Grand Circle Island Tour, Hanauma Bay & Kualoa Ranch Tour (from Waikiki)

Great day in Ohau

Reviewed by: nels, 2017/09/17

Wow what a wonderful day, the tour guide was fantastic and he made sure we were enjoying our Hawaiian experience. We were taken to many beautiful places and given plenty of time to experience them. He was very informative and made our day memorable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth it!

Reviewed by: Dan W., 2017/08/26

We loved it. We learned so many interesting things and went places we'd never have found on our own. Plenty of stops and plenty of time at each one. Really fun driver! Still talking about it weeks later.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Circle Island Tour

Reviewed by: Anita, 2017/07/23

Tour guide was fantastic and we saw many, many memorable places on the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

日本人向けではない

Reviewed by: モンブラン, 2017/07/02

日本人向けのツアーで日程的に参加できるものがなかったので、こちらに申し込みました。まず、ハナウマベイ、こちらは止まらないのでほとんど何も見ることができません。潮吹き穴、平等院、クアロアランチ、ドールなどでバスを降りて、最後ヌアヌ・パリです。運転手さんは親切でしたが、ずーーっと大音量で話をしていて、ご本人の家族の話やら、観光には全く関係のないことが多かったので、静かに景色を見たい人には不向きかもしれません。平等院はレプリカですが庭園も美しく、ツアー参加者に一番好評だったようで、多くの方が時間を長めに費やしていました。ドールではパイナップルトレインや迷路に入る時間はないので、お買い物中心。全体的にお店巡りが多いなーという印象でした。また、運転手さんに別途チップが必要になります。

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the money

Reviewed by: Gary, 2017/05/29

Not really a sightseeing tour more a shopping trip where you are taken store to store, arrived late at Kualoa Ranch and missed trolley tour, paid for Gold Package lunch, barely editable with no drink included , afternoon sightseeing was better but we still managed to be taken to two stores.
Definitely not worth the money

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
We regret to hear that the tour was not to your expectation. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider, Polynesian Adventure Tours, to better serve future guests.

We hope your Hawaii vacation will be a memory to remember to make you want to come back and visit us again.
Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you on your vacation.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great, Informative Tour!

Reviewed by: CoCoCorinne, 2017/03/17

This tour was great. I learned so much about Oahu and Hawaiian culture, and loved getting to visit the island's highlights. Our guide, Ed, was an absolute highlight. He was so knowledgeable and funny, sharing endless facts and not allowing the full day tour to get boring.

The bus was comfortable, so even though driving for most of the day, it was relaxing and enjoyable. The buffet lunch at Kualoa Ranch was tasty, with a beautiful view.

My favorite sight was probably the Byodo-In Temple. Such a serene setting..

I highly recommend this tour for anyone without a car rental, wanting to get out of Waikiki for the day and interested in learning about the island.







Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A day filled with fun for the entire family!

Reviewed by: Tatiana Johnson, 2016/12/01

Even though I am not a tourist and have lived in Honolulu for almost three years, the circle island tour with Polynesian Adventure Tours was amazing to say the least. I had already been to most of the places we visited on the tour, but on that day I saw the island in a different light. Nothing like learning about Hawaii from a native Hawaiian guide! He was a human encyclopedia of information and facts. Culture, history, flora, fauna, movie set locations—he knew it all.

What specifically impressed me is when our guide talked about Captain Cook’s death. Many sources say that this European sailor might have been eaten by the natives. Our guide shared, however, that Hawaiian people never practices cannibalism. After Cook’s death his body was treated the same way a body of a local chief would be treated—the flesh was burnt but the bones remained intact for further burial. So, upon requesting their captain’s body, Cook’s team was issued a bag of bones, which made them automatically assume he had been eaten.

I would highly recommend the circle island tour to anyone wanting to see Oahu’s beautiful nature and also learn more about its history and culture. This tour will definitely broaden your horizons. I am thankful I had the opportunity to go!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the island

Reviewed by: Lauren, 2016/10/15

Great way to see the island in one day! Our driver Ed was awesome.





Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Somewhat Boring

Reviewed by: Dana, 2016/10/01

First part of the trip was informative and somewhat interesting. Half way through we stopped for lunch at the Kualoa Ranch ,food was not bad. Then after the lunch break the trip became very boring. Drove along the north shore of the island for well over an hour without stopping to view anything. We then turned inland heading to the Dole Plantation which took another 1/2 an hour plus. Stopped at the plantation for 15 minutes to buy gifts or have a Dole ice cream??. Then it was off to home sweet home. Our Driver Leo was very cordial and informative and generally helpful with the boredom. This tour should at best last the first part of the trip and head back. Sorry

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tour

Reviewed by: vicki lewis, 2016/09/29

hi its was an excellent tour, the guide was knowledgeable, helpful food was good a great day

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2016/09/22

Leo was awesome. If there is a possible stop before dole plantation would be nice toward end of day need to not drive so much. But still great time glad we did it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii 2016

Reviewed by: FVC, 2016/09/01

The tour is too long for just sight seeing. It's mostly just to shop for goodies. The lunch buffet is not good at all.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha FVC,

We regret to hear that this activity was too long for you. It is created for guests who have a limited stay on the island and would like to cover the popular spots on the island in one day. Hopefully the next time you visit, you could come back to the island for a longer stay to explore the many areas this island has to offer.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great scenery !!

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2016/08/01

Leo our driver was absolutely amazing , full of interesting facts about beautiful Hawaii , always patient and happy . The only reason I didn't give 5 Stars is the traffic , at times it was horrendous !! Luckily Leo took our mind off it with sometimes Hawaiian music sometimes quirky information,never boring , thank you



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour

Reviewed by: Ted Galbreath , 2016/05/15

Ben our driver was great. Thoroughly enjoyed his narration as we traveled. Very informative. Long day but very very worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dole plantation

Reviewed by: Jason, 2016/05/08

The best advice I can give you about this activity is to do all of these activities separate
My wife and I went on the tour but due to time constrains we never really spent that much time in any one spot
It's hard to take different pictures if you don't have time to setup your shot
The fact that the bus gother caught in traffic cut the slim time margins even more

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: kevin, 2016/03/05

Driver was great and very informative. would highly recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This tour is essencial in your visit to Hawaii Islands.

Reviewed by: Alberto Ortega, 2015/12/27

Simply wonderful. You travel around Oahu, visiting many beaches and points of attraction, like the Budist temple, Kualua Ranch, Dole Plantation and much more. The tour guide was excelent, I give him the highest calification.


  • Budist temple


  • In the tour we visited a few wonderful beaches.


  • Kualoa Ranch, Oahu northeast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour once we got started

Reviewed by: Honolulu tourist, 2015/12/15

Our original driver lost his wallet so could not drive us. We had to wait close to an hour to get a new driver. This combined with heavy traffic due to a Christmas parade resulted in our tour being significantly delayed and feeling somewhat rushed as we tried to save time at each stop. Our second driver was very knowledgeable and gave us an excellent running commentary as we toured. We did skip a couple of stops/activities due to the delays, but we're not offered any type of compensation. While this is a highly recommended tour company that provided the service, I find it disappointing they did nothing to make up for their issues.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Mary W., Salem, OR, 2015/12/08

The tour guide was entertaining, funny, and knowledgeable. The scenery was breathtaking. Enjoyed all the stops.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice scenery

Reviewed by: Dan B, 2015/11/11

Started out from our hotel with a great driver who was very knowledgable and entertaining. We stopped to see Hanauma Bay which was beautiful then moved on to see some very beautiful scenery areas and a stop for ice cream. We hadn't seen this part of the island before especially the beautiful homes with ocean scenery. We ended up at Kuala Ranch that had a tram tour that was somewhat of a disappointment because we saw scenery from the ranch that we could see from the road but now much of the ranch or ranching activities. The gold buffet lunch was okay but only came with complimentary water with tiny plastic glasses. If we wanted any other drinks we had to stand in line while our food got cold. We headed to Dole thinking we would get a tour but again only stopped at the gift shop for shopping. Best part of that was we had another pineapple whip which was great. We saw many of the same things on this tour that we saw the day before on our Pearl Harbor / Polynesian tour. The driver was great and very informative but the tour was just so-so and wouldn't recommend it to others who do the Pearl Harbor / Polynesian Cultural Center.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!

Reviewed by: Doug and Sue, 2015/10/19

It was a long day but the time flew by as our tour guide/driver kept us entertained the entire day. We will definitely recommend this tour to friends and family and we look forward to booking more tours the next time we're in Oahu!


  • Breathtaking view!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Fantastic tour !!

Reviewed by: Nikki J from UK, 2015/10/06

We spent 2 nights in Honolulu after a cruise so as we were short on time so this was the best way to see most of the Island. It was an amazing tour, very well organized and saw a lot of places we would never of seen on our own. Our guide Ernie was brilliant, I would highly recommend this tour for anyone staying on the Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GRAND TOUR

Reviewed by: PATRICIA BOLEWSKI, 2015/07/02

THIS WAS THE BEST TOUR FOR SEEING THE WHOLE ISLAND AND THE GUIDE TOLD US EVERYTHING ABOUT THE ISLAND

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure, great guide

Reviewed by: Marcos A Bonilla, 2015/06/22

Grand Circle tour was great, the guide has a complete knowledge of the island and its history, altough there is not enough time to see the entire Dole Plantation at least it gives you the opportunity to enjoy a good pineapple treat, in general a must in any Hawaii vacation




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure, great guide

Reviewed by: Marcos A Bonilla, 2015/06/22

Grand Circle tour was great, the guide has a complete knowledge of the island and its history, altough there is not enough time to see the entire Dole Plantation at least it gives you the opportunity to enjoy a good pineapple treat, in general a must in any Hawaii vacation


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day trip out

Reviewed by: Jim c, 2015/06/20

Not as good as I was hoping some parts not good wouldn't do it again or recommend to a friend


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus broke. Traffic jam. No rainforest.

Reviewed by: George , 2015/04/12

The bus broke, we missed the rainforest, but visited all other tourist shops. No refund or so... I'm a bit disappointed.

The rest was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Julia, 2015/03/22

I defenitely recommend that tour to everyone who visits Oahu for the first time and wants to see as much as possible! I rented a car for the time after to visit my favorite spots again! Our bus driver Ed was so funny and taught us some Hawaiian words and about the history and culture! Definitely worth it! DO IT AND GO ON THAT TOUR!!!


  • Beautiful Hanauma Bay!


  • Pineapple on the Dole plantation


  • Temple

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Belle excursion

Reviewed by: L. Villeneuve, 2015/03/14

Nous avons apprécié le tour de l'île d'Ohau. À la Dole Plantation, nous aurions aimer avoir des explications sur la culture des ananas.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A bit too much time on a bus,

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

It was nice to see various things on this tour, but it felt a bit too much like sitting on a bus a lot of the time, with too short stops at interesting places. We got sufficient time at the Byodo-In temple, which was good, but the North Shore was less than a 5 minute stop. I really wanted to see the Kualoa ranch, and partly booked this tour because of it going there, but the short tram ride only did a short route outside the valley of the ranch, which was a personal disappointment for me (I went for a full Kualoa tour the following day to make up for that).
The Pali lookout was nice.
I would have enjoyed it better if I got to see less things in a better way, than to rush through several things too quickly.


  • Hanauma Bay


  • Pali lookout


  • Byodo-In temple


  • North shore

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI