This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

great underwater views when snorkelling

Reviewed by: Charlie3, 2019/02/18

activity instructions were not clear as there are 2 Outrigger hotels on Waikiki beach- maybe that can be made clear for future bookings.

safety instructions were good and snorkelling excellent with 2 helpers in the water to show where the turtles and fish were and keep you in the area. Waves were picking up when we left and I'm not a good sailor, so I didnt have any snacks or drinks . Sails were raised and all the crew were very good for the sail around the harbour.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sea life and sail

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2019/02/14

We took the 12 pm tour and boarded the catamaran from the beach. It only took 10 minutes to motor out to the snorkel site so it was not far from shore. There were 3-4 other boats with groups in the same area but there was plenty of space. We snorkeled until everyone had returned to the boat. Then the crew raised the sail and we had a great time coasting over the beautiful blue water, returning just inside of the 3 hour advertised time. Free snacks (chips, granola bars) were provided and you could buy drinks.

The crew were funny, friendly, and gave clear instructions. They kept watch over us during the snorkel. They regularly checked up on each guest after the snorkel to make sure everyone was comfortable. I wear glasses, and have a -5.25 prescription. They had prescription goggles on board that were -6.0 and I was able to see so clearly without my glasses! We saw a group of spinner dolphins on the way out, and I saw 5 different sea turtles below us during the snorkel. Several of them surfaced to breathe close by which was amazing! We saw a baby octopus, and lot of beautiful fish. The crew member in the water with us was good to caution people to give the turtles their space which was important.

Advice: you are barefoot to board the boat and on the boat, and you store your bag and shoes in cubby holes on board. It's good to bring a sun shirt so your back doesn't burn. You do get cold while snorkeling, but less so if you keep moving. Bring a towel and warm clothes to wear after if you tend to get cold. Hats will fly away easily so you need one with a draw string. They provide sunscreen if you forget your own. I took gravol before the trip, so I'm not sure if I needed it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful, given the circumstances :)

Reviewed by: Kelsy, 2019/02/13

I booked this tour back around August of 2018 for a February 2019 trip. The original date was supposed to be Sunday morning on their first tour; however, they reached out to us on Saturday morning to notify us rescheduling might be required, as the island was going to be hit with an extremely severe storm over the weekend. Sure enough, Sunday morning came, and it was determined the waters were too unstable to enjoy a safe snorkeling experience. We were able to re-book to Monday afternoon, with the hopes the waters would mellow out and clear up by then. We arrived at the meeting spot, and right as we were about to disembark, we were notified the waters were still too dangerous. We were then given the option to either reschedule, or go sail with them for an hour or so, and get a refund on the snorkeling portion. Given we were leaving the following day, we were unfortunately unable to reschedule, and opted for the sailing. The captain, Ryan, and the rest of the crew were all wonderful, and made it a memorable experience. We were out sailing for around an hour and a half, and the views were breathtaking. They also provided everyone a few free drinks to help make up for the inconvenience, and the free snacks provided were much appreciated. While we never got to enjoy the snorkeling itself, I can vouch for the company and their customer service. Thank you for turning lemons to lemonade! Also, in February it was a bit chilly, so I would recommend a light jacket, and definitely sunglasses :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour - a must do in Waikiki!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2019/01/19

This tour gave everything we wanted and more in only two hours. Not only did we see 7-8 turtles swimming right under us for 45 mins to an hour, but we also saw whales jumping around after when we were sailing around on the boat. Our tour guides were really friendly and followed the whales for a while for us to see. It was pretty amazing! I’d definitely recommend this tour for anyone even though it’s expensive. It’s totally worth it! My only regret was not buying a go pro or underwater camera because we didn’t get any pictures. So keep that in mind that the company don’t take professional pics for you to purchase, you need to take your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome snorkeling and even saw whales!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2019/01/16

The guides were hilarious and very inviting! We saw a ton of turtles and even a shark while snorkeling! After getting back on the boat we cruised down Waikiki and saw a baby whale breaching and playing in the water. Such a fun morning! Best experience here on Honolulu!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure. Great company and crew.

Reviewed by: Rod Miller, 2019/01/07

The most friendly and courteous staff and crew. Great time snorkeling and sailing. Very nice boat and equipment. Definitely on my to do again list. Thank you and aloha.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2018/12/11

Had a great time and the guides were hilarious! Saw a ton of turtles and fish!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value. Kids had a great time.

Reviewed by: Sus, 2018/11/30

We have a 4 and 7 year old. 4 year old had no interest in going in the water but really enjoyed the boat ride. The amount of time we were on the boat was just right for little ones (2-2.5 hours). Our 7 year old really wanted to snorkel with sea turtles and she saw several, so this was perfect. Super fun and really nice crew. They were kind to our kids and made sure that our little one got to see some fish and even pointed out sea turtles coming up for air so she didn’t feel like she missed out on anything. If you are comfortable with adult beverages being around, this is a great excursion for families with kids and beginner snorkelers. Compared to some of the other outfitters around, they are also very well-priced. Felt like this was a good value and an afternoon well spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful people, beautiful boat!!

Reviewed by: Jon N. , 2018/11/29

Thank you to the crew for making our trip so special. Local couple who wanted to feel like a tourist for a day. They did not disappoint.

Amazing water and great knowledge of the ocean.

Mahalo!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Diana, 2018/11/01

The catamaran is so clean and has a bar onboard. The staff is amazing and everyone made us feel comfortable and ready for snorkling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Afternoon

Reviewed by: Shawn, 2018/10/23

Beautiful swimming with the turtles and fish. The staff was awesome. Funny and just wanting to help with any need we had. Beautiful view of the island and Waikiki. Thank for a Great Afternoon Guys. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Canyon

Reviewed by: KCWVU, 2018/10/21

This was awesome! The entire crew was funny and helpful. There were plenty of turtles and fish for everyone to enjoy! The only downside was how many different groups of tourists were also at the same location at the same time. Still plenty of awesome pictures and fun!! Would do it again in a heart beat!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect day trip and the best way to swim with turtles!

Reviewed by: Oatmeal , 2018/10/02

Best thing I did in Hawaii. Crew were amazing! Cornbin was my favourite (dude with the shredded 6 pack and sweet smile). The perfect way to see some beautiful turtles. Also great opportunity to sale the crystal clear waters. 10/10.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/10/02

Great boat and friendly crew, relaxing morning and turtles easily spotted. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle Canyon...AWESOME

Reviewed by: Ken R, 2018/09/26

This trip is AMAZING and Highly recommended. The 4 gentlemen that took us out were great and very attentive. They took us to the best spot for snorkelling and saw a ton if sea turtles. The atmosphere and company can't be beat. If you don't do ANYTHING ELSE in Hawaii do THIS!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day - the crew were brilliant

Reviewed by: Sam , 2018/09/24

Had a great time out, saw loads of turtles and even dolphins. Also great to experience the waves whilst sailing out. Jeromino was a really great guide, the whole team were brilliant and took fantastic care of us. Would really recommend this tour definite one oc the highlights of our stay on Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing and sailing adventure.

Reviewed by: Tommy, 2018/09/07

The crew was awesome! The service was great and the snorkeling was fantastic. We really enjoyed the adventure and would definitely come back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved the turtle trip so much.

Reviewed by: Irene, 2018/09/05

Great great tour....professional and fun crew. Amazing swim with turtles and a sail on the sailboat. I would do it again any time!!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time! Amazing crew! Amazing snorkeling!

Reviewed by: Chris Hill, 2018/08/17

This was amazing, I would recommend it to everyone who wants to snorkel with turtles. Not to mention the crew was amazing and very funny. Then we sailed to try to see dolphins and other marine life.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: I love Hawaii , 2018/08/15

The catamaran was amazing. One of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii. The crew were very friendly and seeing the turtles was amazing. Definitely a must do if we ever come back to Hawaii I will do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

outstanding

Reviewed by: Gavin, 2018/08/05

Highlight of our holiday, friendly & experienced crew, I liked the crew member being in the water & keeping the group together...it felt safe, plus the turtles were amazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great time!

Reviewed by: werduffy, 2018/07/24

Crew was great!

Turtle spot was awesome, we got some great pics!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swimming with Sea Turtles

Reviewed by: D.McKiernan, 2018/07/19

This tour was simply AWESOME.
Pod of dolphins on arrival at the reef, initially 3 turtles, but shortly joined by another 2.
An experience of a lifetime and undoubtedly a highlight of our trip.
Crew were brilliant, friendly, helpful and 'down to earth' making it an overall experience well worth doing.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wir hatten einen sehr schönen Morgen an Board!!!

Reviewed by: Mary, 2018/07/17

Das Boot hatte eine schöne Größe. Zuerst sind wir zum Schnorcheln raus gefahren und anschließend weiter. Hier konnten wir uns vorne ins Netz legen und die Wellen und die Sonne genießen. Sehr schön!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend awesome catamaran

Reviewed by: Nancy Vigil, 2018/07/09

Awesome people!
Awesome weather!
Totally awesome experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience in Hawaii!!

Reviewed by: Nikki from LA, 2018/06/27

This is my youngest son's first trip to Hawaii. He asked to go snorkling. So I thought it would be even more fun to snorkle with turtles. And so we did. We had such an amazing experience, staffs were very nice and helpful. It was fun to see many turtles and fishes. We had so much fun. And at the end of our Hawaii trip, I asked my son, which one was the most memorable one of all the places we went to in Hawaii, and he said snorkling with turtles!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Charlene Ryan , 2018/06/18

We book the Holokai everytime our family and friends come visit us on the island, and it never disappoints! Staff is great, and the views can’t be beat. Very relaxing!



  • Honu


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!!

Reviewed by: Anna&Miriam, 2018/05/31

Amazing experience! Very easy to watch turtles and swim with them!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Turtle cruise.

Reviewed by: Ken Smith, 2018/05/22

From the hostess at the Blue Tent to the boat crew - everyone made the experience enjoyable. Plenty of fish and turtles. Quality snorkeling gear. And finished with a nice relaxing sail around Diamond Head. A definite do again on our next trip. Since we stayed at the Hall Koa, access was a quick walk down the beach. No hassles of finding parking on the busy Waikiki strip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value!

Reviewed by: Jay, 2018/05/18

Memorable experience! The crew provided a fun relaxed environment. They were attentive to our needs but allowed you freedom to explore the boat. Excellent snorkeling near the reef. My family had the opportunity to view a variety of sea creatures. Free snacks while sailing was an added bonus. Great overall experience at an economical price.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |

Oahu Categories