This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

World Botanical Gardens & Waterfall Walking Tour

Overall Rating

4.804.80 / 5

Reviews

5 reviews (Post a review)

Beautiful and wild property

Reviewed by: Christina, 2018/12/13

I absolutely recommend the self-guided walking tour if you're in the area. The property is huge- seriously you can explore for hours! There was a cute little farmers market happening with live music as well. Absolutely make a trip up to the Kamaee falls at the top of the property- the views were breathtaking. The hedge maze was fun and fairly challenging- it took us a good 30 minutes to get out. The gardens are a bit rugged at some parts which adds to their natural beauty- just be careful when traversing the river trails, they're narrow and slippery but worth the view. Also watch out for spider webs! Overall, really beautiful area of the island and worth spending some time in!

  • The smaller falls on the river trail

  • Just a real neat plant

  • The view from the Kamaee Falls

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gardens

Reviewed by: Rick, 2017/11/13

Very beautiful. Did the self guided and enjoyed itverymuch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Garden & Waterfalls!

Reviewed by: BeachBoy, 2015/02/25

I stayed in Hilo, and I participated on this tour on the way to Waipio. It's only 20min drive from Hilo, and the place was beautiful. I loved the casual walk in the natural rain forest, and it was like being in the Jurassic Park movie. The waterfall was secluded and awesome. I'd recommend this to anyone and especially the ones with small kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour - nice People!

Reviewed by: Anne, 2015/02/02

I highly recommend the tour of the botanical garden. I opted for the in-person tour and it was well worth the cost. I got a private tour, with far more information than just being told about the plants. "Doc" was very knowledgeable about the plants and their origins. I learned a great deal and got to taste and smell many different varieties. As an added plus, your admission lets you come back for a week and walk around, see the waterfall, picnic, etc.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very beautiful place!

Reviewed by: David, 2015/01/17

We had the best tour ever, because we had the doctor himself give us the tour. We learned so much and tried every fruit you can eat as we toured the garden. As we enter acted with the Dr. We learned he was from where we lived and actually graduated at the same high school as my wife, twenty years before her though. We would recommend anyone to learn and tour this garden, it's well worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands