Speedboat Dolphin Snorkel Tour (from Ko Olina Marina)

Mediocre dolphin snorkel

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2017/08/04

We never found any dolphins, so we just snorkeled in the exact same location twice.

We were also required to wear life vests, which is unusual compared to most other excursions we've been on.

Ate lunch at 3:00 and off the boat.

Not the "speed raft" adrenaline adventure we were hoping for.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2017/06/21

I had a problem at first snorkeling, bUT the guides were wonderful and helped me get over my problem. I had the most wonderful time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a time of my life!

Reviewed by: Margarita, 2017/05/15

I have always wanted to see dolphins out in the wild and swim with them in the open ocean. I have heard of the tours where travellers are offered to swim with dolphins in the pool, but this is a completely different experience. We have travelled to several snorkelling spots before our speed boat started to make its way to a place where Hawaiian spinner dolphins are usually resting. Our captain was funny and enthusiastic, he also had a cute dog called Kiki – everyone on the boat just fell in love with her! After we spotted a group of dolphins we observed them from the boat for about 20 minutes and then decided to jump in the water. Our captain knew exactly what needs to be done in order to get the best experience possible. He told us to stay calm and jump quietly in the water and wait for the dolphins to approach us. Emotions I felt that day are hard to describe, I was crying from happiness, laughing and was completely overwhelmed with the beauty of these magical creatures. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone who is visiting Oahu and looking to have a memorable experience and fun.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Ever!!

Reviewed by: Lynna, 2016/07/20

We had the greatest time, even the teenager who did really want to go. She said it was amazing. I am definitely doing this again on my next trip to Hawaii. Staff where brilliant when my son get a bit sea sick on the way back. Couldn't fault it at all.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: Ana, 2016/06/07

This is the first time for my kids and my mom to Oahu. This
is one of the highlights for our family vacation. It was an awesome experience. Our Captain Austin, and his crew, John are the best. Both Austin and John made this adventure even more wonderful. This is highly recommend, we will definitely do it again when we come back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip!!!

Reviewed by: Guus, 2016/05/05

Very nice crew on the boat, also the driver was a lovely person. We loved the trip it was amazing swimming above a lot a dolphins.


  • Enjoying!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2016/03/05

We saw humpback whales and a group of bottle nose dolphins! We stuck with the dolphins for an hour or so, and at times they were very close to the boat. The snorkeling part was fun too. Would highly recommend--just make sure to take your motion sickness medication.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Vickie Sharpe, 2016/02/23

absolutely brilliant day - managed to see sea turtles, Dolphins and Humpback Whales.
the staff were brilliant and explained the equipment (as i had never snorkled before) efficiently so there was no confusion and helped point out things to see. the photographs that i purchased at the end of the day were beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2016/02/01

A great activity for all. Captain Mark is very knowledgeable and the staff are very friendly. I've done this tour twice and would recommend to anyone. It's amazing seeing dolphins so close in the wild.


  • Tropical Fish (Photo taken on disposable underwater camera.)


  • Dolphins swimming right underneath me! (Photo taken on disposable underwater camera.)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Maud, 2016/01/28

I was super impressed with the amount of sea life we were able to see. Lots and lots of Fish, Turtles, Whales, and Dolphins! We were also very well taken care of. We were greeted with happy helpful smiling faces, they had hot chocolate and pastries out for us. They were very helpful when were were getting in and out of the boat. The snorkeling gear they provided was top notch. They also had peppermint oil if anyone got sea sick, cool water for drinking, and had a fresh water shower hose on board to rinse off with leave in conditioner for our hair. They were incredibly knowledgable and big on safety. I would highly recommend this tour. It was worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome! Highly recommend it and would love to do that again!

Reviewed by: Chloe, 2015/10/21

The tour was awesome! The crews were super friendly and helpful! The whole experience is just so amazing, highly recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Allanah, 2015/08/07

My friend and I are first time travellers to Hawaii and we absolutely loved this experience! In the first 10 minutes, we saw a pod of dolphins and were allowed to get in the water with them. After that we continually found some more. The snorkelling was amazing as well, saw a sea turtle in the first 5 minutes of getting in the ocean. The team was friendly, informative and enthusiastic. We had an awesome time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Adventure

Reviewed by: Marie from Texas, 2015/06/17

Capt. Mark, Austin, Nate, and Asia were Super Awesome! Friendly crew, informative, patient, helpful and lot's of Fun. So glad I chose this for myself and my three daughters. Will definitely put in a good word to my friends and family. When we visit Hawaii again, I will definitely call on this tour company again. Thank you Asia for the awesome photos of our ocean adventure.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Adventure

Reviewed by: Shayne, 2015/06/15

Had a blast!! Loved Marc and his shipmate (I believe her name was Hannah). Very enthusiastic and kind :)


  • Dolphins!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth it!

Reviewed by: Honu , 2015/05/24

Our guides were very friendly and helpful. We were able to swim next to turtles, dolphins and tons of tropical fish. This isn't the kind of swimming with dolphins in an aquarium where they do tricks for you and kiss you, but it's amazing in itself to see a pod of 30+ dolphins in their natural habitat. They came as close as within 10 feet of us in our trip, and turtles were close enough to touch. Lunch was actually delicious!

Overall an unforgettable experience and highly recommended! I would also recommend getting an underwater camera or waterproof iPhone case. We didn't and definitely regretted it.


  • Dolphins before we got in the water. Weather was spotty, but supposedly it's usually better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great tour

Reviewed by: agnes , 2015/05/03

We were picked up at 515am and taken to a marina. A light breakfast was provided consisting of tea/coffee and muesli bars/muffins. We then boarded a boat equipped with snorkling equipment. We had 2 wonderful guides and a photographer. Austin and the young lady guide were great. We were taken across the ocean, saw a few whales before being taken to a phenomenal reef. Beautiful coloured fish and coral to see. The underwater photographer Asia takes photos of you and family snorkling which you then can purchase. The photos are definitely worth it. We saw a heap of dolphins and turtles in their natural habitat. The guide takes you as close to the dolphins as possible. We were then treated to a bbq lunch at around midday. Great for young kids and non swimmers. Wonderful staff. Can't fault this tour. Highly reccommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sitting uncomfortably in a rubber pontoon for three hours going in a circle...

Reviewed by: Maiwayalways1, 2015/04/03

The staff gets two stars for doing their job but the excursion itself is misleading and therefore gets zero stars. We had three children ages 5, 7 and 9. We unfortunatlely sat in the last two rows of the pontoon and pretty much missed the entire dolphin and whale sightings due to the stingy adults who would immediately stand up and hog the sights with their cameras. One of the sweet staff boys did accompany our 5 and 7 year olds to the front of the boat during the first sighting but then a few adults moved to that same spot to crowd so the kids moved back to the end with us. Complete inconsideration but perhaps I am more conscious of sharing space and views with others.
Anyway, we snorkeled for roughly thirty five minutes in one spot, jumped on the pontoon and cruised in a large circle outside the industrial plant for about an hour and a half then anchored for a second snorkel location. This time only about eight people snorkeled (40 people) due to exhaustion and boredom... And to top it off, the lunch was either room temp chicken thigh or room temp shredded pork, questionably warm pineapple and strawberry salad and an oversized bun with generous lettuce and tomatoes. Overall this activity should have been thirty dollars max and lunch optional since it was inedible. If you have small children under 12, and actually want to snorkel longer than forty five minutes, then seek else where.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/03/29
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I will always remember this day

Reviewed by: Marin, 2015/01/17

We were literally swimming next to wild dolphins! The crew was very helpful. Though we would like more time for snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Find the Dolphins

Reviewed by: Ronaldo Fontoura, 2014/11/15

The promissed was to swim with Dolphins but not guaranteed. I Know but it is almost impossible considering open sea and the reasonable visibility.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Rolando, we do try our best, but yes sometimes the dolphins are around the corner or just unable to be located. We see them about 90% of the time, but some days are trickier than others. We hope you enjoyed the snorkeling and clear water our islands had to offer anyway. Thank you for coming with us, we hope that you can try again. Many thanks, Ko Olina Ocean Adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Ashlee, 2014/10/12

My husband and I did this on our honeymoon, it was such an awesome experience. We were able to snorkel out and see tons of beautiful fish, two huge turtles and lots of dolphins. Our captain mark was so determined to get all of us to see dolphins in the water, and he was succesful. We had dolphins swimming right under and around us. I recommend it to anyone looking for a fun filled day! Also lunch was served once we got back and i got the pulled pork sandwich which was really tasty! I give this activity a two thumbs up!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Get the Wild Dolphin Experience from Ko Olina Ocean Adventures!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/25

I was picked up on time by Randi as soon as I got to the hotel. I was a little early, but it worked out so I wouldn't have to wait forever as the driver Randi was already waiting. She was very courteous and a nice person to talk story with on such a long drive. As soon as we got there, it was such a pretty place! When I checked in. Chyanne was very polite and made sure that I was taken care of. Austin the captain of the boat got everyone on as smoothly as possible. The boat ride was great and the Waianae coastline is wonderful. We stopped next to the Aloha Factory which was a perfect snorkel spot. There were tons of tropical fish and cool things to see. The next snorkel spot was a little farther north and we saw so many dolphins! They were swimming next to the boat. We waded around in the water and the dolphins came close by. It was amazing! I could here the little dolphin songs underwater when there were a lot of them around. We had an awesome photographer Barnabus who made all of us look pretty in our pictures. While I did have a camera, it's a lot better to have him take your photos. After all, this really is the experience of a lifetime, so looking pretty is necessity. When we got back, I was greeted with a wonderful lunch of a pulled pork sandwich, fresh fruit salad, and chips. If I could I would give the dolphin watch tour 10 stars! I highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience

Reviewed by: Jenifer, 2014/03/02

This excursion was simply amazing. The Captain and First Mate were extremely knowledgeable about the animals we were seeing and their habitats. Seeing the gentle sea turtle swim below you is just breath taking.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing half day of snorkeling

Reviewed by: cm_83, 2013/11/16

A great time snorkeling. The spots were amazing with so many marine creatures to see. Incredible to see what kind of life is happening just out of site. The crew was professional kind and courteous helping my friends who was a bit nauseous midway through. If I'm ever back here will most definitely go again either on this or one of their other activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice to go

Reviewed by: Po An , 2013/09/24

we joined the early morning tour. we were lucky that we saw turtle and dolphin. Because dolphins are too shy to stay closely with them, we just floated on the sea and looked down to watch dolphin pass by. Although swimming with dolphins is not exactly the way as we thought, we still had a great time to snorkel with many fish,turtles and of course Sunshine!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Ultimate Dolphin Adventure

Reviewed by: loveoahu13, 2013/09/15

I wish I can give this tour 100 stars. I highly recommended this tour to anyone all ages and swimming capabilities. I am a non-swimmer and also had trouble in the beginning with the snorkel and mask. The Captain, his assistant and even the photographer were so encouraging and helpful with my nervousness. It took me until the end of our tour to finally get my face in the water. I cannot express how great it felt to be cheered on by not just my family, but the crew as well. I purchased the photos of the activity. They are amazing. Seeing the dolphins swimming all around and my kids and husband right there with them was an amazing experience. I will definitely go back to Ko'olina Ocean Adventures during our next visit. Please don't pass this activity up. You will not regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Laura, 2013/08/28

This was a highlight of our trip to Oahu. The staff were great and they feed you well. We saw so many dolphins, sea turtles and fish. We also bought the cd of pictures from a photographer on the boat. Great trip. No complaints!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

overall great experience

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2013/08/24

Great tour and only gave four stars instead of 5 because we didnt see any dolphins under the water when we got in, we only saw them from afar. Austin, our guide explained it was most likely due to the time of year when the young are born and the dolphins were being overprotective. The staff were fantastic and very helpful throughout the whole tour. Even though we didnt see the dolphins in the water, we were not disappointed as the experience of seeing them in their environment jumping out of the water was awesome in itself. The staff were very apologetic at the dolphins non compliance. It wasnt their fault though, you cant make the dolphins do things they dont want to do!I would highly recommend going

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin & Turtle Snorkle Excursion

Reviewed by: Denise, 2013/07/27

This was our families first trip to Hawaii, so we wanted to include as many exciting activities as we could while we were there. The dolphin and turtle snorkel trip was one our family will always cherish. Seeing the wild dolphins in their habitat(not in an animal park), was amazing. We hope to do it again sometime in the next few years and would highly recommend it to any outdoor enthusiast that want a memorable day. Our boat guides were very knowledgeable and friendly and made sure we had all the comforts we needed while out at sea. Enjoyed our trip very much!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for joining us! We love to hear that whole families come out together. It's a great bonding experience. Many MAHALOS again to your whole family. A hui ho!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Swim

Reviewed by: KellyC, 2013/06/18

Best thing we did all week while on Oahu!!! Our crew put us directly in the path of the spinner dolphins twice. They calmly swam beneath us and carried onward. Crew showed high respect to the wildlife at all times.

Reply from activity provider

Awesome! Your enthusiastic satisfaction is what we strive for! It takes not only a great crew to accomplish these magic moments but also great customers that can share the respect and love of the ocean to make the magic happen. Thanks for joining us! Mahalo Nui loa.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Rachel B, 2013/05/11

Went with 2 of my girlfriends and it was a blast! We saw 3-4 dozen dolphins all swimming together, a momma and baby and individual dolphins would swim right next to us. We did this all without disrupting them as they dropped us in the path of the dolphins and told us not to swim but to just float above them. All of the other tour boats around us had their passengers in their fins splashing and causing commotion which scares them away. Also saw sea turtles and tons of fish. Would recommend especially for a beginner snorkeler as their equipment worked well and a crew member even got in the water with us and showed us all kinds of neat things. Worth the money for sure and lunch was tasty too!

Reply from activity provider

Wonderful! Thank you for joining us, and your review. Also a huge thanks for remaining "passive" for the dolphins so they could enjoy their time with you all as well. The dolphins are incredible creatures that we want to share with others and it requires the respect that you have shown. From the dolphins, turtles fish and crew at Ko Oljna Ocean Adventures, thank you, we hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI