Page 5) Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Polynesian Show with Authentic Award-Winning Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

204 reviews
Post a review

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Jacob Parent, 2016/02/24

This luau was the best ever for my first luau! so funny! everyone was friendly and the food was so fantastic!

  • Pig cooking

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau fun

Reviewed by: LindaTMK, 2016/01/24

I have attended many Luaus. This was the best by far. The pre entertainment, the show, the food and the staff were fabulous. Will definitely go again. A must - attend event.

  • Dancing the night away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision!

Reviewed by: Sue, 2015/12/16

In Honolulu for business, I had just one day free and wanted to make the best of it. Ending the day with the Chief's Luau was the best decision I could have made. The show was the best part, really phenomenal entertainment and well worth the price. The ride out to the venue held spectacular views. Loved the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience & Location

Reviewed by: H. Winarko, 2015/10/31

We had fun and lots of interaction with performers. Chief is super. Great Shows, food and location

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great luau

Reviewed by: susan, 2015/10/24

we found this luau great ,the view was amazing, the show wonderful ,shuttle bus staff fantastic our only problem was the food , we were the last table called up and some of the food had run out and also we didn't really like the food there just was not enough variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Jonathan W., 2015/08/31

This is the only luau I have attended, but I can't imagine one being more enjoyable than this one. The pick-up service was right on time at the scheduled location and the drive over to Sea Life Park was quick considering the time of departure. The pre-dinner activities were fun and I picked up a piece of local artwork from a vendor that has become my favorite Hawaiian collectible. Dinner was very good and I'm still thinking of how yummy the coconut cake was! Chief was very entertaining and the other performers really put their native pride into the show. I would certainly recommend this luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

There is reason why it's called Chief

Reviewed by: Jaybird, 2015/08/22

I am a native Hawaiian so I know my way around a luau. I was home visiting family and decided to take my wife and kids to Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii. I must say it was THE BEST luau I have ever been to. The food was excellent as I usually go to a luau for the food first and show second. The show was even better as Chief was the perfect showman with talent to burn. Speaking of burn, the fire dancers were simply AMAZING!! The entire show was dazzling as each Polynesian country were represented in true artistry. What an amazing show with some of the most delicious authentic Hawaiian food I have ever tasted. My only complaint, and its a small one, is that there was no haupia for dessert.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii/Paradise Seating

Reviewed by: Billy&Janis&Bryton, 2015/08/17

Fantastic. We were made to feel Welcome to the Beautiful Island. The presentation
was very authentic performed with passion. We really felt as if The Chief had gathered
the best of the best to reflect the special times of island life. The venue is the perfect
size and the interaction during the Meet & Greet time with games and conversation
could only be described as welcomed interaction.
Thank You for the pride of heritage and reality in which all was presented.
Gorgeous view of the bay behind the Stage complimented the performance of these
proud islanders.
Thank You

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2015/05/17

After swimming with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, we simply walked back through the park to the Luau (very convenient). We were greeted warmly with a shell necklace and photo op with the Chief, and then got to enjoy some games (spear tossing, a Polynesian version of musical chairs (except with sticks), braiding palm leaves to make head-bands, and hula dancing). There were also some tables with native-made goods for sale. Then the Chief led the unveiling ceremony of the roasted pig (he is very entertaining and funny), got our non-alcoholic drinks and food (which was very tasty, especially the pineapple cake!), and then enjoyed the show. The hula dancers were very talented, the fire dancers where great, and it was neat to see all the different dance styles of the islands that were represented. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we got to go up on stage with some other couples and they honored us with some pretty flowers! The only down-side was that the location is a little small, but other than that, we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So and so!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

It has been a beautiful night, with a very normal dinner, nothing special for the price, with a beautiful show at the end. My disappointment was because I paid for a Royal seating and the seating was not good at all. I had to stand up and sit on the ground to have a beatiful view and I also didn't get the lei. But all the staff people were really very kind and I enjoyed the traditional dances and the fire knives dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic backdrop for a great Luau

Reviewed by: Paula, 2015/04/13

Everyone loved the entertainment, food and ohana spirit here.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing and hilarious

Reviewed by: Diana, 2015/04/12

food was delicious, activities were entertaining and fun. The chief was hilarious. View was spectacular. Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN FUN FUN

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We had a great night! The food was good and the show was amazing! It was worth the beautiful drive and the money paid.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth the money

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We enjoyed the luau so much! We even got to see several whale breeches in the ocean behind the stage just before the show began. BONUS! Seeing the dancers and all that talent on stage was a great way to spend our evening.
Dinner was good, show was fun and the setting and the way the involved everyone made it that much more fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Spencer , 2015/03/22

We looked around at a lot of luaus but then we luckily got recommended for chiefs from our front desk lady. The food was amazing, the stuff before was a lot of fun. The show was incredible and the chief was a blast and very funny! Would defiantly recommend it to anyone looking for a great luau at a pretty good price!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park

Reviewed by: Zack, 2015/02/21

Great time had. I only wish I would have upgraded seating. The standard seats were good, but surrounding people talked way too much during the show. No fault of the luau by any means. Just a lack of common consideration by a handful of inconsiderate people. It could have happened anywhere and our family was able to move to avoid them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau

Reviewed by: Paul Viator, 2015/02/07

Very entertaining and nice experience. The food was a little disappointing, could have been better for the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Time!!

Reviewed by: Vincent & Linda - NY, 2015/01/21

WE had the perfect night. The luau was everything we dream it would be. The Chief and his staff were wonderful! Totally worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: WallanVic, 2015/01/11

The Chief's Luau was fun and culture fulfilled. This was our second Luau and found this better than the Paradise Cove Luau as there was alot more teachings of the Polynesia culture. It was wonderful to hear about the different Polynesian beleifs, markings dancers and so much more. The Chief was a great host and his passion for his culture was lovely. A wonderful night.

  • Great Family night with the Chief

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Put this on your to do list

Reviewed by: Japhia, nz, 2014/12/21

My first luau and it was such fun great food and entertainment I learnt how to do the hula and even got up on stage the chief is so funny too

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: mgzmr, 2014/12/10

Great time! A must do if you visit Hawaii. Chief Cielu is hilarious and the dancers are amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Luau

Reviewed by: Michael, 2014/11/21

This was our first luau and we weren't disappointed.
The food was so-so.... but the entertainment was first class.
The chief was funny and the dancers were excellent

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best night!

Reviewed by: Baileys, 2014/10/05

The Cheifs luau was great! He's hilarious and his dancers were amazing to watch. The food was excellent and this is some thing we would do again and recommend to others!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Gretchen, 2014/09/29

This was our first luau experience and it was fantastic. Transportation was included, the bus was on time and comfortable. When we arrived, they took a photo that had a beautiful back drop (amazing scenery with the mountain and the ocean), photo was $10 and quite decent quality. There were fun pre-show activities and drinks available. The buffet was good, we paid for the middle of the road package which was worth it. The emcee was funny and personable and the show was very entertaining, the woman sitting next to us said that they had been to several luaus and this was by far the best fire show they'd seen. We were called onto stage because it was our honeymoon and they gave me a nice flower bouquet. Overall it was really a great experience! The whole staff worked hard to make the night a good one. Worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chef's luau!!

Reviewed by: Take K, 2014/09/06

We love this luau!! The chef was super funny and he interacted with everyone at the luau. It was really personal and everyone was treated like family. We will def go back again. LOL Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First experience for my kids

Reviewed by: The Mann Family, 2014/08/11

We love the dancers and the stories! It was awesome!

  • Pretty cool!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau

Reviewed by: Kelley, 2014/07/02

Really enjoyed the show! Food was...ok. Would recommend based on the entertainment factor.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

To be an Ali'i, you Must Drink Kawa With an Ali'i

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2014/05/05

My girlfriend and I decided to attend this luau because we were told that it is more privatized, less populated, and more personal. Indeed it was. Chiefs Luau has got be one of the most entertaining luau I have been to so far. Chief Sielu is a natural entertainer, with a real good sense of humor. The best part was Chief Sielu hand selected Ali'is to be used for demonstrations and entertainment. I believe the ali'is that he has chosen for the evening will never forget how to hold their wives, and throw them away. Overall this was the most funniest luau and great food.

  • The Chief Addressing the Village

  • "Learn fo make Fiah!"

  • E Komo Mai daughter of the Chief

  • You will always get lei'd in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Melbourne, Australia, 2014/05/05

Would recommend Chief's Luau to anyone looking for some wonderful entertainment. It was very well run and great value for money. We had a terrific time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN!!!

Reviewed by: Detroit, 2014/04/25

The entertainers were so personable. I felt like I was amongst family.
Activities, food& entertainment. The drinks were very strong

  • gotta have the pig to make it official

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories