Deluxe Volcano & Stargazing Tour with Night Lava Viewing & Waterfall

Best Tour Guide EVER!

Reviewed by: AZSKY, 2017/09/23

This is an absolutely terrific tour and worth every penny. Our family has visited the Big Island many times but we learned so much from our energetic and knowledgable tour guide, Kevin. Absolutely adored the gorgeous candy facility stop on the way to the volcano. This store is beautiful and we ended up purchasing client gifts which were efficiently ordered and shipped back to the mainland. The dinner stop at the Kilauea Lodge was amazing. I ordered a Cosmopolitan cocktail which was presented just as chic and lovely as any found in a Five Star hotel bar. Good meal enjoyed in a cozy spot among new friends. Back to the night lava viewing at the volcano which was utterly amazing. The warm coats and flashlights provided by Veltra made the experience even more enjoyable.
Last but not least I must give kudlos to Kevin, our tour guide. This man has truly done his homework and is passionate about educating his guests about the gorgeous Island of Hawaii. Thank you, Kevin for making each and every one of us feel important.

GREAT TOUR!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour

Reviewed by: Beth, 2017/06/30

I cannot say enough good about our tour guide, Shannon. She was very knowledgeable and very passionate about Hawaii and the things she shared with us. She got so excited about Valcano National Park which made her group excited. She took care of every detail for everyone on the tour. I would go on any tour Shannon was leading.


  • Valcano activity night



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding day full of fun, great food, and educational content.

Reviewed by: Jack, 2017/03/03

Nick and Misty did a great job interacting with the group and went out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable with the tour and the information. Our day was 12 hours long and was very enjoyable from the time we were picked up at our hotel till late in the evening. The volcano lava viewing in the evening was amazing!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day with Nick and Misty, and stayed comfortable throughout your 12 hours on tour. We love being able to show Halema'uma'u Crater both day and night to our guests, and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the amazing lava viewing after dinner. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano viewing

Reviewed by: Jan B, 2017/02/19

Loved the trip. Our driver Chris was very knowledgable and funny. Food was great and time allotted for each site was perfect. I would highly recommend this tour.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day with Chris and enjoyed all of the sites and treats along the way. He really keeps the day moving at a fun pace, and loves sharing his abundance of knowledge! Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Jack, 2017/02/11

I am always Leary of organized tours but this one was an exception. Our guide Nick was exceptional. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable, and well taken care of. He has done his homework and knows the history and the island well, showing us a lot of extra things along the way such as plants, historical notes etc. it was a long day but we enjoyed every minute and would recommend to anyone.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an outstanding day with Nick and learned about some new things along the way! He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide who genuinely loves sharing the day with our guests. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best thing I did in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Stephanie , 2017/02/10

Best guided tour by far. Very professional-able to anticipate your needs and provided things you didn't even know you needed. Chris- the owner, and our guide for the night- was fantastic. His enthusiasm was contagious. Great company, great tour. Do it!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time with Chris. He truly is such a passionate guide who always seems to have everything ready at just the right times throughout the day. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time for the whole family!!

Reviewed by: H family, 2017/01/09

Our guide was very knowledgeable and attentive to detail. Viewing the volcano in the light and then at night was awesome. The restaurant was so cozy and had great food. Afterwards we hiked thru a fern forest to a lava tube. Amazing!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great day and enjoyed being able to see Halema'uma'u Crater both day and night. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous tour!

Reviewed by: Cronin family, 2016/12/30

Although a little long in length, this tour was my favorite activity of our entire trip. We got to see a good portion of the island and its amazing landscape and learned a lot along the way. Our tour guide, Nick, was top notch. Even our two surly teens rated this one of their favorite activities, which says a lot!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that your 'ohana had such a fabulous day with Nick! He truly is a top-notch guide with so much knowledge to share and genuinely loves doing so. To hear that our activity was your favorite excursion, while on vacation, is so humbling and a beautiful reminder of why we love touring! Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you folks on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Michigan Visits Hawaii

Reviewed by: Carolyn K., 2016/12/05

The day we six (6) friends took this tour was fantastic. Our guide, Nick, was super. He was attentive, interesting, and very funny. We covered a lot of ground and learned a lot about the big island. Had a great lunch and a fantastic dinner. Recommend this tour for sure.




Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic day with Nick and enjoyed all of the sights and treats throughout the day. He is an amazing guide, with top notch hospitality, who genuinely loves sharing some of our favorite spots on tour. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Debra, 2016/11/28

The experience was awesome. I would recommend it to everyone. The tour operator was great and showed amazing forethought by providing water, wipes, jackets, and flashlights. Dinne at the lodge was delicious. In addition, our tour guide,Nick, was knowledgeable about the culture.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day with Nick and enjoyed all of the sights, treats, and little extras throughout the day. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must tour while in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Carrie H, 2016/10/13

This was by far the best tour we had done in Hawaii. Marcus the tour guide was top notch. Marcus knew so much about the area, the culture, plants, animals and was just a funny great person to be around. You ride in style in the plush Mercedes van. He took you to many different area's and we even got to see lava flowing, served lunch and to end the night a 5 star restaurant. Everything was included in your price of your tour. By far a MUST do while in Hawaii. You will not be disappointed in this tour or Marcus.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day with Marcus! We agree, he truly is a top notch guide with so much knowledge about Hawai'i, and he knows how to keep the day fun for everyone. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the sights and treats throughout the day and even got to see that majestic lava. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano night tour

Reviewed by: Steve, 2016/10/01

Great tour with Jim Cary as guild very funny and knows his history of the town and events.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide with so much aloha, making sure our guests have the best time possible! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular experience

Reviewed by: Marie 'n' Tom, 2016/09/13

This tour was absolutely awesome. Chris and Nick, our guides, were very knowledgeable and fun. They clearly pride themselves on what they do, which makes them stand out from the average. The meals were good, especially the beautiful dinner. We had the steak which was fantastic, and the service was perfect and so friendly. We saw beautiful sights all day, ending at the volcano which gave us a good show. Would do again in a heartbeat. Thanks guys!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such an awesome day with Nick and Chris. They're both so knowledgeable, offering top notch hospitality which allows our guests to just sit back, relax, and enjoy! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the sights and treats throughout the day, especially that incredible lava lake inside of Halema'uma'u Crater. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Ian S, 2016/09/01

Jim Cary was our tour guide and he did a great job. He was extremely knowledgable of the Hawaiian and Polanisian culture which made the day that much better. The vehicle was not as comfortable as I expected a Mercedes to be, definitely the only downfall of the whole trip. All in all, a high 9/10

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day with Jim! He is a wonderful guide who loves to share his songs and stories of the islands. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best tour ever! Best guide ever (Jim Carey)!!!

Reviewed by: Karine and Pierre, 2016/07/24

It was a great tour with a great guide. He loves his job, he know a lot of things on Hawaiian culture. It's a deluxe tour with a lot of attention! We will never forget that tour!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide who loves to share his songs and stories of Hawaii. His top notch hospitality allows for our guests to sit back, relax, and enjoy the day. It is our goal to ensure our guests have a day to remember forever and we are so happy to hear that we were able to do so with you folks. Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano night lava and star gazing tour

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2016/06/30

Jim Carey was a fantastic tour guide. His stories and knowledge of the volcano, stars and planets was excellent.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Nadine,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We take pride in fielding guides like Jim, who are constantly trying to increase their knowledge and understanding of Hawaii. Jim really enjoys what he does, and it shows!! Thanks again, and please join us in the future on one of our other Big Island tours.

Mahalo
Kailani

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome overall tour of Hawai'i

Reviewed by: The Nunes Girls, 2016/06/19

Mike Nelson was the best guide! He knew everything about the island - and catered to our needs. He gave us options based on our interests and prior experience on the island. He did his best to give us a good understanding of the people, history, culture, and economy of the island. Knew local legends, astronomical information, plant and animal facts, as well as best "tips" on everything from restaurants and beaches, to coffee and desserts.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such an awesome day with Mike. He is such a wonderfully knowledgeable guide who really helps our guests connect with Hawaii while on tour, and with the great tips for the rest of your stay, you're sure to experience all of Big Island's best! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much Fun!! An Absolute must of first time visitors as well as returning visitors. Jim Carrey is the best guide on Big Island!!

Reviewed by: Laura & Djani Drocic, 2016/05/30

I must start this review with big Mahalo to our tour guide Jim Carrey, you made this tour great and memorable for my wife Laura and myself. My suggestion would be for anyone interested in a great tour on the Big Island that is focused on cultural, geological, flora and fauna ecosystems of the island to book this tour for the beginning part of their stay, since it will open a number of the other visits and adventure that one can do on their own. Bring a camera and warm clothing, but if you forget your jacket don't worry your tour guide Jim is prepared with a number of coats to lend to those that had forgotten theirs. This whole day tour is packed with interesting place to visit, local folklore and legends. Jim is such a great narrator that makes the whole Hawaiian culture alive during the tour. You will be introduced to multiple Hawaiian chants, songs and legends during the entire day. Food is exquisite and plentiful, tastefully prepared to satisfied everyones need and desire. The crown jewl of this tour is night visit to Volcanic National Park for night lava viewing and star gazing. Jim is so knowledgeable in field of celestial observations and he comes prepared with a strong pair of binoculars that are powerful enough to give you glance of lava inside crater and to offer great view on planets and constellations visible from the craters edge.
Once again Mahalo to Jim Carrey and his company for offering us a unique view on Hawaiian culture and beautiful eco-system that is so different then anywhere on the planet.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fun day with Jim! He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide who loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii, helping our guests to connect with the Big Island while on tour. Looking into Halema'uma'u Crater is so mesmerizing and we are so excited to hear that you folks actually got to see some lava with those amazing binoculars! Mahalo for your recommendation and we truly hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island for some more fun times!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience !

Reviewed by: Donna Kappers, 2016/05/28

Had a wonderful day & night on this Volcano experience. Our guide Jim Cary lived up to the reviews I had read about. We had a party of five and all of us had a great time. Jim was a wealth of knowledge about the whole area. The food for both lunch and Dinner was delicious ! Would highly recommend to anyone this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He truly is a wealth of knowledge who genuinely loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii! We are delighted to hear that you also enjoyed both lunch and dinner. Kilauea Lodge is such a welcoming treat after touring all over Volcanoes National Park! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Eve Hamilton , 2016/05/27

Not only was everything beautiful and fascinating, Jim Carey's knowledge and presentation made it over the top. I've lived on Oahu since 1980, and have visited the Big Island many times. This was the most special tour I have ever taken, and that's thanks to our tour guide Jim. It's obvious that he loves what he's doing. What a delight! I will be recommending this tour to all my friends.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic day with Jim! His love for Hawaii is simply captivating as he shares the songs and stories of the islands. We truly appreciate you letting all your friends know how much fun you had on tour and look forward to showing them all a great time! Mahalo for the recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The most wonderful day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: NORMA BARAJAS, 2016/05/06

This tour was astonishing, we had our best time in Hawaii. Starting, our host Jim Carey a gentleman, expert story teller of Hawaiian culture. On the road we could see lava tubes, alien landscapes, the marvelous Mauna Kea where is an astronomical observatory and we had a windy delicious pic nic lunch. Near the city of Hilo, we had our second stop for seeing the Rainbow Falls, a fantastic view of the beauty and force of nature. Not far, Hilo, a rainy city, where is the University of Hawaii and the unforgettable chocolate factory where one can find all kind of delicious chocolates, candies, cookies, macadamia nuts. No one can leave that place without a full bag while Jim Carey is calling you with the sound of ukelele. Also you can take pictures of the statue of king Kamehameha in a park. Then, we took our way to Volcanoes National Park, which welcomed us with a warm fumarole that wet us in a strange but nice sensation. Then, the first wonderful breathtaking view of the Kilauea volcano, a vision like we were in Mars. The museum shows what the nude eye can’t see in a volcano, like Pele´s hair and lava forest. After, an outstanding landscape, the lava river, an unbelievable wonder full of mystery. We took a path through the rainy forest, where the flowers and the tree of Pele’s legend grow in the middle of volcanic rocks. Then Jim took us to a cozy restaurant, with a chimney attended by his owner. Dinner was awesome, very tasty, as the special passion fruit tea. At night we had the vision of fire in the middle of the night, the Kilauea's dancing lava took our breath away, an unforgettable moment, almost mystical. Pictures can’t catch that beauty, but the telescope that Jim takes with him did.
Back in the van a great surprise waited for us. Like a love detail, a hot coco and cookies appeared to warm us. On our road back more than one fell asleep dreaming of the most wonderful day of their lives. Mahalo from Colombia.


  • On the road


  • picnic stop


  • rainbow falls


  • Sunset at Kilauea


  • Kilauea at day


  • Volcanic landscape


  • Kilauea at night


  • Restaurant

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He truly loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii with our guests, helping them to connect with our island while on tour. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the stops and treats throughout the day. Dinner at the Kilauea Lodge is so special and always helps our guests warm back up on those cold Volcano nights! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience. Must Go!

Reviewed by: Yuki, 2016/05/06

We started the morning with very warm welcome with big smile of the guide in front of our hotel lobby. His name was Jim Carey. Since we were Japanese visiting from Japan, he was concerned about the tour being conducted in English. We said we were Okay, try to keep up. He kindly told us that he would try to speak.
As we started the actual tour and as we picking up the more new guests, he explain the schedule of the day again and again. so everybody know how that day is gonna be.
As we were on the move, he had full of stories of scenic locations, Hawaiian history and cultures.
At the lunch, we had Pick-nick lunch at the base of Mauna Kea, we had the Chicken Caesar wrap at very fine environment. When it was time to go, Jim was not calling out the guest but he was playing songs with the Ukulele to let people know that it is time to go, what a kind way to notify!!

After that we went to Hiro, there we did not have much time to stop so Jim was explaining lots of stuff as he drove by. Then after that we went to the Rainbow Fall, although we could not see the rainbow, it was beautiful fall.
Then here comes the main event, the volcano. We visited the steam vent and couple of other scenic points and a little hiking it was very interesting and felt really good to hike in unusual volcanic environment. Only thing was that rain came and went repeatedly. Then we moved to the location of Lava tube. It was awesome!! Here also, Jim had a wonderful stories to tell. We learned a lot of stuff from him.
Then we moved to the lodge/Restaurant for the dinner. Surprisingly the dinner was much better quality than we expected. After the dinner, when we got out of the restaurant, it was dark but very clear sky, we went back to volcano and saw lava splash and million stars with Jim's stories. Totally different face the volcano showed us from earlier that day.
All activities were finished and on the way back to the hotel, we are so tired and fell asleep. Best tour ever!!


  • at the Lava tube


  • after the pick-nick lunch.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. His love for Hawaii shines through his songs and stories of the islands. It sounds like you folks had no problem keeping up and really enjoyed your day! Excellent! Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best day of our honeymoon!

Reviewed by: Guilherme Marinho, 2016/05/04

First of all, I would like to thanks hawaiian activies for appear on my google search!! As me and my wife didn't know about this activie, we search on google and find the website. We were very excited from the begening because of what the people were saying about eh tour. And we were right to be. The Tour is more than amazing, from the day before, I received a call in my hotel room to confirm the pick up time and he was there in the next day about 11:30h. He was Jim Carrey (no, not the famous one haha, but was so brilliant as the other!). Our tour guide was more than fantastic, a lot of histories about legends and culture from Hawaii than you could imagine. We had lunch in the way to Hilo, in a such nice beautiful place close to the Manua Lea. After that we took our way to Hilo, but before we went to the beautiful rainbow fall, not so beautiful, but very nature, in the midle of a forest, we loved. Hilo was a nice surprised, we went to a Candie Shop from Big Islands, huge store and my wife fall in love, she loves chocolates haha. After that we went to the volcano site at day, before dinner, was such a nice surprise, first time close to a active volcano. And every time with the histories from our brilliant guide. The dinner was one of the best parts of the tour, the best soup ever, and a very friendly restaurant, we loved every moment. After sunset, we return to the volcano to see the magic at night and we were really surprised and satisfied. I want thank Jim and everyone envolved, was one of the best days of our lives, and the best day of our honeymoon!! Guilherme Marinho and Aline Amaral.


  • On the lava tub!


  • With Jim Carrey the best guide ever!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so glad you chose to let us show you some of our favorite spots on the Big Island. Jim is truly a fantastic guide who genuinely loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii. We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed all of the stops along the way. Big Island Candies is a chocolate lover's dream with all the amazing goodies and samples they offer! Dinner at the world famous Kilauea Lodge is always so scrumptious and a great way to warm back up on those cold Volcano nights, before heading back into Volcanoes National Park. The majestic lava lake inside of Halema'uma'u Crater leaves such a lasting impression on everyone who gets the opportunity to witness the night time glow. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Tour

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2016/04/24

My sister and I went on this tour with Jim Carey as our guide. We were picked up right from our hotel and then were gone all day. Jim was extremely knowledgeable about the Island of Hawaii as well as the folklore of the Hawaiian culture. It was fun to hear about all of the history of Hawaii and learn about the sites we were seeing, with such depth of knowledge that Jim brought. We stopped at Rainbow Falls (no rainbow, but the falls were wonderful). One aspect we both enjoyed a lot was going through one of the lava tubes near the volcano!

The lunch and dinner provided was excellent, we both enjoyed it. The whole tour was long - and by the end of the day we were tired, however we would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn about Hawaii and see many different sites along the way. Before heading back to the hotel we saw the lava glow located near the Jagger Museum, which was amazing to view at night. We had a great day!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great day with Jim. He is a wonderful guide whose Hawaiiana stories have quickly become a guest favorite! We're glad that you enjoyed all of the stops and treats along the way. That majestic glow from the lava lake after dinner is truly an amazing sight that leaves a lasting impression! Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"A BEAUTIFUL DAY IN PARIDISE"

Reviewed by: Michele , 2016/04/18

We stared the day with a happy welcome from our guide and driver Jim. He had been a truck driver for most of his life so I felt very comfortable with his driving. From the very start to the end of the day Jim regaled us with his knowledge of the history, biology, geology, stories, songs and politics of this beautiful island. Our first stop was lunch at a pretty park. Lunch was delicious and healthy. We saw waterfalls, volcanos, steam vents and many different types of wild animals. We took an afternoon coffee break at the Big Island Candies shop where we enjoyed a free cup of Kona coffee and tasted many samples of the best cookies. Of course I had to buy at least one box. That evening we ate dinner and had drinks at a nice old lodge by the volcano. We enjoyed the company of the other guests. We all agreed dinner was great. The clouds had cleared and we were able to see the errie red glow of the lava and did some star gazing with Jim's high powered binoculars. The air was chilly up on the mountain and Jim made us hot chocolate and coffee to warm us up. On the way back to our hotels we watched a very interesting video of the history of the volcano with many amazing close up shots of inside and lava flows. It turned out to be a wonderful day and my husband and I agreed we were glad we went and it was worth every penny.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide whose love for Hawaii shines through his songs and stories of the island. So glad to hear you enjoyed all of the sights and meals along the way. It's pretty hard to walk out of Big Island Candies without buying something with all of the amazing goodies they have there! Even with some cloud coverage, the lava lake is such a majestic sight to see, but when those clouds move, WOW! Mahalo for your kind words and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Daniel Ruymann, 2016/04/12

We just returned from Kona, Hawaii and had the opportunity to participate in 3 excursions from different operators. Our tour, specifically our tour guide, Jim Carey, was life changing. His knowledge, passion and enthusiasm made for a once in a lifetime experience that we will never forget. From Jim's storytelling, songs, narratives of the Hawaiian culture and history, throughout our 12 hour adventure that included stops at Rainbow Falls, Big Island Candies, Mauna Loa, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park (with afternoon and evening viewings), hikes through lava tunnels, a fine dining experience, topped by an amazing stargazing experience, I was inspired by Jim Carey, which serves as a testament to the caliber of talent that Kailani Tour employees. I would highly recommend this tour and in particular, any tour with Jim Carey. I am blessed to have gone on this journey with him as our tour guide. Bravo to Jim and Kailani Tours.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing day with Jim Carey! He is a wonderful guide whose Aloha shines through his stories, songs, and genuine love for Hawai'i. Jim's top-notch hospitality allows our guests to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the day! We are glad that you enjoyed all of our stops along the way and were able to get in some incredible stargazing! Mahalo for the amazing recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

THIS TOUR COVERS IT ALL!!!! SUPERB!!!!

Reviewed by: nwc, 2016/04/06

The booking process so easy – one simple phone call. The tour provides lunch, dinner, snacks, EVERYTHING you’ll need.

Jim Carey was our guide, and was EXCELLENT in EVERY WAY. “Uncle Jim” was very accommodating and went out of his way to ensure guests were comfortable. We were amazed at Jim’s knowledge of island history & Hawaiian culture. As we traveled, Jim educated us on island facts, myths, and legend. He recounted many great tales of Hawaiian lore,with enthusiasm and energy. Jim loves his job and entertaining his guests.

The tour began with a trip to Mauna Kea and picnic lunch. After, we headed to Hilo and stopped at a lava field. Next stops were Rainbow Falls, Kamehameha Statue and Big Island Candies for a snack. After Hilo, we went to Volcanoes National Park while Jim told us history of the island’s volcanoes. Jim is as much a geologist as tour guide. We pulled over to see “steam vents”, and then to the viewing area and the Volcano Museum and gift shop.

On the way to dinner, we stopped at the Thurston Lava Tube. The tube was well lit, but Jim made sure we were armed with flashlights. We exited through a “skylight” and made our way back.

We ate at the Kilauea Lodge, a quaint restaurant. Meal was top-notch. Back to Volcanoes Park at dark. Jim had high-powered binoculars and we viewed spewing lava. The temp dropped, and Jim was ready w/hot chocolate.

We made one last stop to do some stargazing. For someone who had never viewed the stars in the blackened sky of Hawaii, I was astounded. The sky was FULL of stars – thousands of them that I’ve never seen before. It was like visiting a planetarium, in real life.

In conclusion, we highly recommend this excursion for anyone interested in a comprehensive tour that covers everything you would want to see on the Big Island, in one feature-packed day. If Jim is available, as for him by name. He was the best tour guide we’ve ever had – on any tour, on any island, country or continent.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an excellent day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide whose Hawaiiana stories have quickly become a favorite among our guests. His top-notch hospitality allows everyone to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the day! We are so glad that you enjoyed all of the stops along the way and were able to get some stargazing in, as well. It truly is breathtaking to see such an abundance of stars and we totally agree that it's like standing in a real-life planetarium! Mahalo for the amazing recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thumbs up! Magnificent sceneries & Wildlife!

Reviewed by: Rach, 2016/04/04

I just took a Kailani Tours Hawaii trip to Kilauea Volcano recently. It was a very enjoyable and breathtaking experience with Chris, who is very knowledgeable and passionate about the tour!

From the beginning to the end of the tour, it was on schedule and pleasant to be part of. Chris was very informative and well prepared for everything (water, hot chocolate, umbrellas, heavy jackets, hot towels, etc).

From driving along Saddle Road to picture taking at Rainbow Falls to walking through the Thurston Lava Tube, and much more, It was one of the best tours I have ever taken.

I would definitely recommend the tour to anyone who wants a rewarding trip with magnificent sceneries and wildlife!

WOW!


  • Rainbow Falls


  • Lava Glow at Halemaumau Crater


  • Saddle Road ahead

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a magnificent day with Chris. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide who genuinely loves what he does! Mahalo for your thumbs up recommendation! We hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island for some more fun with the Kailani Tours 'Ohana!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip to the Wet Side!

Reviewed by: JenNMikeY, 2016/04/02

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely! Since we were staying on the opposite side of the island from the Volcanoes National Park and Hilo, this was a great way to see it all without having to spend half the day driving. The hotel pick-up was a nice added convenience. Taking the tour allowed us to just sit back in comfort and enjoy the sights and the company of some really nice people who took the tour with us.

The van was comfy and spacious, and the group is limited to 14 guests, so we were never lost in a crowd. Our tour guide, Chris, was a joy to spend time with. He knew the island quite well, from the top of the mountain to the waterfalls, the lava tube and all of the interesting sights that were covered on the tour. He showed a genuine interest ad knowledge of all of the places we visited, and delivered commentary with a great sense of humor thrown in - he was never boring! He was familiar enough with the tour and our expectations that he was able to adapt the schedule just enough to accommodate the changes in island weather - namely rain - on the wet side of the island. He even provided umbrellas and flashlights for exploring after the sun went down.

The trip included a Fantastic dinner at a lodge near the Park. This alone was almost worth the time and cost of the tour! We were lucky enough to be seated with Chris during dinner and found him to be very personable. I could have spent hours just enjoying our conversations. Chris is perfectly suited to run this type of tourism business, and has created a tour that is just different enough from other tours to make it stand out!

I would absolutely recommend this tour to others. Thanks for a great time on the Big Island!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic day with Chris. He is an amazing guide, whose love for the Big Island really shines though his stories and fun facts along the way. His witty personality and attention to detail really allow our guests to just sit back, relax, and enjoy! The dinner at Kilauea Lodge is always a very welcomed treat to help refuel and warm up before checking out that majestic glow from the lava lake inside of Halema'uma'u Crater and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much! Mahalo for the wonderful review and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: James Harmon, 2016/03/28

The tour was great. We started by being picked up a local shopping center and then driving north. On our way, our tour guild spotted whales jumping off the coast and pulled over so we could watch. An extra bonus. We then picked up the rest of the guest and went over the mountain. Chris, our tour guild was a wealth of information and gave a great discussion of Hawaii and the different things that we saw. After stopping for lunch, which was basic but good, we went to Hilo for a tour and then on to the National park. Chris took us to a couple of sites not normally seen by tourist which was great. He also took us to the volcano tubes which was really interesting. He timed the tour so we had the whole tube to ourselves, which was really neat. We then went to dinner at a very nice place. The food was great, especially the fish. After dinner we went to the volcano and since it was night we got to see the lava light up the back ground. Chris helped us take pictures which are already posted on Facebook. After that we headed back. I would recommend this tour, especially Chris, for anyone who wanted to see the volcanoes and learn about the Island of Hawaii.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great day with Chris. He is a wonderful guide with an abundance of knowledge, helping our guests to really connect with our island while on tour. Whale season usually runs October-March and we are so excited to hear that you folks had an opportunity to see some humpback whales on your way up the coast. Very cool treat! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI