Oahu Shark Cage Diving & Small Group Boat Tour - Hawaii Shark Encounters reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Shark Cage Diving & Small Group Boat Tour - Hawaii Shark Encounters

Overall Rating

4.84 4.84 / 5

Reviews

83 reviews
Post a review

Wonderful experience.

Reviewed by: Rania, 2022/11/27

We spent Amazing time there. Friendly team. Well organized. I liked how they explained everything in details before we start for our safety & knowledge. I surely recommend it. the photos & videos were professionally taken.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scary but Thrilling!!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

I was so scared I woud chcken out but what an experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Time

Reviewed by: David, 2022/10/20

Thoroughly enjoyed my time. The staff were friendly and informative and the Sharks came by to say hi - all in all, a great day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We'd do it again!

Reviewed by: Mei and Haleo, 2022/10/12

We had an outstanding experience! The captain and co-captain were friendly and professional. We arrived at the cage and returned to our destination safely. We were fortunate to see a few sharks. I thought I might get seasick but to my surprise I did not. I think it was because my grandson and I ate a bland meal beforehand and do not drink coffee. Unfortunately, two of the passengers did get sick and went palu in the cage! Auwe! Overall a great experience and we'd do it again.

  • Beautiful day in Hawai'i nei

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing and extremely lucky.

Reviewed by: Juan, 2022/09/17

It started with a great day, very little wind which made the water very calm. Boat rode out was smooth, and finally arriving to the cage we were immediately greeted with sharks, and not just any sharks but 3 TIGER SHARKS!!. I know that TIGERS are rare for the area but the fact that 3 were there for the entire dive was amazing. The crew were awesome in ensuring that everyone was calm and answered any questions. I definitely recommend and would love to dive again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: AJ Johnson, 2022/08/18

The captain and crew were AMAZING. Very Very knowledgeable of the animals and waters. Would 100% book again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Encounter

Reviewed by: V.Ramirez , 2022/08/06

The crew with Captain David was awesome! Very friendly and made sure we felt comfortable and safe on the way out to the cage, during the encounter, and on our way back to the dock. We were lucky to see 4 tiger sharks as we arrived. This was a bucket list item for me snd the crew made it all that more memorable. Would recommend booking with this company for your future shark encounters!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha V,
Mahalo for your kind words, i will be sure to pass them along to capt dave and crew. hope to see you again soon!
-Hawaii Shark Encounters-

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty Nice

Reviewed by: Lydia, 2022/07/20

Overall we enjoyed this adventure.
-The staff was very good. They were both informative and entertaining.
- We went on a very windy day, but they managed the ocean well and got us to our destination.
- We managed to see a couple of nice sized Sharks while we were out. The cage was very secure and you had no feelings of not being safe.
- I had an AMAZING time, but my husband, who can't handle the sea travel, got sick.

Had a good time and would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such an amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Sierra B. , 2022/07/19

This was a once in a lifetime experience!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I felt so safe and we saw some Galapagos sharks, some barracuda and even a tiger shark!! It was so much fun! Definitely a great opportunity for anyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible, fun experience worth doing every time I visit Oahu!

Reviewed by: Jessica Gan, 2022/07/18

I booked this as a spontaneous adventure for my parents and siblings first time visiting Oahu. None of us are super outdoorsy people (I don't even know how to swim) but we had a blast with this experience. The crew was fun, funny, knowledgeable and helpful. There was a lot of nervousness and anxiety with an experience like this but I felt at ease with them with their experience at sea and knowledge of the sharks we encountered. I loved that they loved what they do. I loved that we all shared the same respect and awe for the sharks.

We were fortunate enough to see 2 tiger sharks and dolphins on the way back!! Even my mom who was brought along as just an observer had an incredible experience on the boat ride and took some awesome pics! I wish I had prior experience working with snorkeling gear and learning breathing techniques to stay down longer to spend more time seeing the beautiful tiger sharks we saw. Next time, because there for sure will be, I'll be ready to handle the currents, my breathing techniques, and will bring my own GoPro! Can't wait for next time! Thank you to the amazing Hawaii Shark Encounters crew!

  • how cool is this

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simple as can be!!

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2022/07/15

The booking went smooth and the Shark dive was amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience

Reviewed by: Ross J, 2022/06/01

When visiting Oahu, go to the north shore and participate in this excursion. It was a great experience, got lots of footage and learned so much. The crew was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such an amazing time ! The team was great ! Seen soo many fish & sharks !

Reviewed by: Princess, 2021/12/18

The team was super friendly & nice ! Our GoPro wasn’t working when it became time to get in the water so one of the team members let us use theirs w/ a small fee. Totally worth it ! Highly recommend we seen soooo many sharks & fish !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Took great care of us!!

Reviewed by: Satisfied client, 2021/10/16

We booked with VELTRA for our recent trip to Hawaii. They took care of us before, during and after our events. They also totally understood the reason for one of our party having to cancel last minute because of illness. I would recommend them for your activities.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a fantastic time

Reviewed by: Dmitry, 2021/09/14

Saw lots of Sharks! They come real close up! Crew was professional and very nice. There were 2 groups of 6 people each that took turns in the shark cage on our trip. Just be aware that while waiting on the boat for your turn (or waiting for the other group to finish their shark encounter) you are stuck on the boat and it can get real rocky. If you are prone to se sickness take proper precautions! My girlfriend was prone to sea sickness and suffered a bit while waiting on the boat but she made it through. All in all it was a great experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best experience ever!!!

Reviewed by: JSantos, 2021/08/18

Best experience ever!!! Learned a lot about sharks and their behavior - crew ver knowledgeable. Will definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour!

Reviewed by: Jahnavi Munagala , 2021/08/11

I had a great time! They were very Professional knowledgeable. They were very helpful and they showed us the sharks and they also caught fish. They also were very sanitary and explained everything really well. I had Jax and his coworker who took us on a tour and they were excellent. Would recommend going on for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tiger Shark

Reviewed by: Jeremiah, 2021/08/11

We saw a big tiger shark and some galopagos sharks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing!

Reviewed by: Jamie Simpson, 2021/05/05

Kaleo and Myles (sorry if I butchered the spelling, guys <3 !) were our guides and they were absolutely phenomenal. This was one of the most incredible things I have ever experienced. Although the water was a little rough due to wind, my group had an amazing time! We will absolutely do it again and will recommend this tour to everyone!

  • Crappy quality photo, but AMAZING experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!!!!

Reviewed by: AZfitmama, 2021/01/02

WOW!!! What an INCREDIBLE experience!!!!!
My husband and I are both scared of sharks and he is very claustrophobic. We were worried how he would do in the cage. This was our FAVORITE part of Hawaii! As soon as you get to the spot, you immediately see sharks. They knew what we were doing there and they remember that the guides feed them, so they were all over the boat. Such a gnarly thing to see fins coming up right next to the boat!
There were eight of us on the boat and we were able to split into two groups so we could all have space and time inside the cage. It was SO COOL!! There were 8-12 Galapagos sharks swimming right next to us. They come so close to the cage, you could easily reach out and touch them, but do NOT do that lol.
We could not believe how much we loved this adventure. We recommend to everyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing day!!!!

Reviewed by: Ramone Bartel, 2020/02/20

I was excited to go on this event. My excitement was well rewarded. On the way out we got a bonus of seeing a whole group of humpback whales breaching high in the air!!! At this point I felt my money was already a good investment!
The sharks did not disappoint either!! At least 20 of them circled our boat and cage while we got great views! Captain Caleo is a super guy and excellent at steering this tour perfectly
I would recommend this tour to all my friends!
Oh and we saw dolphins on the way back!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Olesya, 2019/08/24

Awesome,great experience! Safe, highly recommend this tour. As a travel agent will recommend Hawaii Shark Encounter to people who looking extreme .Suggestions: Make a video for people from the side. People will love it to see themselves in the cage surrounding by different types of sharks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Sharks time!

Reviewed by: The Compton family , 2019/07/06

It was a very safe. We had a really good time! We got some really good pictures! The crew was very knowledgeable about the sharks & their environment! We was concerned about it being safe. We read review & safety records. These Guys stood up to there reputation. They were very professional!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Christina, 2019/06/10

Barely arrived on spot, shark fins started to show around our boat. That alone was already impressive and exciting!
While in the cage, you get to admire them gracefully swim around and under the cage... beauty!

Few tips:

- Waterproof phone pouch with wrist lanyard recommended to take underwater videos, we're so glad we had one! Just make sure not to live the whole experience through your phone ;)

- Even if you're not sea/motion sick, I suggest you have a ginger chew or two (Chimes brand are good). This will help settle your stomach as it can get bumpy under there.

Big thanks to our guides, very chill and knowledgeable!

PS: we also got to see dolphins splashing and following our boat on the way back, that was also priceless!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!!

Reviewed by: DM78, 2018/09/20

One of the best experiences in my life, the crew was amazing, they both were helpful and informative. Would have stayed out there all day if they had let me, lol.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2018/07/06

easy going guys with a great trip out to sea. at no time did I feel unsafe. being in the cage was great. we would have seen up to 15 sharks. I would recommend doing this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do Adventure!

Reviewed by: Melanie T., 2018/03/24

What an incredible experience! We got to see % sharks and they continued to swarm the cage the whole time! The crew were great! Super nice, very knowledgeable and informative. Made sure we had a great experience, My 8 & 11 year old sons loved it! Perfect for the kids! It was one of the highlights of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice experience

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

we met 1 shark, very good experience. but the timing we chosen wrongly, too early in the morning makes us freezing. no place to change in the ship, so you have to settle with your towel and change only when you reach the land.

  • there it is

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!!

Reviewed by: Amy Dean, 2016/07/17

My kids said this was the experience of a lifetime! Water was a little rough so if you suffer from sea sickness I would recommend medication but the overall experience was worth every minute. We did some sort of excursion almost every day and my family loved this!!

  • Shark selfie!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2016/07/09

It was really amazing. The guys were really nice and funny, answering every questions. We stayed really long in the cage and at no time we felt unsecure. We saw many sharks all around the cage and coming close to the boat. If you can, ask for them to take the pictures with a gopro, they'll be a lot and you won't have to worry about it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories