Hawaii Shark Encounters - Oahu Shark Cage Diving Tour from Haleiwa reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Hawaii Shark Encounters - Oahu Shark Cage Diving Tour from Haleiwa

Overall Rating

4.81 4.81 / 5

Reviews

70 reviews
Post a review

Took great care of us!!

Reviewed by: Satisfied client, 2021/10/16

We booked with VELTRA for our recent trip to Hawaii. They took care of us before, during and after our events. They also totally understood the reason for one of our party having to cancel last minute because of illness. I would recommend them for your activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a fantastic time

Reviewed by: Dmitry, 2021/09/14

Saw lots of Sharks! They come real close up! Crew was professional and very nice. There were 2 groups of 6 people each that took turns in the shark cage on our trip. Just be aware that while waiting on the boat for your turn (or waiting for the other group to finish their shark encounter) you are stuck on the boat and it can get real rocky. If you are prone to se sickness take proper precautions! My girlfriend was prone to sea sickness and suffered a bit while waiting on the boat but she made it through. All in all it was a great experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best experience ever!!!

Reviewed by: JSantos, 2021/08/18

Best experience ever!!! Learned a lot about sharks and their behavior - crew ver knowledgeable. Will definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour!

Reviewed by: Jahnavi Munagala , 2021/08/11

I had a great time! They were very Professional knowledgeable. They were very helpful and they showed us the sharks and they also caught fish. They also were very sanitary and explained everything really well. I had Jax and his coworker who took us on a tour and they were excellent. Would recommend going on for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tiger Shark

Reviewed by: Jeremiah, 2021/08/11

We saw a big tiger shark and some galopagos sharks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Jamie Simpson, 2021/05/05

Kaleo and Myles (sorry if I butchered the spelling, guys <3 !) were our guides and they were absolutely phenomenal. This was one of the most incredible things I have ever experienced. Although the water was a little rough due to wind, my group had an amazing time! We will absolutely do it again and will recommend this tour to everyone!

  • Crappy quality photo, but AMAZING experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!!!!

Reviewed by: AZfitmama, 2021/01/02

WOW!!! What an INCREDIBLE experience!!!!!
My husband and I are both scared of sharks and he is very claustrophobic. We were worried how he would do in the cage. This was our FAVORITE part of Hawaii! As soon as you get to the spot, you immediately see sharks. They knew what we were doing there and they remember that the guides feed them, so they were all over the boat. Such a gnarly thing to see fins coming up right next to the boat!
There were eight of us on the boat and we were able to split into two groups so we could all have space and time inside the cage. It was SO COOL!! There were 8-12 Galapagos sharks swimming right next to us. They come so close to the cage, you could easily reach out and touch them, but do NOT do that lol.
We could not believe how much we loved this adventure. We recommend to everyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing day!!!!

Reviewed by: Ramone Bartel, 2020/02/20

I was excited to go on this event. My excitement was well rewarded. On the way out we got a bonus of seeing a whole group of humpback whales breaching high in the air!!! At this point I felt my money was already a good investment!
The sharks did not disappoint either!! At least 20 of them circled our boat and cage while we got great views! Captain Caleo is a super guy and excellent at steering this tour perfectly
I would recommend this tour to all my friends!
Oh and we saw dolphins on the way back!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Olesya, 2019/08/24

Awesome,great experience! Safe, highly recommend this tour. As a travel agent will recommend Hawaii Shark Encounter to people who looking extreme .Suggestions: Make a video for people from the side. People will love it to see themselves in the cage surrounding by different types of sharks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Sharks time!

Reviewed by: The Compton family , 2019/07/06

It was a very safe. We had a really good time! We got some really good pictures! The crew was very knowledgeable about the sharks & their environment! We was concerned about it being safe. We read review & safety records. These Guys stood up to there reputation. They were very professional!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Christina, 2019/06/10

Barely arrived on spot, shark fins started to show around our boat. That alone was already impressive and exciting!
While in the cage, you get to admire them gracefully swim around and under the cage... beauty!

Few tips:

- Waterproof phone pouch with wrist lanyard recommended to take underwater videos, we're so glad we had one! Just make sure not to live the whole experience through your phone ;)

- Even if you're not sea/motion sick, I suggest you have a ginger chew or two (Chimes brand are good). This will help settle your stomach as it can get bumpy under there.

Big thanks to our guides, very chill and knowledgeable!

PS: we also got to see dolphins splashing and following our boat on the way back, that was also priceless!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!!

Reviewed by: DM78, 2018/09/20

One of the best experiences in my life, the crew was amazing, they both were helpful and informative. Would have stayed out there all day if they had let me, lol.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2018/07/06

easy going guys with a great trip out to sea. at no time did I feel unsafe. being in the cage was great. we would have seen up to 15 sharks. I would recommend doing this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do Adventure!

Reviewed by: Melanie T., 2018/03/24

What an incredible experience! We got to see % sharks and they continued to swarm the cage the whole time! The crew were great! Super nice, very knowledgeable and informative. Made sure we had a great experience, My 8 & 11 year old sons loved it! Perfect for the kids! It was one of the highlights of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice experience

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

we met 1 shark, very good experience. but the timing we chosen wrongly, too early in the morning makes us freezing. no place to change in the ship, so you have to settle with your towel and change only when you reach the land.

  • there it is

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!!

Reviewed by: Amy Dean, 2016/07/17

My kids said this was the experience of a lifetime! Water was a little rough so if you suffer from sea sickness I would recommend medication but the overall experience was worth every minute. We did some sort of excursion almost every day and my family loved this!!

  • Shark selfie!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2016/07/09

It was really amazing. The guys were really nice and funny, answering every questions. We stayed really long in the cage and at no time we felt unsecure. We saw many sharks all around the cage and coming close to the boat. If you can, ask for them to take the pictures with a gopro, they'll be a lot and you won't have to worry about it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks

Reviewed by: Crystal , 2016/05/26

What a great time! Not scary at all. We got awesome video! Definetly a must!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure!

Reviewed by: TLV Florida, 2016/05/26

Organized, fun crew. Eight 8-10 foot Galapagos Sharks. Really exciting experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service!

Reviewed by: Geo, 2016/01/04

Stayed in waikki,Booked a trip to shark encounters in north shore! Great service, friendly staff, amazing experience! Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Encounter

Reviewed by: Kelly & Rhys, 2015/11/26

Staff were amazing and made the adventure perfect. Awesome experience shared with my nephew. Coming back to Hawaii in April and will be doing this again for 3rd time! Sea was really rough but made it all so much more fun, was given option to change days or refund but so glad we decided to go ahead, was a fabulous day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must try if you love sharks

Reviewed by: Carrie, 2015/10/12

An amazing experience. Even though the water was extremely rough the day we went, it was still incredible. Our guides were the best too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: CLT, 2015/04/06

Could not have been better; we specifically chose this shark encounter since they book fewer people on the boat and it was just what I had in mind. We had 10 total on the boat. The captain and mate were both knowledgeable and professional but definitely made it fun. Took a few extra minutes to show us the whales also. Highly recommend these guys.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark encounter-u should try!!)

Reviewed by: Anton&Natalia , 2015/01/10

Today me and my husband take part in shark encounter-u have to try it!!)) Actually we thought we'll get more adrenalin, but it turned out it's really safe and exiting trip. Like a "bonus" we saw wales and dolphins, and crew of the boat told a lot interesting facts about sharks that we didn't know. For sure u have to take go pro with u and a camera just in case ull see wales)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing experience

Reviewed by: Barbie, 2014/07/23

our adventure was awesome, first i didnt think that we were going to see any sharks, but as soon as our boat arrived at the cage, about 15 good sized sharks circled the boat. being in the cage seeing the sharks up close was amazing>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Activity

Reviewed by: Lin, 2013/08/04

Getting in the water with sharks was definitely a unique afternoon! Our hosts weren't especially talkative but knew what they were doing and we all got a turn. If you're going to get in the water with sharks I suggest this company because of the plexiglass on the side of the cage. None of the pictures I took through the bars turned out because of the light reflection! Also arrive early to the dock! The sign is tiny, faded and at the far end of a parking lot. Took us 20 minutes to find where to go after arriving.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

family experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/24

We made this a family affair. My two kids, 16 & 6 enjoyed the sharks. The water was rough and it was very hard to hold onto the cage. I had to hold my 6yr old, he was not strong enough to hold on himself and the waves knocked him around. That said he loved it. My 16 yr old had no problems and tooks some great pics with the underwater camera. The sharks came right up to the cage and they looked them eye to eye. I tend to get sea sick so I wore a sea sick patch, which unfortuntly was not enough. The worst part was sitting in the boat while the other group was in the cage. Everyone agreed that they would do it again, but compared to some of the other tours we did, this one seemed a little pricy. We were only out for about 1.5 hours with about 15 - 20 minutes in the cage, which was just right but per minute - expensive!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too much motion sickness

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/07

My husband and I wanted to do something very unique for our honeymoon in Hawaii so we decided to do Shark Encounters! We were both very excited to do this. On the day of, we drove up to the northshore at 430am because we booked the 6am group. On arrival, the staff were very friendly & knowledgable. However, my husband and I were motion sick the whole entire time that we were out at sea. We did not enjoy this at all. We even took gravol to control our motion sickness but it did not work. When we got into the cage to see the sharks, we were still having motion sickness. It was nice to see the sharks close up but it felt like we were sick the whole entire time. Overall, it was an experience that we would never do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience - Must Do!!!!

Reviewed by: Shawn Driscoll, 2012/06/02

Swimming with the sharks was awesome with Hawaii Shark Encounter..... I liked how the boat was smaller so it was our family and 1 other group. We saw at least 15-20 sharks and they swam very close to us. The cage was a good size and you were able to move around freely. It was surreal being under water with the sharks. I would recommend if you have an Iphone to get the case so you can take the iphone under water. We had an old school underwater camera and it was difficult taking pictures with it and holding onto the cage. We will see if any of our pics turned out. In summary highly recommend this activity and Hawaii Shark Encounter was great!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Encounter

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/01/28

Staff were a crack up and made the whole trip full of laughs. From the moment we got out on the boat we saw dolphins and whales so it was a bonus. Sharks appeared right away when you travel a bit further out so it was good there was no waiting around or searching like other tours. The experience was amazing. The staff kept the nature of the sharks a mystery untill you finish your turn. Only then do they tell you that the sharks are complete pussy cats and have never attacked anyone. This added to the adventure and adrenalin rush of the experience. Inside the cage you see LOTS of LARGE sharks. We had 6 sharks surrounding us. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories