Page 8) Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach) reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Overall Rating

4.67 4.67 / 5

Reviews

347 reviews
Post a review

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Kelly Geishert, 2014/03/09

Snorkeling was awesome! We swam with turtles and fish and even saw whales as a bonus. Captain Steve and Travis were great, very entertaining! Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up Close to Turtles

Reviewed by: Jess, 2013/12/27

Great trip. Up close to many sea turtles and great visibility.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up close with turtles and an octopus :D

Reviewed by: Lorae, 2013/12/13

This was a fantastic way to spend a couple hours. Snorkeling with turtles that were pretty fearless. A leisurely sail off of Waikiki. Great crew and the cutest dog ever. You may even get a chance to get up close and personal with an octopus. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtles snorkel

Reviewed by: Colleen, 2013/11/27

Enjoyed the turtle snorkel very much. We saw a couple of turtles. I would have rather continued snorkeling than having to stop so we could go sailing. But a great time in general! I would recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fully Recommend

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2013/11/12

The staff was friendly, helpful and hospitable.
The snorkeling spot was perfect! We were able to swim inches from turtles, see all kinds of fish and the staff members brought an octopus and starfish to the surface for us to touch.
The sailing part afterwords was beautiful and the boat had a netted spot to sit in if you want to go on a Disneyland type splash ride.
The signature cocktail is delicious too!!
I can not recommend this enough!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Victoria , 2013/11/09

The water was calm, the atmosphere was chill. The guides were all down to earth and funny. I would highly recommend these guys,and their Turtle Canyon Tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amaing Experience!!

Reviewed by: Gabby , 2013/09/24

We were really excited to do this tour! When we got there the tour guides were very friendly and chill. When we got out to where we were snorkeling I had a bit of a freak out when I got into the water. I looked down and saw so many fish under my feet! The one tour guide came over and helped me overcome my fear. I got in and out of the boat many times. We also saw so many turtles! After snorkeling we went on a nice sail while enjoying some well deserved drinks. All in all this was a fabulous for the price point of the tour! I would totally do this again!

Reply from activity provider

Come back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel/Sail Tour

Reviewed by: Chris, 2013/09/11

Snorkeling - Great to swim with the turtles, however no fish to really see. Provided with snorkel but not fins. maybe worth brining if you want to try and swim deeper and get to the turtles quickly before they return to the bottom. Probably saw 20-25 Turtles.
Sailing - Very cool - Fast & Fun. Saw Dolphins, Flying fish

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip

Reviewed by: Tash, 2013/08/19

Fantastic trip, heaps of turtles to look at and even better cocktails after the snorkel. I would recommend this tour to everyone who enjoys to get in the water

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a wonderful trip!

Reviewed by: Georgia Family, 2013/08/15

We actually are a family with kids in their 20s but no option for that. We had a wonderful time. the weather was perfect and the water conditions were pretty clear. The turtles were magnificent but there was other wildlife as well--Spinner dolphins, Flying fish, etc. The cruise after the snorkeling was equally as fun. Our captain also had a great choice of music playing. The time went so fast--took the morning cruise which still left us the rest of the day for the beach. Would recommend this to anyone. My only precaution--if you have a anyone in your party with issues of climbing or would not be comfortable walking or sitting on the net of the catamaran you may not enjoy this. We loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: DDP, 2013/07/28

Great excursion. Great guides. Worth doing! The turtles were amazing and we had the bonus of seeing dolphins...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip!

Reviewed by: Susan, 2013/06/24

I was nervous since it was going to be our first snorkeling excursion, but the crew was awesome and it ended up being the highlight of our trip! From beginning to end it was fantastic! Would book again for sure! Totally worth it!

Reply from activity provider

That is awesome! Please come back to see us again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome deal for an adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/24

Capt Mike and his deckhand Travis were awesome. We saw plenty of sea turtles and a baby dolphin even did a flip for us! The sailing after the snorkeling was so relaxing as we cruised by diamond head. It's like an adventure that comes from a movie. The catamaran was big and comfortable. I miss Hawaii just reminiscing on this adventure. This is a must go cruise and snorkel trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

lots of turtles

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/19

Turtle Canyon was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lifelong Family Memories

Reviewed by: Brown Family, 2012/10/18

We researched extensively before selecting this excursion and it was even better than we had hoped for! We had 2 adults and two children, ages 16 and 11. One of the parents and the 11 years old had never been snorkeling before. Every member of the family had an incredible time! We would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone who wants to swim & snorkel and see some of the most incredible sea life Hawaii has to offer. It's an experience our family will remember for a lifetime!! Thanks again!! We will definitely be seeing you again on our return travels to Waikiki!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Uncomfortable ride!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/12

Positives of this tour are it's location right outside the Outrigger Reef, the water was warm and saw quite a few turtles dolphins and fish, and overall good value for money.
The staff were just ok, nothing special. No commentary on anything except a few minutes on the rules and how to snorkel. The big negative for us was how uncomfortable the ride was on the catamaran for almost the entire time on the boat. We wanted to sit on the bench seats provided, but was told we would have to all sit on or around the netting area to help balance the boat. For my wife and I this became extremely uncomfortable after a short while, with no cushions or anything like that provided to make it somewhat comfortable. It ruined the cruise for us. Next time we will book a tour on a bigger boat that provides seating for it's guests.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such great fun! And what a bargain!

Reviewed by: Mrs. Means, 2012/04/15

My husband & I are in Oahu in our honeymoon and we saw this and had to book it. The staff is so friendly and helpful! We sat on the nets, which going there was fun and what you would expect, but after snorkeling they take you sailing for a unique look at the island, but beware if you are sitting on the net..you WILL get soaked...but it truly is so much fun! They take you to the reef where turtles go to go their backs cleaned by fish. My recommendation when you swim to watch the turtles is to hang out on the side of the group. Most people will huddle over the turtles, but the have to come up for air, so if you are not in the chunk of people you will get a closer look because they will head your way for air! We saw lots of them and even some baby turtles! The fish in the water are beautiful as well and will swim all around you. I think it is definitely worth the $51! Book today and don't forget your underwater camera like I did!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Snorkel Adventure

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/12/08

YOU DO SEE TURTLES! Amazing experience- we saw 5 large sea turtles at the cleaning station. We had a large one come up for air literally right in front of us- I could have reached out and touched it! We also saw dolphins and several large fish. If you want to see turtles, this is the snorkel for you... If you're looking for a close-up of tropical fish - go to a different site. Cruise is very comfortable and a great view of the Waikiki beach front.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr.

Reviewed by: Bob n Carol, 2011/02/21

Great time, especially enjoyed the sail after snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

checking out the sea

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2010/11/16

What a great time!! Saw a bunch of turtles and lots of fish, it was great!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel & Sail

Reviewed by: Kate, 2010/05/24

This was a blast! Also, the crew knows exactly where to go to find tu
rtles - we saw at LEAST a dozen! Then, after everyone was finished snorkeling we went for a sail and had cocktails (the Onolicious is awesome). The crew was wonderful - Thanks Captain John & Rabbit!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best activitiy of our trip

Reviewed by: Veronica, 2010/02/28

We went snorkeling. We saw the turtles and lot's of fish, octopus, moray eels. Then we went high speed sailing. Captain John and Rabbit are the most fun tour guides.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling and Sailing

Reviewed by: Kathleen, 2010/02/14

This was a great activity. We didn't see as many difference colored fish as I thought we would, but we did swim with the fish and see some sea turtles.

The sailing part was the most enjoyable. I could have stayed out all day.

The crew was friendly and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family Fun

Reviewed by: Jim, 2009/08/25

Quite an experience and probably the best time of our trip to Honolulu. We experienced snorkeling with turtles as advertised, one even came up for air in the middle of the four of us. My teenagers were quite excited. On top of that we got to see dolphins that swam with us and around our boat, which is very unusual. The crew were great and very helpful, knowledgeable and upbeat. We had so much fun we went back for the afternoon cruise the next day and had a great time drinking (adults), singing and splashing thru the waves. Also got to see more dolphins along side and a school of fish skimming up on the surface, very cool. We highly recommend this tour and operator.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome TIme

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2008/08/22

This was the best times we had in Hawaii. The Snorkeling was great we got to see Sea Turtles and lots of other cool looking fish. After the snorkeling they took the group out sailing and it was even better. We all got drunk and had a awesome time and wonderful day. We to a Cocktail Cruise with them the last day of our trip. Most recommened.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories