Page 5) Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry

Overall Rating

4.83 4.83 / 5

Reviews

189 reviews
Post a review

Perfect Adventure

Reviewed by: Julia, 2014/03/09

This was one of the most fun things we did while on Kuaui. The guides were funny, knowledgable, and helpful. The tubing was such a blast. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A REFRESHING View of Kauai

Reviewed by: Steve & Kathy, 2014/02/24

This was probably the funnest thing we did while on the island. While the ride to the location was bumpy, to say the least, it was through a beautiful countryside and our hosts were fun and interesting (Brandon and Jerry). We were warned that the water was 'refreshing' and it was! It was also easy to get used to and the tubes were comfortable. Be prepared to be weighed in so that they accommodate you accordingly, to wear a helmet and rubbery gloves, and to get wet. The dark areas are not bad to float through and to imagine that they were man-made is amazing. While I didn't get my question answered (What DID they do with all the rock they cleared out), they were well informed about the vegetation and area we experienced. The turkey/veggie pita lunch afterward was in a nice picnic area and allowed more time to get to know our hosts.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better than expected

Reviewed by: Judy M, 2014/02/10

I was a little nervous on whether I could keep up on this tour as I am in my 50's but not a problem at all. The guides were great in making sure we all were safe secure and laughing all the time. They were curteous friendly and funny. The guides really made the adventure. Highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing Adventure

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2013/08/30

Excellent tour with excellent guides. Would recommend for all families. This will be the most "different" activity you will do in Hawaii. Instead of the standard rounds in the pool, golf, the beach, etc., do something different. This is a conversation piece.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool time in hot Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2013/08/24

We loved this tour. It was so cool to go tubing through tunnels! The guides were great; John, in particular, was fun, knowledgable and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's an experience!

Reviewed by: twins, 2013/08/11

We enjoyed this excursion! alot of fun, exciting especially, going to the top Lihue Sugar Plantation Hawaii Garden Isle and The Tunnels. The Staff is very helpful and experienced. Rain or shine it is worth the time also there is a stop for Lunch which is a good thing so we can take a break.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and INVIGORATING!!

Reviewed by: Jeannie E., 2013/07/18

Wasn't really sure what to expect even though I read good reviews. We had teens and I worried this would be a lazy river float. It wasn't! Don't get me wrong, it wasn't rapids either. But it was a lot of fun. You float, but you also spin and the tunnels are really something. I'm claustrophobic and worried about the tunnels, but with the headlamp provided and everyone moving along, it was not scary, not even for young children. The guides were terrific at making sure you have a good time, but also know when enough is enough...meaning they asked about claustrophobia and when I told them yes, they did not jump out to scare me in the tunnels. Although I would have been ok with that!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great time

Reviewed by: kauai, 2013/06/08

Had lots of fun on this tubing adventure with the kids. Learnt a lot abouy Kauai's history as well. Our guides were friendly and made this experience one to remember.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Sixto, 2013/06/07

Had such a great time, crew was great, and the adventure was amazing as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain adventure

Reviewed by: Hawaii 1st timer, 2013/06/02

This was great experience. The staff was fun and attentive making sure everyone was comfortable each step of the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/14

We went to this tour while on our honeymoon and we loved it! So cool to see all of the hand dug tunnels and the guides were awesome! very outgoing and made the whole trip a lot more fun, had a great way of getting the whole group talking and having fun. Would definitely do again and kids would really love it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing

Reviewed by: SherryBear, 2012/10/23

I had a great time doing the tubing activity! It was definitely relaxing and fun and I'd highly recommend it..The only issue I would have is that it's not a very long tour (mainly cause I could have kept floating for hours on end or at least done it twice). The guides were excellent and fun. They were genuinely nice and kept us entertained with stories, history, jokes..they made an effort to get to know the guests on the tour and were good at remembering names. I had Ian and Mike(?) I think thats his name, as they really were very genuinely friendly. You'll get wet on this activity but its not strenuous by any means and its something different to do. It was my first visit to Kauai and I had been hearing about this tour from other friends for quite some time so I am so glad I did it! I only wish I had also signed up for the ziplining too! Its a bit steep price wise as the tour really doesn't last that long but that being said I would do this again in a heartbeat because it was so relax

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

mrs

Reviewed by: angie, 2012/09/22

We had a wonderful time with this really neat tubing trip. Our guides were alot of fun and made the trip interesting, even the van ride. Seeing the interior of the island was different and seeing the inside of the hand-dug caves was so cool.
Thanks for making memories...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Butt chill

Reviewed by: Brian, 2012/09/12

From start to finish, this was one of the best experiences we had on the island. The trip out to the start was comfortable, informative and entertaining. Having a sound system that allowed the guide to talk normally and permit even those in the back of the van to hear was absolutely perfect. Our guides (unfortunately we don't remember them all) were just a fun bunch of guys! They enjoyed their jobs and it showed!

We were never bored because we never had a chance to get bored. The guys told us what to expect and allayed any fears anyone in the group had. Riding the tubes through the canals and caves was easy and very enjoyable. This is not an "adrenaline rush" activity but don't let that deter you. It was a relaxing but fun event for all in our group from the ten year old out to grandpop! A wonderful activity for all ages and physical levels.

The food and entertainment the guys put on was perfect. They obviously like what they do, with the guests and themselves. We didn

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: T & S, 2012/08/26

A wonderful time, even better than imagined. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: SD Taz, 2012/08/17

Had a great time!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing ROCKS!

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

This is one of the most amazing things we have ever done.

It is GOREGOUS scenery between the five tunnels.

Why? Where else can you go tubing INSIDE TUNNELS in the dark (you have helmet with lights so don't worry).

It was fantastic and fun. The guides rocked and catered to every person and small children needs as well. They were responsive, helpful and funny.

Would do this again and again.

Have fun fellow Travelers and Travel Safe!
Peggy

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing Kauai

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/15

Pretty basic tubing ride, no rapids or anything like that, just float down a drainage ditch basically, the staff even calls it the ditch. Kinda stunk, like sewer, or cows or something...Probably great for kids, but for over $100 per person, not the best activity for the money...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Clarke and Robin, 2012/06/17

We took our family on this tour and are glad we did. The kids both ranked it as one of their favorite activities in Kauai. The staff is friendly and playful. We had a ball with them. Kimo and Melissa were our tubing anchors and they did a great job. If you don't want to get wet and your are worried about your make-up and hair... this tour isn't for you. Great family fun. Would have liked a bit more time at the swimming hole at the end of the tour. We recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Jeff and Tammy, 2012/01/04

This tour is a lot of fun. The crew is friendly and they make you feel comfortable. The experience was so AWESOME. My husband and I did this tour on our honeymoon and had such a great time. The scenery was beautiful and the tunnels were very cool. We highly recommend this adventure! One thing to note: Wear a long sleeve water shirt if you go during the winter months. The water is really COLD. After a few minutes, you will get use to the water, however, the wind can be a little overwhelming. Regardless, this is a must do activity. We will do it again when we return to the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2011/11/30

We did the tubing adventure on Thanksgiving morning. It was so much fun. The tubing portion was about an hour and I only wish it was longer. It really was fun!! They put out a nice lunch (make your own sandwich) for us after it was over but I would recommend offering a bit more food. What was offered was very good though. The guides were great and lots of fun. I highly recommend this adventure!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wet Fun Ride

Reviewed by: Charles Wells, 2011/08/31

This was a nice experience, just bring a change of clothes and your own sandwich if you don't like Turkey, Ham, or Tuna.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our guide was so fabulous/FUNNY

Reviewed by: Cindy & Steve Pixley, 2011/08/30

She kept the entire family and other couple amused and informed the entire trip. Also we asked for some input on key restaurants to visit while we were there and she was right on and we totally appreciated all her help. Our driver was also a pleasure and a very enjoyable addition to the conversation. Plus the turkey lunch was great!!!!! We would definetly recommend this to our friends.!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

tubing adventure

Reviewed by: Tim and Christie, 2011/08/03

We really had fun on this unique activity. The water was nice and the tubes were tough and comfortable. The guides were very informative, fun, and knowedgable. I would do this activity again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Another Family Pleaser

Reviewed by: Big Momma, 2011/07/26

We had a blast on this tubing adventure. Definitely a great way to have fun without to much effort. Just sit back and relax on the tube and off you go. I took my kids (7 & 12), husband and parents and everyone had a great time. And the way Grandma (almost 60) was talking about it afterward, I know she really enjoyed herself. I booked this tubing adventure and the Na Pali Coast Snorkel Tour and my family told me I was 2 for 2.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: John & Carol, 2011/07/22

Absolutely fantastic! We had the best time!! We would highly recommend this activity to anyone visiting Kauai. Floating through the rainforest and through tunnels - it was a great experience and we felt safe every bit of the way. Don't miss this if you visit Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

m

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/14

It was fun but a little pricey for.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

tubing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/05/23

It was great time, excellent staff and Will do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Must do!!!, 2011/04/22

This is not your normal tubing- it's way cooler! Who can say they've tubed through an old ditch for irrigating sugar fields! Not to mention Kehea and Marty are super awesome guides.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing is Absolutely Fun

Reviewed by: Monica Lake, 2011/04/18

I'm from Louisiana where we have plently of places to go tubing. This is a one of a kind excursion!!! I've gone scuba diving, snorkeling with stingrays, etc and nothing compared to this.. The tour guides were very nice and fun to be around.. This is a perfect trip for families as well as children.. I would definately do this again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]