Outrigger Canoe Surfing with Waikiki Beach Boys reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Outrigger Canoe Surfing with Waikiki Beach Boys

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

16 reviews
Post a review

Great Ride

Reviewed by: Fun Outrigger Ride, 2022/05/14

The ride was great----a lot of fun. However, although they offered to have a photographer available to take pictures, she was not there at the time of the ride and we lost the opportunity for the photos.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great !!

Reviewed by: Bill, 2022/05/07

Excellent staff and outrigger crew.

Our group planned our visit for two years before we could make the trip. The outrigger canoe was on my bucket list every planning session.

Thanks for the wonderful rides.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late April 2022 Outrigger Canoe Adventure

Reviewed by: Northeight, 2022/04/25

We really enjoyed this activity. We had six people in our party, but the waves were big on our day, so they split us up into two groups. Captain Russell was amazing. He spent a few minutes with us on the beach before the outing to set our expectations. Then, we went out on the water. He was really patient with us and made sure we had good rides. It was a great experience in a really wonderful setting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outrigger Canoe

Reviewed by: Diana, 2022/04/02

So much fun! Our family loved this adventure. Then crew was great and we caught at least 6 waves!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Diana! Mahalo for your generous 5 star rating! Glad that you have mentioned that you caught 6 waves. It is a benefit of "Canoe Charter" for one-hour instead of signing up for "Canoe Surfing" which guarantees 3 waves and it may take anywhere from 15 minutes to 30 minutes, depending on the condition. We strongly recommend that all guests would sign up for the "Charter" as you did. Thank you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yes! SO much fun!!!

Reviewed by: Brande, 2022/03/14

I went on the outrigger tour with my boyfriend and my 74 year old Mom. The guys were VERY kind, helped her in and out of the outrigger and we all had a BLAST!!! We had SO much fun we even paid the pretty expensive price for the thumb drive full of digital pics because we totally had to see it all! We'll never forget this adventure!!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your generous 5-star rating and nice review! We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time, and to know our staff were helpful. We look forward to seeing your ohana again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best thing to do in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2022/01/31

On our first day in Waikiki we started off with a thrill at Outrigger Canoe Surfing! The experience was fantastic from start to finish. Russell was the captain and he and his crew were phenomenal and with their encouragement we powered through the surf and set up for three exhilarating rides over the breaking waves. It felt as though we were surfing. I would recommend this again in a heartbeat.

Reply from activity provider

Belated "Mahalo Nui Loa" for your generous 5-star rating. Glad to know that canoe captain and our staff took care of your party. Thank you for recommending this true Hawaiian sport that you can only experience in Waikiki. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha, Waikiki Beach Services

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun! Felt like a kid again!

Reviewed by: TKA, 2021/05/04

We sincerely enjoyed our time on the ocean with the outrigger captain and first mate! One of the four of us was very hesitant to be in the ocean and freaked out about the possibility of flipping. These guys were excellent from the very beginning in explaining the paddling method, the proper way to enter and exit the canoe, and why it was totally safe!
Once we got out on the water we were able to catch five waves and enjoyed every single ride!
Thank you for such a joyous time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Vicki Stack, 2020/03/08

A truely unique Hawaiian experience right on Waikiki beach. The team where wonderful and helped us paddle out thru the breaks and land the perfect waves to return to shore. Riding the waves back into shore you get an amazing view of the Waikiki shoreline and Diamond head from a different perspective. We had so much fun and looking forward to doing it again on our next trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outrigger Canoe Ride at Waikiki Beach

Reviewed by: Chuck, 2020/01/12

Very exciting but wish the waves had been bigger; guide was very helpful; narrow walkway and crowded making it awkward at foot-washing area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun

Reviewed by: Guion Fam, 2019/08/23

Paddling is such an amazing Hawaiian tradition; these guys made it a blast. My family hasn't paddled before and it had been 20 years for me. They took us out in Waikiki and we caught some swells and rode the waves in. The photographers associated with canoeing took great shots and captured everyone smiling. I absolutely recommend this excursion for anyone traveling to Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic ride!!

Reviewed by: Robertson Family, 2019/07/05

We had 6 people in our party and we had a blast! We caught 2 awesome waves and even saw a turtle swimming with us!! The crew were both very friendly and made this a memory to last forever!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique and fun experience!

Reviewed by: Michelle T, 2019/06/20

Our family of 4 really enjoyed the unique and thrilling wave rides on the Outrigger Canoe.
My husband said it was his favorite activity of our entire week long trip and we did activities every day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Fun!

Reviewed by: Pam, 2018/10/16

This was such an awesome experience! Way more fun than we could’ve ever imagined. Definitely will be doing this again. Our Captain and crew were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in Oahu

Reviewed by: JChiz, 2018/09/09

What a true Hawaiian experience. Not to be missed.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the generous 5 star review! We look forward to having you back at the Waikiki Beach! Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent adventure

Reviewed by: Bill Massachusetts, 2018/08/18

Everything was perfect from check in to the end of the trip. Guides are awesome, really helpful and made us feel like rock stars!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo, Bill, for the generous 5 star review! We hope that you will be back again soon! Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Fun!

Reviewed by: Andrea, 2018/05/24

I would highly recommend doing this adventure! This was my second time but my husband, and 2 kids (ages 10 & 7) first time. Easy to find the location and the people were very friendly. It was easy to do and once you catch the wave, it's so exhilarating. It is very cool to see Waikiki Beach from the ocean too! Such a great memory to share with my family.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Andrea:

Mahalo for taking time to write a generous 5 star review! We are glad that your family had a wonderful time. Waikiki Beach is the only place in the world that you can experience Outrigger Canoe Surfing, and Outrigger Canoe is a very significant transportation that influenced Hawaiian culture. Outrigger Canoe paddling is also the only Hawaii State sport. We hope that more people will have a chance to experience this cultural activity, and that you will also return again soon.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories