This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Aha Aina Luau at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel

Show was great food was lacking.

Reviewed by: Al Schroeder, 2018/03/02

Show was great! Food was not warm and lacking in variety. This luau was very expensive so our expectations were high but it fell short.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The only beach front luau in Honolulu!

Reviewed by: Tatiana Johnson, 2016/12/01

Had a great time at the Royal Hawaiian luau this week. It was much more than simply hula dancing and a fire show. The performances were short acts telling the story of the Hawaiian culture and history through song and dance. I could feel the passion for Hawaii in the host of the evening as he was setting the scene for each act. Interestingly, he was one of the actors in the original Hawaii 5.0!

Before the show started, it was fun to learn and actually see the process of how Hawaiian people made the material for their clothing. It was actually made of out sticks!

Food was plentiful and tasty with lots of variety. Highly recommended experience. The setting was beautiful on the lawn with the beach and an amazing view of Diamond Head in the background. A very special evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aha Aina Luau - Perfect Evening

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/28

What a wonderful evening. Perfect location, beach front right at the heart of Waikiki, with a beautiful views from Diamond Head. The Royal Hawaiian Hotel is the most tradition hotel in Waikiki, the staff is very friendly and always ready to help you.
Before the dinner and the show start you can learn more about Hawaiian traditions. The buffet has a big variety of dishes and the food was very tasty. The drinks were very good too.
The storytelling of the show is very interesting they talk about Hawaiian history starting when the first Polynesians arrived, passing by the Royalty time and until it became the 50th state. The dancers and the singers are fantastic!
Great evening under the starts, good food and friends. I would definitely come back again and I I recommend Aha Aina Luau to everybody!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

aha aina luau

Reviewed by: pamela, 2016/11/25

great experience. my daughter and I attended for her birthday and she was delighted.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Hawaiian Luau

Reviewed by: D renner, 2014/11/06

The history of Hawaii was tastefully and elegantly done. The fire dancer was totally awesome. The chance to meet the cast after the performance was great, it allowed me to connect with them on a personal basis.

For those of use who prepaid for the deluxe accommodations the check in process was not good. There was no express check in. I had to stand in line with everyone else who had not prepaid and who was not purchasing the deluxe package! So the check in process totally circumvented what I paid for. Yes, I got to sit closer to the stage and got a different lei but that was it. So I don't know that the deluxe price was worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legendary Waikiki Landmark Event

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/07/09

The Aha 'Aina luau provides the ultimate luxury luau experience in the comfort and proximity of Waikiki. Located in the famous Pink Palace of the Pacific, Aha 'Aina doesn't disappoint. The views and outdoor seating are a beautiful backdrop to the evening. The meal is served with musical entertainment and a historical introduction of how the guitar and ukulele were introduced to the islands. This is a great luau for those who love great music and tasty food! The table service is wonderful and the food is excellent. The history of Waikiki comes alive on stage as the dancers take you through time from when Kamehameha united the islands, to the Royal Hawaiian hotel's first opening in 1927. Get ready for a treat, because this is not only a feast for your taste buds, but your eyes and ears as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Cynthia , 2013/12/26

Expected a spectacular show with lots of fire and dance. It rained right before the start of the show so it had to be moved inside. Not your fault, but completely deflated the mood. I would rather of been refunded. Too expensive of a ticket to be moved indoors and be satisfied. Very disappointed in the show. Not what we expected.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Aha Aina Luau in The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are disappointed to learn that our show was moved into our Monarch Room due to the unpleasant weather and we sincerely apologize for the underwhelming experience. We will share your feedback with our team to elevate the experience. Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to welcome you back someday to an outdoor Royal Celebration. Warmest aloha.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Paul Ellis, 2013/09/14

The show was excellent as was the food and service. The Luau came highly recommended and lived up to expectations.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and tasty Luau - excellent Waikiki location

Reviewed by: garathome, 2013/04/12

The only thing missing from this Luau was the traditional pig in the ground, but the gourmet menu included pork ribs and seafood, not to mention unlimited drinks. The show was excellent. The grandmother's soothing voice-over and gentle music set a wonderful stage for the dancing and costumes. All live, of course. The historic Royal Hawaiian Ocean lawn has a view of the sea and Diamond Head. The tables and chairs were comfortable. The program explained the food in detail. If you don't want to head to another Oahu coast, this is the luau for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/03/03

The luau was really good.. We went as a family and everyone enjoyed it. I would recommend that you request a middle table. We made our reservation (premium seats) 6 months previously and were seated at the far right table. Some of the people with regular seats had better views than our seats. Although we enjoyed it a lot it would of been nice to have the center tables to the stage especially for the premium price we paid.

The food was great as well as the service
I would highly recommend this luau to all. It was spectacular

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

dont waste your money

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/21

the hotel is really nice but at this activity they dont give you enough food. small portions and everyone gets the same food. the entertainment is ok but definitly not worth the price. the fire dancer is only 5 minutes long. ours was inside, that was disappointing as we thought it would be outside. overall find a different activity or a different luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Disappoinment

Reviewed by: Tony from Oz, 2013/01/19

After booking online before we left Australia, our family of 4 paid for Premium seating at a final cost of over $800 and found ourselves sitting an end table at an indoor venue with a very ordinary view of the stage. I had been anticipating a fantastic experience for our last night in Honolulu. We would have been better off paying for basic seating and have got a better view of the stage. The blurb tells you that it has an open bar, but when you understand that you are seated at a large round table with about a 30 minute window before meals are served, you're not going to be worrying them too much with your alcohol intake.

The show itself was professional with the standout being the fire dancer from Samoa. The meal was extremely disappointing with nothing to compare to any other Luau. The cost of the meal would have been about $30 by Waikiki prices.

When you consider that this whole experience lasts about two and a half hours, it is a big rip-off. Look elsewhere. I won't b

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful night

Reviewed by: John and Sheila, 2012/09/20

We had a wonderful evening at the Royal Hawaiian Luau!!! Beautiful hotel and grounds (took my breath away when we pulled up in the taxi) and beautiful evening. We were the very last ones to arrive (someone stole our taxi!) and I was very upset fearing that we would be seated in the rear. I had paid for the premium seats (forgot I did that, and recommend doing so), however, and they walked us right up to our front row table. It was fabulous. The food was wonderful and authentic, not too much to make us feel stuffed, and not too little that we were hungry after dinner. The entertainment was fantastic, we especially enjoyed the woman doing the emceeing (I'm sorry, I forget her name), the fire dancer and the woman playing Wipe Out on the yukelele. What a terrific night. The entertainment was first rate, the night beautiful, and the drinks were lovely and yummy! We highly recommend. Photos are from my phone, so not the best quality.









Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Show

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/10

The show and dinner were all great, although the difference between booking premiere and regular show seems only to make sure that you have a front table. I was very lucky to sit with a family from Canada who were very friendly and welcoming. This show has seating at large round tables, and so as an individual realize that you are going to be sitting with someone else.

The show itself was first rate and the singers and dancers put their all to it. There is a small part of the show at the beginning that really didn't make sense where they played like to the were doing work in a village....they should let the dancers and singers rest and abandon this part.

This is an expensive but on Waikiki event, no bus to ride on, but let me share with you if you are in the restaurant right next to the show, or are on the public beach behind the show you could see the whole thing for free!

Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

simply AWESOME!!

Reviewed by: Ms. Emz, 2011/03/04

I definitely had a great time, by far the BEST! Nice location with a spectacular view of the sunset, the nice green color of the famous Diamond Head, great dinner, and the entertainment was just awesome! You can’t ask for more.
Typical luau is on a buffet style dinner and sometimes you have to wait in a long line before you get your food but with Aha Aina, everything is conveniently served to your table, delicious appetizers, filling main entrée, and multiple choices of beverages. Their servers are fast too, very friendly and accommodating. I can only say good things as I totally enjoyed it! I'll be sure to go again.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Open Bar!

Reviewed by: Alex, 2011/03/02

Gotta love the open bar! Had a great time and the food was very good. The fire dance was cool as well and the MC was very friendly and you knew all the stories he was telling were true. A true Hawaiian experience! Oh, for only another 20 bucks i'd recommend the premium seating so you are right up in the show!




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this luau!!!

Reviewed by: Andrew Valentine, 2011/03/02

This is far from any traditional luau experience where the typical and expected food and Polynesian show has been conceptualized to provide a very unique Hawaiian culinary and entertainment experience. The narrative is centered around history rather than mythology, unusual for a luau. They moved us indoors because they thought it was going to rain. The food was tasty and filling, service was good, show excellent and informative and the ambiance of this pink hotel was magic ... oh and it's open bar too!!!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hands down the best EVER!

Reviewed by: Liana S., 2011/03/02

I try to come to Hawaii as often as I can, and I have been to a lot of different luaus, and the Royal Hawaiian is without a doubt the best I have ever attended.

The food is utterly mouthwatering and they have the perfect combination of traditional and modern cuisine. I must say that the MC was great and had a fantastic way of intertwining stories about the food and the entertainment together. The dancing, singing and of course the fire knife dance just blew me away. So glad that I decided to do this!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening

Reviewed by: Gary, 2011/02/09

This is a new show being offered by the Royal Hawaiian. I had attended their old show several years ago and enjoyed it so much that I thought I would check out this one. I was not disappointed! This is a great show with a wonderful easy to follow storyline. The performers were extremely talented and appeared to truly be enjoying what they were doing. I should comment that this show is designed for a more adult/senior audience where the recommended dress is less casual and the menu is very extensive and in a more formal type dining atmosphere.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to end our holiday

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/11

This was a great way to end our holiday. Very tastefully done and orchestrated. Service, food, entertainment, all excellent. No complaints at all. Recommend highly to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Different from the ordinary

Reviewed by: Ms. Rosie, 2010/03/05

My husband and I, had such an enchanting evening! Aha Aina is different from your typical "hula hula" type of luau. This event is authentic and very respectful. You have a wonderful storyteller "Uncle Joe", telling his stories about the hotel and his life growing up in Hawaii and how times have changed. You have tasty, mouthwatering appetizers that melt in your mouth! Delicious fruit drinks made upon your request with servers eager to assist you. This was such a wonderful change from those typical luaus that you would attend around the islands..such grand entertainment, succulent food and exceptional service! I would highly recommend this dinner show for people who want to experience what Hawaii actually has to offer!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience - Thank you!

Reviewed by: Mr. John Walters, 2009/11/28

It was my first time visiting Hawaii, and I took my family to the Royal Celebration. We had a great time as a family learning, and experiencing the Hawaiian culture. It was a very unique and quiet interesting. The food was beyond my expectations, so so delicious, and the outdoor venue is perfect to watch the Waikiki Sunset, view of Diamond Head, and to watch some waves coming in to shore. Beautiful pink hotel and we can't wait to do it again in our next visit to Hawaii. It was definitely a different and once in a lifetime experience. It is not your typical Luau, this is royalty style celebration, and we loved every minute of it.

Thank you for the great experience!




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I went as a Maka 'ainana

Reviewed by: Kalani, 2009/10/01

Seating began a traditional ‘Oli (prayer) in the hall of the Royal Hawaiian. It was nice to know Hawaiians stick with protocol nowadays. One could almost feel as if being present at a Royal ball, after all, that is exactly what this Hotel was built for in the first place; which made the atmosphere quite unique.

As you approach the lawn and with your first drink you are invited to spooned portions of fresh Ahi Poke, Kalua Pig, Lomi Salmon, and Poi. Story-teller Joe starts by introducing himself and went directly into explaining what ingredients each spoon held and how it applied to Hawaiian post-western contact life. At the same time others from the hula halau demonstrated how kapa was made, inks were produced and designs printed. Ropes were intertwined by hand and foot and other chores were explained by docent-like-ladies-in-waiting. The Pupu platter was my favorite with the skewered chicken, crab cakes, and Butterfish that melted in your mouth.

With a unique approach, each en










Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a Fabulous time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/09/20

This was such a unique and a culture learning experience. We had a great time celebrating the history of Hawaii and its main events that occurred in the past. The food was delicious and quiet filling. The appetizer and the entree were my favorites. YUM! As you entered the Aha Aina, you're welcome with the many smiles from the staff, with their signature drink and their delicious pupus of Kalua pork, ahi poke, or poi. The staff were friendly, and the service was excellent! We will definitely recommend this event to our friends and family. We will do this again on our next visit to Hawaii!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful memory of our 25th anniv

Reviewed by: Happy 25th, 2008/06/01

My husband and I went to Hawaii to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We truly enjoyed the food and entertainment. I would suggest this activity to everyone.. My only comment is that we were not recognized as the others were for celebrating a special event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Cologal, 2008/05/13

This was a fantastic evening. We really had a wonderful time. The food was wonderful and the service was great. I really recommend this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mrs

Reviewed by: Geraldine Robinson, 2008/05/11

A very enjoyable evening - food excellent - a lovely stage show as well and a beautiful venue, right on Waikiki Beach.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

the best of the best!

Reviewed by: honeygurl, 2008/05/08

The perfect location, within walking distance to my hotel and you get to enjoy the sunset on waikiki! Amazing food, the best I have ever had at a Luau and absolutely incredible entertainers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Hawaiian Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/27

The luau was wonderful. The food was much better than my wife and I expected. The entertainment was very enjoyable and the host was very entertaining. We met new friends and really had a wonderful evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/04

This was some the most fun we had experienced in Oahu, not only that, but it was fairly inexpensive. The staff was great, the views - unbeleivable and the experience - unforgettable. I would definitely recommend this for your trip to Oahu.. I'll definitely do this again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories