This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Body Glove Afternoon Whale Watch Cruise (from Kailua-Kona Pier)

Good if you like a large cruise ship

Reviewed by: Amy, 2018/02/08

The Body Glove Afternoon Whale Watch Cruise was an enjoyable experience. The guide was very knowledgable, and the captain was great.
And they give you free reef friendly sunscreen!

however, you don't really feel that you're 'in nature' if that's what you're looking for - it's a very large very fancy cruise ship - just be aware if you're looking for a more intimate experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awsome!

Reviewed by: Cloudia, 2018/01/16

We had an experience beyond description. After watching the whale sufficiently, when the sailor turned on the music for a small party, the captain shouted for me to look for the noon direction and I saw a wonderful scene. Music was playing on the boat, a group of dolphins came from two o'clock, and a humpback whale made a wonderful vertical jump on the horizon. At that moment my friend and I felt we were in a dream. It was a fascinating and beautiful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A whale of a tale!

Reviewed by: Daina from Phoenix, 2018/01/15

My first whale watch was a total success. It was a beautiful day. The staff was more than helpful and friendly. The information from the naturalist was engaging and helpful. We were fortunate enough to see spouts of water, breeching and a few beautiful tails. I would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Humpy

Reviewed by: Michele, 2017/02/27

We were able to see a couple humpback whales, no breach but that was ok. Saw back & the tails! Wild creatures don't always do what we wish, but we saw them! Also saw 4 hammerhead sharks, bottle nose dolphin & a spinner dolphin. Great experience.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us! We hope to see you again in the future!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exceptional service

Reviewed by: Terry, 2017/01/05

All the crew were knowledgeable, friendly and super helpful. Didn't see any whales but we had a great time anyway!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not much to see

Reviewed by: omg9, 2016/02/28

We went for a whale watch, problem was there weren't a lot of whales.
That's not Body Gloves fault, they made the cruise enjoyable anyway.
We did get to see two whales and a couple dolphins.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

There be whales!

Reviewed by: Jeanne A, 2015/02/15

Beautiful day and beautiful catamaran to follow several whales spotted. The naturalist on board was extremely informative about the trip and also answered questions about living on the Big Island. A truly memorable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Bill C, 2015/02/10

Amazing creatures. Definitely a must see activity if you are in Hawaii during the right time of year. I liked the fact that this tour allowed to you return until you actually see whales. I was fortunate to see my first time out, but nice to know I could have returned if I needed to without additional expense.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

THE BEST!

Reviewed by: SUZ, 2015/01/10

Absolutely incredible tour that was tailored to those on the boat...not a canned presentation. I highly recommend this tour. The captain and the whale expert (Denver) were exceptional. I never thought that I would learn this much about whales and be so close to them!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I'll Keep Trying!!

Reviewed by: Donald Owen, 2014/12/18

I'm afraid the whales were very shy during our particular trip. We did see two on 4/5 occasions but only briefly from a distance. In these circumstances I think it's best to look upon the trip as a pleasure cruise because we were treated to great views of the Western side of Big Island. The crew deserve a mention...always polite and courteous...they looked after everyone with complimentary soft drinks.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/12/15
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice cruise

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2014/02/20

The cruise was nice, we saw plenty of whales surfacing for air. took some great videos. figure out of you get seasick and be properly equipt. The crew were great and the captain was very knowledgeable. He gave a great talk on the island, whales, and any question people were curious about.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a family members from 4 to 84 and everyone had a blast.

Reviewed by: DonnaG, 2014/01/03

Body glove out did themselves, our tour was awesome. We saw multiple whales and the naturalist on board gave really great information. He really knew his stuff. We had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: AZ gal, 2013/03/04

What a fantastic tour. The crew was awesome. My sister and I had such a wonderful day. So many whales! Thanks guys for wonderful memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of Whales!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/12/20

Had such a great time seeing lots of whales and learning lots about them too. Great crew, super friendly and very knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent and thank you.

Reviewed by: Yano Moriyama, 2009/12/20

I hope that everyone who goes to Hawaii gets a chance to participate in this tour since it was one of the best tours I went to when I was in the Big Island in Hawaii. The captain went on a great route in the water to see many places and we saw whales which was the best part of the day. If you go to Hawaii and the Bid Island, I say you should get to this tour. I want to go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/03/20

Very enjoyable and interesting! The naturalist was very knowledgeable and answered all questions posed by my grandchildren. The staff was very attentive to us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OKAY

Reviewed by: Kathleen, 2009/02/18

Body Glove Whale Watching was Okay. The staff was nice, The snacks and beverages were nice. The boat was nice. My trip, though I booked it 3 months earlier, when I arrived at my hotel, it was changed. Sure, they comped the bar to have me switch, but the whales we did see were too far off to make the trip worth-while.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/14

We were very lucky to see the three whales up-close. One young calf was trying hard to breach with the mother, which was very adorable. The staff was very informative and helpful. I would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands