Page 5) Kauai Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kauai Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry

Overall Rating

4.82 4.82 / 5

Reviews

181 reviews
Post a review

Amazing

Reviewed by: Sixto, 2013/06/07

Had such a great time, crew was great, and the adventure was amazing as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain adventure

Reviewed by: Hawaii 1st timer, 2013/06/02

This was great experience. The staff was fun and attentive making sure everyone was comfortable each step of the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/14

We went to this tour while on our honeymoon and we loved it! So cool to see all of the hand dug tunnels and the guides were awesome! very outgoing and made the whole trip a lot more fun, had a great way of getting the whole group talking and having fun. Would definitely do again and kids would really love it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing

Reviewed by: SherryBear, 2012/10/23

I had a great time doing the tubing activity! It was definitely relaxing and fun and I'd highly recommend it..The only issue I would have is that it's not a very long tour (mainly cause I could have kept floating for hours on end or at least done it twice). The guides were excellent and fun. They were genuinely nice and kept us entertained with stories, history, jokes..they made an effort to get to know the guests on the tour and were good at remembering names. I had Ian and Mike(?) I think thats his name, as they really were very genuinely friendly. You'll get wet on this activity but its not strenuous by any means and its something different to do. It was my first visit to Kauai and I had been hearing about this tour from other friends for quite some time so I am so glad I did it! I only wish I had also signed up for the ziplining too! Its a bit steep price wise as the tour really doesn't last that long but that being said I would do this again in a heartbeat because it was so relax

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

mrs

Reviewed by: angie, 2012/09/22

We had a wonderful time with this really neat tubing trip. Our guides were alot of fun and made the trip interesting, even the van ride. Seeing the interior of the island was different and seeing the inside of the hand-dug caves was so cool.
Thanks for making memories...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Butt chill

Reviewed by: Brian, 2012/09/12

From start to finish, this was one of the best experiences we had on the island. The trip out to the start was comfortable, informative and entertaining. Having a sound system that allowed the guide to talk normally and permit even those in the back of the van to hear was absolutely perfect. Our guides (unfortunately we don't remember them all) were just a fun bunch of guys! They enjoyed their jobs and it showed!

We were never bored because we never had a chance to get bored. The guys told us what to expect and allayed any fears anyone in the group had. Riding the tubes through the canals and caves was easy and very enjoyable. This is not an "adrenaline rush" activity but don't let that deter you. It was a relaxing but fun event for all in our group from the ten year old out to grandpop! A wonderful activity for all ages and physical levels.

The food and entertainment the guys put on was perfect. They obviously like what they do, with the guests and themselves. We didn

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: T & S, 2012/08/26

A wonderful time, even better than imagined. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: SD Taz, 2012/08/17

Had a great time!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing ROCKS!

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

This is one of the most amazing things we have ever done.

It is GOREGOUS scenery between the five tunnels.

Why? Where else can you go tubing INSIDE TUNNELS in the dark (you have helmet with lights so don't worry).

It was fantastic and fun. The guides rocked and catered to every person and small children needs as well. They were responsive, helpful and funny.

Would do this again and again.

Have fun fellow Travelers and Travel Safe!
Peggy

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing Kauai

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/15

Pretty basic tubing ride, no rapids or anything like that, just float down a drainage ditch basically, the staff even calls it the ditch. Kinda stunk, like sewer, or cows or something...Probably great for kids, but for over $100 per person, not the best activity for the money...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Clarke and Robin, 2012/06/17

We took our family on this tour and are glad we did. The kids both ranked it as one of their favorite activities in Kauai. The staff is friendly and playful. We had a ball with them. Kimo and Melissa were our tubing anchors and they did a great job. If you don't want to get wet and your are worried about your make-up and hair... this tour isn't for you. Great family fun. Would have liked a bit more time at the swimming hole at the end of the tour. We recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Jeff and Tammy, 2012/01/04

This tour is a lot of fun. The crew is friendly and they make you feel comfortable. The experience was so AWESOME. My husband and I did this tour on our honeymoon and had such a great time. The scenery was beautiful and the tunnels were very cool. We highly recommend this adventure! One thing to note: Wear a long sleeve water shirt if you go during the winter months. The water is really COLD. After a few minutes, you will get use to the water, however, the wind can be a little overwhelming. Regardless, this is a must do activity. We will do it again when we return to the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2011/11/30

We did the tubing adventure on Thanksgiving morning. It was so much fun. The tubing portion was about an hour and I only wish it was longer. It really was fun!! They put out a nice lunch (make your own sandwich) for us after it was over but I would recommend offering a bit more food. What was offered was very good though. The guides were great and lots of fun. I highly recommend this adventure!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wet Fun Ride

Reviewed by: Charles Wells, 2011/08/31

This was a nice experience, just bring a change of clothes and your own sandwich if you don't like Turkey, Ham, or Tuna.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our guide was so fabulous/FUNNY

Reviewed by: Cindy & Steve Pixley, 2011/08/30

She kept the entire family and other couple amused and informed the entire trip. Also we asked for some input on key restaurants to visit while we were there and she was right on and we totally appreciated all her help. Our driver was also a pleasure and a very enjoyable addition to the conversation. Plus the turkey lunch was great!!!!! We would definetly recommend this to our friends.!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

tubing adventure

Reviewed by: Tim and Christie, 2011/08/03

We really had fun on this unique activity. The water was nice and the tubes were tough and comfortable. The guides were very informative, fun, and knowedgable. I would do this activity again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Another Family Pleaser

Reviewed by: Big Momma, 2011/07/26

We had a blast on this tubing adventure. Definitely a great way to have fun without to much effort. Just sit back and relax on the tube and off you go. I took my kids (7 & 12), husband and parents and everyone had a great time. And the way Grandma (almost 60) was talking about it afterward, I know she really enjoyed herself. I booked this tubing adventure and the Na Pali Coast Snorkel Tour and my family told me I was 2 for 2.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: John & Carol, 2011/07/22

Absolutely fantastic! We had the best time!! We would highly recommend this activity to anyone visiting Kauai. Floating through the rainforest and through tunnels - it was a great experience and we felt safe every bit of the way. Don't miss this if you visit Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

m

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/14

It was fun but a little pricey for.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

tubing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/05/23

It was great time, excellent staff and Will do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Must do!!!, 2011/04/22

This is not your normal tubing- it's way cooler! Who can say they've tubed through an old ditch for irrigating sugar fields! Not to mention Kehea and Marty are super awesome guides.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing is Absolutely Fun

Reviewed by: Monica Lake, 2011/04/18

I'm from Louisiana where we have plently of places to go tubing. This is a one of a kind excursion!!! I've gone scuba diving, snorkeling with stingrays, etc and nothing compared to this.. The tour guides were very nice and fun to be around.. This is a perfect trip for families as well as children.. I would definately do this again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Tubing FUN!!

Reviewed by: Roxanne Ziola, 2011/02/15

My Mom, Sister and I went tubing, thinking that this would be a great time to catch some sun...we were very disappointed that the day was rainy. We went to the tubing anyway, and were we ever greatful that we did.
The experience that we had was very memorable...we bought a camera there and took pictures, we had so much fun!!
The staff was funny, experienced and knowledgeable. They made the drive up and back go so quickly, and the tubing, a once in a lifetime memory.
We are all "non-swimmers" so being in the water we were comfortable, being that it was shallow, and that they catered to making sure you got in and were ok all along.
The age span between Mother (57) and Daughter (29), made no difference, we all had just as much fun as the others.
Thank you for providing such a fun experience for our family!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

new and fun

Reviewed by: kittieanne, 2010/08/08

The tubing trip was a rare treat. I had recently read Michner's book "Hawaii" and one section was about chipping out the irrigation tunnels to bring water from the interior to the fields. Seeing these tunnels from the inside was a gift. It was also nice to go into the interior of the island since most of my experience in Kauai has been along the coastline. There is a thrill to the ride, but it is not scary or overwhelming. I am 60, my sister is 65 and we really enjoyed the experience and felt safe and well taken care of. I highly recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Tubing Experience for All

Reviewed by: Jim Bowler, 2010/07/11

The mountain tubing adventure is appropriately named. You find yourself navigating old irrigation channels that are now used for water reclamation. We had a group of thirteen including young teens through middle aged adults. Everyone had a great time. It is one of those experiences that is different, fun and one where you can control the pace. The staff is very friendly and fun loving. It makes for a very nice experience. I would recommend it particularly for groups.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubbing was awsome!

Reviewed by: Sharen, 2010/06/17

Yes the water was 'crisp' but very refreshing. Th whole trip was wonderful and the guides were very experienced with handeling all on the trip, young and older (that was us). I never scraped up an elbow or ankle with their instructions and if it is going to happen to anyone, it would be me.
WONDERFUL TIME!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/04/27

We had a great time! The staff was very nice and lots of fun! Mahalo!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2010/04/01

You won't find anything like this anywhere else in Hawaii. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountian Tubing Adventure

Reviewed by: Nancy Alguire, 2010/01/07

Kauai Backcountry Adventures ROCK! We had so much fun we scheduled another trip later in the week and celebrated my birthday tubing! I will schedule this everytime I go to Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/11/23

Very unique experience - and a great time! I would not recommend this to people older than 75 as there are a few areas where you can potentially fall out of your tube. Its a blast though - we had a lot of fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]