Full-Day Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tour with Black Sand Beach & Coffee Farm reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Full-Day Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tour with Black Sand Beach & Coffee Farm

Overall Rating

4.95 4.95 / 5

Reviews

76 reviews
Post a review

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Stephanie, 2022/08/03

This tour was awesome! We would certainly book this excursion again. It was so nice to stop at the Coffee farm and learn about the interesting way they grow the coffee beans- beautiful scenery as well. Black Sands beach was amazing, so unique and picturesque. The nightcap was the best of all, seeing the volcano and its red glow..... truly amazing and something we will never forget. I definitely have to commend our tour guide, Derek, who was spectacular. He was very knowledgeable and I could tell he really enjoyed teaching us about the island and things we experiences and saw along our tour. Definitely a must do when you come to the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip

Reviewed by: Maiya, 2022/07/26

We had a great time with the deluxe volcano tour. Gary was professional, knowledgeable, nice and took a very good care of us and everyone in the trip. We had a yummy lunchbox and tasty three courses dinner with the nice ambiance. Lava flow at night was amazing. Thank you so much. Recommended!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Maiye,

Thank you for recommending our Deluxe Volcano Experience tour, we really appreciate it. Your timing was impeccable to be able to see the eruption at Kilauea at night. It's a once in a lifetime experience for most folks and we're glad you experienced it! Gary is an awesome guide and thanks for giving him a shout out! We hope you enjoyed your stay on the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Cortney, 2022/07/05

Overall this tour was the highlight of my trip to the big island (night swimming with mantas came in a close 2nd). It was super interesting and well paced. Our guide, Derek, really made the trip: he was informative, jovial, and generally lovely without being too jokey or overly pedantic, which really hit the tour guide sweet spot! I was solo, but this trip could work for anyone, families, couples, whomever. There is very little walking (a mile or 2), I might’ve actually preferred a bit more, but it made the trip very accessible to people of all ages and abilities

The sights:

Seeing a bubbling pool of lava was naturally the highlight. Most tours come in the day time, when we would’ve seen essentially nothing but steam. Our guide brought a telescope, so even though the activity in the volcano was pretty low key we could see spluttering and bubbling! The coffee plantation (orchard?) was a nice buzzy start to a long day. The black sand beach was ok

A well thought out experience:

The van was large and comfortable. Bathrooms were placed often enough that I didn’t have to avoid hydrating despite my tiny bladder. Enough food and snacks to keep everyone happy. Flashlights and jackets were provided, which was crucial!

Bring:
Long pants/sweatshirt - microclimates mean that it can be super hot in Kona and misty and cool at the park.
Binoculars - though the telescope was awesome, it would have been even better to have my own so I would t have to share.
A real camera - my iPhone 13pro was fine, but with such beauty, it’d be nice to have something with a little more control!

  • LAVA

  • Steam & Sulfur vents

  • Chameleon at the coffee farm

  • Black sand beach

  • GIANT fern!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cortney,
Thank you so much for posting your review, we really appreciate it! Your timing was impeccable, being here when the volcano was erupting. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity for visitors, we are thrilled you were able to witness it! Derek is awesome too, you're right, he's such an amiable guide. Again, thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Richard J, 2022/06/16

The overall experience was amazing. With the long trip to volcanoes national park, they did a great job of breaking up the trek with stops for food, coffee, snacks, and dinner. The driver was great and had lots of interesting facts to share as we traveled, and gave us his unique perspective on the island and points of interest. The night portion was amazing and it was a perfect end to the trip to see the lava glow at night. Highly recommend the guided tour over DIY!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Richard,
Thank you so much for commenting on your tour experience, we're glad you felt the experience was worthwhile! Having a guide is a real added value on a tour to the volcano. It's a long trip, but we appreciate you touring with us, and hope your stay on the island was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Volcano Scenes

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/04/29

The Black Sands Beach was unreal, it is so cool to see the crystal shine! The whole tour was filled with breathtaking views, great experiences, and yummy treats :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Experience

Reviewed by: Donna McCurdy-Wolke, 2022/04/04

It is a long day but that is due to the distance of volcano from hotel. PJ was a great host and VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. Loved the volcano area. Something I have never experienced!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Trip

Reviewed by: Mike, 2022/03/28

Bryce our guide is who made the trip extra special. Great and intelligent conversations. Very informative, and it didn’t hurt that the volcano was fantastic.
For sure your tour will be recommended to anyone that asks!
Good job.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/03/21

Beautiful tour of the Big Island of Hawaii! The volcano park is awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Lleur, 2022/02/08

This tour was an amazing experience! The drive to Volcano National Park was beautiful and we enjoyed each stop along the way. Viewing the lava field was phenomenal! Our tour guide, Bryce, was a font of knowledge and made the day even more special. Every comfort was thought of from a clean, spacious Mercedes van, to rain jackets and warm parkas. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour

Reviewed by: Kevin L., 2021/11/19

We had an amazing time on this tour. PJ, our guide, could not have been better. He was so entertaining and informative, and made the whole day fun & interesting. The highlight was getting to see the lava at night - truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience. SO. MUCH. FUN!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2021/11/08

This tour will have you learning so many great things about Big Island. They pushed our tour back a tad but they did this to let us see more of the night lava flow!

There are simply too many good things about this tour - from the stop at Black Sands (breathtaking) to the 3 course dinner that was TO DIE FOR and all local!

I would recommend this to anyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Joyb

Reviewed by: Joyb, 2020/03/30

Awesome awesome awesome. We had a volcano tour on 3/8/20 with Mike. He was the best. He was especially good with our very inquisitive grandson. He was knowledgeable also!!!! He was great great great!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Def worthwhile

Reviewed by: Tanya , 2020/01/06

The total experience is awesome! We had a looong day without questions. But the guider made sure the tour was full of fun, stories and care, we didn't feel exhausted.
Started from the lava cave, which is cooler than I expected. Black beach is beautiful. The newly formed lava flow is stunning, also sad when we heard stories from local residents, sorry for their loss. Didn't spend much time in the national volcano park, but it was exactly what we needed, also good timing enjoying the sunset there. 3-courses dinner in the volcano house was perfect, with yummy food and wonderful view overlooking the whole crater. Last but not least, stunning stargazing with professional telescope. Sorry I'm terrible at remembering people's name, thanks very much, our lovely & kind & interesting driver & guider!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding outing discovering the island, its volcanoes and also the life of its people.

Reviewed by: Joelle, 2019/08/29

Outstanding outing discovering the island, its mysteries, its volcanoes, the life of its people. Thank you Uncle Jim to have made this day so lively and personalized to our group.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had an unforgettable day!

Reviewed by: Swati, 2019/07/27

The beauty of big island speaks for itself, and it only gets better with an awesome tour guide! Brett was an exceptional tour guide. He is extremely knowledgeable, loves what he does, and it shows. I had a great time learning so much about the islands and volcanoes from him, and he's a great storyteller too! The black sand beach is beautiful, and the sunset from the volcano house is unforgettable. Probably the highlight of the tour was stargazing at the end. We got lucky with a gorgeous clear sky! There's a lot of driving so just relaxing in the van listening to Brett tell us about the islands while staring out at the scenery made for a great and laid back day. Just what I needed to end my vacation with before getting back to school. Thanks for teaching me so much! I highly recommend this tour, and will hopefully do it again when I come back with my family!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!

Reviewed by: Irwin Ohana (Family), 2019/02/17

Jim Carey is an outstanding and knowledgeable guide who wove Hawaiian folklore, geology and local current events into an experience that we (ages 12 to 72) all enjoyed. We had a nice small group (just seven of us) which allowed Jim to go a little off script and pack a lot of experiences into our day. The transportation van was comfortable but be ready for a long drive because Jim really covers the Big Island. From the lava flows in Kona to Hilo to Kilauea, there was a lot of ground covered. The gourmet dinner of organic and locally grown steaks, fish and produce was exceptional. Don't even get me started on the dessert. We are still talking about it. The stargazing was a spectacular finish to the day.
Thank you Jim for an unforgettable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day touring the big island.

Reviewed by: Gary T, 2019/01/07

Brett, out tour guide did an outstanding job, very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, seen and learned lots

Reviewed by: Anne Veghel, 2018/11/21

We had a great time and seen so many sights! Our guide Brett had great knowledge and could answer all questions.
Because we had extra time we got to see the rainbow falls and got to go into a lava cave. Sadly the stargazing didn't happen due to clouds and rain.
Snacks, water and food were all plenty and good. Especially dinner at kilauea lodge was excellent, be it a bit rushed.
After the recent eruptions there was no lava activity, but we can only imagine how much more beautiful the sites would be with active lava flows.

  • beautiful landscape at volcano park

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano

Reviewed by: Loretta, 2018/11/17

We had an amazing tour.
The view of the volcano was amazing. The nature could be so destructive and beautifull

Our guide was there for us am answer all ours questions.

The diner included was in a nice restaurant and the playe were very good.

I recommend this avtivities and don't worry about the volcano. It's a very nice tour

  • Kilauea crater

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour Guide may this an educational + exciting volcano

Reviewed by: Albert, 2018/09/02

We had a Wonderful Tour Guide who gave an education about Volcanoes and the local communities in Hilo. Now that the Volcano has erupted and in the news, I can tell friends back home about my special day visiting the Volcano.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Ms. V, 2018/05/01

Jim Carrey led our group on a wonderful adventure! He is a master story teller and an provided such detail in sharing the culture, sites and flavors of Hawaii.
The day was rainy but we were covered by umbrellas and deliciously warm coats that the tour provided. There were so many things to see and stories to be heard that the day was over way too quickly. Will most definitely do this tour again the next time we visit the Big Island and we will definitely ask for Jim Carrey to be our guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Mari, 2018/04/21

Our tour guide Grant was amazing and very knowledgeable! He made the experience so great! The tour was great you get to see a lot of the big island. I love waterfalls and the rainbow falls was breathtaking. The volcano view at night was so awesome I would totally do it again. Worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best day of the trip

Reviewed by: Brandon M, 2018/04/04

The day itself started with a local Kona coffee plantation visit that included how the coffee trees are grown, picked, sorted, and roasted. Next stop was a roadside fruit stand where we were introduced to some island fruits and veggies. There was a good drive to the furthest south bakery in the U.S. where our tour guide Grant filled the drive time giving us the layout of the island. From there we visited a black sands beach and looked out for sea turtles. After the beach, we headed to Volcano Park to see the volcano during day light hours and checkout the Dr Jagger museum. Then the dinner... food was good and we had a chance to talk to other members on the tour. This led to the sun setting and the final activity... the volcano at night. The glow of the cauldron is amazing in of itself, but Grant pulled out a telescope and we not only got a close up view of the spattering lava, he also was able to record it on our phones!
Grant was a phenomenal tour guide! He was personable, full of facts and information, and delivered them in a fun, witty way. From the moment of being picked up, Grant was pointing plants and notable sights to the left and the right the entire time we were in the tour van.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do volcano tour

Reviewed by: Pete, 2018/03/27

On Friday March 16th, 2018 my family and I attended the Deluxe Volcano Night Lava Viewing with Dinner at Kilauea Lodge & Stargazing Tour that also included the coffee trip to the Kona Joe Coffee Farm, Punaluu Bakery and the Black sand beach. To start, I have to say our guide Uncle Jim made the trip well worth the time and money we invested. He was prompt, courteous, knowledgeable and most of all both engaging and entertaining. From the history, folklore and ancient stories to the general knowledge of Hawaiian culture there was rarely a moment where we were not enjoying the tour. We started out from our resort and Jim began to answer our questions and tell us stories of the landscape (lava, terraforming and the effects of adding green spaces to the resorts on the climate) and a Captain Cook story. As we moved on and picked up the other guests the stories continued as he pointed out various points of interest and beaches we may want to visit on our own. Some great aspect to the tour were the mythical stories of the gods and goddesses and how they actually mirror what it believed to be the realities of the Hawaiian Islands today. Each of the stops we made were better than promised, lunch and dinner were both great and Uncle Jim having a telescope for the night time volcano viewing was great. Some of the highlights from our perspective were walking down a lava tube, walking through the steam vents, picturesque picnic lunch and the gathering of stones to gift to the volcano later in the day with a chant led by Uncle Jim. And I can’t forget the smell of the Huli Huli chicken BBQ that he teased us with that I never did actually get back to try, maybe on our next visit. I would recommend this as a must do tour on your trip to the big island and ask for Uncle Jim, he will make the tour that much better.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST TOUR ON THE BIG ISLAND

Reviewed by: Jenn, 2018/02/20

Hands down the best tour on the Big Island. Brett was our tour guide and he was fantastic. Informative, funny, friendly, professional, he went above and beyond to make the experience amazing. Seeing the volcano at night is something everyone must do, but having a tour makes it much more enjoyable. This tour included seeing rainbow falls, Big Island Candy Co, lunch, and several spots at the Volcano National Park and a very nice dinner. 100% worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!

Reviewed by: Jobin McGooch, 2018/01/23

From the amazing sunset to seeing lava jumping in the caldera to the unexpected rainbow at sunset, all of the scenery was beautiful. Our tour guide, Brett, was outstanding. He had fantastic knowledge of the island, answered everyone's questions, and was really funny/entertaining. His stories of Hawaiian folklore while driving between stops were great. Overall, the day was great! I would definitely recommend booking this tour.

  • Walking in the lava tube!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This tour was AWESOME! Adam and Jim were incredible and we feel lucky to have had them as our guides.

Reviewed by: Robin and Gary, 2017/12/21

Our guides made our 12 hours together seem too short and they went above and beyond to make our day the best ever. Both were extremely knowledgeable about virtually any Hawaiian subject. They picked us up precisely on time and we started our day. We were taken to a lava flow surrounded by mountains that went on as far as the eye could see. Just our first stop of seeing mother nature at its finest. We continued on to a park for a gourmet box lunch that was obviously freshly made and to get to know our tour mates better. The views and fresh air were wonderful. The Hawaiian gods of weather were certainly shining down on us. Off again for a tour around the quaint town of Hilo where we enjoyed the statue of King Kamehameha and a stop at a candy shop. We then went on to Rainbow Falls with its beautiful waterfall and scenery. We stopped along the way at steam vents from the volcano. Ladies, if you want a facial, that's the place to go. Volcano National Park was amazing. The Visitor Center had a great museum and showed us the history of the crater. This was just a preview as we would return later for a nighttime view. Leaving the crater we visited the naturally formed lava tube used in the filming of the rolling boulder scene in Raiders of the Lost Ark. The ferns at the park were also used as a backdrop for scenes from Jurassic Park. We were treated to dinner at the Kilauea Lodge in Volcano, Hawaii. Fabulous. After dinner we returned to the crater to view the night time glow and star gaze. We were able to get a glimpse of the lava pool where the level varies 100s of feet over a few days' time. Jim talked about the stars and pointed out several constellations. It was definitely a once in a lifetime view. Throughout the entire trip our hosts provided almost continuous commentary on the history, stories, customs, flora and fauna of Hawaii. A total 1st class experience and the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We would definitely do this tour with them again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Sudeshna and Sumit, 2017/12/21

One of the best tours in Hawaii. Our tour guide Adam was very knowledgeable and polite. We did the night viewing of the volcano tour with stargazing. During the entire trip our tour guide shared abundant histories about legends and culture from Hawaii. We stopped for lunch at a very beautiful place near Mauna Loa. Adam(tour guide) baked some delicious cookies for us too :) We covered Rainbow fall, Jagger Museum and the lava tube, out of which viewing the volcano at night was absolutely breath taking.The tour had included dinner at Kilauea Lodge(fine dining) by the volcano national park. Overall our experience with Kailani tours was amazing, we would definitely recommend this tour to all those who visit the Big Island.

  • Rainbow Falls

  • Volcano

  • Lava Tube

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano & Stargazing with Night Lava Supreme!

Reviewed by: Suzy & Betty, 2017/12/09

We feel extremely fortunate to have joined Kailani Tours with our tour guides Kawika and Kevin as our guides. Together they shared a wealth of knowledge and personal charm. They gave us the history, geology and volcanology of the Big Island of Hawaii. Both were engaging, humorous and attentive to our every need. They provided us with lunch and a sumptuous dinner. They shared many sites along the way all detailed with their particular history. The highlight was a spectacular visage of our living Mother Earth in her volcanic glory along with a clear and beautiful view of the stars in the night sky. Breathtaking is an understatement given the epiphany of our smallness in the universe. We thoroughly enjoyed this "not to be missed" experience shared with an intimate group of 14 - giving us more opportunities to learn from our guides. If you find yourself amongst the fortunate to have Kawika or Kevin for your guide, you are truly in for a treat! Can't thank you enough Kailani Tours for a job well done! Mahalo Nui Loa - Suzy and Betty

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

THE most AMAZING tour I've been on!!!

Reviewed by: Caren and Jan, 2017/12/09

We did the night time volcano viewing tour with stargazing through Kailani Tours Hawaii. It also included lunch, Rainbow Falls, Lava Tube and Jaggar Museum. This was one the BEST tours that I have EVER been on! It was our driver, Kawika's, first day and Kevin was his "co-pilot". We were VERY fortunate to have the knowledge of 2 excellent tour guides that could bounce things off of each other. They were both VERY personable and friendly. They took special care to make sure we were well fed, had water, jackets, flashlights, hot chocolate and cookies! The lunch was excellent and the dinner was superb! The service at the restaurant was just as good as the service from Kawika and Kevin! We ended up having some extra time due to all the pick up's being in the same vicinity, so we were able to see a couple of little extra things in the Volcano National Park - not normal - so it made the day extra special. Kawika was extremely knowledgeable about the volcanic system and was great at explaining it to us. The volcano viewing at night was the most spectacular thing I have ever had the privilege of seeing on this Earth! The weather was perfect and the view was INCREDIBLE! Kawika and Kevin set up a great telescope to view the stars through and they were also able to take photos of the volcano through it with our phones! I HIGHLY recommend this tour and the tour company! You won't regret it!

  • Volcano's National Park

  • Volcano's National Park

  • Devil's Throat

  • Night Time viewing of volcano

  • Night Time viewing of volcano

  • Night Time viewing of volcano

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories