Captain Zodiac Ocean Rafting Kona Whale Watch Tour [Dec - Mar] reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Captain Zodiac Ocean Rafting Kona Whale Watch Tour [Dec - Mar]

Overall Rating

4.33 4.33 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews
Post a review

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Tessa , 2021/02/23

We got to see lots of whales. We saw whales breach & fin slap. We saw a baby calf very closely & she looked right at us. Then, the calf swam under our boat as the mom followed & then the huge escort male whale followed. Definitely was a trip to remember! Both the captain Chuck & lifeguard aboard were excited to see the whales & were very excited to share their knowledge! Our captain took us north away from all of the other boats. Which made us feel very connected to the whales & not like tourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Getting bounced around to kingdom come!! ;-(

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2020/02/28

Well, we were very excited to go on this tour. We have gone out in Alaska on whale tours and had a blast. First of all we noticed that the "safety" protocols were not very obvious. There were 12 guests on board and we noticed ONE life jacket. You basically scream across the water for over an hour, sitting on the edge of the raft and got bounced to kingdom come. We did see a mama and baby whale, which was nice. But, we both got sick on the boat. The staff was nice, but not overly accommodating with our throwing up and getting sick.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, I'm sorry you get seasick, when on a whale watch the raft does sit and bob around for a good hour while looking at whales. Upon boarding there is a short briefing on where to put your foot and where the life vests are, the one up front is just out for demonstration and looks. Each boat has 18 adult and 4 child life jackets and the area is labeled above the hatch. The raft is an adventure that can be bumpy but since 10 other guest were on board for a three hour tour our hands are tied with cutting the trip short to accommodate seasick passengers. There is not much in our control except hoping people take seasick precautions before our boarding a boat. We do have ginger ale on board to help those tummies rumbles. Hope we can see you again and change your mind about our rafting adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

April Whale Watch

Reviewed by: Beverly , 2013/04/15

The guides were knowledgable and friendly. They were attentive to the needs and comfort of the passengers. My 8 yr old grandson was given the cushioned seat in the center (also the safest) and they even provided a life jacket. We saw a Humpback family group that breached numerous times. It was great! The disclaimer says it is not for those with mobility issues or bad backs, etc - believe them! Seating is on the side pontoons and would definitely be very uncomfortable for someone like my husband, who has 2 hip replacements (he did not go with us). I definitely recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Colin and Crew on the Zodiac Whale Warch

Reviewed by: Jo Quilici, 2013/03/13

This was my second trip out to see the whales with Captain Colin and crew. Went last year, could hardly wait to go again, got the opportunity and took it. The Captain is wonderful, he makes the trip both entertaining and informative, also exciting. We had the experience of a life time both trips, saw whales and dolphins. The zodiac ride is always wild and exciting. The Captain and his crew make sure the visitors are safe and as comfortable as possible under the circumstances and are given the opportunity to see and understand the animals in the ocean. Colin and his crew love their job and the ocean and convey that feeling to the visitors. I would and will go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands