This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Snorkel at Hanauma Bay in Oahu

Overall Rating

4.82 4.82 / 5

Reviews

380 reviews

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

Really enjoyed this tour! Lots to do, but nothing felt rushed. Highly recommend for adults and children.

Reviewed by: Brenton, 2019/03/25

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour!
There was plenty packed into this all-day tour, but at no point did we feel rushed at all.

The Banzai Pipeline and Waimea Bay beaches were really nice. While you can’t swim in the Pipeline, you can take a dip in Waimea Bay. While we were there the waves did begin to have some heavy breaks. A lifeguard on duty suggested casual swimmers head to the right side of the beach which was a lot calmer.

The lunch at Tsue’s Farm included a meal and choice of can drink. There’s a fair few choices of meals for lunch, Kalua pork, coconut shrimp, garlic shrimp to name a few. These were pretty fresh and tasty. The kayaking on the Anahulu river isn’t too long but you can go up and back a few times if you feel like it. We went from one end to the other and back and that was plenty for us. It’s also very still waters and not really any obstacles or things like that to worry about.

As we’re big fans of Dole whip from our Disney World trip, we were very happy to see that this tour included a stop at the Dole Pineapple plantation.

Hanauma Bay was definitely the main highlight of the tour. As someone who is not a very good swimmer, the waters were perfect for me. At 5’6” the water at most only came up to my neck. Otherwise it was quite shallow around the edges. You don’t have to go far in to see plenty of fish. Although we didn’t get to meet a sea turtle, we did overhear others saying they saw them in the area.

Sonny and Paul were running our tour, both were very friendly and outstanding. Sonny had heaps of info, tips for every stop and was very knowledgeable. You could tell he was very passionate about his job and Honolulu, and even gave a brief run down of Hawaiian history which was great.
Paul was our driver, but would also come out and be more than happy to take photos for people and mind our belongings.

Overall this was probably one of the better tours we’ve been on. All of which was kid friendly. Highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

AWESOME, especially for a beginner

Reviewed by: Penny, 2019/02/19

Dan was a fabulous professional instructor and guide for us!! It was our first snorkel, my husband and I, age 58. We can swim but no one would say we're strong swimmers hence we decided upon an instructor/guide, and Dan's the very best.

We didn't plan to do the wet suits but thank goodness Dan had them available. It was low tide and the protection over the coral in shallow water was invaluable, besides the warmth and buoyancy it offered. (the water was a little cooler than we expected) Dan literally held my hand while snorkeling so i could simply relax and float and watch for fish. He guided us over coral I'd have never have done otherwise, and those were the best places to see the fish. He was so very patient and helpful as I suited up, he fitted my mask and fins, and he was very thorough explaining the snorkel, breathing etc. I'd have never had the same snorkel experience without Dan. He made us feel comfortable and safe, what more could you want?

We had plenty of nice surprises-the tram down and back for example. He provided water and snacks afterward, beach mats, lock box for stuff while in the water, transportation, etc. It feels luxurious when someone's taken care of everything, Dan made that happen and I'm confident he would for you too.

I can't recall the name of Dan's helper but she too was top notch. When snorkeling it's sometimes hard to know which direction you're headed, let alone the tide steering you. I don't really know how Dan and her managed to keep track of us, both above and below water simultaneously but they did, keeping us together, seeing and pointing out the best things possible during the snorkel.

Dan wants you to have a great experience. You will, like we did, I'm sure. If we can do it (with Dan's help) you can too!

PS Dan takes pictures of you for you. Can't wait to see ours!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Snorkling at Honolulu

Reviewed by: Edvin, 2014/08/26


We have snorkeled at the circular-shaped shore of Hanauma Bay on the southeast tip of East Honolulu, you can imagine how this beautiful cove was once a volcanic crater. Today, this crater, likely flooded by wave erosion, is home to an important nature preserve and the island's most popular snorkeling destination.

Our snorkeling trip was arranged by Hawaiiactivities.com and they were quite professional people with prompt responses and is very customer oriented. They arranged Mr. Dan to train us snorkeling. Mr. Dan is best instructor you can have in Honolulu as he explained every steps in a legible and understandable way. He has snorkled with us for many hours.

Whether you’re snorkeling a natural or artificial reef, at the beach or along the mangroves, you’ll discover amazing underwater creatures. Look at (but don’t touch) the vibrant yellow and red coral canyons and purple sea fans swaying in the ocean’s current. Coral is actually alive and it’s extremely delicate. Touching coral is detrimental to its health and can also be dangerous. It’s actually related to the jellyfish and can provide a sharp sting, burn, or cut when touched. A good rule of thumb is to stay in water that’s at least six feet deep while snorkeling over coral.

Look for tropical fish including yellowtail snapper, parrotfish, angelfish, blue tang, grouper, and hogfish. We have come across with Turtle who is is not afraid to swim with us. With such a thriving and diverse ecosystem, there’s nearly as much to discover underwater in Hawaii as there is on land!

Dan took pictures with his under water camera. It was lots of fun. Dan brought snacks, drinks, etc. too. On the way back Dan shared lot of information on best shows and tours in Hawaii. We had a great time and will definitely go again if I'm ever in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Snorkling

Reviewed by: Raj, 2014/08/26

This was my first time snorkeling and I came from Canada to visit Hawaii. It was a beautiful experience just because we have a great instructor Mr. Dan through Hawaiiactivities.com. We came to know him through this website. Dan started with all basic instruction and shown all steps for snorkeling in detail. He has snorkeled with us and kept my kids together and safe.


It was a magic day of snorkelling in the biggest coral reef on earth. Thousands of colorful fish in the warm water. Thanks a lot to Dan You're part of memories of a life time.

Dan brought all safety devices and snorkeling equipment. He adjusted the equipment to fit very well with each of us. As my kids were not good at swimming, Dan took much patience to train them. He brought mats and drinks to relax before getting into sea.

I saw dozens of very large angelfish, parrotfish (Blue, Queen, and Stoplight), as well as many species of damselfish and butterfly fish, Sergeant Majors, Yellowtail Snapper, and I even saw a Longspine Squirrelfish! It was an absolutely perfect day.

The water was very clear. At one point I was surrounded by hundreds of fishes all swimming calmly in one direction (schooling). All of a sudden they parted (odd, because I had been swimming with them for several minutes without them seeming to notice), and I saw the most awesome and colorful fish I've ever seen in my life swim 5 ft directly under me! I thought about was how every now and then you hear stories about HUGE catfish the size of Buicks at the bottom of deep lakes.


That being said, you can imagine my initial hesitation on the day of my snorkelling experience at I might have started out a little nervous, but I can tell you right now—it ended up being my absolute favorite experience on the trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

Best Island Tour on Oahu

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/04

OMG! I had so much fun on this tour. My friend and I were looking for an island that would give us more time to actually enjoy the island instead of being "trapped' inside a bus only taking pictures all day. From my research i think this is the only tour that your can visit North Shore & Hanauma Bay on the same day. Perfect for me, since I only had a few days on the island.

We were pick-up on time from Waikiki and then we drove straight to North Shore. Our first stop was at Banzai Pipeline, we visited during winter time when the waves are big and were lucky to watch the locals surfing the most beautiful waves I've ever seen. Next, we spent about 1 hour at Waimea Bay where we had time to take pictures, enjoy the beach and body board. For lunch we headed to Tsue's Farms where we had a delicious shrimp plate and got the chance to kayak at a river in Haleiwa. It was so peaceful and beautiful, the river is surrounded by tropical trees and you almost feel like you are in a jungle. The best part? We saw tons of turtles in the river, amazing!
We also got the chance to visit at Dole Pineapple Plantation. The guide told us to try the Dole Whip, and it was so good and refreshing.
The last stop of the day was my favorite! Snorkeling at Hanauma Bay was the highlight of my trip. I've never swim around so many fishes before, the sea life at this bay is surreal.

This tour has it all! Friendly and knowledgeable driver and guides, flexible schedule and tons of things to do during the day. You really get to see the best of Oahu in one day. My day was filled with adventures. Thank you North Shore Beach Bus for helping me to create memories of a life time!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Absolutely Fabulous Experience

Reviewed by: LATOYAYE, 2017/03/11

This was our first experience with snorkeling...but I was convinced that we could not go to Oahu and not see the ocean life for ourselves. Dan and Cheiko were great.

We paid for a group of 5 (3 adult, 2 children). We had to pay the full price to have my grandmother brought along, even though she was not participating. With that said it was suppose to be just our small group to the two guides. This was especially important to me as the two children could swim and the adults in our group could NOT swim well. It turned out two others joined us, so Chieko was mostly their guide and Dan was with the four of us. It was raining that day, so my grandmother was not able to come observe (so paid and not used). Although I was not expecting a refund for her experience necessarily, I was a little put off that we were then charged extra for the optional wet suits to keep us warm (given the weather that day). That really is the only thing I would improve, but given the nature of the business, that may be challenging.

Otherwise, it was FANTASTIC! Dan was amazingly patient and made the experience great. The children, although swimmers, panicked with the snorkel equipment and sea animals. The adult limited swimmers had a blast! Even on a dreary, rainy day. LOL! they took awesome pictures that we were easily able to download from their social media page, so one less thing to worry about doing especially given first time out. I would definitely recommend this experience no matter what skill level, it will not disappoint.

Comments from activity operators

Hi guys, hope we see you again on a nice sunny day. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Guided Snorkel Tour at Hanauma Bay

Amazing time

Reviewed by: Mimi, 2017/05/07

I went to visit Hawaii with 3 kids, 10, 11, 14 and did 8 hrs private tour.

I would like to say that it was the most amazing tour I have ever done in my life. From beginning to the end, all of us were excited and were having so much fun.

First, we did snorkeling at Hanauma bay. Guide ( so sorry I forgot his name.....) was so patient with all kids (it was a first time snorkeling for most of us). He taught us step by step and made us feel comfortable in the water. We got to see lots of colorful fish and had lots of lots of fun.

Rest of time, Mark took us many many places we could not even visit by ourselves in Hawaii. Kids call him "Moving museum" because he knows everythings about hawai (histories, stories about things and etc) He answered all our questions and we never heard he said " I don't know"......

Mark took us amazing real Hawaiian food restaurant! We got to experience cool food there!!

We could not see sea turtles at Hanauma bay but Mark took us to the beach where he finds sea turtles often. Well, we found 3 of them! It was so amazing to see them and my dream came true!!!!!!

We all thank to both guys who gave us an amazing experience in hawaii, we learned so much about hawaii history and many stories about hawaii.

We would love to do this again next time we visit there for sure.

Thank you again,


  • Sea turtles


  • Hanauma Bay

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

Great full-day excursion!

Reviewed by: John B., 2018/11/27

We had the pleasure of spending the day with our tour guide, Sergio. Pick-up was prompt at the exact location. The drive to the North Shore was informative with lots of facts about Oahu. We had a short stop at a coffee shop on the side of the road - excellent coffee! We then made our way to the North Shore and happened upon the Van's Triple Crown of Surfing! We spent an extended amount of time there watching surfers from around the world. Sergio then took us to the Pipeline. After a brief stop at the Pipeline, we stopped for lunch and paddleboarding. Lunch was amazing - shrimp, rice, and salad - and the shrimp were huge! Following lunch we went paddleboarding (kayaking was another option). There were turtles swimming in the river right beside us. Following lunch/paddleboarding, we stopped at the Dole Plantation which has everything pineapple you could imagine. The Dole whip was delicious - a must have when stopping there. After leaving the Dole Plantation, it was about an hour drive to Hanauma Bay (a state park) where we went snorkeling to wrap up our day-long adventure. Snorkeling was delightful - the fish were huge and couldn't have cared less that we were there with them.

If you're looking for something to do and don't want to fuss with details, this excursion is a great choice!


  • Hanauma Bay

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Wonderful Experience for the Whole Family

Reviewed by: Scott, 2016/03/31

Do not be afraid of this activity. First, the tour directors could not have been more friendly and helpful. Second, they could not have made it any easier. They picked us up at the lobby of the hotel, drove us to the bay, got us through the required orientation film and down to the water so efficiently. They have been doing this so long that they anticipated all of our needs (even before we realized that we had the need). Then, guided us into the water and instructed everyone on how to use the shorkle and made us all feel very comfortable. Even the 8 year old twins who are normally a handful. We were slowly guided around the bay and shown fish, eels and turtles. We stopped for pictures occasionally. And, told that we could download them from Facebook later that night.
When we were done, they gave us much needed water and snacks. Much needed because this was a good work out ( for a fat old guy). We got back to the van and were taken right back to our hotel and were the. Already trying to figure out when we could do the excursion again.
So, you don't have to worry about whether or not this is worth doing. And, it couldn't be easier or more enjoyable..




  • These are the pictures one of our tour guides took and posted on Facebook for us. Thanks Dan. Btw they are on Facebook as Blue Hawaii Divers

Comments from activity operators

Hi Scott, glad you guys had a good time. The kids did a really great job, tough kids. Hope we see you again. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shuttle to Hanauma Bay & Snorkeling Adventure (from Waikiki)

Amazing excursion!

Reviewed by: Husbands from Nevada, 2017/11/11

This excursion was our first snorkeling excursion in the Pacific Ocean, and it was our first excursion during our trip to O'ahu. The whole experience was outstanding. Veltra called us the day before to confirm the reservation and advise us where to meet the van and when. The driver from Kaimana Tours arrived within the allowed time period, and he was courteous and informative. He told us exactly what to expect when we arrived--including paying the $7.50 park admission fee (per person) completing the conservation education presentation (10-15 minutes, tops), and meeting him afterward (where and when). He passed around a chart of the types of sea life we would see in the bay. The view was breath-taking. The beach was beautiful. The staff were helpful and friendly. The snorkeling was great. Lifeguards were attentive--even using amplified sound at one point to caution some poor swimmers that they needed to move closer to the beach. Afterward, the driver met us when and where he had told us, and we were all on our way back to our hotels.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shuttle to Hanauma Bay & Snorkeling Adventure (from Waikiki)

Super fun time!

Reviewed by: Lacey S. , 2018/06/18

Our shuttle time was for 9am and we’re were picked up at 8:59am in a 12 person van. It only took 20 minutes to get to the bay but then we had to wait for 15 minutes just to park and get out. Our drivers name was Diogo and he was super friendly and nice to look at too lol :) After being fitted for our gear we walked to the entrance and paid our $7.50 per person over 13 years to get in and watched a 10 minute video about the history of the bay. It’s a little ways to walk down to the bay and can be tiring to walk back up after snorkeling but they offer shuttle service for $1.25 each way or $2.50 for the day. Take the shuttle. There’s a snack bar at the top if you want a $4 precooked hotdog but it’s better to bring your own snacks. We got into the water at 10:15am and met back up with the driver at 2pm to go back to our hotel, again he was right on time. Overall the kids thought it was fun and we would do it again. The best snorkeling is off to the left side of the beach. The water gets clearer the further you go out.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

We had the best time!

Reviewed by: Bill & Karen/SLC, 2015/06/02

My wife and I had never been snorkeling and one of the things that my wife had wanted to do for years was to swim with the dolphins. We wanted to learn how to snorkel and found this tour on Veltra. The tour was scheduled the day after we arrived in Hawaii and we received a courtesy call reminding us of the time and place for pickup. Dan was right on time and met us at the pickup place. He was cordial and interesting to talk to. Everything was arranged for us at the Bay. His instructions were easy to understand and we headed into the water. We were later joined by Dan's wife Chieko and they stayed with us the whole time. We enjoyed seeing the beautiful, colorful fish as well as the turtle swimming in the bay!

We had a very enjoyable time and recommend this tour very highly! Dan and Chieko were wonderful hosts. We are grateful for the time they spent with us (as well as others that were with the tour) as we were able to go to other beaches and snorkel.

Thanks so much Dan & Chieko. We hope to see you again!

Comments from activity operators

Glad you guys enjoyed, see you again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

An action packed day out!

Reviewed by: Loren & Dannielle, 2018/04/05

We are so glad we picked this tour for our holiday! It began with prompt pick up from our hotel, Doug and Damo were our guides for the day and they had wonderful local knowledge. We travelled straight up to the north shore to pipeline beach and waimea bay, where we were able to go cliff jumping. We then continued on to Tsue's farm for a plate lunch (have the spicy shrimp it was delicious) and stand up paddleboarding (or kayaking) - we were given great tips and everyone in the group was able to stand up on their board! We then moved to the Dole Plantation for some dole whip (this is a short stop, not long enough for the maze or train). After here, we travelled to Hanamau bay for snorkelling - we had plenty of time here to explore and snorkel with the turtles and fish. We were then picked up and driven back to waikiki. On the drive back, Doug educated us in the local restaurants and happy hours.

Overall, this day was action packed - much more than other tours we've done. Thanks for a great day!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Phenomenal Day!

Reviewed by: The Decker Family, 2010/08/30

My family (parents & 2 adult kids) went on a tour, in which we were the only party booked for that afternoon. Our guide, Allyn picked us up curb side from our hotel and was super nice. It was my family's first experience snorkeling and truthfully my mom and I were terrified. Allyn did a fantastic job at easing our fears and explaining everything. While we were in the water, he held my mom's hand the entire time which my mom appreciated so much. My parents got tired and we all went back to get re-hydrated. Allyn took my brother and I back out, along a different route. We saw a couple sea turtles. When we were over the reef, Allyn pulled me in a different direction to point right in front of us... There was this huge sea turtle, I could've reached out and touched it! I only wish the batteries in my camera and the dive could've lasted longer! AMAZING! We would definitely recommend it to other first timers! Thanks Allyn!
The Decker's
Afternoon tour Aug 16, 2010

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

AMAZING DAY; Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus

Reviewed by: Natalie K, 2018/06/11

We completed the Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus; through Oahu, Hawaii. To say it was amazing would be an understatement. A full day packed with multiple fun activities. Not only were the activities great, but our guide for the day, Doug, was amazing. He was filled with so much knowledge about the island of Oahu, as well as other islands around Hawaii. He definitely went above and beyond to ensure we all had the most amazing day that was possible. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking to get around Oahu. Jumping rocks, snorkelling, lunch, paddle boarding, kayaking - just a few of what was completed on this day. They also pick you up direct from your hotel and drop you off back there at the end of the day which offers great convenience for most.
Overall, I have nothing but positive recommendations/reviews for this tour (Best of Oahu), Doug (guide) and Paul (driver). You'd be silly not to spend a day on this beach bus!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

The abosolute BEST bang for your buck!

Reviewed by: Taylor A, 2018/11/24

My husband and I did the Best of Oahu tour and we initially thought it was too good to be true because there were so many activities packed into one tour. The tour FAR exceeding our expectations and I would recommend to anyone visiting! The tour guides were very personable and knowledgeable and made us feel safe and welcome! My favorite part was the snorkeling at Hanauma Bay and my husband loved jumping off the rocks at Waimea Bay! This tour easily helped to make this one of the best days of our trip. On the way back to Waikiki, Damian and Sergio also gave us some names of their favorite food and drink spots in Waikiki. We took up one of their suggestions and ended our day drinking a beer at one of the coolest bars in town, all thanks to them! (We’ve also gone to a couple of the food spots they suggested the next day and they didn’t disappoint!)

Seriously, this was the best tour with the best tour guides!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Guided tour in April 2010

Reviewed by: Sherry, 2010/05/03

Took our son for a graduation gift along with his girlfriend and none of us had never snorkled before so thought the guided tour would be the best option. Allyn (sorry if it's spelled wrong) was our guide and he was awesome. He was very patient and taught us exactly what we needed to do. He was great for helping you not getting overwhelmed since as we found out, snorkeling takes a bit of time to learn. However, once you relax you can enjoy the experience. Not so sure we could have done it on our own. The only suggestion I can make is that the bottled water needs to be cold. It was very warm. Other then that, it was an awesome experience. Well worth the money spent. It's amazing the marine life you can see. We did see a sea turtle and a small eel. Absolutely beautiful. Hope to get a chance to do it again. Don't have my pics back since we used underwater cameras, hopefully I can add them later!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2015/06/09

Dan and his wife were great! We had two cars because we were a party of 7. Dan was my driver and he was very good at giving us a mini tour as we were driving to Haunama Bay. Once we arrived, we didn't have to stand in line at all. We went into a mini theater to watch a 9 min video orientation. Then we were off. We went down to Hanauma Bay via a trolly. He and his wife explained how to use our gear and made sure it was all on properly. We all had a great time. This was definitely a fun activity to do as a family. The underwater views were amazing. If you don't have a waterproof camera, its fine. Dan takes a bunch of pictures and uploads them on to his website/facebook page and gives you the link, so you can view them. Don't worry if you don't know how to swim, we had a couple people in our party who didn't know how to and they were just fine. Dan, thank you. We will definitely choose you again! :) -Mahalo!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again.
Dan

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Awesome First Time Experience

Reviewed by: MadelineGarcia, 2016/05/05

This was my first time snorkeling, as well as, my first time in Hawaii. I'm usually not the type to enjoy activities with a high volume of people around, especially with the location being a huge tourist attraction, but the experience was so cool! My reservation was on a Monday morning. Total there were 12 people in the group, including the two very friendly and helpful instructors.
Everyone is provided with a life vest, fins, bottled water, chips and the option to rent a wet suit once you arrive at Hanauma Bay. When you arrive you will watch a brief video then a trolley will take you down to the bay. Once you're in the water, the view gets much better. I didn't have the chance to see a sea turtle while I was there but there's tons of fish! I would definitely do this again. I also never learned how to swim prior to booking this......but everything went perfectly fine :)

Comments from activity operators

Hi Madeline, It was a great day at the bay. I'm glad you guys enjoyed. Hope we see you again next year. Dan and Chieko.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel & Hike Shuttles - Explore Hanauma Bay, Diamond Head & Manoa Falls

First time to this part of the island.

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2017/05/28

I did the Makapuu lighthouse and Hanauma Bay. I wonder how many people do the Makapuu lighthouse hike for the light house? I was disappointed to hear that we were not allowed in the lighthouse, but that didn't matter. Where you go on the hike takes you higher than the lighthouse, therefore a much better view. I probably won't do this again only because I already did it, not that I didn't enjoy it.
Hanauma bay however, i went back Wednesday, not be restricted with the time on snorkeling and being picked up. Not only was I educated on the bay, how it became a bay and preserving it too. It was awesome to swim a long the fishes where they are not afraid of human beings, but will swim away when you are close. That's just natural instinct. I have video of the fishes I caught, but did take pics of the surrounding area. I did grab some snapshots from my video too.


  • Makapuu lighthouse


  • Makapuu (North)


  • Makapuu (North)


  • Makapuu (South)


  • Hanauma Bay


  • Hanauma Bay


  • Hanauma Bay


  • Hanauma Bay


  • Hanauma Bay (Humuhumunukunukuapua'a)


  • Hanauma Bay

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Great Snorkeling day!

Reviewed by: Lolly H, 2014/11/15

We LOVED this day! Dan & his wife were great! They took very good care of us, even making sure that those of us with cameras got a chance to take pictures of the beautiful fish (and the 2 sea turtles we saw). They provided us with cold water and snacks after our swim, which were much appreciated. I love that Dan took many pictures of us all with his camera, and posted them to Facebook for us to see &/or download later. My husband and I are both over 60, and I think they were a little concerned whether we could handle the swimming. But they stayed nearby and checked often whether we were OK (we were!) Most of our group was Japanese, with My husband & I the only "anglos". Dan was amazing at switching from Japanese to English and back, making sure that none of us felt left out of the conversation. We would definitely recommend this activity for anyone!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Awesome and Thanks !

Reviewed by: Rehana, 2011/10/17

My husband and I snorkeled for the first time in our lives at Hanuma Bay. We were picked up by Allyen as per the schedule at sharp 7:30 AM from our hotel. We reached Hanuma Bay well in time and were joined by a kind Japanese lady Fumio who works with Allyen. My husband and I cannot swim and hadn't ever ventured in sea. Everyone in our group knew swimming and they snorkeled with Allyen. We stayed back with Fumio who first taught us to keep our bodies floating. She then held our hands and took us through the reefs. We saw eels and schools of fish. For us snorkeing was one of the most wonderful experiences of our lives and highlight of our Hawaii trip. We are thankful to Fumio for putting in so much effort helping us stay afloat and navigating us through water. We would recommend this trip to everyone! Thanks ton Fumio.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Small group and Personal experience

Reviewed by: Tahlia, 2019/04/25

My husband and I loved the following about our trip
- small intimate group which allowed us to chat and connect with the instructor and other people on the trip
- taken to the spots in the water that other people weren’t at which ended up being where we saw a turtle
- well prepared and organised very professional
- captured your experience using a go pro so you didn’t have to stress about photos in waterproof cases like many others not on the tour.


A gorgeous couple that run this tour. Beautiful people who want you to have the best experience and really care!

Would recommend wearing or hiring a wetsuit! It’s comforting to know you have something protecting your skin incase you brush past any coral

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

First Time Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Wendy D, 2010/05/25

AMAZING!!!! I have never snorkeled before and this was completely amazing. Our guide showed us great tips on using the mask and how to breathe. I was a little scared but once I got in I did so great as did my family. The only bummer I shall say is there was another couple with us and when we went past the reef to explore where there were not others he panicked which made the whole group go back in. I wish there were two guides, one to take the rest and one to take the others back. I was disappointed we didn't go out but it was still an amazing experience that I will never forget. I gave 5 stars because even though I didn't get to experience the snorkeling further out it was still amazing to see the fish and reef.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

Great Tour!!

Reviewed by: Joanne M-D, 2018/07/19

My husband and I went on your Best of Oahu during our trip to Hawaii. We were there on our honeymoon! :) We both had a wonderful time! We both love the water so this tour was perfect! What a great way to explore the beautiful waters of Hawaii while getting some knowledge of the island. Serg, our guide was very informative, pleasant and very helpful. We had a small group, all wonderful couples. Loved swimming on the northshore beach, jumping off the rock (although a bit scary...lol), and going in the "mermaid cave". Snorkeling was great too! The water was amazing! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who likes to get wet and really experience the ocean of Hawaii! Thanks Serg! Joanne M-Durkee


  • Pit stop at Pipeline, Beautiful!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Great experience, and great instructors!

Reviewed by: S. Lai, 2018/04/28

It was me and my friend’s first time snorkeling and Dan was extremely patient. At first, I was uncomfortable with breathing under water, but Dan made sure that I relaxed myself and held on to me during the practices to ensure that I was comfortable. He took great photos for us and took us further down to see a lot of fishes and we even saw a turtle towards the end of the tour! I would highly recommend Blue Hawaii Divers to anyone who wishes to book a tour for snorkeling. It is not necessarily just for beginners, we swam in groups and there were people who have snorkeled before. On the way back to the hotel, Dan gives great suggestions on where to go, and he also gives great recommendations for food spots.

Comments from activity operators

Hi Sherry,
Glad you guys had a good time. Hope we see you again.
Dan

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Money Well Spent

Reviewed by: Salvador E., 2017/04/13

As most of you know, things to do on the island of Oahu can be pricey at times. If you want to see your money stretch and to get more that you bargained for, take this trip. Dan picked us up right at our hotel and drove us to Hanauma Bay. His equipment was easy to use, very accommodating and the adventure itself was awesome. I could go on and on about how great of a time that my wife and I had but words could never do it justice. From my experience, I would say to give this a shot. Lest we forget one minor detail, I live in Anaheim, CA near Huntington Beach aka Surf City USA, and I have never been more comfortable in the ocean than I was on this snorkeling trip. It really was that awesome.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shuttle to Hanauma Bay & Snorkeling Adventure (from Waikiki)

So. Much. Fun!

Reviewed by: ELevine, 2018/12/24

My son was SUPER excited to go snorkeling so we booked a day through Veltra. Our driver showed up within 5 minutes of our pickup time (a feat with traffic) and got us going. He was very personable and helpful in getting us our equipment. We had an AMAZING day at Hanauma Bay (reef-safe sunblock only, people!) He was right on time for our pickup and turned on the AC so we could sit comfortably while waiting for the rest of the guests to return. We had a great amount of time to be in the water and had so much fun! My son got an acceptance call to the first choice college while we were waiting. Our driver said Congrats and even again as we were getting out of the van. It
was a fabulous day.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beginner Snorkel Tour with Expert Guide at Hanauma Bay

Excellent for beginners...

Reviewed by: Maggie, 2015/06/02

This was my first time ever for snorkeling and I was a bit nervous. Dan, my guide, was so patient and easy going. Made it so easy to relax and learn... He helped hold my hand and guide me through the bay, saw a lot of cool water life. This was an excellent tour, I didn't have to think about anything. Was picked up at the hotel, they brought the gear, snacks, and a trunk to lock up small belongings during the snorkeling. Our guide has an excellent camera and took pictures during the tour and posted it to facebook for me to see and share. Dan is well known at the bay and knows it inside and out. Had a blast and will definitely rebook with Dan, if I ever get a chance to come back to Oahu.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you Maggie, We had a good swim

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shuttle to Hanauma Bay & Snorkeling Adventure (from Waikiki)

Shuttle to snorkeling

Reviewed by: Jessi L, 2019/01/30

Our driver was amazing! He kept up a running commentary on all the best places to eat, names of plants, celebrity houses, the works. He was always willing to answer questions no matter how stupid they sounded. He gave up plenty of info on the area we would be snorkeling in and the best parts of the reef to visit. He unfortunately did not have a pair of prescription goggles that I could use (I forgot to mention when booking) but he let me know I could rent a pair at the bay to ensure that I could see all the wonders below the ocean. He also had underwater cameras for purchase which was a bonus!!!

10/10 I would totally book transportation to go snorkeling with this company again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Oahu Categories