North Shore Eco Tour - Off-Road Ride, Tropical Valley Hike & Swim

Hiking

Reviewed by: Margo, 2016/06/10

Our guide, Kai, was absolutely amazing! While we weren't able to make it to the swimming hole due to massive amounts of rain making it unsafe at the water crossings, he took us on an additional hiking section where we got to see various parts of the trail. The lunch provided was hand-made and was delicious... wish I knew how to make those rolls! I would more than recommend this excursion with Kai... he gets more than 5 stars!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big hike!

Reviewed by: Oahu88, 2016/05/24

This was probably one of our more strenuous/lengthier hikes (water and proper footwear are highly recommended- it can get slippery on the trail). It was a lot of fun. We did cross some streams which were a bit difficult for some. You will get sweaty, wet, and dirty. No bathrooms, of course, so be prepared.
Great views. Tour guide was excellent, very passionate, helpful, and knowledgeable! Lunch was pretty good- everyone seemed to like it. Private mountain pool swim was enjoyed by most.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Ken, 2016/01/01

The hike was one of the highlights of my trip. I loved the river crossings even though the river made all of my clothes really wet and went up to my chest, since I am only 4'11". Keola taught us many Hawaiian words including freshwater, wai, saltwater, Kai, and Life, Keola. He was very knowledgable about the history of the island and the Kamehameha family. The best part was probably talking with our fellow hikers and the small lake where we ate lunch. We will definitely do one of the other tours as well.

- Ken M.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was okay

Reviewed by: Eleanor , 2015/08/12

Our guide was very knowledgeable about history of Hawaii and some of the plants and trees we came across on the hike. I enjoyed tasting the fruits we picked along the way. He also was very accommodating and kind since it was our first time to hike in the area. Though our guide did a great job, I expected more out of the hike. Yes, the hike was challenging in the sense that we walk along the edge and on rocky terrain;however it was not scenic and it felt like the hike was too short. The swimming hole was not a swimming hole to me. It look like a little creek and the water was not clear as I expected. I also expected to see a waterfall along the way, but didn't get to see any. I had more fun hiking on our own when we went to Maui, the road to Hana, because of the scenic view on top of the great work out we got from it. In short, not memorable and it was like something was missing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of my trip!

Reviewed by: AndiV, 2015/07/14

This hike was single-handedly only of the best moments of my entire trip/the best hike I have ever been on! The tour guide was knowledgeable and fun, which made the trip very exciting!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Hike!!!

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/19

We met Keola Nui at the North Shore Market Place, he introduced himself and let us know we would be the only ones on the hike that day. We could not have asked for a better guide. Nui was very knowledgeable about the land we were going to be hiking on, letting us know about the different farms along the road to the trail. He explained the history behind the current lay out of the farms. When we arrived at the trailhead, there was a light mist falling as Nui offered a prayer to the land in the native tongue to reassure it that we were there on peaceful terms. The trail itself was unbelievably beautiful. There were moments where we were complete enclosed in the jungle, then, it would open up to expose the sky and the mountain stream below. Again, Nui was very knowledgable about the flora and fauna, explaining the difference between the native and invasive plants. We encountered a few berries along the trail that we were able to sample, they tasted very much like raspberries. We hiked in for a couple of hours and ended up having lunch on some rocks in the middle of the stream, very cool!!! We then headed back, though there was much more to be seen, we were on a schedule and did not have the time to hike any further. When we had packed away our gear, Nui drove us the the Boy Scout Camp nearby to an absolutely incredible overlook...we did not want to leave!!! This is definitely a hike everyone should try, you'll learn so much about Oahu. Thank you Nui for a truly outstanding experience!!!







Reply from activity provider

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy you all enjoyed your hike!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aloha! Bring your hiking shoes!

Reviewed by: Stoner, 2015/06/17

If your family is into the outdoors and adventure that is totally off the beat and path, book this tour. It is exclusive as the park is not accessible to the public. So you know, our family age ranges from 13 to 51. It was breathtaking- literally - not only from the views, but from the hiking. We hiked up the mountain trails crossing streams.
Our guides, Nui and Holly we very knowledgeable not only with the history but the plants and trees of the land.
The treat was to hike to a secluded pond and jump into the cool waters! Wow!
A bit of advice, wear comfortable shoes and water shoes are a must! Crossing the streams can be a bit challenging, as are some areas during the hike. Definitely grab a walking stick. It is about a 6 mile hike, 3 up and 3 back. All was about 6 hours.
Lunch is provided and we packed extra water. Nui and Holly were hands on assisting the entire hike. Awesome people! Mahalo!




Reply from activity provider

Thanks so much Stoner family for joining Nui and I, it was great meeting you folks! I'm so glad you all had fun, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Thanks again!
Holly :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Hike

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2015/06/07

I live here on the island and do a good amount of hiking. I thought this hike was pretty cool! Our guide, Nui, was extremely knowledgeable about the Hawaiian culture and plants in the area. The trail has TONS of strawberry guava and mountain apple trees along it. He pointed out plants that were native. He also pointed out the invasive plants, the problems they cause, and how or why they were brought here. It was very interesting! What made this hike special for me was is that we were hiing deep into the mountains where there aren't any houses or sign of urban development in view. This is quite rare for me. Most of the hikes I've done, known or less known, have some area that shows a city or buildings or concrete structures. Nui also stopped at a campsite to let us get some beautiful scenic pictures. This was my favorite part of the trip. The view of rows of ridges and the valley that we were hiking in was breathtaking.


  • The creek


  • Mountain apples


  • This is where you are probably guaranteed to get wet. We crossed the rocks on the way past but the way back was harder.


  • Cooling off on the way back :D

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ashley,

Mahalo nui for your thoughtful and much appreciated review.

We are glad that you had a wonderful time, and you have taken great pictures of all the fun that you could have on our hike. We look forward to seeing out on our other tours as well!

Mahalo Nui Loa
Reid Oshiro

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Eco tours hike was informative and very nice

Reviewed by: Dan and Denise, 2015/04/27

Me and and my girlfriend both liked the young guides who picked us up at the North Shore Marketplace parking lot. It was just us two so we felt very privilidged. The Hawaiian guide drove for about 20 min through many farms and got to know much abut them and who owned them, unfortunately much of the land were rented by Monsantos. Part of the drive was very bumpy but became much better when we got unto the military roads. The hike was not that hard mostly because the water wasn´t that high this time. It was partly slippery but our sneekers was enough to manage it. There were some very niice sceneries and crossig over the river and the mountain pool swim at the summit was very pleasent and just what we needed after a 2.5 hours hike. We got to use helmets but just for a very short time. The lunch was two wraps each and was more than enough for us.
The hawaiian native guide told us much about the the hawaiian culture and the problems hawaiians have had keeping their language alive. We also got to know about much about the different plants and trees, and the tight bond to nature hawaiina have had, he also made a hawaiian chant to the forrest when we just started the hike which was very nice to hear. We would recommend this hike to all our friends.


  • Great view at the end of the hike

Reply from activity provider

Thanks so much for the kind words... we're so glad you two enjoyed yourselves!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Educational, Cultural, & Beautiful!!!

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/26

I have hiked many of the popular attractions here on Oahu like Diamond Head, Manoa Falls, and Koko Head, but they have nothing as elegant as what the Huakai Iki hike has. We booked our tour, and was informed that the check in location is at the Aloha General Store. We were greeted by our wonderful guides Keola and Holly. We started venturing off on the private roads owned by Kamehameha Schools, Bishop Estate. We had excellent views of the agricultural land, the coastline of Haleiwa, the mountain ranges of both the Ko'olaus and Waianae! We had learned so much Hawaiian historical facts, such as endemic versus native species of plants and animals, special trees and plants such as the Koa tree, ohia lehua, and the strawberry guava tree. Keola and Holly are excellent guides! The one thing that I highly valued is that you can ask them anything! They will tell you if they know about it, and if they don't they will either call you or email me and give you the answer! Many other tour guides on other hikes, tend to come up with excuses, or falsified facts. But not Keola or Holly. We had great views of the swimming pools (water ponds), nice high clouds, and wonderful native plants. This is the best hiking tour that I have been on by far. I will definitely go out with north Shore Eco Tours again, for their Huakai Nui Hike! Mahalo Keola & Holly!


  • Beautiful Day in Hawaii-ne!


  • Our guide Keola


  • The Ohia Lehua


  • One of the landing zones for our military helicopters for training purposes.


  • High up in the mountain range.


  • Did you know Oahu has it's own Grand Canyon too?


  • The big lunch, after our hike was through!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is the Way to See the North Shore!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2015/03/25

I learned a lot about the history of the North Shore on this tour and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Our guides Keola and Holly were knowledgeable in Hawaiian history and culture. They have exclusive access to this trail and I highly recommend going on this tour as you will not get the chance to see the North Shore like this with anyone else. It was a real treat for me. I appreciated that Keola asked for permission to enter the hiking trail in a traditional way.The hike itself was wonderful. We saw a lovely lehua blossom on the trail! The area is home to a number of rare native trees that I will leave to you to figure the name of. This hike is not for people who are out of shape. You will get a workout on the hike! If you appreciate learning about Hawaiian culture with legitimate information shared, the natural beauty of the North Shore, and to spend a day of your vacation in nature, this hike is for you. Way better than a luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable Experience

Reviewed by: Kyle, 2013/09/26

What an amazing outdoor experience! This hike is a must do if you'd like to get a better understanding of the hidden nature Hawaii has to offer. Our guides, Keola and Marcella, shared a wealth of knowledge and gave us an unforgettable and valuable tour of the forested region of Oahu. Some parts of the trail are strenuous, so be prepared with some good hiking shoes/boots and plenty of water. We also had the opportunity to taste the fruit the trail had to offer, simply delicious. I highly recommend trying this hike if you plan on visiting the North Shore.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/09/19
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI