Aha Aina Luau a Royal Celebration at Waikiki Beach

The only beach front luau in Honolulu!

Reviewed by: Tatiana Johnson, 2016/12/01

Had a great time at the Royal Hawaiian luau this week. It was much more than simply hula dancing and a fire show. The performances were short acts telling the story of the Hawaiian culture and history through song and dance. I could feel the passion for Hawaii in the host of the evening as he was setting the scene for each act. Interestingly, he was one of the actors in the original Hawaii 5.0!

Before the show started, it was fun to learn and actually see the process of how Hawaiian people made the material for their clothing. It was actually made of out sticks!

Food was plentiful and tasty with lots of variety. Highly recommended experience. The setting was beautiful on the lawn with the beach and an amazing view of Diamond Head in the background. A very special evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aha Aina Luau - Perfect Evening

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/28

What a wonderful evening. Perfect location, beach front right at the heart of Waikiki, with a beautiful views from Diamond Head. The Royal Hawaiian Hotel is the most tradition hotel in Waikiki, the staff is very friendly and always ready to help you.
Before the dinner and the show start you can learn more about Hawaiian traditions. The buffet has a big variety of dishes and the food was very tasty. The drinks were very good too.
The storytelling of the show is very interesting they talk about Hawaiian history starting when the first Polynesians arrived, passing by the Royalty time and until it became the 50th state. The dancers and the singers are fantastic!
Great evening under the starts, good food and friends. I would definitely come back again and I I recommend Aha Aina Luau to everybody!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

aha aina luau

Reviewed by: pamela, 2016/11/25

great experience. my daughter and I attended for her birthday and she was delighted.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Hawaiian Luau

Reviewed by: D renner, 2014/11/06

The history of Hawaii was tastefully and elegantly done. The fire dancer was totally awesome. The chance to meet the cast after the performance was great, it allowed me to connect with them on a personal basis.

For those of use who prepaid for the deluxe accommodations the check in process was not good. There was no express check in. I had to stand in line with everyone else who had not prepaid and who was not purchasing the deluxe package! So the check in process totally circumvented what I paid for. Yes, I got to sit closer to the stage and got a different lei but that was it. So I don't know that the deluxe price was worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legendary Waikiki Landmark Event

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/07/09

The Aha 'Aina luau provides the ultimate luxury luau experience in the comfort and proximity of Waikiki. Located in the famous Pink Palace of the Pacific, Aha 'Aina doesn't disappoint. The views and outdoor seating are a beautiful backdrop to the evening. The meal is served with musical entertainment and a historical introduction of how the guitar and ukulele were introduced to the islands. This is a great luau for those who love great music and tasty food! The table service is wonderful and the food is excellent. The history of Waikiki comes alive on stage as the dancers take you through time from when Kamehameha united the islands, to the Royal Hawaiian hotel's first opening in 1927. Get ready for a treat, because this is not only a feast for your taste buds, but your eyes and ears as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Cynthia , 2013/12/26

Expected a spectacular show with lots of fire and dance. It rained right before the start of the show so it had to be moved inside. Not your fault, but completely deflated the mood. I would rather of been refunded. Too expensive of a ticket to be moved indoors and be satisfied. Very disappointed in the show. Not what we expected.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Aha Aina Luau in The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are disappointed to learn that our show was moved into our Monarch Room due to the unpleasant weather and we sincerely apologize for the underwhelming experience. We will share your feedback with our team to elevate the experience. Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to welcome you back someday to an outdoor Royal Celebration. Warmest aloha.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Paul Ellis, 2013/09/14

The show was excellent as was the food and service. The Luau came highly recommended and lived up to expectations.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and tasty Luau - excellent Waikiki location

Reviewed by: garathome, 2013/04/12

The only thing missing from this Luau was the traditional pig in the ground, but the gourmet menu included pork ribs and seafood, not to mention unlimited drinks. The show was excellent. The grandmother's soothing voice-over and gentle music set a wonderful stage for the dancing and costumes. All live, of course. The historic Royal Hawaiian Ocean lawn has a view of the sea and Diamond Head. The tables and chairs were comfortable. The program explained the food in detail. If you don't want to head to another Oahu coast, this is the luau for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/03/03

The luau was really good.. We went as a family and everyone enjoyed it. I would recommend that you request a middle table. We made our reservation (premium seats) 6 months previously and were seated at the far right table. Some of the people with regular seats had better views than our seats. Although we enjoyed it a lot it would of been nice to have the center tables to the stage especially for the premium price we paid.

The food was great as well as the service
I would highly recommend this luau to all. It was spectacular

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

dont waste your money

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/21

the hotel is really nice but at this activity they dont give you enough food. small portions and everyone gets the same food. the entertainment is ok but definitly not worth the price. the fire dancer is only 5 minutes long. ours was inside, that was disappointing as we thought it would be outside. overall find a different activity or a different luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI