Holokai Catamaran Waikiki Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Holokai Catamaran Waikiki Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail

Overall Rating

4.68 4.68 / 5

Reviews

377 reviews
Post a review

We snorkeled for the first time with turtles.

Reviewed by: Judith Byrne, 2021/11/01

My friends and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in Honolulu. The turtle swim was our first activity. It met all of our expectations and then some. The three men who took out out to swim made us feel very comfortable and we saw several turtles while snorkeling. The catamaran ride was exciting and the views of the island were breathtaking. This is a must activity for anyone visiting this island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well organized, very friendly!

Reviewed by: Madhan, 2021/09/25

Would recommend doing this. Friendly, well organized!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific experience, fantastic crew!

Reviewed by: Eric Heikkila, 2021/09/21

My wife and I had a great time! The crew was super helpful and friendly. They were great about getting the correct gear, pointing out interesting items - including the 5 turtles we saw that day.
Captain Ryan and his first mate were awesome, and we will definitely go again and can absolutely recommend this experience to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yeah!

Reviewed by: Anon, 2021/09/20

The tour was great, crew were really nice and tons of fun! We saw a bunch of turtles and fish, and even saw dolphins next to the boat on the ride back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!!!!

Reviewed by: Shawn C, 2021/09/01

Kind Captain andcrew. Wonder sail. Such a great time. Many thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise and Snorkeling activity

Reviewed by: Eilleen F., 2021/08/29

It was a nice and beautiful sail out in the ocean and when it came time to snorkeling it was fun and eventful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience of my life!

Reviewed by: Natasha, 2021/08/29

This was an awesome experience! I saw so many turtles, which was my only goal in Hawaii. I also saw dolphins in a distance. The guys on the boat were awesome! One of the divers dove down with my camera and took pictures for me of the turtles up close with a respectful distance.

I, sadly, also got seasick on the boat. I had no idea I would get that sick. The hosts were so helpful without making me feel embarrassed. They kept checking on me, bringing me water and lavender oil which helped a lot for the sickness.

I also loved that they were respectful of the turtles as you will get fined if you touch a turtle in Hawaii. They made us keep our distance from the turtles which I really respect and love about Hawaiin culture. They actually care about the Earth and animals.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

  • I apologize for the quality. I took this photo off my phone of my underwater camera. I didn't upload them to my computer yet.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best time!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2021/08/26

My boyfriend and I and our two friends had the best time! Snorkeling was amazing and we had a blast on the catamaran ride! The whole crew was so friendly and helpful and made us feel so comfortable! Would 100% come back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with turtles

Reviewed by: Ren, 2021/08/24

It was an incredible and amazing experience!! Words can’t explain how great everything was

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great trip!!

Reviewed by: Emma McShane, 2021/08/13

This was a great trip with a great crew! Highly recommend this cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Crew

Reviewed by: Caren Wise, 2021/07/24

We really enjoyed our snorkeling trip with Holokai Catamaran. The crew was very attentive, funny and friendly. They made a point to make sure we saw turtles while we were in the water, and they periodically asked if we were doing ok or needed help with anything throughout the cruise. Any cautionary instructions that they gave us were very warm and polite, not bossy or curt which was especially nice for the kids on our trip.

The snorkeling itself was a little disappointing, but it had nothing to do with Holokai. We just happened to go at a time of year that was really busy. There were several other tour boats snorkeling in the same spot, so the water was crowded. It was a little stressful navigating around other snorkelers and trying to avoid getting a flipper in your face. But again the Holokai crew was in the water with us doing their best to make sure we were seeing turtles and fish.

After snorkeling, the crew let us jump off the boat and swim freely in the water. After that they put up the sails and took us for a super fun ride out past Diamond Head. That was definitely our kids’ favorite part of the experience.

Thank you to Holokai for making the this excursion fun and exciting for our families.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Breth, 2021/05/13

Fun trip, good crew. Snorkeling was a bit crowded and water not as clear as expected.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up close and personal with sea turtles

Reviewed by: Stan Flouride , 2020/03/16

This well-run tour took us to a place known as Turtle Canyon a few hundred meters off of Waikiki where sea turtles come to get cleaned by algae eating fish.
There were a couple of dozen of varying ages (judging by their sizes) and though touching is prohibited, it was easy to get close enough that you could have.
Sharp, amusing crew, well maintained and clean masks, snorkels, and fins provided, and cold local beer.
A great combination.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Andres, 2020/02/20

It was great! Got to see 8 sea turtles and a lot of fish. After snorkeling, they did a couple of laps around which was really relaxing and even got to see a whale (although I´m sure it might not be that common to see a whale).

The only down side was that it´s in Waikiki so there were several other tours in the same area so it was a bit crowded.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure

Reviewed by: Laura L. , 2020/02/19

It was a great day filled with great adventure. I saw a bunch of turtles and even Had a few swim a little closer than the 2 meters we were told to give them. The crew was fantastic. They were always checking on us on the boat and were always with in sight in the water.

The only thing I didn’t like was the 42 people (plus the 4 crew members) on board. It felt crowded even when were spread out on the nets and side (hard to move around to and from the bar.) capping the max to 35 guests (plus 4 crew) would have made it an outstanding day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2020/01/05

We have been snorkelling a couple of times but this was different. We saw so many turtles and fish. Great fun for our teenage kids. The boat team were fun, experienced and professional. The boat was spotless and well maintained. The sail after snorkelling was a bit rough going out due to the weather but that made it more fun! Coming back was smooth and relaxing. Free snacks on board and drinks reasonably priced.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: MomK, 2019/12/31

Fantastic experience! The turtles were amazing as advertised. Boat crew was friendly and helpful! I recommend this excursion. It was a great way to start our Hawaiian vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aweeeeeome experience

Reviewed by: Lilo, 2019/12/29

Everyone was great, experience was wonderful. Crew made you feel really safe

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Got to see turtles, dolphins and lots of fish!

Reviewed by: Woodsy, 2019/12/28

The staff were great. They were helpful in pointing things out and when helpful when a tour member was unwell.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

All the turtles

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2019/12/03

Seeing the turtles was so fun and the guys that helped us get all set were amazing. They filled our drinks after and made she we were well taken care of.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time and crew was great!

Reviewed by: The Maier's, 2019/11/09

All I can say is it was exactly what we wanted. Great Great and Great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Jellie , 2019/08/30

Great snorkeling! We saw tons of green sea turtles, fish and spinner dolphins! The sail after the snorkel was fantastic as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Paradise!

Reviewed by: Family from Japan, 2019/08/25

It was an amazing experience to see so many turtles at once. I have been to Oahu about 20 times but never seen so many turtles! Some of them came to the surface and I was able to see them very close, I could even see their nostrils. After snorkeling, we went sailing to the Diamond Head and the boat jumped up and down the wave and my children were so excited! I would surely want to come again in the near future.

  • Turtle seen from the boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome up close & personal experience with the turtles!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2019/08/25

We took our family of 4 (including twin 7 year olds) to this experience. We all got in the water and couldn't believe how many turtles we got to experience up close! The excursion was well managed and very fun! The ride after the snorkel encountered some big waves, which my kids freaked out about a tiny bit, but overall we had an excellent time. It was, hands down, our family's favorite experience in our 10 days in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You will Love Sea Turtles after this!

Reviewed by: Donny, 2019/06/14

I didn't know I could get seasick, but these guys came ready with meds and drinks. Super informative and care for your well being. My girlfriend had a blast and she was so excited to see turtles peeking out the waters. Awesome experience and thanks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Bethany Vaughn , 2019/06/07

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the snorkel catamaran. The boat crew was not only incredibly informative on use of equipment, but ensured first time
Snorkelers like ourselves had adequate support. They were also pretty comical as well! Seeing the sea turtles was awesome! One crew member even dove down to to the reef to retrieve my dropped cell phone! I had so many priceless photos and memories from my Dad’s funeral on the phone, that I would not have been able to replace them. Thank you for the incredible experience.

  • Random pic my sinking phone probably took! Thank God for waterproof cases.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Schleicher, 2019/05/13

My husband and I had a great time snorkeling and saw lots of turtles up close. While sailing we even got to see dolphins playing around the boat. The staff was very professional, helpful and fun...highly recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Meghan, 2019/05/06

Such an awesome trip- got to see 3 sea turtles right off the bat. Great staff, very friendly and they go out of their way to make this experience as best they can!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw lots of turtles

Reviewed by: Chris M, 2019/04/28

Had a long dive with the turtles. We saw 6-8 turtles and tons of fish. Crew was super friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Felt very safe with my 11 year old daughter with us. Snacks were plentiful as most were hungry after the dive. We had a nice sail after the dive too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing turtle viewing cruise

Reviewed by: bamboo, 2019/04/20

An amazing cruise and sailing. We saw lots of turtles and tropical fishes during the snorkeling. It was amazing.

  • Turtle and tropical fishes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories