Sea Quest Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Tour & Rafting Sea Cave Expedition reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Sea Quest Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Tour & Rafting Sea Cave Expedition

Overall Rating

4.93 4.93 / 5

Reviews

42 reviews
Post a review

Beautiful Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Crystal clear waters, fun to go through sea caves, thrilling

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First timers!!!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2022/11/05

First timers snorkeling, we have so much fun and our guides very friendly and helpful

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect ocean day!

Reviewed by: Jess, 2022/08/19

Our guides were wonderful! They were knowledgeable and very friendly which made our experience that much better. The snorkeling spots were on point, and they give clear and concise directions on how to proceed at each location. Our group was small and intimate which I found ideal.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Laurie H, 2022/08/15

I went on the deluxe snorkeling trip with my husband and five of my young adult children. We all loved it! Captain Steve did a fantastic job showing us sea caves and other interesting sites. We ended up in the midst of a pod of dolphins and saw some pilot whales. For all of us it was our first time snorkeling and Captain Steve and his crew made our first experience incredible. They even helped my son who can’t swim get comfortable with snorkeling using a life vest and noodle so by the second snorkeling stop he was a pro. We saw so many fish, eels, and a few sea turtles. I truly can’t say enough good things about the crew and the whole experience. One of the best of my life! I will definitely return!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure

Reviewed by: Steve , 2022/07/30

The whole crew was outstanding. So helpful, knowledgeable, courteous, personable. We had a great time. Thanks so much to Seaquest!!! Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtles and Dolphins!

Reviewed by: Ashton H, 2022/07/01

We got to see a turtle and a pod of like 15 dolphins we learned were currently in a half conscious state and they can basically auto-swim!
Boat was a little crowded with the kids on board. Would prefer an option with adults only as they were a little much for our honeymoon.
Overall great time! The cooled lava caves were very cool and go up all inside the big island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2022/06/11

Length of trip perfect for first time snorkelers (12 yr old children). Crew knowledgeable, attentive and fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect beginner's snorkel adventure

Reviewed by: Bruce L, 2022/04/16

Our family did the Captain Cook snorkel trip in early April. The boat takes less than 15 people (11 on our trip), it is a small but stable inflatable type. The water was a little choppy for our trip, but not enough to prevent the go-ahead. We had to hang on as the boat jumped and rolled its way through the waves making hte journey unexpectedly exciting. We had a relaxed, informative and personable captain and one other crew member. The boat zipped out towards the Captain Cook monument area which has excellent snorkeling. Pretty much everyone on the boat was snorkeling for the first time. Sea Quest supplied full snorkel gear including prescription masks for one of our party. Inflatable Snorkel vests and pool noodles were also made available for those who prefer a little extra buoyancy. We stopped a couple of times on the way to check out a large pod of spinners dolphin and for an overview of the Big Island as viewed from out at sea. Once we got to Capt. Cook, we had about 1.5 hours to snorkel. The snorkeling was outstanding - clear calm water, tons of fish & coral. Sea Quest supplied snacks and drinks. Everyone had a great time and a lasting fun family memory was made. Great work Sea Quest!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion fun staff

Reviewed by: Michael T., 2022/04/16

Skylar and Aerial were awesome. The trip was perfect. We were even fortunate enough to see a hammer head shark on our way back. These guys do it right!!!! Highly recommend booking with them as me and my family will remember this for a lifetime.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So many beautiful creatures

Reviewed by: Robin, 2022/04/06

This was a great snorkel adventure. We made 3 stops and saw tons of beautiful coral and underwater creatures. It was a long half-day, but it went by so quickly. Would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A 3 hour tour.

Reviewed by: Shelly, 2022/03/30

The crew was great, helpful and fun. The little bit of history was enjoyable. We loved seeing the different marine life. The water wasn't too cold either. Our ride back was fantastic, Thanks Loren 1, 2 and Alex.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The perfect adventure

Reviewed by: Ren, 2022/03/20

For a family coming from the snow, we didn’t know what to expect. We didn’t even know if we could snorkel! The crew was super helpful and fun. All of our fears were for not. We had the time of our lives! We were treated to historic stories to go along with our boat ride, the snorkel equipment was clean and high quality, the sights were incredible! The perfect adventure for beginners! Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day of snorkel and lava cave exploring

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2022/03/08

Bethany could not have been more accommodating and welcoming when we first arrived followed by a tremendous day at sea with Jill ! She gave an amazing tour of the coastline sharing history, " fun facts" and plentiful opportunity to see lava caves , blowholes, and awesome snorkeling! We saw a baby whale with her mama thanks to Jill's sharp eye followed by a diving turtle and then some dolphin at our final stop. Couldn't have asked for a better day that Jill and Sea Quest gave!

  • Rooster Crown

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day snorkeling in the sun!

Reviewed by: Jane, 2022/01/18

Such a welcoming crew and staff at Sea Quest. They worked through changes easily and made sure everyone was comfortable. Not only was the snorkeling great with tons of fish and coral but you also get several stops along the ride to look at lava tubes, caves, and larger wildlife. Very knowledgable crew and great spot to visit for both beginner and advanced swimmers/snorkelers.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great snorkeling and sea cave tour experience

Reviewed by: Tanya L., 2022/01/10

The captain and the assistant are very nice and knowledgeable. We saw a few amazing sea caves and lava tubes on the way to the snorkeling stops. Saw beautiful fishes at both stops and the 2nd stop (Captain Cook's Monument) is best and our GoPro caught awesome videos of those beautiful fishes.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing adventure

Reviewed by: Sarah h, 2021/08/23

It was an amazing snorkeling adventure. My husband and I have never gone snorkeling the crew was amazing. They were helpful and very funny. I suggest doing this. You get to see many different types of animals and sights

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best snorkel ever

Reviewed by: Sydnie, 2021/07/23

Brendan and Morgan were lovely, great story tellers and funny jokes. Overall 11/10 cannot recommend enough

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Mnm, 2021/06/10

One of the best experiences that my wife and i have had!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2020/03/04

This was a fun way to spend my birthday. The captain and crew were super relaxed and funny, and the small size of the boat allowed for a sense of camaraderie and fun, as we zoomed through the water at high speeds (make sure to hold on!). Loved this intimate experience rather than some big show boat with a ton of people onboard.

  • Happy after the snorkeling tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Make this outing a must

Reviewed by: Rebecca, 2018/11/18

From the start of this tour we knew it was going to be great. The staff are friendly & engaging. Admittedly it was only our family of 4, which was really nice. The whole afternoon was filled with tuna jumping around us, checking out caves, snorkelling in what I can only describe as one of the best snorkel locations I have ever been to, finishing with dolphins swimming with us on our way back! If I was here for longer I would go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience!

Reviewed by: Amber , 2018/03/12

Captain Steve and Sam were great! They were very knowledgeable and took great care of our family. The snorkeling was wonderful and we were able to see a lot of different species, including sea turtles and a spotted eagle ray.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Barb

Reviewed by: Barb Gregory, 2017/11/26

Frantastic. Trip could not have. Been better well worth the money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Quest made the day AMAZING!

Reviewed by: keryl, 2017/10/15

Captain Steve was hilarious and Michael was a great assistant captain. Both Steve and Michael were entertaining and very knowledgeable about the southern part of the island of Hawaii. We saw dolphins, tons of colorful fish snorkeling, traveled to look inside sea cave and had more food than we needed! It was a truly amazing day on the ocean with Sea Quest!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cook island tour

Reviewed by: VA family , 2017/10/14

A perfect size group for this expedition. Captain Steve was knowledgeable and interesting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Big Rob, 2017/07/14

Great guide
Best snorkelling
Best time
Loved and recommend to all
From Sydney ❤️Big island

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time with captain JC and Kevin

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/05/27

We had an awesome time with captain JC and Kevin. I went on dolfin discovery the day before and didn't even see the dolfin and captain JC found for us a shark, 3x dolfin and bring us to a place where the turtles are. In one word AWESOME, mahalo and aloha from the Netherlands

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adventurous and amazing fun!

Reviewed by: Lori Johnston, 2017/04/29

My husband and I went snorkeling and it was amazing! We saw Captain Cook monument and snorkled the most beautiful part of Hawaii. The boat tour was so much fun, we saw so many dolphins. Our boat driver and helper were super friendly. This is a must! Don't second guess just book it...your adventure begins here!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip

Reviewed by: Lena, 2016/11/11

Had a great time! The crew (Bill and Sam) were so friendly and informative. We really enjoyed the tour of the coastline we were given between sites and all local history tidbits along the way. The captain was always certain to take us to a spot with calm waters and good visibility. Saw so many green sea turtles. Highly recommend Sea quest.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Quest Ocean Rafting and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling (from Keauhou Bay

Reviewed by: Jen, 2016/05/09

We had a great time on this excursion. The ride on the raft to the snorkeling sites was exhilarating and relaxing as we took in the beauty of the Kona landscape. We chose this excursion because we were able to snorkel at two different bays ( including Captain Cook's monument). The only disappointment was not seeing more different types of fishes (saw about 5-7 different types per area) and more fishes overall. Our captain and shipmate took good care of our group of 9. The Captain gave us a history of the many caves and cliffs that we visited. They also provided us with fresh fruit, soda, chips, and cookies during the rides. Bonus was seeing a couple of dolphins and mountain goats. A fun afternoon snorkeling made this trip memorable.

  • Captain Cook Monument

  • Mountain goat

  • Cave blowhole

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jen! Thank you for choosing Sea Quest! We're thrilled you enjoyed yourself and hope we will see you again soon. We'll tell the goats and dolphins you say "hi" in the meantime.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Tanisha, 2015/08/02

I had an amazing time snorkeling for the very first time. Captain Dave was great, he made me feel very comfortable. I am definitely coming back the next time I visit The Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories