Jurassic Valley Horseback Riding Tour at Kualoa Ranch [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Jurassic Valley Horseback Riding Tour at Kualoa Ranch [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.41 4.41 / 5

Reviews

354 reviews
Post a review

Awesome experience! A must do when your in Hawaii.

Reviewed by: GGC, 2021/06/06

It was a great ride along the park, my tour guide was very knowledgeable friendly and helpful. Would do it again when I'm in Honolulu.

The horses seemed well trained and not overworked, which made me happy and feel better about Riding the horses.

If your in the Honalulu area you must try this activity. Veltra also made it easy for me to book.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing place!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2021/05/11

The scenery was breathtaking and the horses were great to ride! If you ever go to Oahu, don’t miss it! This is a great trip for families and friends. I was able to get the best pictures!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2021/05/08

Beautiful scenery! Great ride. Great for the family. Would totally recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing horse ride!!!

Reviewed by: Tina Hughes, 2021/03/28

This was by far my favorite activity and our girls loved it. It was so beautiful. There are also so many different movies filmed here and that was cool to see. They also have a super reasonable cafe with excellent food. Bacon and eggs for only $10 and ACAI bowls were to die for!!! They do weigh you right before you get on the horse and are strict about the weight. Could have done this several times.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Carlos, 2019/11/18

Such an amazing experience! It's hands down the best way to experience the ranch and get to see where so many movies were filmed. Doing it on horseback lets you truly enjoy the beauty of it all.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Cliffy , 2019/05/12

My daughter and I did the 2hr horse back ride with lunch and it was all excellent! It’s such a uniquely beautiful place that I rank it along with Machu Picchu and Monument Valley as my most incredible travel destinations. We highly recommend!

  • Godzilla Skull Island movie props.

  • Stables.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback

Reviewed by: Derek, 2018/04/26

Tour was great and weather was great luckily. Staff was very knowledgeable about area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful scenery

Reviewed by: Carol, 2017/07/11

Had to take the 1 hour because the 2 hour was booked. 1 hour was nice but book the 2 hour if you can.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family Friendly Horseback Ride Tour at Kualoa Ranch/2 Hour Ride

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/03/10

We had a blast! The scenery was awesome! The weather co-operated perfectly. We were treated to many film locations along the way and ever got to ride through a herd of grazing cattle! Our guide was very friendly, knowledgable about the ranch and the different points of interests on the trail. She had superb riding skills and took excellent care of us during the tour. The horses were well taken care of, healthy and have good dispositions. I had not been on a horse in over 20 years and my husband has limited riding experience, but that did not matter, the staff conducted a safety brief before we started, answered all our questions and matched us with our mounts. What an awesome way for us to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience on 2 Hour Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Stacey and Ben, 2017/02/18

We had such a wonderful experience at Kualoa Ranch, one of the highlights of our trip! We were paired with amazing, gentle horses and accompanied by a fantastic and friendly tour guide! Two hours was the perfect amount of time and saw the best part of the ranch, some of their 600 organic grass-fed cows, the gorgeous valley where parts of Jurassic Park and World, Lost, and King Kong were filmed, and beautiful views of the ocean, China Man's hat and 'Turtle' Island . The horses knew right where to go, so it was a very easy ride for the inexperienced, which allowed us to take on the gorgeous sights! We would highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Horseback Tours

Reviewed by: Isaac Castillo, 2017/01/24

We had an awesome time! Highly recommend this activity!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Russ, 2016/10/28

Was a great day to ride . horses were well trained. Guide was very nice and offered a lot of advice re Hawaii. A must do

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Emma, 2016/07/27

This 2 hour ride was awesome. Our guide was friendly and helpful. She really cared about the horses who were all very healthy and happy. Our guide gave us lots of information and even picked some fresh guava for us to eat. The setting was breathtaking. A real holdiay highlight.

  • Views from horseback

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was not well

Reviewed by: RJAK, 2016/01/18

The guide was not very informative, did not say much the whole time of the ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it !

Reviewed by: lisa, 2016/01/02

My kids now want to take horseback riding lessons ! They enjoyed every minute of it

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Girlfriend loved it

Reviewed by: Simon, 2015/12/14

Soooo slow, but was well suited to beginners. Pricey but gorgeous. The instructor was very knowlegeable of the films shot in the valley. Pleasant, but I wanted to gallop and could not.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Marlene , 2015/08/12

The staff was great. The ride was amazing, the whole scene and nature was beautiful. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

RANCH TOUR

Reviewed by: PATRICIA BOLEWSKI, 2015/07/02

MY GRANDCHILDREN WENT HORSEBAACK RIDING AND LOVED IT

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Views, Friendly Guides

Reviewed by: MainlanderPaniolos, 2015/04/15

Our guides were friendly and helpful. We rode along trails with beautiful views of the ocean and mountains. Kualoa is a very scenic area

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Josh, 2015/03/21

We had a great horseback ride. We left at 3:30. Our guide was very helpful. Great views! It was a first horseback experience for two in our party and all went well. Well worth the time and money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great time, beautiful scenery!!

Reviewed by: beth, 2015/03/17

Had a great time!! Our tour guide, Honda, was friendly and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

it was worth it

Reviewed by: Jin, 2015/03/16

even though i dont have any horseback riding experience before, i was truly enjoyed it. Beautiful horses are pretty well trained. No worries even for beginners.. plus, a staff was accompanied us on a horse, checking any possible problems back and forth.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2014/12/29

I had originally purchased the 2 hour horseback riding tour but was called earlier on the day of the ride that they were not able to give the 2 hour ride tour due to a triathlon taking place on the Kualoa Ranch property. Renee was great to talk with with she offered alternatives. Change of day in the ride or lunch on them and a 1 hour ride with a bus ride to see the area that "Jurassic Park" was filmed. We chose to take the 1 hour ride and lunch on them. The buffet lunch was VERY good and had many selections to choose from. The horse were used to having inexperienced riders. They in my reflection were push button horses. They followed the leader. Very good ride for a first time horseback rider. The tour guide was very pleasant. Oh and Veltra reimbursed me the difference in cost between the two rides. That was very nice of them. When I go back to Oahu I think I will purchase the ATV tour. That looked like a lot of fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great to see back country

Reviewed by: Simba, 2014/12/23

This was a good experience, it was really nice to see the Back Country of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Lisha, 2014/08/22

I rode Boomer and he was great. The views were outstanding and the staff was friendly. Kualoa Ranch is gorgeous !!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing and fun time

Reviewed by: Ayaka, 2014/07/26

We took the 4pm ride, and it was good that it wasn't so hot for riding a horse. The mountains, forests, and the ocean view were absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed a lot!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Chase, 2014/05/31

The ranch and the ride was well worth the trip. My wife and I always try to go riding when we go on vacation. The ranch was easy to find, well organized, safe, and unbelievably gorgeous. Our guide was super nice and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride!

Reviewed by: Skids, 2014/04/17

My daughter and I only had two days in Hawaii and I am so glad that two hours of it was riding at Kualoa Ranch. It was a wonderful way to see the beautiful scenery of the island and learn some interesting history of the area. The horses were great even in the windy weather and our guides friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa 1 hour Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2014/04/01

My girlfriend and I had such a wonderful time here at Kualoa Ranch. The horses were very well trained, tamed, and talented. This was our first time getting up on horses, and man I looked like Zorro. My girlfriend has such a strong, muscular, and smart horse, and luckily for here his name was Romeo. My horse was named Shay and he was just like me, always hungry. He stopped every ten minutes to eat grass, but I had to let him do it secretively. We had great views of the ocean and the mountain range of Kualoa Ranch, however getting pictures will be hard because you will need to make sure you are 100% focused and attentive of your horse and for your own personal safety. Our guide was great and she even took a couple pictures for me before our tour started. We had an excellent time and would recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

go for the 2 hr tour

Reviewed by: Corina, 2014/02/23

The 1 hr was not what I expected.. we barely got on the horses and came back.. at most we have been 20-25 min on the horse. Then we took the 2 hr ride which was quite different and definitely worth it!
They said that the time it takes to get us on the horses is included in this "x hour" ride which it doesn't seem fair to me.. for a large group (12-15 people) it does take 15-20 min to get us all on the horses and get started.. so 25 min left for riding for the 1 hr ride(??).. hmm.. kind of expensive ride..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/02/20
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories