Full-Day Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tour with Black Sand Beach & Coffee Farm reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Full-Day Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tour with Black Sand Beach & Coffee Farm

Overall Rating

4.95 4.95 / 5

Reviews

84 reviews
Post a review

Well-rounded tour

Reviewed by: Cathy Barbieri , 2022/11/05

I must admit I almost didn’t book this tour because of the duration. I’m so glad we did though!! This tour was a fantastic blend experiences. Our guide was super knowledgeable and kept us engaged in conversation just enough. When we had stops to explore the coffee farm, black sand beach, lava tube, nighttime lava flow. None of the stops felt rushed or lingered too long. I would highly recommend this. It was one of the best experiences we had on our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Anish, 2022/11/02

Dylan was a fantastic guide! He put an interesting spin on the whole tour, and he taught us a lot about the geology of the island as a whole. Every part of the tour was great. The coffee farm had a wonderful view, the bakery was great, the beach was very unique, and the volcano + hike were really cool. The fact that they'd brought a telescope made it even easier to see the laval.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good - great guide!

Reviewed by: Laura , 2022/10/16

The tour was a lot of fun! Kona Joe's has a great view and good coffee, stopped here for lunch included in tour. Then went on to the bakery at South Point for a Malasada. I don't recommend waiting in the line for purchasing anything else. The malasadas are called in so you don't have to wait, but the line for other items was super long and you can buy their bread in grocery stores. Then to the black sand beach - very cool to see and we saw a sea turtle in the beach! Then on to Volcano Park for a quick tour and to see the caldera and steam vents. On to the lodge for dinner, which was pretty good. I don't recommend the broccoli Cheddar soup and they only had ranch dressing for salads. The blackened catch of the day was great! Then to the lava glow - where our tour guide PJ brought a scope for a better look. It was very cool, but not as close as I thought we'd be so it's not a bright red like in the picture.
But the tour guide was the best part - full of information, fun to talk with and really looked out for his guests! I'd recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Laura,
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed PJ, he's a wonderful guide. We appreciate your recommendation!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All day volcano.

Reviewed by: David/Ofelia , 2022/10/09

I have to say, the the experience from the beginning was very impressive. Bruce, the tour guide reached out to everyone, he was very intelligent and very knowledgeable of all things we were doing. Bruce made sure everyone in the tour was taken care of, feed, and having a great time. At the volcano Brice made sure everyone in the group was safe and having a good time . We have been on many tours in the past and this by far was the most enjoyable tour we have ever taken. Thank you Brice for all you did.

David and Ofelia
Rio Rancho, New Mexico

Reply from activity provider

Aloha David and Ofelia,

Thank you for posting your review! We appreciate you taking the time to do so. Bryce is a special guide and we're lucky to have him on Team Kailani! We hope you enjoyed your time on the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Expert guide and attention to detail

Reviewed by: Bruce, 2022/09/27

We were going to see a volcano, and our guide went to the University of Hawaii with a degree in geology and volcanology. I didn't even know the latter existed!

Grant's knowledge was only exceeded by his enthusiasm. The tour provides everything you could think of - two types of jackets if you come unprepared, flashlights to make the short hike (really a walk) safe at night, glow lights to wear so we don't lose each other.

The meals were well prepared at our two stops for them. The van we rode in was luxurious.

Thanks to the sighting scope Grant set up, we had close-up views of the labs lake and spewing lava

A great tour, not to be missed!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review, Bruce. Grant is a wealth of information for sure! We're so happy you enjoyed your time on the Deluxe Volcano Experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time on the island as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good guide

Reviewed by: Koko, 2022/08/20

What a guide!!
He was so kind and his talking was amazing

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for touring with us and we are so happy you liked your guide! We hope you enjoyed the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour with great tour guide!

Reviewed by: Michelle Matheson, 2022/08/15

Derek was awesome! This was a great way to see a lot in one day. Started out with amazing views at a coffee farm. Derek set up a nice picnic lunch there (turkey sandwich, bag of chips, and a delicious cookie). After that we went to the southernmost bakery in the United States. Malasadas were provided (either passion fruit or original) and you had the option to purchase any additional if you wanted. Then we headed to the black sand beach where we saw a turtle. It was beautiful there. After that we head to volcano National park where we saw some steam vents and some awesome views and then volcano house where they have an incredible views of the crater. We had dinner after that at Kilauea Lodge. The food was good and the service was excellent. Surprisingly we had live entertainment too (although we were told that was rare). Then we went on a mile walk in the dark to see the lava. Really flat and easy walk for the most part. The end is mostly rocks but not bad at all. Derek provided jackets, flashlights and had a telescope set up to enhance the views and we were lucky enough to have a very active night. Highlight of the trip!! Then we walked back and headed back home. Throughout the day there's a lot of driving but derek keeps everyone entertained with lots of stories about Hawaiian history and the geology of the islands. I found it all fascinating. The ride home is a bit longer ( 2 1/2ish hours but Derek put on a movie which made the time go by fast). We also stopped on the way home and were able to do some Star gazing. Throughout the day Derek provided water and drinks and snacks so we had everything we needed at all times. Overall it was the best tour we've ever been on. Highly recommend and well worth the price! Derek was the best!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A dream come true

Reviewed by: Marchelle, 2022/08/07

Grant was amazing. I enjoyed his jokes, enthusiasm, love, and care for the island. I hope he continues to stay blessed on this island and continues to do what he loves happily. Thanks, Grant and Deluxe volcano tour for giving me my money's worth. Everything you needed was provided and you don’t need to spend any more money because they feed you well. I could brag all day about this tour because everything about it was amazing!! If you're going to Kona book this tour with Grant!! He is knowledgeable and will make it worth it!! Mahalo

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Marchelle,

Thank you for your kind words about our Deluxe Volcano Experience Tour and Grant, our senior guide. We're glad you enjoyed the tour and the way in which Grant conducts the tours. He is enthusiastic about his work and it shows! Thank you again for posting a review, we hope you had a wonderful time on the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Stephanie, 2022/08/03

This tour was awesome! We would certainly book this excursion again. It was so nice to stop at the Coffee farm and learn about the interesting way they grow the coffee beans- beautiful scenery as well. Black Sands beach was amazing, so unique and picturesque. The nightcap was the best of all, seeing the volcano and its red glow..... truly amazing and something we will never forget. I definitely have to commend our tour guide, Derek, who was spectacular. He was very knowledgeable and I could tell he really enjoyed teaching us about the island and things we experiences and saw along our tour. Definitely a must do when you come to the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip

Reviewed by: Maiya, 2022/07/26

We had a great time with the deluxe volcano tour. Gary was professional, knowledgeable, nice and took a very good care of us and everyone in the trip. We had a yummy lunchbox and tasty three courses dinner with the nice ambiance. Lava flow at night was amazing. Thank you so much. Recommended!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Maiye,

Thank you for recommending our Deluxe Volcano Experience tour, we really appreciate it. Your timing was impeccable to be able to see the eruption at Kilauea at night. It's a once in a lifetime experience for most folks and we're glad you experienced it! Gary is an awesome guide and thanks for giving him a shout out! We hope you enjoyed your stay on the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Cortney, 2022/07/05

Overall this tour was the highlight of my trip to the big island (night swimming with mantas came in a close 2nd). It was super interesting and well paced. Our guide, Derek, really made the trip: he was informative, jovial, and generally lovely without being too jokey or overly pedantic, which really hit the tour guide sweet spot! I was solo, but this trip could work for anyone, families, couples, whomever. There is very little walking (a mile or 2), I might’ve actually preferred a bit more, but it made the trip very accessible to people of all ages and abilities

The sights:

Seeing a bubbling pool of lava was naturally the highlight. Most tours come in the day time, when we would’ve seen essentially nothing but steam. Our guide brought a telescope, so even though the activity in the volcano was pretty low key we could see spluttering and bubbling! The coffee plantation (orchard?) was a nice buzzy start to a long day. The black sand beach was ok

A well thought out experience:

The van was large and comfortable. Bathrooms were placed often enough that I didn’t have to avoid hydrating despite my tiny bladder. Enough food and snacks to keep everyone happy. Flashlights and jackets were provided, which was crucial!

Bring:
Long pants/sweatshirt - microclimates mean that it can be super hot in Kona and misty and cool at the park.
Binoculars - though the telescope was awesome, it would have been even better to have my own so I would t have to share.
A real camera - my iPhone 13pro was fine, but with such beauty, it’d be nice to have something with a little more control!

  • LAVA

  • Steam & Sulfur vents

  • Chameleon at the coffee farm

  • Black sand beach

  • GIANT fern!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cortney,
Thank you so much for posting your review, we really appreciate it! Your timing was impeccable, being here when the volcano was erupting. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity for visitors, we are thrilled you were able to witness it! Derek is awesome too, you're right, he's such an amiable guide. Again, thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Richard J, 2022/06/16

The overall experience was amazing. With the long trip to volcanoes national park, they did a great job of breaking up the trek with stops for food, coffee, snacks, and dinner. The driver was great and had lots of interesting facts to share as we traveled, and gave us his unique perspective on the island and points of interest. The night portion was amazing and it was a perfect end to the trip to see the lava glow at night. Highly recommend the guided tour over DIY!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Richard,
Thank you so much for commenting on your tour experience, we're glad you felt the experience was worthwhile! Having a guide is a real added value on a tour to the volcano. It's a long trip, but we appreciate you touring with us, and hope your stay on the island was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Volcano Scenes

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/04/29

The Black Sands Beach was unreal, it is so cool to see the crystal shine! The whole tour was filled with breathtaking views, great experiences, and yummy treats :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Experience

Reviewed by: Donna McCurdy-Wolke, 2022/04/04

It is a long day but that is due to the distance of volcano from hotel. PJ was a great host and VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. Loved the volcano area. Something I have never experienced!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Trip

Reviewed by: Mike, 2022/03/28

Bryce our guide is who made the trip extra special. Great and intelligent conversations. Very informative, and it didn’t hurt that the volcano was fantastic.
For sure your tour will be recommended to anyone that asks!
Good job.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/03/21

Beautiful tour of the Big Island of Hawaii! The volcano park is awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Lleur, 2022/02/08

This tour was an amazing experience! The drive to Volcano National Park was beautiful and we enjoyed each stop along the way. Viewing the lava field was phenomenal! Our tour guide, Bryce, was a font of knowledge and made the day even more special. Every comfort was thought of from a clean, spacious Mercedes van, to rain jackets and warm parkas. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour

Reviewed by: Kevin L., 2021/11/19

We had an amazing time on this tour. PJ, our guide, could not have been better. He was so entertaining and informative, and made the whole day fun & interesting. The highlight was getting to see the lava at night - truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience. SO. MUCH. FUN!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/08

This tour will have you learning so many great things about Big Island. They pushed our tour back a tad but they did this to let us see more of the night lava flow!

There are simply too many good things about this tour - from the stop at Black Sands (breathtaking) to the 3 course dinner that was TO DIE FOR and all local!

I would recommend this to anyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Joyb

Reviewed by: Joyb, 2020/03/30

Awesome awesome awesome. We had a volcano tour on 3/8/20 with Mike. He was the best. He was especially good with our very inquisitive grandson. He was knowledgeable also!!!! He was great great great!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Def worthwhile

Reviewed by: Tanya , 2020/01/06

The total experience is awesome! We had a looong day without questions. But the guider made sure the tour was full of fun, stories and care, we didn't feel exhausted.
Started from the lava cave, which is cooler than I expected. Black beach is beautiful. The newly formed lava flow is stunning, also sad when we heard stories from local residents, sorry for their loss. Didn't spend much time in the national volcano park, but it was exactly what we needed, also good timing enjoying the sunset there. 3-courses dinner in the volcano house was perfect, with yummy food and wonderful view overlooking the whole crater. Last but not least, stunning stargazing with professional telescope. Sorry I'm terrible at remembering people's name, thanks very much, our lovely & kind & interesting driver & guider!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding outing discovering the island, its volcanoes and also the life of its people.

Reviewed by: Joelle, 2019/08/29

Outstanding outing discovering the island, its mysteries, its volcanoes, the life of its people. Thank you Uncle Jim to have made this day so lively and personalized to our group.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had an unforgettable day!

Reviewed by: Swati, 2019/07/27

The beauty of big island speaks for itself, and it only gets better with an awesome tour guide! Brett was an exceptional tour guide. He is extremely knowledgeable, loves what he does, and it shows. I had a great time learning so much about the islands and volcanoes from him, and he's a great storyteller too! The black sand beach is beautiful, and the sunset from the volcano house is unforgettable. Probably the highlight of the tour was stargazing at the end. We got lucky with a gorgeous clear sky! There's a lot of driving so just relaxing in the van listening to Brett tell us about the islands while staring out at the scenery made for a great and laid back day. Just what I needed to end my vacation with before getting back to school. Thanks for teaching me so much! I highly recommend this tour, and will hopefully do it again when I come back with my family!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!

Reviewed by: Irwin Ohana (Family), 2019/02/17

Jim Carey is an outstanding and knowledgeable guide who wove Hawaiian folklore, geology and local current events into an experience that we (ages 12 to 72) all enjoyed. We had a nice small group (just seven of us) which allowed Jim to go a little off script and pack a lot of experiences into our day. The transportation van was comfortable but be ready for a long drive because Jim really covers the Big Island. From the lava flows in Kona to Hilo to Kilauea, there was a lot of ground covered. The gourmet dinner of organic and locally grown steaks, fish and produce was exceptional. Don't even get me started on the dessert. We are still talking about it. The stargazing was a spectacular finish to the day.
Thank you Jim for an unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day touring the big island.

Reviewed by: Gary T, 2019/01/07

Brett, out tour guide did an outstanding job, very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, seen and learned lots

Reviewed by: Anne Veghel, 2018/11/21

We had a great time and seen so many sights! Our guide Brett had great knowledge and could answer all questions.
Because we had extra time we got to see the rainbow falls and got to go into a lava cave. Sadly the stargazing didn't happen due to clouds and rain.
Snacks, water and food were all plenty and good. Especially dinner at kilauea lodge was excellent, be it a bit rushed.
After the recent eruptions there was no lava activity, but we can only imagine how much more beautiful the sites would be with active lava flows.

  • beautiful landscape at volcano park

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano

Reviewed by: Loretta, 2018/11/17

We had an amazing tour.
The view of the volcano was amazing. The nature could be so destructive and beautifull

Our guide was there for us am answer all ours questions.

The diner included was in a nice restaurant and the playe were very good.

I recommend this avtivities and don't worry about the volcano. It's a very nice tour

  • Kilauea crater

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour Guide may this an educational + exciting volcano

Reviewed by: Albert, 2018/09/02

We had a Wonderful Tour Guide who gave an education about Volcanoes and the local communities in Hilo. Now that the Volcano has erupted and in the news, I can tell friends back home about my special day visiting the Volcano.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Ms. V, 2018/05/01

Jim Carrey led our group on a wonderful adventure! He is a master story teller and an provided such detail in sharing the culture, sites and flavors of Hawaii.
The day was rainy but we were covered by umbrellas and deliciously warm coats that the tour provided. There were so many things to see and stories to be heard that the day was over way too quickly. Will most definitely do this tour again the next time we visit the Big Island and we will definitely ask for Jim Carrey to be our guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Mari, 2018/04/21

Our tour guide Grant was amazing and very knowledgeable! He made the experience so great! The tour was great you get to see a lot of the big island. I love waterfalls and the rainbow falls was breathtaking. The volcano view at night was so awesome I would totally do it again. Worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories