Haleiwa Shark Tours - Best Shark Cage Dive in Hawaii reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

To participate in any of our on island activities, all travelers arriving to Hawaii must complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine, and the most up-to-date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Haleiwa Shark Tours - Best Shark Cage Dive in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.90 4.90 / 5

Reviews

10 reviews
Post a review

Amazing

Reviewed by: Friends, 2020/02/25

What an experience! This tour is definitely worth it. The boat only takes out a max of 6 people which allows for more cage time and less crowds. The cage was plenty big for everyone to see and not feel cramped. We had sharks around us the entire time we were in the water and the water was so clear it was quite the experience. The crew was awesome and very knowledgeable about not only sharks but whales as well. We were able to stop on our way back into harbor and watch the whales for a little bit. Overall such a great experience, highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience ever!

Reviewed by: Emily F, 2020/02/12

One of my biggest fears is a shark. The idea of this excursion terrified me but When in Rome, right? Hawaii is the perfect place to face your fears and do something you’d never normally do. The guys on the boat helped ease my fears and made the experience so incredible. I would recommend this excursion to anyone. We saw 6 sharks at one time and being that close to a shark was one of the coolest things I’ve ever done. We spent about 40 min in the water and it was the perfect amount of time. The fact that only a small number of people can go on the excursion means more time in the water. This is a must do on the North Shore! Bring your GoPro!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All Around Great Time

Reviewed by: Michael, 2020/02/11

This shark cage tour was awesome. Started off the morning with a nice north shore cruise to the cage drop spot. The crew is very laid back and give you all the information you need along the way. Very friendly and knowledgeable and answered all and any questions we had. Spent a good chunk of time in the cage and saw a few different sharks able to collect some pretty sweet GoPro footage. Even saw some whales along the way and you are able to hear them singing underwater which is pretty cool. The boat is spacious and comfortable and they provide bottled water. They also have a fresh water hose so you can rinse off when you are done in the cage. This tour was 100% safe and professionally ran. I would recommend it for anyone looking to have a good time for a few hours on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!

Reviewed by: Jenna , 2020/02/09

This tour is one that you won’t forget! During our shark tour, we had 6 sharks around us for most of our time in the water. The cage allows you to get a close view of the sharks while still viewing safe being in the water. You get a beautiful view of the deep blue water that is unlike anything else. The staff was great, informing us of sharks that are often seen as well as educating us on the sharks we were seeing. The staff also gave fun facts about the island during the boat ride. I could not say enough great things about this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

By far the best shark tour in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2020/02/05

I have to admit, even though I knew I would be swimming safely in a cage, I was still a little nervous. But the crew did a good job of putting my mind at ease. These guys really know their stuff! They've been swimming with sharks and surfing in Hawaii their whole lives. They are like walking encyclopedias!

The tour was fun from start to finish. We got to see whales on the way to and from the dive site (and we could hear them when we were in the water!), we saw the Lost beach where the TV show was filmed, and the view of the North Shore coastline was breathtaking.

Last but not least, the sharks. There were at least five in sight when I got in the cage. It was a dream come true getting to be so close to them and watch them swim around us. And the best part is that this tour only takes out a maximum of 6 people so we got to stay in the cage the whole time!

  • Swimming with sharks in their natural habitat on the North Shore!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You won't regret this one!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2020/02/02

This has been on my bucket list for quite some time and I couldn't have asked for a better experience! The crew is so nice and made everyone feel so comfortable and were very knowledgeable. They only take up to 6 people so you never even have to get out of the cage until the tour is over if you don't want to! We were in there for about 45 minutes getting to see several sharks and it turned out to be a really calming, cool experience. I would definitely recommend these guys, I was sold when I found out that it was a small group and that we would have a lot more time in the cage.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VIP Small Group Shark cage Dive

Reviewed by: Erin, 2019/10/09

This excursion exceeded our expectations! The crew was personally and knowledgeable about sharks and the ocean sea life. We had plenty of time in the water with the sharks because of the small group. We also saw a huge pod of dolphins 40-60 jumping out of the water traveling out to our final destination. We felt like they were putting on a show just for us. Important to note we never felt in danger while observing the sharks in the cage. Our guides were professional and patient with the timid swimmers. It was a bucket-list check off for us. We recommend an underwater camera or waterproof pouch for your iPhone. Don’t miss these amazing moments with the sharks. We will back! We highly recommend this excursion! Thanks for an incredible experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!!

Reviewed by: Troy and Tricia, 2019/09/04

So glad we chose Haleiwa Shark Tours/Three Local Boys! Only had six people on boat and cage held six people! We never had to get out of cage! Saw between 10-20 sharks, hard to tell exactly because there was ALWAYS 4-6 in view! The captain and his mate, terrible at names but think Captain was Chris, both very knowledge about history of island and pointed them out as we were going to drop spot. Felt very comfortable in cage - anybody can do this! I'd love to back tomorrow, but we are leaving. HIGHLY recommend Haleiwa Shark Tours

  • Sharks were so close we could almost touch them!!!

  • Awesome creatures!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip but choppy waters

Reviewed by: Nirav, 2019/09/03

We went for the shark cage adventure on 1st September. It was one of the most terrifying thing we were doing before we started.
The boat was easy to spot, and the best part they waited for us as we got a little late due to road closures. Thumbs up for veltra and the excursion team to work with us on this and keeping us feeling relaxed.
Pro tip: road closures in oahu are really bad, keep more than usual buffer time for your travel.
The boat ride was really choppy, as we were already informed that there were very high waves. The ride could have been slowed down a little(my wife puked due to sea sickness)
Once at the site, we went down in the cage, and after initial jitters of maybe a minute, you start feeling better and safe. So all the folks who are afraid to do so, please just get in the cage, I promise it gets better.
Waters here were again choppy, meaning we were constantly bumping with cage or someone else.
The.good part was we could see multiple galapego sharks, they are magnificent creatures. We saw two upclose and they were big(7-8 feet long).
Ride back was again on rough waters and could have been slowed down a little.
The guides were ok, could have been better and maybe helped us a bit more in water and calming our nerves a little.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had so much fun!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

This was a surprise for my girlfriends birthday and she loved it! We saw so many of sharks! We had done one of the other shark dive without a cage on a smaller boat and did not have the greatest experience.(she got seasick, swimming in strong current, only saw one shark, un-attentive crew...) This experience was the complete opposite. The shark cage makes it so easy to relax in the water and just watch the sharks. Not fighting against the current for this type of experience really makes a huge difference. And you are never worried about what is behind you! The boat itself made a big difference as well. It is an extremely stable power catamaran and is one of the smoothest riding boats i have been on. The captain and crew are one of the friendliest I have encountered. They make sure you are taken care of and happy to share their knowledge of literally everything you can see out on the water and on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories