Oahu to Kauai: Waimea Canyon, Wailua River Cruise & Waterfall Adventure

Kauai Land

Reviewed by: Kitty, 2017/01/07

The tour itself was really good, interesting and informing. All of the employees that took care of us were helpful and kind. The problem was the scheduling from Oahu to Kauai. We had to be picked up at 4:30 a.m. At our hotel. The plane left at 6:00 a.m. We got to Kauai at 6:40 a.m. And had to wait until picked up by tour guide at 8:40 a.m.. There were others that left our hotel at 7:00 and arrived to have guide pick them up on time. We also were told (on the tour guide was told) the wrong place at the airport to pick us up. All of that was very stressful. If they could correct the scheduling then it is a worthwhile tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quick Get Away to Kauai

Reviewed by: Ron Morton, 2015/01/31

This was a very good day trip to the Island of Kauai. While the logistics of the trip were well organized and executed despite a few bumps in the road (an auto accident on the main route upon arrival that forced the planned schedule to be reorganized and a delay on the return flight to Oahu), the very best part of the journey had to be the tour guide, Keone (Juan), who was a virtual encyclopia of Kauai history and culture. Truly an entertainer, funny, insightful and sensitive to the needs of his passengers. Every tour should have a Juan on it. Kauai is a beautiful, quiet island devoid of the chaos and traffic of Oahu. It is especially friendly and laid back. The day trip is a great introduction to planning a return visit for a longer stay. And Waimea Canyon is breathtaking.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really awesome tour

Reviewed by: Elly, 2015/01/17

My friend and I really wanted to see the filming location of Jurassic Park so we signed up for this tour to the least visited island in Hawaii. We were very impressed with the scenery. Everything was also very organized and arranged very professionally (no lateness). What made the tour really stand out though, was our tour guide Juan who told us many stories which gave us a greater understanding into life on the island. We loved the tour a lot. The only drawback was we had to wake up really early but I guess that can't be helped considering we did a day tour from O'ahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: kim byoung ho, 2014/10/07

amazin view
waimea cannyon
wailua river tour
fall nature wonderful

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to see the island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/07

This was a great tour, but a lot of driving. Our driver, Juan ( might be misspelled) is a native hawaiian and shared a lot of fact and fable. He played a video about how Jurasic Park was made, and as we drove around you can see where parts of the movie were filmed. We had plenty of time at each stop. I thought the fern grotto was a bit lame. The ferns were destroyed in a hurricane years ago, so the ones that were there were small. It wasnt what I expected. And there were mosquitos at the grotto. It would be nice if the driver had bug spray or something. We came back with a lot of bites. The boat ride was frustrating. It is a wide boat, with a low roof. The guide kept talking about the mountains or things on top of the hills, and most of us couldnt see what he was referring to because of the low roof. On one hand, seeing the island through a tour is a great way to learn a lot about the island. On the other hand, renting a car allows you to stop where you want to (little s

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Waimea Canyon and Wailua Rive

Reviewed by: Kingfubu, 2012/02/28

There is a lot of traveling back and forth then actual viewing spots, and because of that there was not enough time at Waimea Canyon which is the main spot of the trip. People taking half day tour should not be mixed with fullday tour, there was a lot of time lost in going back and forth droping those people, and the return flight to oahu should be planned accordingly we had to wait 2 hrs at the airport.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good, but could be better

Reviewed by: Jess, 2011/12/10

This is a fairly biased view to the tour since the airport was absolutely terrible on both directions (NOT the tour's fault).
The guide was ok, unanimated and didn't realise he told us the same stories multiple times - I found this funny but other people were getting really annoyed about it. If you like the history of sugar cane you'll get plenty of it!
The Canyon was AMAZING! As was Fern Grotto. Everything I thought was only ok in terms of interest sake.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a great trip

Reviewed by: Sean, 2011/07/26

Damien was a great tour guide giving excellent information throughout the entire tour. The greatest part of the trip is the "Grand Canyon" of the islands. Although somewhat expensive (airfare I guess), my wife and I really enjoyed the day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful tour

Reviewed by: Linda, 2011/03/15

Having lived on Oahu for 5 1/2 years in the '50s and never having visited any of the other islands, my sister and I were expecting to see something different and unique. This tour certainly filled the bill and was both those things - and more! Our tour guide - Patty -was very knowledgeable about local and island history and places of interest. She stopped at more than the expected stops and we had plenty of time at each one of them to take pictures, visit any shops that were there and generally get a feel for the place. The fact that we were a small group - just 8 of us on a mini-bus - was fantastic and we turned into a group of 6 after lunch after dropping one couple off back at their Kauai hotel.

It was wonderful to see the unspoilt beauty of Kauai, much as Oahu was when we knew it and before development spoiled it. We were so happy to hear that there has been a limit put on the number of stories hotels there can have, albeit after Marriott built their 8-storey one. At lea






Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/08/11

This is a very good way to get acquainted with the island. If you are staying on Kauai, it is a quick way to decide where you would like to spend more time. If you are flying in and out, it is an opportunity to see something other than the island where you are staying.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good way to see the island in 1 day

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2010/04/26

This is a great 1-day activity if you are staying in Oahu and want to experience another Hawaiian island. We stayed for 10 days in Waikiki, Oahu and this tour gave us the opportunity to see Kauai for a reasonable price.

The tour is extremely well organised - We were picked up from out the front of our hotel by a coach at 5am and were driven to the airport, picking up several other couples who were also doing the tour on the way. We were met at the airport by one of the tour organisers and were handed our tickets for the flight and told where to go and what to do upon arrival back at the airport later that night.

The flight was only around 40 minutes and we were met at the airport in Kauai by our coach driver/tour guide Jerry. Jerry was an excellent guide and throughout the day told us so much about the history of Kauai and lots of interesting facts as he drove us around in a comfortable coach.

We saw lots of great views and had plenty of opportunities to get out of the co

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Indeed, we had a very good time -

Reviewed by: Karin, 2009/12/14

Indeed, we had a very good time - very knowledgeable guide (she's a local and knows all the details), wonderful nature, everything was planned and organized thoroughly, no unpleasant surprises of any kind either with transportation or anything else. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Inter-Island Trip

Reviewed by: Tim H., 2009/12/10

Loved the trip very much. Our tour guide Damien was fantastic. Kauai is very beautiful. Only complaint, they don't pair couples up very well on the flight over. We met another couple in Honolulu before we departed, and none us was scheduled to sit sit with his or her spouse. Other than that, trip was breath-taking.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Inter-Island Tour

Reviewed by: Evva Morgan, 2008/12/12

First I have to say you MUST ask for JUAN as your guide. He is a native of Kauai. He is not only EXTREMELY knowlegeable of the Island, Juan has a great sense of humor, full of great stories retold to him by his grandfather, native histories, is a wealth of information. The Canyon is fasinating to see, as well as the Water Falls that we stopped along the way to witness. Juan told us local folk lore regarding the Sleeping Giant; Sprouting Horn.
Juan is WORTH THE TRIP in himself!

Aloha
Evva

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Garden Isle

Reviewed by: Menehune, 2007/09/19

This was my first trip to the island of Kauai, and I must say I fell in love with the island. The people are much more relaxed than Honolulu, and the sceneries were just beautiful. Waimea Canyon was definitely the highlight of this trip, and I'm glad that I was able to see the "Grand Canyon of the Pacific". The breathtaking view of the art of the mother nature is worth every penny. The Wailua River Cruise was very nice, and the Smith family did such a wonderful job entertaining us on the boat and at the Fern Grotto. We thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality. This is definitely recommended if you are only staying on O'ahu, and want to see Kauai for a day.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI