Page 6) Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

204 reviews
Post a review

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii

Reviewed by: Harold Walters, 2014/04/21

The performances were so-so. The seating was not good even though
it was Royal seating. We didn't get our lei as promised. The food
was not very good for the price. The one saving grace was that the
staff was very nice. The young people who delivered the food was
thoughtful and polite and returned to see if we wanted more food.
The mixed drinks were no more than sugar water. I attended the
Sea Life Luau about 5 years ago and it was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at sea life park

Reviewed by: charles, 2014/03/24

awesome. great activities. excellent food and overall memorable experience. Must see attraction.

  • spring break 2014. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Tanya and Hannah, 2014/03/09

What a fun night. From the running commentary on the way there to the Chief who is hilarious, what a great sense of humour! My daughter and I loved the way the luau incorporated songs and dance from all of the Polynesian islands. Really well done. The whole audience were involved throughout. The location was fabulous with the cliff face on the one side, the ocean and Rabbit Island on the other. Beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: Paulette, 2014/02/28

We loved the chief's Luau. We have been to several and this was our second time to attend Chief's. The food is very good, my husband loves the poi..., the setting is great and the highlight is the Chief. He is just a wonderful entertainer!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: TMJ, 2014/01/12

Cheif's Luau show was good. Transportation was good. Food was alright. Disappointed in the fact that the 'coupon' for a free item we were supposed to get by booking with VELTRA was useless. In other words there was no free item.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!

Reviewed by: keelssenior, 2013/10/16

This is just a terrific event to attend. The chief and his extended family put on a terrific and funny show designed to entertain all in attendance from couples to families. Many pre-show activities bring you inside the culture of the islands. The food is tasty and plenty of it to enjoy. The staff is very hospitable. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME entertainment, okay food

Reviewed by: Ashley Taylor, 2013/10/14

Chief was amazing, interacted with audience throughout the entire show. Show was HIGHLY entertaining. View from Luau was stunning, Dancing was incredibly, singing was awesome. Only downside of entire show was that the food was just okay. Pork was good, pineapple cake was good, everything else was just okay. However I would highly recommend this show even if the food was awful, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Fun Fun!!!

Reviewed by: mrsblock, 2013/10/07

Perfect for all ages!
Chief's Luau was a awesome experience! We had an amazing time. The show is really entertaining, the food is good and the staff is great.
The location is perfect, beautiful views and great pictures.
Everyone enjoyed the night and came back home with great memories.
The Chief is the best part of the night, he put on a great show!

I would recommend this show to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

chiefs luau is the best

Reviewed by: al_fred29, 2013/10/03

great luau and very entertaining
for all ages. would come back again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome!!!

Reviewed by: lluis, 2013/08/25

Great place, nice views.
Funniest show we had in long long time!!
Definetively a great choice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an Awesome Show.

Reviewed by: kevin gaines, 2013/08/04

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park was definitely one of the highlights of my tour's while visiting Honolulu! The staff from beginning to end was just great. Chief was an incredible man and host and the music, the dancing, the ladies just made the evening something to never forget! The setting at Sea Life Park was great. You look in one direction you see the ocean, and another direction you have the mountain back drop. I totally enjoyed this show and food from beginning to end. Chief is the man, what he and the staff did with the fire torches at the end of the show was a nice way to conclude the program. I know there are a lot nice luau's being offered in Honolulu, but this one right here is right up there with all the others. Great show and I had a wonderful time and evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau

Reviewed by: Joe Ballard, 2013/07/16

The entertainment was wonderful. The food was a disappointment. in fact, the cheaper tickets that went through the buffet had it better because they got as much as they wanted. Also, there wasn't much difference between our seats and theirs. I would do it again but would buy the cheaper tickets.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolute "must do"

Reviewed by: Kelly-Az, 2013/06/28

This show will spoil you...other luaus just won't measure up! Do yourself a favor and get the Royal seating close to the stage, especially if you will be attending with kids. You don't want them to miss a thing! We all loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious

Reviewed by: Alex, 2013/06/22

My friend and I decided to check this out as we were looking for something to do for the night. I have been to many Luau's before so I wasn't expecting anything amazing, but I turned out to be very wrong. the Chief was extremely funny throughout the whole night and he was also very interactive with the crowd. They had some fun activities before the Luau as well so that was fun. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great night with great people! Hands down the best Luau I have done.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief' Luau

Reviewed by: Robin, 2013/06/03

Lots of fun! Worth to go there and they are very friendly =)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: Molly S, 2013/05/13

Mixture of comedy, interactive games,music, storytelling,dance and music. Well worth the money. Picture is a bit pricey

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau!

Reviewed by: Leslie Schiefelbein, 2013/05/02

Great show and very entertaining. Music and dances were fun, entertainers were very skilled. Everyone was pleasant and friendly. Food was only fair but I would go again anytime. The Chief was excellent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hands down best luau I've ever been to

Reviewed by: Kendall, 2013/04/06

My wife, 11 month old daughter, and I got the chance to attend the Chief’s Luau at Sea Life Park, under the Paradise Package. I usually don’t expect much from the food and drinks at these sorts of events, but I was pleasantly surprised. The food was very good, especially considering that it is a buffet, and the drinks were not watered down. In regards to the show, it was absolutely fantastic. The cast performed dances from the various Polynesian Islands and the entire time, the Chief is telling jokes (the jokes contain a bit of innuendo) and making sure everyone is having a good time. There is a reason Chief Sielu performs all over the island, practically every day: not only is he a very skilled performer, but he is absolutely hilarious. I will definitely be coming again. Please note that the cast does pull members of the audience for different parts of the show, however, it is not the run-of-the-mill “let’s all dance at the end” type thing, they are actually part of the festivities.

  • We were greeted with kukui nut leis, and we made a palm frond headband

  • The imu ceremony

  • Getting ready to start

  • Expert musicians

  • Showing off the pig

  • The imu before it is opened

  • One of the pre-show activities is a hula lesson!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome fun

Reviewed by: Daniel+Kenza, 2013/02/03

Perfect evening with cultural games and insights into the past of the Polynesian way of life.
Food could have been better in more varieties.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

2 Thumbs Up

Reviewed by: K Born, 2013/01/22

This was an excellent show and we were so glad we attended. We actually chose to drive to Sea Park, however due to the distance and evening hours, we decided to contact Hawaii Activities to add the transportation 6 hours prior to departure. Hawaii Activities handled everything, and gave us simple instructions to hop aboard the tour bus which was a 1/2 block from where we stayed.

As for "Chiefs Luau", this was so much fun, the entertainment included so many from the crowd, and the "Chief" can definately entertain and bring so much laughter.

Plan on the early activities and particpate. They want to share there culture which is even more fun.

With the evening show, take a light jacket as it can get breezy once the sunsets.

Camera & Video - A MUST

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/09

Great, very enjoyable!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time had by all

Reviewed by: Karen, 2012/10/12

I attended the Chief's luau with my husband, siblings/spouses, and my elderly parents. A great time was had by all....even got my parents (temporary) tattooed at the event! We enjoyed the pre-show activities and the food was delicious. Chief and his group of entertainers put on an excellent show. This was my first luau, but my siblings had been to others on previous visits and said Chief's luau was their favorite.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Luau

Reviewed by: Blaze Daniels, 2012/09/29

This was our first Luau and we are confident in saying that it is quite possibly the best Luau you could attend. It was very authentic and Chief Seilu put on a great show from the dancing to music to his corky comedy. The activities before the Luau and the show itself are a perfect experience for anyone visiting Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/14

We really enjoyed this Luau. The entertainment and location were fantastic. The food was typical luau food, but what it lacked was made up for by the staff and the show. Would go again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Lovely Event & Evening

Reviewed by: Leigh, 2012/09/14

1 - A very informative and interesting event

2 - A fantastic location for the event, with mountains and the sea in the back-drop

3 - Talented dancers!

4 - A hilarious chief who makes the entire crowd get involved and excited

5 - Decent food for a buffet, some unique Hawaiian dishes. Nothing too fancy. It's not about the food, much more about the experience overall.

It was our first time in Hawaii and our first and only luau. We are happy we went and experienced it on the 2nd night of our vacation. It is worth it to have the luau experience and great fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's luau

Reviewed by: Remar, 2012/09/04

Great show. Started out slow at first but the small audience made it a really personal experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau!!!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2012/07/31

My family and I had a wonderful time. The entire night we were laughing and enjoying the show. The view is beautiful and the staff was great. I would definitely recommend this to people looking for a Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: Gerry, 2012/05/26

By far the best Luau in Oahu. 'Chief' is on to a winner with his Luau. He entertains you from the start to the end of the evening with his brilliant comedy skills, his drumming, singing and, of course, his fire dance which is sensational. There is a lot of audience participation, the food is excellent and it all adds up to the most magical evening. 'Chief' has an excellent team with him and I would highly recommend this Luau to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing night!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/21

Booked this activity with a few friends, as we wanted to do something fun in the evening, and what a great choice this was! Being close to Waikiki is the first perk, but the entertainment and scenery makes it even better.

We were running late, so missed some of the crafts before the luau, but as soon as got there they were starting the Imu ceremony, which was unlike anything I have ever seen! Between Chief Seilu, who is the definition of entertainment, to the dancing, music, and wonderful food, this was definitely a night none of us will ever forget. Thanks Chief for keeping us laughing the whole time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau: No Ka 'Oi!!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/05/18

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park was by far the best luau I've ever been to! I've gone to other luaus on the island but this one hands down beats all the others. The venue alone has spectacular views of the mountains and the ocean directly in front of you. After sunset you can even see Makapu'u light house lit up in the distance.
Chief Sielu was a FANTASTIC host. Right when you arrived you felt so welcomed by the Chief and the other staff. Not only were they welcoming and made you feel comfortable. He had my friends and I laughing the entire time, his humor was hysterical! Not to mention the entire luau was super interactive and informative. Chief Sielu is SO passionate about his culture and passing his knowledge on to others, that the entire luau was both extremely entertaining but also educational, which was great.
All the performances, dances, and traditions that were taught to us were amazing. The fire dancing was spectacular and far beyond my expectations! The food was also delici

Rating:
Attended as:Families
3 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories