Guided Kayak & Snorkel Tour at Kealakekua Bay & Captain Cook Monument

Great experience

Reviewed by: Vparikh, 2017/07/26

This was the highlight of our trip! Every worked out as promised. Our guide was professional and made our experience enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon kayak and snorkeling 04/10/17

Reviewed by: Pam, 2017/04/17

Mike and Deanna were our guides this afternoon. They were quick but thorough in equipping everyone and explaining what to expect. The snorkeling was amazing. Though the wind picked up more than expected, they skillfully guided us back across the bay. Great experience that was enhanced by Mike's tales of the history of the bay.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing kayak and snorkel

Reviewed by: Harriet, 2017/04/10

We went as a family of four with two girls, 10 and 8,neither of whom had ever snorkelled. (but both had kayaked). We did the afternoon tour and were really lucky to see the spinner dolphins on the way to and from the snorkeling. The ethos of the tour was amazing. Once spotted, we stopped paddling and let them come to us, no chasing, no interference and Deanna and her colleague (sorry, forgot his name), clearly care so much about the reef and local wildlife, very much respecting it and observing rather than chasing it down. Once on the reef they showed us local plants, and got all our goggles ready for snorkeling. As my kids hadn't snorkelled before they were botha bit scared, but Deanna was super helpful, and got in with them. Once they looked down they were off, and didn't want to come in. Snacks and drinks were provided, as was a history of the Captain Cook monument. Would highly highly recommend.... No guarantees you will get dolphins, but incredibly safe and clear snorkeling, best I have seen and clearly run by people who care most about maintaining the reef and wildlife for future generations.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Terry, 2017/01/05

Guides very knowledgeable and went the extra mile to make sure we had a great time. Extended the trip back a bit to view some playful dolphins.Kayaking was fun and snorkeling was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good snorkeling and most enjoyable. Guides were very imnformative

Reviewed by: Mike, 2016/12/03

Fun few hours kayaking and snorkeling with Natasha and Sho. Our guides looked after us and had good knowledge of the area. We even managed to see dolphins on our way back to shore which was an added bonus.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Time well spent!

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2016/10/22

Such a generous tourguide, that Roy! Shared countless stories with us, snorkeled and showed us his favorite spots, brought us great treats, and most importantly treated us to a marvelous afternoon of kayaking and snorkeling at this remote spot of Hawaii. Don't hesitate to book the trip. A lasting memory and educational experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome kayak and snorkel tour

Reviewed by: Torbjørn Kristensen , 2016/10/17

Terrific guide who was quite knowledgeable. Came close to spinner dolphins and had a wonderful time snorkeling watching the many beautiful fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing snorkel!

Reviewed by: Julia and Hector, 2016/10/13

Roy is a wonderful guy! He showed us the best snorkel spots and he save our life with the snaks!


  • The bay

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to see the Captain Cook Monument

Reviewed by: Mindy, 2016/06/08

Our group took the morning tour and it was great to have the place to ourselves for a fair amount of time. The snorkeling was best before all the other boats arrived. The kayaking was fun and not too difficult. We had two people in our group that had never kayaked before and they enjoyed themselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak and snorkel tour

Reviewed by: Wes and Sue Gregg, 2016/05/08

Natasha was a friendly knowledgeable guide. This a fabulous area to snorkel and see awesome fish and dolphins!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak Tour

Reviewed by: Belle, 2015/11/06

The location was beautiful at Captain Cook. I enjoyed the kayaking. However, I was not too impressed with the tour guide. My daughter and I were the only people on the tour. The female tour guide lacked in friendliness and almost seemed irritated at the beginning and the end of the tour. She also complained a lot about men and her personal life.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend

Reviewed by: Glenn R, 2015/07/12

We enjoyed the kayak and snorkel tour. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful, etc... The morning tour has an early start, but the bonus of the dolphins was well worth the effort.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Adventure

Reviewed by: Planemark, 2014/06/02

This was an adventure we will treasure for a lifetime. Kayaking among Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins and snorkeling in water with a spectacularly beautiful reef; home to dozens of species of fish. We even viewed Moray Eel and a large White Tip Shark. Words cannot do this justice. Our guide, Mike, was friendly, helpful and informative. It is an ideal excursion for those new to shorkeling and kayaking. The highlight of our Hawaiian vacation. Thank you so much.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of Dolphines and best snorkeling experience

Reviewed by: newbie to scuba, 2013/12/22

We kayaked to the middle of a pods of dolphins and watches them swim around us. They exhaled loudly when swimming. We then kayaked to Captain Cooks memorial all the while getting a history lesson by our guide and the low and dirty on Captain Cook. At the memorial the corels were right in our face and then there was a drop into abyss all within a 10-20 feet from the shore. We saw many corels and fish when snorkeling and everything was crystal clear and right in front of us.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Peaceful

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/27

Liked how this was in a bay...not in come choppy ocean with tons of waves and where I feel like I am having to fight just to stay upright...no way, this was nothing like that. It felt almost like I was back home at the lake and really peacefully just gliding through the waters.

And the bay itself is really pretty. Then the snorkel section of the trip was really fun too. To get in and see fish and wildlife I had never seen before was exciting.

Overall it was a really wonderful time in Hawaii and made a highlight of my vacation. Mahalo.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/11/20

Thought I booked a cruise snorkel excursion because we were new to snorkeling. What a GREAT mistake - we now know we CAN kayak AND snorkel!!!! Great Experience...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/06

This tour was by far the highlight of our Kona vacation - guide Karen was knowledgeable and friendly and put us at ease even though my sister was a first time snorkeler. She also gave a fantastic history of the island and everything we saw on the way. The best part was seeing a school of dolphins as we were kayaking to the first snorkel sight! I look forward to doing this activity again on my next trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI