Deluxe Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour with North Shore & Haleiwa Town reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Deluxe Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour with North Shore & Haleiwa Town

Overall Rating

4.90 4.90 / 5

Reviews

70 reviews
Post a review

North shore tour

Reviewed by: Wendy , 2022/07/23

Friendly driver, clean bus, delicious malasadas!
Got to see all the good stuff and not have to drive.
I wish we had more time at the temple that is my only complaint.

  • Pali lookout

  • Bonding temple

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We saw everything!

Reviewed by: Jacqueline , 2022/06/02

This tour really showed the best of the island and some of the best spot on Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous way to see it all in one day!

Reviewed by: Pam Wightman , 2022/05/23

Lola was our guide. She was fabulous. We had just adopted our daughter - who happens to be named Lola, too.

The sights were perfect. Time at each perfect. I’d recommend highly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

magnificent trip

Reviewed by: Jonathan Wu, 2022/04/27

He is very professional, warm hearted tourist guide. My wife and I enjoyed very much. Definitely we will recommend to other friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best bang for the buck!

Reviewed by: Deb N., 2022/04/10

This all day long tour was the absolute best. Our tour guide was super knowledgeable and shared a ton off information about all the stops.
Halaiwa town was very quaint, but expect to do a bit of walking, and waiting in line for good, if that's what you decide to do.
Overall, this trip was great, definitely worth the price paid.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of the island

Reviewed by: Mitch, 2022/03/31

I've been to the island dozens of times over the last 50 years and this tour was one of the highlights of all the visits.

Our pickup time was 6:40am from the Ala Moana Hotel. This is right next to a major shopping mall with ample parking. After a few more pickup locations, at various hotels, we were on our way.

Our driver, Danny (Driver of the year), was outstanding. He not only provided us with island history, but his own personal experiences growing up on the island, while pointing out many points of interest as we spent the day traveling around the island. As we approached each of the stops throughout the day, Danny played a brief video describing the highlights of the next destination.

The bus was clean and comfortable, with an onboard restroom. Bottled water was available throughout our entire tour.

We made our way out of Waikiki, traveling east through the neighborhoods to our first stop at the Halona Blowhole where Danny provided us with a tasty taro poi malasada (a purplish colored glazed donut that was outstanding). We spent about 15-20 minutes taking in the sights, before heading off to our next stop.

We arrived at our next stop, the Pali Lookout, about 20 minutes later. The views down to Kaneohe Bay were amazing. Again we had 15-20 minutes to enjoy the view and take photos.

A short time later we arrived at the Byodo-In Temple. After ringing the bell for luck, you can walk thru the Temple and around the grounds and koi ponds.

After leaving the Temple, we enjoyed an hour long drive along the coast, including amazing views of the North Shore, before arriving in Haleiwa town.
Here you'll have 90 minutes to enjoy lunch from one of the many food establishments.

The final stop in the tour was the Dole Pineapple Plantation, before returning to Honolulu where we got to view the Iolani Palace, and the King Kamehameha Statue.

The nine and a half hours flew by and was time well spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way to get an overview of the island

Reviewed by: Elizabeth , 2022/03/30

We were lucky to be the first pick up of the day and got front row seats! The views out the windshield and side windows really enhanced the experience. We were also lucky to get Driver of the Year “Danny”. Danny shared personal stories, island folklore, history and lots of other informational tidbits that kept the passengers interested and engaged in between stops. Although it was overcast most of the day and we did get rained on, the stops and views did not disappoint. I would recommend this tour for those wanting to get a good overview of the island, take in the sights and to help plan where to visit or explore for a longer period of time. Our 15 year old son and friend also really liked it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour!

Reviewed by: A. Vergara, 2022/03/29

- Our guide Marlon is the best! Super friendly, knowledgeable, and funny!
- The schedule for the stops were perfect.
- Overall had a great experience.
- Recommendation: Schedule the tour Wednesday to Sunday if you'd like to see Hanauma Bay. Hanauma Bay is closed Mondays and Tuesdays due to ongoing preservation efforts. We didn't mind at all. Our guide added more time to the other tour spots

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Introduction to Oahu

Reviewed by: Nikki T., 2022/03/24

Overall, this was a great tour for a first time visitor to Oahu. We liked the variety of sights and experiences. Our guide was also very knowledgeable and funny. The tour was well paced and we didn't feel like we needed any extra time at any of the spots. The complimentary water bottle and malasada were a nice touch!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour!

Reviewed by: Heather, 2022/03/23

We had the best time on this tour. Our driver, Lola had a wealth of information to provide during the tour. Her fun personality made the trip worth while. There were so many Beautiful views to see. We were given poi donuts in the morning. I was nervous to try it, but let me tell you... they were so good! This is a must do experience and you will be lucky if Lola is your tour guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour 10/10

Reviewed by: Darryl S, 2022/03/23

Our tour was amazing, perfect amount of stops and perfect amount of time spent at each stop. Our tour guide Lola was awesome. She got us yummy donuts to start the tour off and she was super knowledgeable about everything throughout the tour. Could not have asked for a better experience, and would definitely recommend to anyone that is looking to site see or get to experience Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Hawaiian Experience

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2022/03/23

Overall the experience was amazing and very enjoyable. The tour guide named Lola was very passionate about what she was talking about and it was easy to tell that she enjoys her job. She tries to make the extra effort to make the experience that much more fun, knowledgeable, and enjoyable. All of the stops were very enjoyable and the experience is unforgettable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend!!

Reviewed by: 50andFabulous, 2022/03/19

This was definitely worth the experience. Lola is a wealth of knowledge and very entertaining. Her knowledge of the island history history is great. I highly recommend taking this tour. You won't be disappointed!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best tour so far!!!

Reviewed by: Theresa T, 2022/03/16

This was an amazing tour! Danny, our driver was very knowledgeable, not only with the land but the history of the island! The tour seems long, but it flies by!! I wish it was longer! Does not feel like a 9 hour tour at all! The bus was extremely comfortable and Danny even gave us water and Hawaiian donuts. I highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The easiest way to see Oahu!

Reviewed by: Grodrg5, 2022/03/01

So I had the privilege of taking all my family to a trip to Hawaii but because getting a rental car can be a pain an expensive I decide to splurge and just book tours that included transportation…. Who wants to drive around during a vacation… it was all out first time to Hawaii so now that I know all the good spots I can’t wait to go back and explore on my own… we did the Royal star circle tour and it was worth it… it had a/c, a bathroom, opportunities for snack time and a hell of a spot for amazing local lunch options… we got to see up close and some spots actually explore the main hot spots of this amazing island… it’s so green and has a bit of the city flair but the locations that you get to see on this tour really show you the real Hawaii… I had a driver by the name of kalani! He was so funny and attentive to the littles ones in my group… the picture don’t do the trip justice… so if your looking for easy and a lot to check off in one day then this trip is for you… little warning… the day of the week determines on how busy some of the tourist location will be … I went on a Sunday and most places were packed! Another tip is sit on the passenger side of the bus it makes for great water views!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A trip around hawaii!

Reviewed by: Alyssa R, 2022/02/28

My overall impression of the trip was great. I was traveling with my family including young children. I think the time at each stop wasn't enough when with kids. It's always a delay with them but if your going just adults I feel like the time is perfect. So many different stops an beautiful mountains an ocean views. Our tour guide kalani was awesome. Very family friendly an communicative with the kids also very caring. Teddys Burger place was delicious. Sadly we didn't get enough time to ride the train at the dole plantation but the dole whip was delicious.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Day Around Oahu

Reviewed by: michael umayam, 2022/02/24

went with my mom and sister on our first full day here. we thought it would be a good idea to take a tour of the entire island so we could see everything and take notes in what we’d want to do throughout the week we’re here. we had a great time from seeing the blow hole to eating dole whip. and our driver and your guide lola was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Overview of Where to Go!

Reviewed by: Hawaii Explorer, 2022/02/24

We took this tour on our first day so that we would know where we wanted to spend more time. It gave us a great overview and hit lots of spots that tourists would enjoy. Would definitely recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Heather, 2022/02/15

This was the first time to Hawaii (Oahu) for my husband and I. We were very impressed with the tour. It was very informational and since we did the tour on one of our first days there, we were given some ideas on places we wanted to go back to (because of limited time on tour). I liked it so much that we have planned a family trip with the kids and grandparents and we will be taking the tour again so the kids can get a taste of things (this will be their first time ever going).

We loved the driver too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Island Tour for First Timers

Reviewed by: DontGetLeftBehind, 2022/02/15

This was our first time in Hawaii, well it was for my wife and not myself because I spent 4 years stationed here as a US Navy sailor. It has been 20+ years ago for me, but the driver of our bus, Kalani (hope I spelled his name correctly), made the first impression of Hawaii for my wife and myself after 20 years one we will never forget. The bus was clean and well-kept including the onboard restroom. Kalani kept the bus temperature nice, and his driving was calm. The tour was well organized. The points decided to stop at and the length we stopped versus the points we did not stop at was well thought out (from feedback or experience). The tour latest 9 hours, but it didn't seem that long. It was easy to lose track of time at the points of interest, so I highly recommend you use a timer on your watch. Time spent driving from point to point was filled by humorous humor, Hawaiian cultural (respect) and pronunciation (W pronounced like V) lessons, and pop quizzes (bus driver name and bus number). We would highly recommend this driver and his tour. This was "his" tour because he made it more than what was scripted (points of interest and videos). You can tell he was very passionate about the service he provides to so many people 6 days a week. I might be a little biased because this is the only tour I've taken, but a first impression is a lasting impression. I would leave photos, but they are too large. VELTRA Voucher #: 6518054

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Tegan, 2022/02/14

A brilliant tour for sampling what Oahu has to offer, seeing what more there is to the island, and soaking up the nature out side of Waikiki.

The tour guide Lola was amazing and the comfort and easy of the coach was brilliant.

Would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MUST DO !!!!

Reviewed by: SHERIDAN C, 2022/02/13

This is a definite must do when visiting Oahu, Tony was our driver and he was funny and informative. He knew a lot of history on the monuments and had personal stories to share. we visited a lot of cute places we wouldn't of thought about with the comfort of being able to be picked up and dropped off from our hotel, if you are thinking of an activity in your trip, this one is it :D

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times!

Reviewed by: Beth L, 2022/02/10

The entire tour was informative and fun. Oahu is a beautiful place and it was good to see the other side of the island while getting a full but interesting history lesson. Tony was kind, funny, and knowledgeable. The Dole Plantation was my favorite part of the tour. We were able to see several beaches but would have like to walk on one especially in Haleiwa. We will definitely be booking another excursion when we return! The tour bus was clean and comfy, great to seethe sights in style!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Tour & Mr Tony is the best!

Reviewed by: Amber Beasley, 2022/02/08

Mr. Tony was AMAZING! He is so knowledgeable, funny and friendly! The tour itself was gorgeous! We learned so much about Oahu, the culture and history. This tour is perfect for people visiting for the very first time! The only thing I would change is allowing for more time ar the North Shore and the Dole Plantation. If you opt to dine while in Haleiwa, you don't have time to go to the beach. Mr. Tony forewarned us all about this so at least we had a choice. Be sure to grab a shaved ice and some goodies at Tropical Farms as well! And you'll also love the masalada treat they give out on the tour! Definitely would book this tour again! Mahalo!

  • Blowhole

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful tour with a great host!

Reviewed by: APan, 2022/02/03

We took the Grand Circle Island Tour with Royal Star on 1st Feb 2022. Our driver and guide was Lola, who was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and funny. Lola peppered the entire trip with a lot of not so well known facts and trivia which made us appreciate the various destinations on our tour memorable. The itinerary was well planned and there was sufficient time allocated for us to get a good sense of the places we were visiting. We were also treated to delicious poi (Portuguese donuts) for breakfast which was a nice little bonus.

Overall, the tour was fantastic, well worth the time and money. I would highly recommend it for any first time travelers who are looking to get the best of Oahu in a day’s time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Byron, 2022/02/02

We had Lola as our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable and a great driver. The tour brought us around the island and had some great stops and good food. Would highly recommend this tour! Must do while here

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the whole island

Reviewed by: C&J, 2022/02/02

This was a great way to see the highlights of Oahu in one day. Our driver, Tony was very informative as we rode in his bus. We were vacationing with friends who had never visited Hawaii before so this was the perfect way for them to see the main tourist spots. We have taken a similar tour 19 years ago so we enjoyed refreshing our memories. I was happy that we were able to spend extra time in Haleiwa. It was a fun place to browse the shops and have lunch at a shrimp truck. The stops on the tour gave us ample time to take photos and get out of the bus to enjoy the special places in Hawaii. We really appreciated having a driver and guide who was easy to understand and was knowledgeable about the island. Once you have taken a tour like this , you will know if there are any areas of the island that you might want to visit for a longer period of time and then can return there on your own or on another tour to just that place. Covid restrictions have limited some experiences but that is not the fault of the tour company. I would recommend this tour to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A tour you all MUST DEFINITELY do when you are in Honolulu!

Reviewed by: Katelyn Kelel, 2022/01/27

Our tour guide Tony was a fabulous driver and narrator. He gave us lots of complimentary water and 2 malasadas, which we found ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! The bus was very comfortable with footrest, a lever to recline the seats, and was fully air conditioned.

Two suggestions for improving the tour experience -
1. Little more time needed in Dole plantation, so that people can get to ride the Pineapple Express train and visit the Dole maze.
2. Little more time needed in North Shore to explore the scenic beaches.

Other than that, we enjoyed the tour experience and I highly recommend everyone to take it to explore the wonderful Oahu island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Tour Ever!

Reviewed by: L. Bueno, 2022/01/22

We were greeted at the large comfortable motor coach by LOLA. Throughout the day she demonstrated an amazing amount of knowlege coupled with humor about China man's hat, macadamia nut, sugar cane, coffee, pineapple, and coconut farms. The Japanese Temple and coy farm was an incredible sight. We were able to ring the bell for health and wealth then proceeded to the 10 foot gold Buddha. We ate at Shrimp truck which was delicious. We were given time to explore the North Shore town of Halewei. We learned about how the islands became under one ruler and where the original Oahu people were "pushed" over a cliff to their deaths by King Kamehameha. Thoroughly enjoyed the Doke Pineapple Plantation with the delicious dole whips. ABSOLUTELY THE BEST TOUR ON THE ISLAND. LOLA IS #1

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Frank , 2022/01/20

We had a great time on the tour very easygoing and fun to meet new people

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories