Wailua River Jungle Stream Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim Adventure

Overall Rating

4.004.00 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews (Post a review)

Adam was our guide

Reviewed by: Very Happy!, 2015/10/06

I normally do not write reviews, but this was needed. Please read this through to the end for the grand finale. The trip to the falls with Adam from Outfitters was about as good as it gets. He was very knowledgeable and engaging. My wife and I took a relaxed approach when preparing for this trip and wore flip-flops (not recommended due to the muddy trail you need to hike). When we arrived at the trail, Adam actually took the time to identify a local plant, strip the bark, and retrofitted our flip-flops into sandals. Someone in our group actually thought it was a set-up, but it wasn’t. Beyond just that, he kept the group together throughout while keeping the trip new and fresh with information. I would imagine being in his shoes, being a guide day-in and day-out; it would be natural tendency to become a little dull or burned out, but maybe not, and not Adam. To top it all off, on our way back kayaking along the river, he helped to salvage a sinking kayak and rescue two panicked people, who were with another kayak company. These two people were stranded and abandoned by their guide, with their Kayak filling with water and sinking. Adam and another local guide came to the rescue, initiated help from a couple other kayakers nearby (including us), and managed to drain the water filled kayak, pluck the two people from the river, and get them back safely to the dock, including the damaged kayak. At the same time he ran into the guide for those people and being very classy said to him “You got my back next time right?”. (I don’t think I would have been as nice.)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mystical waterfall!

Reviewed by: Patty and Jerry, 2015/02/26

Sight to see, worth the effort, spectacular views at the end of the trek! Elvis was an awesome guide, respected the aina and culture. He was a great host, took good care of the entire group!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Cody, 2014/09/29

Great kayak and hike tour. Our guide, Nick, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Lunch was better than expected. The swim at the end was cold but refreshing. Definitely worth the money and time spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Muddy trek

Reviewed by: newbie to scuba, 2013/12/17

We kayaked and then hiked to the waterfall where we ate lunch.
The only bad part was that it had been raining the past few days and the road was muddy. My shoes were completely muddy and others chose to just walk bare feet in the muddy road. I think I will stay with beach activities since I can hike the Shenandoah back home. FYI- There were roosters and chickens even at the waterfall.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The hike into hell

Reviewed by: JnJtucson, 2013/12/08

This excursion should never have happened. The first part, the paddle upriver was fine, but that's where the fun stopped. Due to the recent rain activity, the normally treacherous, 2 foot wide path to the falls was turned into a muddy,ankle busting,obstacle course. Even when it is dry, this path is just barely navigable. Several people on our tour fell down and slipped into the mud,which pretty much covered the trail. We had to cross the river a couple of times, which normally would have been a fun experience, but it turned into a survival contest for many of us. Once we got to the falls, there was nowhere to sit comfortably to eat the lunch, which we had to backpack in from the kayaks. There are rocks all around the pool formed by the falls, but you have to pick your way through them, holding on to something all the way. While the falls is cute and right out of a Hollywood TV show, it is, in my estimation, not worth the trouble and cost to see it. I suggest that this trip be left to younger, childless couples in their 20,s or 30,s, if they really need to pick their way through tree roots and rocks for 2 miles. If you have youngsters, think again about this trip. If you're over 50, forgetaboutit!!
The guide was great and tried to help as much as possible, but I think he should have called off the trip due to the rains. Someone should have gone up the trail early enough to warn everyone of the conditions. Had there been another way down from the falls, I would have paid anything not to go back through the muddy hell that we endured on the way up. I guess that some tourist companies will do anything for money, especailly when it is ours. I cannot recommend this activity to anyone until the path is fixed. This activity should be labeled "moderate to hard". Lastly, should you think that this is the raving of a wimp, I am a former Special Forces, Vietnam vet who has slogged through the worst jungles in the world and survived. This one gave me a good test.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle Streams

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/11

Had a great time. Kayaking looks easier than it is, as it was tough to keep the kayak going straight. Nonetheless, we had a great time and the Secret Falls were absolutely beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI