Best of Big Island Helicopter Flight: Kohala, Kilauea & More (from Waikoloa)

Excellent flight around the Big Island...

Reviewed by: archieman1, 2017/06/27

Beautiful weather and exceptional views from the helicopter flight over the Big Island. We saw lava flowing into the ocean and several "hot spots" while flying over the volcano. Saw rain forests and waterfalls that we never would have seen hiking. Stopped for some fuel in Hilo... it all was a blast and worth the money to see the island in a way you can't on foot.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome with Marco

Reviewed by: KELLY, 2017/04/15

Had an excellent tour guide named Marco, very fun and professional
My boyfriend got a little quizzy, but I highly recommend doing the 2hrs helicopter ride

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Big Island Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: paula, 2017/01/01

Very professional and couteous staff to deal with and made us feel well taken care of. We had an amazing flight with spectacular views of the island and Volcano!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Trip

Reviewed by: Barbara from Kona, 2016/09/29

The trip lived up to its description. The pilot made sure both sides received extraordinary views by angling over each side so that all passengers could see the feature. Narration and music added to the enjoyment. I'm so glad we did the waterfall landing add on. The flight up into one of the canyons with many waterfalls plunging down the sides is a never-to-be-forgotten experience.
And the actual landing at the base of one waterfall was amazing. Wish I had brought my bathing suit for a swim in the pool! Thanks to our pilot (Greg)for making this a special experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT!!

Reviewed by: Ben E., 2016/03/28

Ian (pilot) was a fantastic tour guide and pilot - lots of treats, was able to see active eruptions and fly up the polulu valley - even better!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Should have done this sooner!

Reviewed by: Jim P, 2015/10/20

Very high quality experience. The pilot was knowledgeable of the area and very experienced in flying making it a comfortable and interesting tour. The day before the weather was very rainy so we were afraid we would not see much but we lucked out and actually had very good viewing. But if we had flown with them when we were there in 2013 it would have been totally clear, even the tops of Moana Kea and Moana Loa. So, don't put it off!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip Highlight

Reviewed by: Texas T, 2015/08/29

The helicopter ride was the greatest way ever to see the entire island. Our pilot Marco was most informative during the ride. We would highly recommend Blue Hawaii and would use them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury Volcano Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Bill & Linda Beagles, 2015/06/01

Although the ceiling was relatively low, Dale made sure we saw some lava flows and "hot spots". We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Byron L., 2014/12/08

Amazing tour, this is the must do tour in the Big Island. Just the right amount of time and plenty of scenery to enjoy, the wife was thrilled.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thrill of a life time

Reviewed by: FLO , 2014/10/17

No word to describe. Excellent service. Excellent pilot. Very good itinairy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island spectacular

Reviewed by: Michelle Tinkham, 2014/07/27

Craig was great. We had a wonderful time and saw some amazing lava flow and waterfalls.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!!!! Breathtaking!!

Reviewed by: Nova & Rich, 2013/10/06

A must do!!!! We Loved every Breathtaking moment!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2012/07/26

My husband and I loved it. Never flew in a helicopter before. Exciting! Safety conscious pilot-Roger was great! Music in headphones enhanced the experience. Views of volcano were wonderful. Roger gave all occupants plenty of photo taking opportunities. This was one of our favorite activities on our trip to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Dirk, 2012/02/02

This was an excellent activity! Our pilot, Toshi, did a great job of getting us close to the lava flows and the waterfalls. He was extremely knowledgeable of all the sights and was able to effectively communicate to both those who only spoke English and those who only spoke Japanese. I would highly recommend this two hour flight over the other flights available. What you are able to see in that amount of time is well worth the extra money!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Adventure

Reviewed by: Debra N. from Iowa, 2011/11/30

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who is a first time visitor to the Big Island. The views were spectacular! Take many pictures in flight as the DVD of the flight does not capture everything you see and ask alot of questions about what you are seeing. For me, it was worth the money! The staff were great!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Tina Thatcher, 2011/04/05

This was an excellent trip!

The pre-flight activities were well organized, and the staff was very courteous.

The actual flight was incredible, and the pilot was very knowledgeable. It was wonderful to be able to ask questions while in flight.

The weather was the only drawback. We couldn't see the crater due to rain/fog/wind. It was still an incredible trip, but it would have been even better to see the crater.

I would recommend this trip to anyone, although considering the cost, children probably wouldn't enjoy as much as adults. Seating is arranged by weight to balance the ride, so young children could be separated from Mom - might be an issue for some.

Overall, a wonderful tour conducted by a wonderful company.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Adele + Samantha, 2010/12/29

The helicopter trip was fun. The pilot (Julie) was very informative. Would have been better if the volcano was erupting so that we could have seen that!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Peggy, 2010/10/11

The Volcano Helicopter Tour with Blue Hawaiian was outstanding! One of the highlights of our trip. We were not only fortunate enough to see lava in the crater and flowing into the ocean but saw many other great sites and learned a great deal about the region. Our guide (Thanks, Kemo!) was fun, knowledgable and a great pilot. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Volcano Helicopter Tour 2hr

Reviewed by: Gary and Michelle Trupe, 2010/08/30

Absolutely fantastic!! Great care taken by the staff. Great attention to detail. Saftey always the first priority and concern. The staff is not only knowledgeable but absolutely incredibly fun to travel with. We would never go anywhere else and we will most certainly return. Keep up the great work! Aloha and Maholo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island

Reviewed by: William, 2010/04/04

To start off with when we were making reservations transportation aparently wasn't available. Don't let them tell you that. They have vans and make pick-ups from the hotel we stayed in. We took the big island spectacular 2 hour. It was nice. The volcano part wasn't what i thought. I expected to see flowing lava. All you see is the top crust of past lava flows. Even the volcano vent wasn't what I thought it would be. The VOG was so thick thast about all you could see. A little let down. Although the 2nd part was the tropical rain forest. We had a nice ride along the ocean front. Went up the valleys and saw more waterfalls than I could keep track of. Pilot even sighted some whales and circled for us. Wind turbulance in some of the valleys made me tighten my seat belt a bit. Later I learned the pilot is a retired coast guard pilot. Wish I knew that going in, I would have been a bit more relaxed.



















Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/30

Our Blue Hawaiian Helicopter tour was fantastic. Our pilot, Chris, was very informative and knowledgeable about the volcano and its surrounding area. His flying was superb as it was a very smooth ride. I would definitely recommend the Circle of Fire tour!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Holly Howell, 2008/06/27

Tour of a lifetrime. Chose Blue Hawaiian because of their safety and tour awards. Definitely well-earned! Pilot Bob was knowledgable about Hawaii and well-spoken (and charismatic). He included all the passengers in his presentation and used our names. Always nice! Definitely a fun ride - and a view you can only appreciate from a helicopter.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: K Driscoll, 2008/03/24

This was an awesome tour. We took the entire family (3 generations) and all had a blast. I'm sure timing is everything, but we had some really incredible views of flowing lava through "skylights", surface movement, and great views entering the ocean. Our pilot (Marty) was great! Very knowledgable and wanted to make sure everyone on the flight was able to get the best views of lava, waterfalls, and other points of interest. We bought the DVD of our flight afterwards and love it! Thanks Blue Hawaiian for a memorable event that we will cherish forever.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great pilot, breathtaking views

Reviewed by: britt, 2008/03/10

Excellent experience, the best way to see all the island. Made all the better by the excellent guide.
This was our favorite activity of the eight we participated in on the islands of Kauai and the big island of Hawaii.
Office personell were very helpful in rescheduling and with time problems we had on another islands flight.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicoptertour

Reviewed by: Stig Hemstrom, 2008/02/20

Awsome! Our pilot, Mike Mulhern was a great pilot and guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Bill and Julie Strater, 2007/11/19

It was an awesome experience. Tim, our pilot, was a pleasure to fly with ,and his knowledge and love for the island was incredibly impressive. This is a must do while visiting the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was totally amazing!

Reviewed by: Terry, 2007/11/09

Our Helicopter ride over the Big Island was the highlight of our trip. Seeing lava so close was once in a life time! Joel our pilot was awsome and had a great knowledge of the island. He put us at ease with his profesionalism and personality. What a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Like being on the moon

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/05

Our pilot was friendly, very personable with each one of us. I loved how he used our names as if we already had knowledge of what he was about to share with us. That was a fun way to learn. Amazing how large this volcano is!! Later in the day we drove from Hilo down to the area so we could touch the lava in person. Felt like we were on another planet. Lava and desolation for as far as we could see. Thanks for this experience. Blue Hawaiian Helicopters are the BEST!!! Awesome pilot and staff!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI