Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach) reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Overall Rating

4.66 4.66 / 5

Reviews

353 reviews
Post a review

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Jellie , 2019/08/30

Great snorkeling! We saw tons of green sea turtles, fish and spinner dolphins! The sail after the snorkel was fantastic as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Paradise!

Reviewed by: Family from Japan, 2019/08/25

It was an amazing experience to see so many turtles at once. I have been to Oahu about 20 times but never seen so many turtles! Some of them came to the surface and I was able to see them very close, I could even see their nostrils. After snorkeling, we went sailing to the Diamond Head and the boat jumped up and down the wave and my children were so excited! I would surely want to come again in the near future.

  • Turtle seen from the boat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome up close & personal experience with the turtles!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2019/08/25

We took our family of 4 (including twin 7 year olds) to this experience. We all got in the water and couldn't believe how many turtles we got to experience up close! The excursion was well managed and very fun! The ride after the snorkel encountered some big waves, which my kids freaked out about a tiny bit, but overall we had an excellent time. It was, hands down, our family's favorite experience in our 10 days in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You will Love Sea Turtles after this!

Reviewed by: Donny, 2019/06/14

I didn't know I could get seasick, but these guys came ready with meds and drinks. Super informative and care for your well being. My girlfriend had a blast and she was so excited to see turtles peeking out the waters. Awesome experience and thanks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Bethany Vaughn , 2019/06/07

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the snorkel catamaran. The boat crew was not only incredibly informative on use of equipment, but ensured first time
Snorkelers like ourselves had adequate support. They were also pretty comical as well! Seeing the sea turtles was awesome! One crew member even dove down to to the reef to retrieve my dropped cell phone! I had so many priceless photos and memories from my Dad’s funeral on the phone, that I would not have been able to replace them. Thank you for the incredible experience.

  • Random pic my sinking phone probably took! Thank God for waterproof cases.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Schleicher, 2019/05/13

My husband and I had a great time snorkeling and saw lots of turtles up close. While sailing we even got to see dolphins playing around the boat. The staff was very professional, helpful and fun...highly recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Meghan, 2019/05/06

Such an awesome trip- got to see 3 sea turtles right off the bat. Great staff, very friendly and they go out of their way to make this experience as best they can!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw lots of turtles

Reviewed by: Chris M, 2019/04/28

Had a long dive with the turtles. We saw 6-8 turtles and tons of fish. Crew was super friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Felt very safe with my 11 year old daughter with us. Snacks were plentiful as most were hungry after the dive. We had a nice sail after the dive too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing turtle viewing cruise

Reviewed by: bamboo, 2019/04/20

An amazing cruise and sailing. We saw lots of turtles and tropical fishes during the snorkeling. It was amazing.

  • Turtle and tropical fishes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Catamaran was very good but snorkelling site was poor

Reviewed by: PMR, 2019/03/27

Crew were friendly and fun and the catamaran was very good and comfortable.

The snorkel site was not very good though. Visibility was very murky and the few Turtles we saw were grey blobs in the distance. Poor assortment of fish to see compared to other locations we have been to.

Would book again, but only for the sailing tours, not the snorkelling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure

Reviewed by: Kkb, 2019/03/22

We had a great time. Our guides were wonderful. The turtles are amazing I highly recommend this tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great underwater views when snorkelling

Reviewed by: Charlie3, 2019/02/18

activity instructions were not clear as there are 2 Outrigger hotels on Waikiki beach- maybe that can be made clear for future bookings.

safety instructions were good and snorkelling excellent with 2 helpers in the water to show where the turtles and fish were and keep you in the area. Waves were picking up when we left and I'm not a good sailor, so I didnt have any snacks or drinks . Sails were raised and all the crew were very good for the sail around the harbour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sea life and sail

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2019/02/14

We took the 12 pm tour and boarded the catamaran from the beach. It only took 10 minutes to motor out to the snorkel site so it was not far from shore. There were 3-4 other boats with groups in the same area but there was plenty of space. We snorkeled until everyone had returned to the boat. Then the crew raised the sail and we had a great time coasting over the beautiful blue water, returning just inside of the 3 hour advertised time. Free snacks (chips, granola bars) were provided and you could buy drinks.

The crew were funny, friendly, and gave clear instructions. They kept watch over us during the snorkel. They regularly checked up on each guest after the snorkel to make sure everyone was comfortable. I wear glasses, and have a -5.25 prescription. They had prescription goggles on board that were -6.0 and I was able to see so clearly without my glasses! We saw a group of spinner dolphins on the way out, and I saw 5 different sea turtles below us during the snorkel. Several of them surfaced to breathe close by which was amazing! We saw a baby octopus, and lot of beautiful fish. The crew member in the water with us was good to caution people to give the turtles their space which was important.

Advice: you are barefoot to board the boat and on the boat, and you store your bag and shoes in cubby holes on board. It's good to bring a sun shirt so your back doesn't burn. You do get cold while snorkeling, but less so if you keep moving. Bring a towel and warm clothes to wear after if you tend to get cold. Hats will fly away easily so you need one with a draw string. They provide sunscreen if you forget your own. I took gravol before the trip, so I'm not sure if I needed it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful, given the circumstances :)

Reviewed by: Kelsy, 2019/02/13

I booked this tour back around August of 2018 for a February 2019 trip. The original date was supposed to be Sunday morning on their first tour; however, they reached out to us on Saturday morning to notify us rescheduling might be required, as the island was going to be hit with an extremely severe storm over the weekend. Sure enough, Sunday morning came, and it was determined the waters were too unstable to enjoy a safe snorkeling experience. We were able to re-book to Monday afternoon, with the hopes the waters would mellow out and clear up by then. We arrived at the meeting spot, and right as we were about to disembark, we were notified the waters were still too dangerous. We were then given the option to either reschedule, or go sail with them for an hour or so, and get a refund on the snorkeling portion. Given we were leaving the following day, we were unfortunately unable to reschedule, and opted for the sailing. The captain, Ryan, and the rest of the crew were all wonderful, and made it a memorable experience. We were out sailing for around an hour and a half, and the views were breathtaking. They also provided everyone a few free drinks to help make up for the inconvenience, and the free snacks provided were much appreciated. While we never got to enjoy the snorkeling itself, I can vouch for the company and their customer service. Thank you for turning lemons to lemonade! Also, in February it was a bit chilly, so I would recommend a light jacket, and definitely sunglasses :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour - a must do in Waikiki!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2019/01/19

This tour gave everything we wanted and more in only two hours. Not only did we see 7-8 turtles swimming right under us for 45 mins to an hour, but we also saw whales jumping around after when we were sailing around on the boat. Our tour guides were really friendly and followed the whales for a while for us to see. It was pretty amazing! I’d definitely recommend this tour for anyone even though it’s expensive. It’s totally worth it! My only regret was not buying a go pro or underwater camera because we didn’t get any pictures. So keep that in mind that the company don’t take professional pics for you to purchase, you need to take your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome snorkeling and even saw whales!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2019/01/16

The guides were hilarious and very inviting! We saw a ton of turtles and even a shark while snorkeling! After getting back on the boat we cruised down Waikiki and saw a baby whale breaching and playing in the water. Such a fun morning! Best experience here on Honolulu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure. Great company and crew.

Reviewed by: Rod Miller, 2019/01/07

The most friendly and courteous staff and crew. Great time snorkeling and sailing. Very nice boat and equipment. Definitely on my to do again list. Thank you and aloha.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2018/12/11

Had a great time and the guides were hilarious! Saw a ton of turtles and fish!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value. Kids had a great time.

Reviewed by: Sus, 2018/11/30

We have a 4 and 7 year old. 4 year old had no interest in going in the water but really enjoyed the boat ride. The amount of time we were on the boat was just right for little ones (2-2.5 hours). Our 7 year old really wanted to snorkel with sea turtles and she saw several, so this was perfect. Super fun and really nice crew. They were kind to our kids and made sure that our little one got to see some fish and even pointed out sea turtles coming up for air so she didn’t feel like she missed out on anything. If you are comfortable with adult beverages being around, this is a great excursion for families with kids and beginner snorkelers. Compared to some of the other outfitters around, they are also very well-priced. Felt like this was a good value and an afternoon well spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful people, beautiful boat!!

Reviewed by: Jon N. , 2018/11/29

Thank you to the crew for making our trip so special. Local couple who wanted to feel like a tourist for a day. They did not disappoint.

Amazing water and great knowledge of the ocean.

Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Diana, 2018/11/01

The catamaran is so clean and has a bar onboard. The staff is amazing and everyone made us feel comfortable and ready for snorkling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Afternoon

Reviewed by: Shawn, 2018/10/23

Beautiful swimming with the turtles and fish. The staff was awesome. Funny and just wanting to help with any need we had. Beautiful view of the island and Waikiki. Thank for a Great Afternoon Guys. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Canyon

Reviewed by: KCWVU, 2018/10/21

This was awesome! The entire crew was funny and helpful. There were plenty of turtles and fish for everyone to enjoy! The only downside was how many different groups of tourists were also at the same location at the same time. Still plenty of awesome pictures and fun!! Would do it again in a heart beat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect day trip and the best way to swim with turtles!

Reviewed by: Oatmeal , 2018/10/02

Best thing I did in Hawaii. Crew were amazing! Cornbin was my favourite (dude with the shredded 6 pack and sweet smile). The perfect way to see some beautiful turtles. Also great opportunity to sale the crystal clear waters. 10/10.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/10/02

Great boat and friendly crew, relaxing morning and turtles easily spotted. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Canyon...AWESOME

Reviewed by: Ken R, 2018/09/26

This trip is AMAZING and Highly recommended. The 4 gentlemen that took us out were great and very attentive. They took us to the best spot for snorkelling and saw a ton if sea turtles. The atmosphere and company can't be beat. If you don't do ANYTHING ELSE in Hawaii do THIS!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day - the crew were brilliant

Reviewed by: Sam , 2018/09/24

Had a great time out, saw loads of turtles and even dolphins. Also great to experience the waves whilst sailing out. Jeromino was a really great guide, the whole team were brilliant and took fantastic care of us. Would really recommend this tour definite one oc the highlights of our stay on Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing and sailing adventure.

Reviewed by: Tommy, 2018/09/07

The crew was awesome! The service was great and the snorkeling was fantastic. We really enjoyed the adventure and would definitely come back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved the turtle trip so much.

Reviewed by: Irene, 2018/09/05

Great great tour....professional and fun crew. Amazing swim with turtles and a sail on the sailboat. I would do it again any time!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time! Amazing crew! Amazing snorkeling!

Reviewed by: Chris Hill, 2018/08/17

This was amazing, I would recommend it to everyone who wants to snorkel with turtles. Not to mention the crew was amazing and very funny. Then we sailed to try to see dolphins and other marine life.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories