Kailua & Lanikai Beach Kayak Adventure Tour (with Waikiki Pick-up)

Great Team of Workers

Reviewed by: DLineen, 2017/03/25

Everyone here was very helpful and eager to make sure you have everything you need. They also have some of the full face snorkel masks. Ask for one. Otherwise you'll get the same old and its hardest for a novice to remember to breath through the mouth alone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Kayak Guide

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/02/03

The kayaking was great, the ocean was fantastic. Our guide Po was easy going and put me right at ease. I felt well taken care of despite my inexperience on the ocean as well as kayaking. He even got me to do a little kayak surfing into the waves!!! Loved it!


  • He even took a pic for me!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great guided kayak tour with Tomo

Reviewed by: Petrus Van Aardt, 2016/10/29

I really enjoyed the 2 hour guided kayak tour with Tomo. As we were just three in our group we made faster progress than normal so Tomo took us for a visit to Lanikai beach first before we continued on to Flat Island. I enjoyed the walk on the island as Tomo told us lots of interesting facts about it. Time flew by and too soon we had to return to the beach. I definitely recommend this tour even to newcomers and Tomo was a great guide to have.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Petrus, thanks for coming out! I had a great time showing you around. I hope the rest of your trip in Hawaii went well. Look usbup again the next time you visit. Maybe you would like to challenge the 5 hour kayaking tour next time.
Mahalo!
-Tomo

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Kayak ever

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/10/24

Kayaking on the ocean with Kailua Beach Adventures might be one of the best activities we did for our honeymoon. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and give us some great information about the culture and islands.

My husband and I both have done kayaking before, but has never done it in the ocean. There were some waves and it can be a little challenging for those who have never done kayaking before.

One thing to be prepared is some labour work. You need to drag your own kayak to the ocean with a cart they provide. You also need to drag it back. It was not super far, but definitely energy consuming. Most staff members are very friendly. I had a little hard time jumping into the kayak with the waves, the person looked a little annoyed with that and had a bad attitude. She might just be having a bad day.

During the kayak, they have professional photographers taking photos of your group and you can purchase them at the end of your tour for $39. There were about 40 in the package. The lunch coupon gives you three or four lunch choices nearby. Mostly box lunches or pizza with a drink.

I forgot one of my my shopping bags at their shop and called them the next day, they had it sent to my hotel, which was very nice!

We had an overall wonderful experience. We will definitely do it again given the chance!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun adventure

Reviewed by: Rob, 2016/08/15

Did this tour one morning, the guide who gave us the tour of the place was great, made us feel welcomed. The walk to the beach was definitely interesting but if your not prepaired to lug around a heavy canoe be aware you also have to cross a busy intersection. If you drive to the shop you can ride all day which was a good perk. Once in the ocean it was dangerous but fun because waves were big but we still had fun.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Kayaking Adventure

Reviewed by: JPCamper, 2016/07/11

My wife and I had never kayaked before and were a little nervous about an ocean kayak. We had contacted the provider before booking and they assured us that they could accommodate even first-timers, which they certainly did. The guides explained everything we needed to know about handling the kayak and were with our group, which they keep small, at all times from launch, through the ocean paddling, and landing. Our guide, Clay, was extremely knowledgeable about kayaking, the bird sanctuary island, which is the destination, and the islands in general.
Everything that was listed in the description of the excursion was provided.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was good/ok

Reviewed by: LaRaye, 2016/07/08

Water was choppy so it made it difficult to ride. Some tips and spills. Will definitely need some upper body strength.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great place

Reviewed by: Annie, 2016/03/22

Easy to rent equipment, easy return. Staff friendly and very helpful for first time kayakers. Would highly recommend

Reply from activity provider

Thank you! Glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not Quite As Advertised But Brilliant Nevertheless

Reviewed by: Simon, 2016/02/06

Whilst the weather is always a variable on these sort of trips it would seem that what we experienced was an average day. It was windy with a fair chop in some areas. Landing on the island for lunch was challenging and a number of boats capsized going through the confused surf (caused by waves come around both sides of the island). The staff were excellent, and there were no safety issues, but people with no or limited kayaking experience may find the trip daunting. The kayaks are very stable and the distance paddled was enough to give you some muscular reminders the following day if you haven't paddled for a while, but it is not excessive. There were no opportunities for snorkelling.

The trip is well worth doing but don't expect it to look like the photos on the brochure.



  • The lunch beach

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your feedback, Simon! We are glad that you enjoyed our knowledgeable staff and the tour despite the more difficult conditions.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Peter, 2015/12/04

This was a perfect way to see a different part of Hawaii away from Waikiki. The pick-up from the hotel was on time with a really friendly driver. We arrived and easily took our own kayaks to the beach. Highly recommend going to Lanikai beach and snorkeling. We chose the pizza for lunch and it was great!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, Peter! We are glad you had fun and got to experience snorkeling in Lanikai!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kailua kayak

Reviewed by: toni turnham, 2015/09/28

This was fun, it was a windy day which made the kayak out to the island a little harder, but Hayley our guide was a great guide. The groups are kept small which makes it better.The staff are all very friendly, it's well organised, and there was a nice choice of 4 different free lunches that came with the activity.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the feedback, Toni! We are happy that you enjoyed Hayley and our other staff!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable trip!

Reviewed by: MarykathrynF, 2015/08/09

We weren't expecting the challenge but it was the most amazing and memorable experience! MUST DO.


  • Shot from the island we kayaked to.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the feedback! We are glad that we were able to help make your experience a great memory!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Kayaking Trip

Reviewed by: Sam, 2015/07/30

While my friends and I were in Oahu, we knew we wanted to go kayaking. We were considering maybe just renting kayaks in Waikiki where we were staying, but we were concerned about just how crowded Waikiki Beach can get. My friend found this kayaking trip at Kailua Beach and we were sold. For about $80 we received kayak rentals, snorkel gear, lunch, and shuttle service. This kayaking adventure was definitely worth it! The staff were all extremely welcoming and helpful, and the water was absolutely beautiful. I am so glad we were able to discover Kailua Beach. When I read that this trip included lunch, I expected a paper bag lunch, something like sandwiches and chips. But in reality we were given a coupon that was redeemable at four locations by the kayaking shop. We chose to have pizza at Bob's, which was delicious and filling. We did this on our last day in Oahu, so it was a great ending to our vacation.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the review, Sam! We are so glad that you got to chance to make it out to Kailua and try kayaking!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2015/06/07

Best part of our vacation. Tony was our guide and he was great! Drive yourself so after the tour you can take advantage of the bikes and snorkel gear.
Thanks for s great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kailua kayaking

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2015/01/23

Awesome day. You don't need experience at all. My wife and I have never been Kayaking and we did fine. Explored outer islands no problems. Highly recommend this place. Very friendly staff.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply fabulous

Reviewed by: Sarah Field , 2014/11/01

Had the best fun and luckily had some great waves we could Surf the kayaks on too. Definitely recommend if you are a watersport lover

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great introduction to sea kayaking!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2014/07/21

Made my telephone reservation directly with Veltra and the person I spoke to was very helpful and informative, so I was prepared for the day. I have river kayaked for many years, but this was my first experience with sea kayaking, so I wasn't sure how things would go when wind, current, waves and a different style of kayak were added to the mix. I had a great experience with this company! Toby was an excellent instructor and guide and we had a small group, so we received lots of individualized instruction. Beautiful scenery! And Toby shared a lot of Hawaiin history with us which was a nice bonus. My only regret is not taking the 5 hour trip so I could have more paddling time!! Pizza Lunch was good. After lunch, rode a bike 10 minutes to Lanikai beach and enjoyed some great snorkeling! Wonderful day in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good, but short

Reviewed by: 1sthawaiivacation, 2014/07/14

We had a great tour guide. We selected the beginners package. We had been kayaking before so in retrospect it was not the best option. The kayaking portion lasted about 30 minutes. We spent most of the time exploring the small island we landed on...not what I was expecting.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and thanks for your great feedback! You bring up a great point. For anyone with experience kayaking or that feels they are physically fit and adventurous, we highly recommend our Twin Islands Guided Kayak Tour (5-Hours). The 2-Hour Guided Kayaking Excursion is designed specifically for beginners and those who are unsure of their kayaking and ocean ability. Its a perfect introduction to sea kayaking for most beginners. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope you'll be able to join our Twin Island Tour some day. Thanks,

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayaking

Reviewed by: Edward, 2014/06/13

Staff was very courteous and helpful. Price was reasonable. Had a great first time kayaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Kayak

Reviewed by: MAE, 2014/04/08

I'll keep it short and sweet. Our guide Keala was great. Knowledgeable and easygoing. It was very windy day so we were unable to actually kayak as much as we might have usually which was a bit of a disappointment. I felt the tour should have put off/postponed the outgoing or at least attempted to somehow offer compensation for the shortened outing. But my only real beef was with the knuckleheads who 'helped' me on my landing upon return. They had me get out of the kayak too early in deep water. A large wave turned my kayak over, it washed back at me and I had to jump over it as it washed back, and only my agility saved my knees/legs! They probably didn't even see this happen. That being said, on a normal not so windly day, this would be a great tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kailua Beach Tour with Princess

Reviewed by: Kurt, 2013/12/28

This was an experience of a lifetime. Although the scenery was breath taking all by itself, our tour guide Princess made it even more meaningful with her knowledge of the area and the local customs. This experience will always be a fond memory of my first trip to Hawaii. Thank you Princess!!!!


  • Santa Princess

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day Kayaking

Reviewed by: Anne, 2013/12/18

Really well organised trip - from bus pick-up to drop off. All staff were exceptionally professional placing a great emphasis on safety. Our guide knew the area extremely well and provided intriguing insights in to the local environment. I went by myself and had a great time with the group I was allocated. I would definitely book with this company again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Skydivelover, 2013/11/23

Went on this for one of our honeymoon activities! A lot of fun! We got a complimentary shuttle from our Waikiki Hotel and then watched a video and were sent on our self guided trip! You can visit and small island while kayaking or kayak to another beach and go snorkeling! We even saw a sea turtle! Definitely would recommend and lunch was included! Beautiful beach!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ms

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2013/08/31

This was an awesome physical activity! We kayaked to a gorgeous island with our amazing and informative guide "Keala"! Saw turtles and dipped ourselves in the Queens bath...fun fun fun

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: malek, 2013/07/15

I like it, it is amazing
You should try it
You well like it also

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome.

Reviewed by: Pratik, 2012/09/01

I wanted to do kayaking and my wife wanted us to do that in a two-man boat, which was fine with me. But then she chickened out at the last second and I had to kayak a two-man boat by myself. It was hard and embarassing and the situation sucked.

Despite that, I had a great time. My guide was very understanding of the situation and helped me along the whole way. My group kayaked to a small island a quarter-mile out to sea and he gave us a small tour. Interesting stuff.

When we came back, the manager gave us a partial refund on my wife's payment because she was in the boat for less than five minutes.

It was a good time. If you go to this place, ask for either Matt or Mark (can't remember). He's an orange-haired dude who wears a Gilligan hat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day trip away from Waikiki.

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/26

It was a memorable sea-kayaking trip. Just be aware of one small detail: the bathroom/restroom facility is suitable only for temporary bath & cloth change. Very much likely you have to come back for a real full bath at your hotel. Aside from this, every else (which counts towards 99% of the trip) is great !!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu kayak adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/14

This activity was a great experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made sure everyone had a safe and fun experience. I would do this activity again! After our trip we were allowed to use either snorkle gear or bicycles until out tour bus picked us up. Staff is very polite and attentive!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super time!

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2012/03/27

I had friends visiting the islands, and they wanted to do something a bit different, and 'off the beaten path' so I decided to take them Ocean Kayaking over in Kailua! We headed out, a bit late, and got there and the staff at Kailua Sailboards and Kayaks were amazing and friendly, telling us all the best insider tips for kayaking out there! We got out into the ocean, and it was extremely windy and choppy, but it was so much fun heading out to Flat Island and then over to the beach for a bit of relaxing snorkeling and sunbathing. Thanks again to the great staff at Kailua Sailboards for all their help with everything kayak and ocean related, my friends and I had a blast braving the elements and spending the day out on the water!





Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to escape Waikiki

Reviewed by: Dali, 2011/07/09

A very nice activity for those who tire of the crowds in Waikiki. A wish list item would be a shuttle to Lanakai. That is one of the best beaches in Hawaii, but is a good 25 minute walk from the shop. But, also have Kailua Beach (sp?) very nearby, which is almost just as good. The staff was great and shared numerous insights about both the activity and the history of the area. We did the short tour, which took us to the bird sanctuary island. A pretty location with great picture opportunities. We will book this again next visit and maybe do the longer tour. A nice workout, but nothing too strenuous and perfect for novice kayakers like us. Decent food and snack options nearby and overall a fun way to spend an afternoon. Check it out!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI