the 60s, and I guess I didn't dress appropriately for 60s degrees F weather.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

MUST SEE FOR ALL!!!

Reviewed by: LivnLife & LovnIt!, 2010/06/30

This was mine, my kids & their Godmother's first trip to the Hawaiian Islands. I must say from conversations I had while visiting, it was the right decision to make this the first island to visit. I figured we would break up our vacation by going to the Luau on Wednesday (did the cruise on Tuesday, loved it as well). This was the best decision, because this was the best part of our vacation. I felt like I had the Hawaiin experience after the tour, the emu, feast and luau. MAGNIFICENT!!!. I can't imagine why this event is only showing an overall 3.xxx rating. I would like to give it a 10 if I could.

Mahalo to the Smith Family for such an entertaining experience! I'll be back, someday, somehow...

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

The BEST LUAU we've ever been...

Reviewed by: Chris & Wan, 2009/12/09

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this event - it wasn't only a Luau, but you learned of the culture, flora, and food. The food was OUTSTANDING! The hosts gave a thorough description of the foods, and how to eat them. The pig was very juicy, and salted to perfection. And even though the Poi was bland (as it should be), it had a distinctive and very interesting taste that perked our senses. The free mai-tais didn't hurt either! : )

The show ran a bit longer than we expected, but after a few drinks, it may have just seemed longer. The quality of dance, special effects, and entertainment was high, and the fire dude rocked the house (one of the best we've seen).

Mahalo Smith's!
Chris & Wan

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Makaiwa - Kauai Oceanfront Luau with Open Bar at Coconut Beach

Luau

Reviewed by: Jana Rackley, 2019/01/06

This was my first Luau and wow what a great experience. I attended with my Mother. The place where the Luau was beautiful, although I wish it was slightly closer to the ocean!!
It was awesome to have vendors there, I got myself the cutest turtle necklace I had seen on the island.
The table where we were placed was directly mid stage which was perfect for the performances. The company at the table was also great. The food was delicious, desert was just ok. Open bar of Mai tais was of course amazing.
The performers were by far my favorite. So much beauty in the dancing, instruments, singing and their attire.
I was so happy to find this deal and was very impressed with my very first Luau.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Absolutely the BEST Luau anywhere!

Reviewed by: Perscon, 2009/02/10

I've lived in Hawaii and returned for many occasions, and Smith's Luau is absolutely the BEST Luau on any island at any price! The setting is absolutely gorgeous, the staff was very friendly and outgoing, the food was absolutely the best and there was plenty of it! Open mai-tai bar was a great value, dinner entertainment was fun but not overwhelming and the show afterward was a great Luau value. The thing that impressed me the most was Mr Smith, the owner, was available, visible and active in every part of the evening, from un-earthing the pig to singing and entertaining at dinner. I would HIGHLY recommend this event for anyone who visits Kauai - you WON'T be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Liked it so much we brought our kids to see it

Reviewed by: Dhpaul, 2016/05/16

We have gone to numerous luaus with mixed experiences. Sometimes great dancers but average food. Sometimes just a poor experience altogether. We went the the Smith family luau in 2011 when we took our parents for their 50th anniversary. We loved it. Great food with an outstanding setting.
This year we took our son, daughter in law and grandson to Kauai for a week. We decided to go to Smiths luau the night before leaving. If far exceeded expectations.
Come early to walk the garden grounds as they are spectacular. Our son has gone to luaus on Maui and Oahu as well as at Gaylords. He thought this one had it all. Great food a very well done show.
You too will come back.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smith's Luai

Reviewed by: sherry, 2011/12/26

I would highly recommend this to everyone of all ages! The staff was very nice, pleasent,and funny. The dinner was excellent! and the entertainment was just awesome! It was put together very nicely, I especially liked the way they did the one table at a time. avoided a rush to the tables, there was plenty of food to go around so no one had to miss out on everything. I even tried poi for the first time! The pork, OMG it is one of the best tasting pig I have ever had in my life! melted in your mouth! Everything was great. I can guarantee if I'm lucky enough to go back to Kauai I will do that again! I don't have any pictures developed yet or I would show them. :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku - Polynesian Show & Island Dinner Feast

Best Luau Ever

Reviewed by: KathyS, 2014/05/21

This luau was beyond our expectations. We went for the gold seating (worth it). We had a table right up front. Upon entering we were able to learn a few hula moves with the poi balls and do some shopping with local vendors. Open bar! All you could drink all through dinner. Hula dancers before and during dinner. Group hula lesson - fun! Buffet food was good - dessert delicious. Show after dinner was spectacular!! We also went to the plantation a couple of hours before the luau started to enjoy a tour of the old plantation house (with shops) and did some run tasting. Definitely worth the money. I would highly recommend this event.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Great Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/09/27

We have attended other Luaus on Kauai, but this Luau exceeded all expectations. The grounds are beautiful, the food was great and the service was outstanding. There was plenty of food and drink (all you can eat/drink) and it was all delicious! The Smith family and their associates are warm, friendly and genuine. One note of caution to those with young children - the show does not begin until after dinner is over, so this could make for a long night for some little ones. My two sons (3 years and 4 months) did well and enjoyed the show, but were definitely getting a little tired toward the end. Overall, I would highly recommend this luau.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Smith's Luau

Reviewed by: Bill from Niles IL, 2009/11/11

We have been to many luaus on all the islands and this is one of the best. The food was plentiful and very enjoyable. The host and his father 2nd and 3rd generation we very informative and available to every one. They worked the tables and made sure everyone felt at home.

The entertainment during dinner was continuious. We even had a couple get engaged after the hula class. Very sweet.The bar service was fast and the special drinks well prepared.

The entertainment was very professional and varied dances form the different pacific islands. The special effects were just great.

Would we go back. In a heart beat.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Educational and professional luau

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/01/07

The smith family runs a professional operation. Everything was well-timed. Tram through the gardens to the imu presentation was nice. Ability to walk through the gardens was nice as much as you want is nice. Imu (unearthing the cooked pig) was interesting. Food at dinner was good, though open air dining room was not was I would have expected. Show was in an amphitheater nearby and again not what I expected, but visibility was good for all. The show was very well done, the right length and I appreciated the educational sharing of different types of dance to immigrants from different countries. Very enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Kamika Smith

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/02

The Luau at Smith's Tropical Paradise was very nice. I was impressed with the multitude of talents on display by the staff, such as Kamika Smith managing, cracking jokes, singing, and even serving coffee - he seemed to be everywhere. My wife, her mother and I really enjoyed the food, music and show. It was a very pleasant evening.

The one thing I would say had room for improvement was the mai tai punch - it was 1 or 2 % abv at most, 4 or 5 % abv would have been better.

We would be happy to return next time we are on Kauai. Overall our trip was a lot of fun and very relaxing - just what we needed.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Kauai's Best Luau

Reviewed by: Jerry Kraft, 2016/03/31

We had a wonderful time at the Smith Luau. The site is amazing and utterly beautiful; the connection to Kauai history is impressive and impeccable. We enjoyed visiting and getting to know the other people at our table, even though they were strangers. The food was fantastic, varied and perfectly prepared. We loved the fact that nothing felt rushed or skimpy. The presentation in the theater was exceptionally well performed and really captured the variety of island cultures that have created this Pacific paradise. There was absolutely nothing about this evening that I would have made any different.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

A very satisfied customer

Reviewed by: Becky Skvarek, 2014/03/01

We got married here 5/6/88. It was so beautiful then, and is now also. Everyone there was so nice, smiling, and so helpful. Our son wanted to propose to his girlfriend as a surprise during the Luau. We came ahead early to help prepare for this to happen. Everyone was so helpful in setting this up, and it went so perfectly and beautiful!! Other visitors there said it made them cry also. They made it very special. Thank you to them all for all their help and TLC. Thanks to Dee, Nancy, and the MC during the Luau. I can't remember his name......last name Smith. They were all wonderful. Becky and Dana

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations