Waikiki Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail - Holokai Catamaran reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waikiki Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail - Holokai Catamaran

Overall Rating

4.67 4.67 / 5

Reviews

384 reviews
Post a review

Bucket list experience!

Reviewed by: Donna , 2022/06/25

Best Catamaran experience we have ever had and a bonus to swim with the turtles! The crew was amazing! Friendly, helpful and fun! The views while sailing were spectacular! Hands down a bucket list experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every dollar!

Reviewed by: FAA, 2022/04/21

This experience was worth it all! The crew was great and they took really good care of you! They pointed out the sea turtles and told us where to go so we can find them! They always made sure everyone was doing okay and if we needed anything, they would go out of their way to make sure we’re having a great time. We purchased their “special” drink and it was delicious. The boat itself is very clean as . The crew is very funny and will make your trip worth it. I can’t wait to book my next adventure with them.

  • Sea turtle swimming up to the surface!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Second trip with Holokai. Great Crew!

Reviewed by: mari, 2022/04/11

Family trip to have a wake for my father who just passed. The crew was fun and amazing. They even played a terrible Clancy Brothers song in his honor. The whole boat went silent (the Clancy Brothers are that bad). Thanks for the memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Did not see turtles. Poor tour of the island

Reviewed by: batesd3, 2022/02/22

All that was promised was not fulfilled on this snorkel tour. The staff was nice. I got a little sea sick and they took care of me. But the experience was nothing like what they promised. It was a party boat not a snorkel tour. I would not recommend to any families.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jnellie, 2022/02/20

This was a fantastic experience! Friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable crew. I appreciated the brief snorkel lesson and tips. We were able to see turtles, a variety of fish, and during the sailing portion dolphins and whales. Overall great experience with no complaints! Would recommend to others and will remember them on my next trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Favorite snorkel boat!

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/01/17

Love, love, LOVE this boat! It's a beach catamaran so no transportation is needed. Plus, they provide you with FINS that are super comfy and adjustable. After snorkeling, you get some snacks and can purchase drinks on board. We got the souvenir Holokai shaker to keep. We did the 9am cruise which was perfect for visibility and to catch a little bit of sun before it got too hot in the afternoon. Would recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A+

Reviewed by: Trina Litton, 2022/01/01

Best experience ever. I seen so many beautiful. Fish and turtles. The crew were awesome and fun i would definitely do it again. Just being out there on the ocean was so amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We snorkeled for the first time with turtles.

Reviewed by: Judith Byrne, 2021/11/01

My friends and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in Honolulu. The turtle swim was our first activity. It met all of our expectations and then some. The three men who took out out to swim made us feel very comfortable and we saw several turtles while snorkeling. The catamaran ride was exciting and the views of the island were breathtaking. This is a must activity for anyone visiting this island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well organized, very friendly!

Reviewed by: Madhan, 2021/09/25

Would recommend doing this. Friendly, well organized!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific experience, fantastic crew!

Reviewed by: Eric Heikkila, 2021/09/21

My wife and I had a great time! The crew was super helpful and friendly. They were great about getting the correct gear, pointing out interesting items - including the 5 turtles we saw that day.
Captain Ryan and his first mate were awesome, and we will definitely go again and can absolutely recommend this experience to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yeah!

Reviewed by: Anon, 2021/09/20

The tour was great, crew were really nice and tons of fun! We saw a bunch of turtles and fish, and even saw dolphins next to the boat on the ride back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!!!!

Reviewed by: Shawn C, 2021/09/01

Kind Captain andcrew. Wonder sail. Such a great time. Many thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise and Snorkeling activity

Reviewed by: Eilleen F., 2021/08/29

It was a nice and beautiful sail out in the ocean and when it came time to snorkeling it was fun and eventful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience of my life!

Reviewed by: Natasha, 2021/08/29

This was an awesome experience! I saw so many turtles, which was my only goal in Hawaii. I also saw dolphins in a distance. The guys on the boat were awesome! One of the divers dove down with my camera and took pictures for me of the turtles up close with a respectful distance.

I, sadly, also got seasick on the boat. I had no idea I would get that sick. The hosts were so helpful without making me feel embarrassed. They kept checking on me, bringing me water and lavender oil which helped a lot for the sickness.

I also loved that they were respectful of the turtles as you will get fined if you touch a turtle in Hawaii. They made us keep our distance from the turtles which I really respect and love about Hawaiin culture. They actually care about the Earth and animals.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best time!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2021/08/26

My boyfriend and I and our two friends had the best time! Snorkeling was amazing and we had a blast on the catamaran ride! The whole crew was so friendly and helpful and made us feel so comfortable! Would 100% come back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with turtles

Reviewed by: Ren, 2021/08/24

It was an incredible and amazing experience!! Words can’t explain how great everything was

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great trip!!

Reviewed by: Emma McShane, 2021/08/13

This was a great trip with a great crew! Highly recommend this cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Crew

Reviewed by: Caren Wise, 2021/07/24

We really enjoyed our snorkeling trip with Holokai Catamaran. The crew was very attentive, funny and friendly. They made a point to make sure we saw turtles while we were in the water, and they periodically asked if we were doing ok or needed help with anything throughout the cruise. Any cautionary instructions that they gave us were very warm and polite, not bossy or curt which was especially nice for the kids on our trip.

The snorkeling itself was a little disappointing, but it had nothing to do with Holokai. We just happened to go at a time of year that was really busy. There were several other tour boats snorkeling in the same spot, so the water was crowded. It was a little stressful navigating around other snorkelers and trying to avoid getting a flipper in your face. But again the Holokai crew was in the water with us doing their best to make sure we were seeing turtles and fish.

After snorkeling, the crew let us jump off the boat and swim freely in the water. After that they put up the sails and took us for a super fun ride out past Diamond Head. That was definitely our kids’ favorite part of the experience.

Thank you to Holokai for making the this excursion fun and exciting for our families.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Breth, 2021/05/13

Fun trip, good crew. Snorkeling was a bit crowded and water not as clear as expected.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up close and personal with sea turtles

Reviewed by: Stan Flouride , 2020/03/16

This well-run tour took us to a place known as Turtle Canyon a few hundred meters off of Waikiki where sea turtles come to get cleaned by algae eating fish.
There were a couple of dozen of varying ages (judging by their sizes) and though touching is prohibited, it was easy to get close enough that you could have.
Sharp, amusing crew, well maintained and clean masks, snorkels, and fins provided, and cold local beer.
A great combination.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Andres, 2020/02/20

It was great! Got to see 8 sea turtles and a lot of fish. After snorkeling, they did a couple of laps around which was really relaxing and even got to see a whale (although I´m sure it might not be that common to see a whale).

The only down side was that it´s in Waikiki so there were several other tours in the same area so it was a bit crowded.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure

Reviewed by: Laura L. , 2020/02/19

It was a great day filled with great adventure. I saw a bunch of turtles and even Had a few swim a little closer than the 2 meters we were told to give them. The crew was fantastic. They were always checking on us on the boat and were always with in sight in the water.

The only thing I didn’t like was the 42 people (plus the 4 crew members) on board. It felt crowded even when were spread out on the nets and side (hard to move around to and from the bar.) capping the max to 35 guests (plus 4 crew) would have made it an outstanding day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2020/01/05

We have been snorkelling a couple of times but this was different. We saw so many turtles and fish. Great fun for our teenage kids. The boat team were fun, experienced and professional. The boat was spotless and well maintained. The sail after snorkelling was a bit rough going out due to the weather but that made it more fun! Coming back was smooth and relaxing. Free snacks on board and drinks reasonably priced.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: MomK, 2019/12/31

Fantastic experience! The turtles were amazing as advertised. Boat crew was friendly and helpful! I recommend this excursion. It was a great way to start our Hawaiian vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aweeeeeome experience

Reviewed by: Lilo, 2019/12/29

Everyone was great, experience was wonderful. Crew made you feel really safe

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Got to see turtles, dolphins and lots of fish!

Reviewed by: Woodsy, 2019/12/28

The staff were great. They were helpful in pointing things out and when helpful when a tour member was unwell.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All the turtles

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2019/12/03

Seeing the turtles was so fun and the guys that helped us get all set were amazing. They filled our drinks after and made she we were well taken care of.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time and crew was great!

Reviewed by: The Maier's, 2019/11/09

All I can say is it was exactly what we wanted. Great Great and Great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Jellie , 2019/08/30

Great snorkeling! We saw tons of green sea turtles, fish and spinner dolphins! The sail after the snorkel was fantastic as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Paradise!

Reviewed by: Family from Japan, 2019/08/25

It was an amazing experience to see so many turtles at once. I have been to Oahu about 20 times but never seen so many turtles! Some of them came to the surface and I was able to see them very close, I could even see their nostrils. After snorkeling, we went sailing to the Diamond Head and the boat jumped up and down the wave and my children were so excited! I would surely want to come again in the near future.

  • Turtle seen from the boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories