Diamond Head Shuttle from Waikiki - Self-Guided Hiking Tour & Combo Adventures reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Diamond Head Shuttle from Waikiki - Self-Guided Hiking Tour & Combo Adventures

Overall Rating

4.78 4.78 / 5

Reviews

37 reviews
Post a review

Great hiking trips.

Reviewed by: Happy Hiker, 2019/07/05

The trip to Diamond Head in the morning and Manoa Falls in the afternoon left plenty of time to do a round-trip and have time for a snack or rest. Bring water and your camera.

They plan on widening the path to Manoa Falls making it two-way. Can be very slippery and muddy, especially when it rains, which is most of the time. You'll see bare feet, flip-flops, nice sneakers, etc. Good walking shoes recommended. Enjoy the beautiful paintings of the Kings and Queens of Hawaii in the Manoa Falls visitors center.

  • The Manoa Falls

  • The Natural Arch

  • Paintings in Manoa Falls Visitors Center.

  • Death of Hawaiian King in Manoa Falls Visitors Center.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: Reeve, 2019/05/12

Amazing day. Awesome hikes and tour guide was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great informative Driver

Reviewed by: Nicky K, 2019/04/28

We had a great driver, he was awesome, very friendly, really informative and very punctual . Was a great service and made our life easy getting to Diamond Head and back to our Hotel

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent hiking adventure!

Reviewed by: Jill, 2018/12/04

The shuttle was great. Driver was knowledgeable, friendly and timely. Great experience and would highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Maryann , 2018/10/27

I did the Diamond head and Moana hike. Both great! Was picked up in morning a little earlier only because we were out there waiting already. Our driver was friendly and informative of things around town to try. Unfortunately it was our last day there so no time to go and try out. But we had an incident where a women was not happy because a family was late arriving for their pick up ( they said they thought it was somewhere else- so call to confirm but from my experience it’s usually at the entrance of the hotel.) But the lady wasn’t happy cause she was going to miss the sun rise...well driver told her he had to at least give people some time after pick up time to be there. But after all that we were all happy and headed our way. Bring rain jacket if you can to Moana falls hike and good shoes- wet slippery. They have ponchos though just in case. Thanks for the great experience!!! I would use them again next time I come back. Till next time!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond head hike

Reviewed by: RCD, 2018/07/21

Great hike! No need for a guide. Start the hike early, beautiful views.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great & affordable shuttle to Diamond Head

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

Great & affordable shuttle to Diamond Head! The shuttle is very clean, comfortable and reliable.We were picked-up on time, the driver gave us instructions, a map and a bottle of water. The great thing about this tour is that you can walk at your own pace. The hike itself is easy, however towards the end there are some stairs. Walking through a lava tube was really cool. During the hike there are many lookout places with beautiful views of Oahu's south shore. You can see Waikiki, the mountains, downtown Honolulu & Koko Head from a distance and taking a lot of pictures. It was a great way to start my day. Thank you Kaimana Tours for such a great service and for taking me to one of Honolulu's top attractions, it's not everyday that you can tell your friends that your hiked am ancient volcano. I love Hawaii =)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family fun!!...at Diamond Head!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2018/06/05

I decided to take my entire family on a hike just to experience it and since we did not have a car rental planned, we decided to book a shuttle with Kaimana Tours! I was even more excited that they allowed us to bring my toddler (2 years old) as a lap child as long as we have a baby carrier, free of charge!

We were picked up by van on time directly from our hotel. The driver was very nice and friendly! The hike to the top was not too bad at all, even my girls enjoyed it (ages 8 & 10). Most of us are beginner hikers and the best part, the view of Waikiki was just breathtaking! I would definitely book Kaimana Tours again next time we visit! maybe go to Manoa Falls or Makapuu Point next time!! I will for sure recommend this to family and friends!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I loved it!!

Reviewed by: Joy B., 2018/05/13

The experience was amazing. Definitely I'd recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Self Guided Hike

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2018/02/21

Easy and no hassle transport from Waikiki to Diamond Head. On time pick up, drops off at the visitors centre so you don’t have to walk from the bus stop. Good banter and information given by driver. Made the experience more enjoyable having a quick and convenient way to get to and from the hike location.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Shuttle

Reviewed by: Sean, 2018/02/13

The shuttle to Diamond Head is perfectly priced and provides a great morning excursion. Diamond Head is a must see when visiting Oahu, so this inexpensive excursion fit the bill.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond head and mania falls

Reviewed by: Rose, 2017/11/13

My two teenage girls and myself , a 53 year old woman did this excursion. It was a great day. The tour company was very informative. I would advise to do the morning trip to diamond head that we did. Pick up was 6:15am. Diamond in the morning was perfect. If we had done in the afternoon would have been really hot. We we arrived at manoa falls the company gave us walking sticks and bug spray to apply. It was really needed. I'm sure we would have had a lot of bug bites. The falls were beautiful. The rain forest was amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride!

Reviewed by: Hutch71, 2017/11/11

Our driver arrived on time (to the minute) to our hotel pick up point. He was cordial and helped with the seat belt shoulder strap (due to passengers need to ingress the rear set of seats). He dropped us off and picked us up as planned. We had a very nice hike up to the lookout station and WWII bunkers on Diamond Head. The view was absolutely worth the trip! Veltra made the trip that much more enjoyable.

  • WWII bunker view

  • Diamond Head Portrait

  • 4X telephoto image

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond head

Reviewed by: K. Johnston , 2017/06/02

The driver was knowledgeable - talkative - kind - and on time..
the whole experience was great

  • At the top -

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Morning Hikes

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2017/05/28

This is my second time going up Diamond Head Crater, but first time doing it in the morning. There is a difference from morning hike up to afternoon hike up. Enjoy the rewarding view each time. This time I caught a shot of a full rainbow across the ocean. A perspective to see it right from the summit.
Manoa falls was interesting hike, it rained most of the hike; which made it better! Did realize until I looked at the picture I took from the scene of Jurassic Park and then looking at the puddles, envisioning a T-Rex foot, this was that trail.

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Manoa Falls

  • Manoa Falls

  • Manoa Falls

  • Manoa Falls

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Excursion

Reviewed by: Christi, 2017/05/07

My husband and I enjoyed exploring Hawaii through the hiking shuttle to Diamond Head and Manoa Falls. I would highly recommend this for others visiting Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head/Manoa Falls Shuttle

Reviewed by: Jess, 2017/05/07

Our driver was very friendly and when half of our friends hadn't come down on time he was very forgiving. He gave us plenty of info and everything ran on time. He gave anple time at both hikes to get it all done. It was a great day!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Dan B, 2016/11/21

We were picked up on time by a friendly driver who explained everything we needed to know regarding our hike. He was right on with his explanation. We walked along with several others up the trails which we easy then got to some of the curves and switchbacks where the footing was a little difficult. Be sure to wear good tennis shoes or hiking boots not sandals or heels for this hike. We came to a series of steps that were steep then into a tunnel that was a few minutes long. Outside the tunnel there were 2 routes to the top. One set of steps much steeper than the other but can stop and rest along the way if needed. Once on the top the views were spectacular and well worth the climb. I'm 65 years old and have 3 stents in my hear and made this "moderate " hike with only a few stops. There are some rough areas in this hike so people with walkers, wheel chairs and buggies will not make it. We will definitely do this event next time we're in Hawaii. We did the hike up to the top, looked around for 15-20 minutes and hiked back down in 1 - 1/2 hours.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breath Taking Views

Reviewed by: Gary, 2016/07/13

The tour bus picked us up at our hotel on time and were very friendly. He provided us with local information along the way. The hikes at both Diamond head and Manoa Falls were spectacular. This tour is one that can't be missed!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good ride, good hike

Reviewed by: Mark, 2016/05/10

Our driver gave us history of the crater and tips about local spots as we traveled through the city. Very friendly. The hike was great. Very senic and not that taxing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: Janine, 2016/05/06

Great to have a ride there and back to our hotel and water provided. Way too much time left in the park though. Our entire group was done the hike in about an hour and had to wait another hour and a half for him to return.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Exercise

Reviewed by: nwaplanepilot, 2015/10/09

Come do this activity after you've been partaking a little too much on the first days of your vacation! Earlier is better due to the heat. Superb views of nearly a third of the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rain rain go away

Reviewed by: Bill, 2015/10/03

Rain excluded all views. Otherwise nice hike. Driver courteous and informative

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Self-Guided Hike to Diamond Head Crater

Reviewed by: Landlocked in CO, 2015/09/29

Amazing & would highly recommend this hike! We were originally scheduled to do the Makapuu Lighthouse Trail as well, but unfortunately they closed the trail a few days before we arrived. We were notified by the tour company in plenty of time & just went on the hike to Diamond Head. We were refunded the difference & everything else went off without a hitch. We were a little confused about the pick up location, but the driver took the time to call us & guide us to the right area. Job well done guys! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great shuttle service

Reviewed by: Jonathan W., 2015/08/31

The shuttle service was right on time at the pick-up location. He also had some interesting tips on making the hike up to the lookout point. The views are indeed great!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Oahu must

Reviewed by: nwaplanepilot, 2015/08/02

Hiking to Diamond Head's top is a must! Great views, and great feeling of accomplishment. Don't forget to buy a certificate at the top!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the hike!

Reviewed by: Anne, 2015/06/14

This was a self-guided hike to diamond head. Our driver (forgot his name, I think it was Pablo) informed us about the trail & also gave us some background about Diamond Head. Water bottle was provided. Worth the hike! Amazing views from above.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

truly amazing!!!!

Reviewed by: Trevor , 2015/04/25

wow! Cannot even describe the experience we had.... I really wanted my mother to enjoy this the most and it was great! Although she could not make the hike (because of knee surgery) she had a blast and patiently waited for me to tour and get the pictures for her to cherish.... The hike is a challenge for people with balance issuees, walking, and stairs!!!!! When you climb, you climb but overall we had a perfect and safe trip to this landmark that will be cherished!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Trip!

Reviewed by: Ash, 2015/03/30

It was a great trip there and back. Everyone was really friendly and the driver engaged in conversation and made us all comfortable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience!

Reviewed by: kejico, 2014/11/10

We enjoyed this hike very much. The shuttle pick up from our hotel was great, as we did not have a rental car. The driver was kind and helpful, even though we did have trouble understanding him at times. He was on time for pick up at our hotel and on time for pick up after the hike. We would recommend this tour!

  • Amazing view from the top!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories