Ocean Joy Dolphin Watch & Snorkel Cruise (from Ko Olina Marina)

Miss

Reviewed by: Bella, 2017/09/01

There are many wild dolphins closely, that's really amazing. However, if there is less people on the cruis that would be better. Overall, it is nice activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkel and jam

Reviewed by: Christina, 2017/08/07

Had a blast on this event! Although we did not see dolphins up close, we still saw amazing sea life and beautiful waters! First time snorkeling out this far and it was awesome! Worked up an appetite and the crew hit it off with some tasteful grub!!! Shaka to the crew!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Trip!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2017/01/30

This was a great trip to go on. The check-in went smooth and the staff were friendly. The ocean was rough but the boat was so stable that I did not even get sea sick. While we were not able to go snorkeling because of this, we saw a whale and lots of dolphins! The morning sunshine made for a beautiful backdrop to the Waianae coastline. Ocean Joy is environmentally friendly to the dolphins and we normally would get to snorkel- just not with the dolphins since it disturbs them.

Our photographer gave everyone a 50% discount on our normally $40 photo package and the photos turned out great! We appreciated the treatment of the crew and everyone had fun even though we did not snorkel. Drinks and lunch were served and everything was tasty. I had fun and look forward to going with this crew again someday. Thanks to Veltra for a smooth confirmation process. It could not have been easier to book a fun outing.



  • The dolphins on 'sleep mode'.


  • The beautiful Waianae coast.


  • A whale!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the cost

Reviewed by: Maria, 2016/09/26

We had a great time. Awesome crew and were able to see some dolphins.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Second time around!

Reviewed by: Glenn (NZ), 2015/04/20

Had a fantastic day. We got really close to a family of hump back whales and some dolphins as well. The crew were so nice and friendly made us feel really welcome. This was our second time on the Kai Oli Oli. We had such a good time the first time, this time we bought our family along for the experience.Well worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Time

Reviewed by: Walter&Teri, 2014/08/11

We enjoyed the time we had on this cruise. The staff, food and boat were great. The only issue we had was with another passenger who would push, shove and step on everyone around him. There were also tons of pictures of him on the available USB for sale and only handfuls of all the other passengers. The cruise we definitely recommend, the rude passenger could have been left on shore.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day on the water!

Reviewed by: Chad West, 2014/08/08

We randomly picked this cruise based on the activities and meal provided and couldn't have chosen better! The bus ride from Waikiki was on time and relaxing, and once we arrived at the pier, the staff was friendly and welcoming, and fun! The dolphins were the highlight, in my opinion, but my friends loved the snorkeling and BBQ lunch and open bar. All-in-all, this was definitely worth it, and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Cruise

Reviewed by: Terri&Rob, 2014/07/15

Wow, what a wonderful crew, boat and view.
These guys are serious about safety in a humorous way. The crew was attentive and hard working while making the experience fun for all.
We saw spinner dolphins. Then moved on to snorkeling with fish and turtles. The fins, snorkels and masks were great. They had sizes to fit everyone. Lunch and mai-tai's were wonderful as well. We were additionally impressed that they cared about the ocean environment.
Highly recommend these guys! Thanks for the great memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling for the Family

Reviewed by: Petals4Zuzu, 2014/04/06

The crew was great, the ship was great, the meal was very good, the cruise was exciting and the snorkel equipment was excellent. The water was particularly choppy due to high winds and that made snorkeling for only the fittest among us difficult. The two youngest (12 and 17) had no problem and were in fact the last ones out of the water. We saw a couple sea turtles, a bottle-nose dolphin, and a couple pods of humpbacks (in the distance). Overall, circumstances beyond the crew's control being what they were, we really enjoyed this excursion.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT DOLPHIN WATCH CRUISE!!!

Reviewed by: Ms Rosie, 2011/06/29

We seen so many dolphins and we were even fortunate enough to see Bottlenose Dolphins which are much much bigger than the frequent spinner dolphins. Bottlenose Dolphins do not come around the islands very often so this was a real treat, maybe even a once in a lifetime opportunity!!

The crew was very friendly and they held my sister's hand in the water because she is afraid of sea animals. But ONCE she put her mask on and placed her head under the water, it was a whole different world for her filled with beautiful colored fish and a huge reef system that surrounded her.

Wonderful crew, Tasty food, everyone on-board was really friendly and after a nice dip out in the deep blue ocean, you are treated to an open bar. Great Stuff! Thank you Hawaiiactivities.com and Ocean Joy Cruises for a wonderful dolphin watch and cruise!








Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkle

Reviewed by: Mike Radke, 2010/08/16

Great trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ocean Joy Dolphin Adventure

Reviewed by: Denise Joyce, 2010/05/10

Absolutely amazing day, wonderful staff, great meal and drinks and of course the dolphins and turtles were fabulous.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love the staff

Reviewed by: Cindy Devlin, 2009/08/18

But hated wearing the "bright yellow floaties". At first, when these were pulled out, I was saying..."oh crap, you've got to be kidding!" But then when we hit the water, I realized it's not such big deal to look like a dork, we all do. The water was amazing until I got hit in the nose by a fellow dork. My snorkling was done at that point. I was greeted by the friendly on board crew and a warm shower. The entire trip was completely worth it. The two above neg's were not a big deal. The crew, the sites, the water, the food, drinks and friendly banter of fellow passengers was great. I highly recommend this cruise. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling 4-13-09

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/04/17

We had a beautiful day for our snorkeling trip, we could not have asked for more beautiful weather. The crew was friendly and the boat was really nice and modern. We saw some dolphins out in the distance although they barely came above the surface and we saw a few turtles. There were no whale sightings on our cruise. The snorkeling was a little disappointing because the water was really choppy and we were dealing with an extremely strong current. There really wasnt a lot to see underwater. It was a little scary for the first time snorkelers and a few people got sea sick. We had a really large group (over 30 people) which made it difficult to move around the boat and it also made it difficult to move around out in the water without getting hit in the face by another persons fins. I think this cruise would have been a lot more enjoyable had there been 20 people or less on the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Every Penny!!

Reviewed by: Benhams, 2009/01/10

I personaly would have booked this attraction for all 5 days of our vacation. The staff was awesome, even our shuttle driver to and from the attraction made this activity worth every penny!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very cool experience

Reviewed by: Lisa B, 2008/11/13

I had never snorkeled before and they really walked you through everything. Got to see lots of neat fish, no dolphins however. We did see several turtles. Weather was a bit spotty and we were in some pretty good size swells. I don't know that I would recommend this for smaller children. They have spotters in the water, but it is open ocean and alot can happen,

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Cruise, Lots of Dolphins

Reviewed by: Oklahoma Girl, 2008/08/28

I went on this cruise with a few of my friends, and it was worth every penny. It was one of the best things that we did in Hawaii. The captain was friendly and knowledgeable and we found schools of both spinner and bottlenosed dolphins. The crew took the time to share their knowledge of these gorogeous creatures and the captain made sure to stay with them long enough that every single person on the cruise got plenty of great pictures. Then came the snorkleing which was both unique and beatuiful. They fed the fish which allowed all of us to see the beautiful sea life up close and personal. We even saw sea turtle. On the way back the food was fantastic and the ride on the boat was just perfect. I would recommend this to anyway. We went on the 11:30 cruise and i think the dinner cruise would be fantastic as well. Great time, and highly recommeneded.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin watch

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/05/01

We had an absolutely gorgeous clear day. The ocean floor was visible to more than 30 feet. We were entertained by dolphins, monitored by turtles, and even visited by some whales! I'm sure we were very lucky, but it sure seemed like it was all arranged just for us. The views of Oahu were breathtaking, and though my wife and UII did not snorkle we enjoyed the stories from the knowledgeable staff. Patrick makes bodacious Mai Tais!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best of fun

Reviewed by: Teresa Kipfer, 2007/12/30

this was the best trip we took while in hawaii. it was fabulous, the food was great, the entire trip was beyond my best expectations. recommend for everyone to do this.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing time!

Reviewed by: Mike and Val from Philly, 2007/11/14

My girlfriend and I went on your dolphin adventure today on the Kai 'Oli'Oli and we had an amazing time! The sites and food were superb and the staff was very pleasant. The two instructors and or hosts Yoko and Pat did a spectacular job making you feel like you were at home. We will recommend this to all of our friends in Philadelphia when they come to visit.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SNORKEL CRUISE

Reviewed by: The Sacramento JFK Boys, 2007/07/21

The group felt fortunate that besides seeing the Spinner Dolphins, the Bottle Nose Dolphins came so close to the boat, a number of the guys had the urge to get in the water with them. One took videos of this rare occurrence and showed it to friends on the island. The meeting with 3-4 sea turtles were scarey but awesome to see while snorkeling.

The only disappointment was that we lost time and had to cut the snorkeling short and didn't get to use the water slide. It was probably due to the sacrifice of time spent with the dolphins which was fine (changed the outcome of the adventure but not a bad thing).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with Dolpins are a Joy

Reviewed by: Maureen Collins, 2007/05/10

They took us to a great snorkeling spot off of Electric Beach, the captain took us to see a pod of dolphins too!

After a quick safety briefing, we headed out from Ko Olina into the cerulean waters of the Pacific with nothing but a sunny cloudless sky above us. I immediately made my way to the bow of the boat so I could have a totally unobstructed view of the western coast of Oahu and the feeling of the ocean mist as it sprayed on us felt divine!

Soon after we hit the open water, the captain informed us that a pod of Hawaiian spinner had been spotted a little ways up the coast, so before we went snorkeling, our we all got to see these dolphins in action.

Spinner dolphins are actually nocturnal creatures, so they go out into deeper waters during the evening to hunt and eat, and then they come back into the shallower coastal waters during the day to relax. It is so cute watching the babies jump and frolic as the adult spinners took it easy in the water. They came right next to




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI