Hawaii Shark Encounters in Haleiwa - Sightings Guaranteed

Great Experience!!

Reviewed by: Amy Dean, 2016/07/17

My kids said this was the experience of a lifetime! Water was a little rough so if you suffer from sea sickness I would recommend medication but the overall experience was worth every minute. We did some sort of excursion almost every day and my family loved this!!


  • Shark selfie!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2016/07/09

It was really amazing. The guys were really nice and funny, answering every questions. We stayed really long in the cage and at no time we felt unsecure. We saw many sharks all around the cage and coming close to the boat. If you can, ask for them to take the pictures with a gopro, they'll be a lot and you won't have to worry about it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks

Reviewed by: Crystal , 2016/05/26

What a great time! Not scary at all. We got awesome video! Definetly a must!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure!

Reviewed by: TLV Florida, 2016/05/26

Organized, fun crew. Eight 8-10 foot Galapagos Sharks. Really exciting experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service!

Reviewed by: Geo, 2016/01/04

Stayed in waikki,Booked a trip to shark encounters in north shore! Great service, friendly staff, amazing experience! Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Encounter

Reviewed by: Kelly & Rhys, 2015/11/26

Staff were amazing and made the adventure perfect. Awesome experience shared with my nephew. Coming back to Hawaii in April and will be doing this again for 3rd time! Sea was really rough but made it all so much more fun, was given option to change days or refund but so glad we decided to go ahead, was a fabulous day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must try if you love sharks

Reviewed by: Carrie, 2015/10/12

An amazing experience. Even though the water was extremely rough the day we went, it was still incredible. Our guides were the best too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: CLT, 2015/04/06

Could not have been better; we specifically chose this shark encounter since they book fewer people on the boat and it was just what I had in mind. We had 10 total on the boat. The captain and mate were both knowledgeable and professional but definitely made it fun. Took a few extra minutes to show us the whales also. Highly recommend these guys.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark encounter-u should try!!)

Reviewed by: Anton&Natalia , 2015/01/10

Today me and my husband take part in shark encounter-u have to try it!!)) Actually we thought we'll get more adrenalin, but it turned out it's really safe and exiting trip. Like a "bonus" we saw wales and dolphins, and crew of the boat told a lot interesting facts about sharks that we didn't know. For sure u have to take go pro with u and a camera just in case ull see wales)



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing experience

Reviewed by: Barbie, 2014/07/23

our adventure was awesome, first i didnt think that we were going to see any sharks, but as soon as our boat arrived at the cage, about 15 good sized sharks circled the boat. being in the cage seeing the sharks up close was amazing>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Activity

Reviewed by: Lin, 2013/08/04

Getting in the water with sharks was definitely a unique afternoon! Our hosts weren't especially talkative but knew what they were doing and we all got a turn. If you're going to get in the water with sharks I suggest this company because of the plexiglass on the side of the cage. None of the pictures I took through the bars turned out because of the light reflection! Also arrive early to the dock! The sign is tiny, faded and at the far end of a parking lot. Took us 20 minutes to find where to go after arriving.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

family experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/24

We made this a family affair. My two kids, 16 & 6 enjoyed the sharks. The water was rough and it was very hard to hold onto the cage. I had to hold my 6yr old, he was not strong enough to hold on himself and the waves knocked him around. That said he loved it. My 16 yr old had no problems and tooks some great pics with the underwater camera. The sharks came right up to the cage and they looked them eye to eye. I tend to get sea sick so I wore a sea sick patch, which unfortuntly was not enough. The worst part was sitting in the boat while the other group was in the cage. Everyone agreed that they would do it again, but compared to some of the other tours we did, this one seemed a little pricy. We were only out for about 1.5 hours with about 15 - 20 minutes in the cage, which was just right but per minute - expensive!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too much motion sickness

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/07

My husband and I wanted to do something very unique for our honeymoon in Hawaii so we decided to do Shark Encounters! We were both very excited to do this. On the day of, we drove up to the northshore at 430am because we booked the 6am group. On arrival, the staff were very friendly & knowledgable. However, my husband and I were motion sick the whole entire time that we were out at sea. We did not enjoy this at all. We even took gravol to control our motion sickness but it did not work. When we got into the cage to see the sharks, we were still having motion sickness. It was nice to see the sharks close up but it felt like we were sick the whole entire time. Overall, it was an experience that we would never do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience - Must Do!!!!

Reviewed by: Shawn Driscoll, 2012/06/02

Swimming with the sharks was awesome with Hawaii Shark Encounter..... I liked how the boat was smaller so it was our family and 1 other group. We saw at least 15-20 sharks and they swam very close to us. The cage was a good size and you were able to move around freely. It was surreal being under water with the sharks. I would recommend if you have an Iphone to get the case so you can take the iphone under water. We had an old school underwater camera and it was difficult taking pictures with it and holding onto the cage. We will see if any of our pics turned out. In summary highly recommend this activity and Hawaii Shark Encounter was great!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Encounter

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/01/28

Staff were a crack up and made the whole trip full of laughs. From the moment we got out on the boat we saw dolphins and whales so it was a bonus. Sharks appeared right away when you travel a bit further out so it was good there was no waiting around or searching like other tours. The experience was amazing. The staff kept the nature of the sharks a mystery untill you finish your turn. Only then do they tell you that the sharks are complete pussy cats and have never attacked anyone. This added to the adventure and adrenalin rush of the experience. Inside the cage you see LOTS of LARGE sharks. We had 6 sharks surrounding us. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommended

Reviewed by: Sam, 2010/11/10

Hawaii Shark Adventure was one of my top activity during a 9 day Hawaiin vacation.activity. It does not beat sex; but I ski double black diamond runs in Colorad and Utah with over a foot of fresh powder and the Shark Adventure rivals that feeling of exhilaration and adventure. A short 15 minute boat ride from the Harbor to the location and then 20 minutes inside the shark cage. I counted over 9 Galapagos sharks swimming around (and under) the cage. Great photo oppurtunities (I got several great shots of just sharks under the water as well as looking at them from the boat). I would recommend this activity to my friends, family, and anyone in good health. My only only advise is for better viewing and photo opps; you need to take a deep breath and go to the bottom of the cage to avoid getting bumped and elbowed by the other guests (not to mention their hands of elbows getting into your photos).

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great time

Reviewed by: jeff roberts, 2010/09/07

we had a great time, lots of sharks....

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Carina, 2010/07/07

I thought I was going to be scared, but they made sure I was at ease. We go in a little deep, and the reality hits you when you see the cage. It was windy that day, and we got some waves. Once you get into the cage, and you get up close with these sharks, you see how amazing they are. I would highly recommend this to everyone!! Very cool!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JAWS!!!!

Reviewed by: HONEYMOONERS!!!!, 2009/08/12

haha, yes misleading title, BUT what an event! the sharks were amazing and the staff were awsome. The staff know so much about the sharks and ensure ur safety at all times. You get a long time in the water, and lots of views of sharks and small fishes. I recommend going as early as possible to avoid waves as it was hard to breathe at times; and we took the 10am outing! Sign the petition they offer you at the end because wildlife groups are trying to shut them down, and they are in no way harming these amazing sea creatures!

have fun!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cage shark dive

Reviewed by: DiverBob, 2009/05/28

Beautiful calm day, lot of fun and the staff was great. I've dived with sharks before in open ocean so this was a little tame in cage. But nice to see Galapagos sharks. Everyone had a good time as one doesn't have to be a diver.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So many sharks

Reviewed by: boogwa, 2009/03/19

The staff said they counted 15 sharks down there with us and they were all over. It was really neat to get that close to a shark. They were there the minute we got in and put on a good show. Only downside though was that off shore there was a storm off island that were creating a lot of big waves and half the boat got seasick. Take the dremamine when they tell you and it should be a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark

Reviewed by: Tyler, 2009/03/13

Totally awesome!!!! Let me tell you, I am one of those people who respect sharks so much, I try everything to stay away from them. I am enthralled with sharkweek on Discovery channel, but terrified of sharks. I was very hesitant in taking this tour, however believe it or not I'm the one who signed my wife and I up for it. I'M GLAD I DID! What an amazing experience. The staff were cool and kept things low key, didn't make any problems for anyone. They both were knowledgeable regarding the sharks we encountered. The only thing I would ask to change would be the viewing glass, not as big as I would have liked it, but then again I'm selfish. The other thing I would ask they enforce, or at least remind those in the cage, please don't let your legs go straight out. I kept getting kicked in the back cause the lady thought she could just hold onto the handrail and let herself strectch out...very annoying. Aside from those things...I'm definately going to do this tour again when I co

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

shark attacks

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/11/04

Awesome but expensive for what it was ...... 113$ for 2x15mn of boat and only 20mn in the cage with sharks, too short....

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Redford, 2008/10/29

The Shark Encounter was fantastic. Beyond my expectations. Clearly the highlight of our cruise to Hawaii. Would recommend to anyone

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best tour EVER!

Reviewed by: Vanessa, 2008/10/28

My buddy Jim and I took this tour and we were completely overwhelmed by how incredible the experience was! We have amazing photos from our underwater cameras to show all of our friends and we were astounded by the number of sharks we saw. This is a once in a lifetime experience that you should NOT miss - take this tour, you will not regret it!!!




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a must activity!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/09/29

This is a must for anyone visiting the islands. My wife and I agreed this was by far the best thing we did while we were there. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. The trip itself was a blast! The sharks were so cool to look at. Seeing them in person is just beyond words!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: craig + christina, 2008/09/22

There isn't a whole lot of words that can really express the experience of looking face to face with a bautiful shark.. except AMAZING!! the whole activity from begining to end was great, the staff knew what they were talking about and eventhough we were to dumbfounded to really talk a whole lot they covered all our questions...we would recommend this activity to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you've never seen wild sharks...

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2008/08/13

this is definitely the activity for you. The staff aboard the boat are very friendly and knowledgeable (thanks Jeremy and Phillip!), and there WILL be sharks. I've actually been on a dive with sharks without a cage, so this wasn't as breathtaking for me, but if you've never seen sharks in the wild, I highly recommend this activitiy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Are there words?

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/09

Unforgettable. Amazing. Incredible. Awesome. Those are just a few! This was truly an adventure of a lifetime. Enjoyed every second on that boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brilliant!

Reviewed by: Jardie, 2008/06/16

This was a brilliant trip and definitely one of the highlights of my holiday. To be just inches away from a 12ft Tiger Shark is a remarkable experience. Also got some brilliant pictures with my underwater camera. Loads of big sharks, crystal clear waters, friendly and knowledgable staff - a real must-do!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI