North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Overall Rating

4.49 4.49 / 5

Reviews

254 reviews
Post a review

Best excursion we did on Oahu!

Reviewed by: Rachel Clarke, 2019/12/01

We had such a wonderful time and this was such a unique experience. It was actually very windy on the day we went so we got jostled around a lot but it did not affect how much fun we had. This is one of the coolest experiences we’ve ever had as a family. We would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it!!

Reviewed by: werduffy, 2018/07/24

Great activity when visiting Hawaii!

Crew was great and the pics were amazing!!

Book the early times for the best viewing and less chance of weather cancellation

Recommend taking Dramamine for the trip even if you have an iron stomach

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Kat, 2018/03/31

This was on my bucket list, and definitely worth the wait!!! If I ever get back to North Shore, I will definitely be doing this again!! The crew was awesome!! So friendly, and willing to help whether someone needed help or had a question. Mahalo!

Reply from activity provider

We are delighted you enjoyed your tour! Thank you very much for your awesome review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome!!!! The best experience ever!

Reviewed by: Estefania & Salva, 2018/01/01

We enjoyed a lot the experience! It was super cool! We saw a lot of sharks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So glad we did this!!

Reviewed by: Patsy in Texas, 2017/09/22

Oh my goodness, this was so much fun!! Dave & Dave, our captains were really fun. They were knowledgeable and taught us some interesting stuff about the sharks. When we got to the cage, the sharks started swarming around the boat. It was so exciting. Then we climbed in the cage and had the most amazing experience with the sharks. My boyfriend was hesitant when I told him I wanted to do this, but after it was over he was so glad we did. So am I! Highly recommend a underwater camera/video. Thank you so much North Shore Shark Adventure for something we will never forget and get to brag about to all our friends! Aloha & Mahalo!

  • Sharks swimming around the boat as soon as we got to the cage

  • My and my guy on the boat on the way out there

  • Taken from in the cage

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Triple A's... Adventure, adrenaline, and amusing.

Reviewed by: Creavone and Tonya, 2017/09/21

First time in Hawaii and wanted to make sure we had a fun and exciting time. Once I saw this shark cage activity, I knew we had to try it since we are so outgoing. North shore have the best crew members who know what they are doing. They make you feel calm and secure. It was such a great experience being in the cage and seeing the sharks swim around up close. We were able to get amazing photos with our go-pro and a lifetime of memories. Plus bragging rights of swimming with sharks. Highly recommended if you love water and sharks!

  • Sharks galore

  • Great angle

  • Being fearless

  • More sharks

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the great review!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous Galapagos sharks

Reviewed by: Alexey, 2017/09/06

I'm more than excited to write this review. Thanks for a good time this morning. I'd recommend this adventure for anyone who loves the ocean and these fantastic creatures. Sharks were friendly and gorgeous. The crew was knowledgeable and professional. This is definitely five stars experience with lots of fun. We enjoyed the morning on a comfortable boat, with an excellent crew and Sharks! I have done similar activities before, and I can tell that you did a good job guys. I can't image the better way to meet the sharks. Thank you guys! Save the sharks and ocean. Aloha! #northshoresharkadventures, @NorthShoreSharkAdventures

  • They are very curious about what is going on in the cage

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!!

Reviewed by: Emese, 2017/08/17

Highly recommend it to any age saw 3-4 sharks probably 10-12 ft each. They are amazing creatures! Mac and Max were very helpful and funny!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Martin Plazier , 2017/03/31

Excellent service, great crew, great experience and at the end spotted a whale

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stoked!!!

Reviewed by: Michal Cordova , 2017/03/31

Last Saturday I had the opportunity to do the sharks cage with some friends. Honestly, I was a little concerned about how the sharks are attracted, and if we were putting them in any distress by trying to see them in their natural habitat. Shortly after boarding the boat, my concern was put to rest-the sharks are not harmed in any way!.. Although it was late in the morning, and a swell was filling in, me and a couple friends all had a blast, gripping the bars of the cage, riding the swells as they rolled through and watched 10-12 sharks circle around us with such grace and ease. They were so close, we could see the pupil of their eyes!! Such an amazing experience, reminding me of my tiny existence on land.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quite the exciting adventure!

Reviewed by: CoCo, 2017/03/30

This was such a neat experience that I'll never forget. We were so close to the sharks, which was somewhat scary, but mostly serene watching them swim by, really not caring about us humans in a cage. They come up to the sound of the boat because the area is usually filled with crabbers and they've become accustomed to eating the scraps. It was so neat being surrounded by these beautiful creatures and close enough to see the small barnacles attached to their bodies.

We did the 11am tour, which resulted in quite rocky waters (hence it being the latest option). The earlier times are much calmer waters and generally better visibility. The later time is not ideal for anyone sensitive to motion sickness, or nervous about the experience as it enhanced the intensity getting in and out of the cage. While in the water, we all had to hold on tightly to avoid hitting and kicking one another.

All that said, it was way worth it. Again, the earlier times and much calmer and even more enjoyable - highly recommend the tour, the earlier the better!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Rogers Family , 2017/02/11

Would highly recommend this trip. Staff were friendly, helpful and a lot of fun. My teenage children raved about it ..... it was our best day in Hawaii... just wish we had heard about them at the start of our trip and we would've gone again.

  • Great Day!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable experience

Reviewed by: Todd Hamilton, 2016/10/02

Thus was an amazing sight, we saw so many sharks, the staff was wonderful. I would highly recommend this.

  • Sharks

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Dive

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/04/24

This was amazing. My whole family including my 15 year old says it was the best thing we did in Hawaii. Guides were great and loved what they do. We even saw whales on the way home and they tried to get us close to them for pictures. Fabulous time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't be scared - This is a MUST!!

Reviewed by: David, 2016/01/14

OK, so the idea of going to 'find' sharks as opposed to avoiding them at all costs can take a little getting used to. However once I'd gotten over that, I have to say this is one of the most exhilarating experiences I've had (and enjoyed) on the island.
There's two basic times that you can go out, Super early or Early, Yes that's right, Don't plan on a late night in the bar the night before trying to drum up Dutch courage because this boat leaves early and you want to get your sleep in.

After a leisurely 20-25 mins boat ride out (i think they said about 2 miles) to the dive site you arrive in an open water area, engines are cut and you pull up next to the cage. A quick chat from the crew, and two groups are selected A & B, This ensures you have maximum space in the cage and is a really cool idea.

We climbed in first, GoPro's on and ready to start shooting...

The cage is actually rather large and you definitely want to be up close to the bars hold on, and go down to get your first glimpse... I'm not going to say much more on what you'll see but I will say, This is a guaranteed sharks (plural, many lol) shark tank dive. They big, upclose and personal and you are totally safe in your secure housing...

You get ample time to take selfies, group shots, dive down again, hold the bottom of the cage etc as these amazing creatures swim all around you.

I'd forgot my wrist strap for my cam, No problem, The crew guy noticed as I was getting ready ad gave me a cool wrist-strap for it (thick rubber band!) Awesome Service.

Highly Recommended. 5*

  • Our crazy group...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow Sharks

Reviewed by: The Camp's, 2016/01/03

This was a great adventure. The guys on the boat were very funny and helpful. Thank you for making it so much fun!

  • Sharks

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gracias

Reviewed by: Joel y Maricela , 2015/09/14

Cracias por sus atenciones y amabilidad y de igual forma gracias por hacer de nuestra luna de miel algo inolvidable

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2015/09/06

Exactly what it said on the website. We had an amazing time, saw some amazing sharks and even got a DVD of us with the Sharks from one of the deck hands Dawn. Definitely worth every penny.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

How a grandmother entertains teen grandkids

Reviewed by: Patti Zeller, 2015/08/09

My 15 yr old grandson came to visit and I wanted him to have a great time and have memories of a lifetime to take back to mainland! We both had a really great time! Captain Dave and crew were great, helpful, knowledgable, and all had the best sense of humor! I had an issue with video, but Dave was great and quick to make it right. In the end, it wasn't his fault, it was mine! Thanks Dave and crew! It was amazing!

  • A MUST do in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I met the sharks!!!

Reviewed by: Mahalo , 2015/08/03

The North Shore Shark Adventures was a very neat and wonderful experience. The boat ride out to the shark cage took about 15-20min. The crew members really stressed about safety first and were thorough about directions. They even had a sense of humor, which makes everything better. When we reached the shark cage the crew members separated all the costumers in to two different groups and we were escorted into the shark cage that was floating in the ocean. Being in the shark cage was kind of rough. The waves would rock/bob the cage from side to side and up and down. You really had to hang on to the cage bars to obtain stability. I personally wrapped my legs and arms around the shark cage ladder, which I found to be helpful. As soon as I stuck my head under water what I saw was absolutely amazing. 15-20 sharks swimming and circling the cage, each shark was at least 6-8 feet long. It was so peaceful and serene to see these sharks in their natural habitat swimming freely. Just a quick suggestion that if you plan on swimming with the sharks you may want to schedule this event early on in your trip because cancellations may occur due to the oceans unpredictability. For safety reasons they may cancel your shark adventures but they will call you in advanced to let you know. I suggested that if you are driving to the North Shore you call them to ask about cancellations before you make the trip up north.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Cage Swim

Reviewed by: Nathan N, 2015/06/20

The was an awesome activity to do! My wife and I didn't want to go out and free swim with shark so this cage was perfect. We had a great crew that was nice, entertaining and took care of us. A very enjoyable time! A little tip is to go earlier in day because after about 9:30 or 10 the water starts to get rougher and rocks the boat more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/13

I must admit, I was a bit apprehensive about this adventure as the fateful morning arrived. We were in Oahu visiting our Son and his wife, she was particularly interested in the shark tour. My wife, on the other hand, would have none of it, fortunately, they have an 'Observer' option available. We boarded the Kai Ou after removing our shoes and headed out. The Captain explained that the sharks had become accustomed to the sound of the engines since there had been crabbing done in the past and they would not need to chum the water...we were going to be the bait. The water was absolutely beautiful, a bit on the choppy side, however, which made entering the cage a little more adventurous. It was really amazing being in the water with the sharks all around, there were between 8 and twelve, plus a few other fish, including some very large Trumpet Fish. I think my wife got the worst end of the deal as she was sea sick when we got back in the boat. The crew members were awesome, I would definitely recommend this adventure!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2015/06/09

The waters were choppy but that didn't stop us! The crew was very polite and professional. You can watch the sharks from the boat while the other groups go too so you aren't bored. I do a lot of snorkeling and diving around the island, but this was a very unique experience. I will be bringing any other people who visit me to your company, thank you for an unforgettable time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark tour is good, transport not so much

Reviewed by: Annemieke van Heezik, 2014/10/05

Got caught in the "hang loose" spirit of Hawaii. The activity was booked for transporation at 9.45AM. The day before the activity a message was left at the hotelphone that transport fell through and I had to confirm (before 6PM) new transport time of 5.15AM! Of course I got back at my hotel after 12PM and wasn't able to confirm early pick-up. So I decided to go to the meeting point anyway, but no transport. Office opened at 6AM when I could finally phone in. Service level was low, merely a "No transport, sorry, reschedule please" Since that was not an option for me we had to come up with a solution. After a lot of back and forth (cab will cost you 200 one way!!)I decided to go on a citybus for 2.5 hrs which cost me 2.50 dollars and I made it with an hour to spare. Veltra was very service friendly. They contacted me and booked transport money back right away, without me even asking for it. So lesson learned: No pick-up service for shark tour!
I never even got a sorry from the Shark tour operator and the captain didn't know my name I had become a plus one!
The harbour of the tour itself was a bit dingy at best. The public toilet was filthy with bloodstains and glass bottles, but the boat had no changing option, so you have to use it.
The boat is very nice and the boat ride is awesome (unless you have motion sickness, in that case you will get sick, trust me!)The shark cage is not big, but big enough for the six per group that went in. Pay for the DVD, taking pictures yourself is very hard. The life vest will keep you floating and the ocean slams you into the cagebarrier.
The sharks are amazing and worth every bit of inconvenience. The crew is friendly and knowledgeable. They care for your safety and for the ocean wild life. It's not scary at all. When you get back I recomment getting lunch at Halewa Joe's. Just sit there and review your tour. If you can visit North shore or Turtle beach on your way back. The total tour is highly recommendable (without transport)

  • great crew

  • sharks all around

  • sharks within touching distance (don't!)

  • sharks all around

  • sharks all around

  • shark cage

  • Even on the boat you'll see sharks all around

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Roxanne, 2014/09/13

This was one of the most exciting experiences of my life. Its hard to put into words the beauty and grace of the sharks I saw. Knowing I was completely safe made the experience all the better. Russell my driver had some wonderful information about the island and was a joy to talk to during the drive. I have recommended this adventure to everyone I talked to. Definitely would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Awesome

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2014/06/28

I was so scared but it was amazing!! The staff was so funny and so great!! The boat ride alone was so beautiful!! It's a beautiful location!! So many sharks!! They were all around a us!! It was amazing! I highly recommend motion sickness aides if your not use to the boat rocking!! It was a tour I would visit again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: Matt Buckland , 2014/04/14

Amazing experience! Well over a dozen sharks swimming around, close to the cage. Plenty of time in the water. I would definitely recommend the video which probably adds a few minutes to your experience and is reasonably priced. The staff was personable and safety focused making for a great experience. Of all the activities we have done this trip this is the one we will do again our next time out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Without a doubt, the best thing I did all week.

Reviewed by: Rob R, 2013/09/02

When my friend asked me to do this with him, I was a bit hesitant. Not knowing what to expect, my imagination relived several scenes in "Jaws". After doing some research and coming to the realization that North Shore does this on a daily basis without people loosing limbs, I agreed. It turned out to be an absolutely phenomenal experience. We arranged for the hotel pickup and once in the van, took the 45 minute ride to the North Shore area of Oahu. Once at the marina, it's about a 20-30 minute ride out to the cage. The Captain went over all the safety instructions thoroughly and describes what types of sharks we would be seeing. His shark lecture was very informative and wasn't stumped when questions were asked. Once at the site, the cage is secured to the side of the boat and after the 8-10 passengers get in, the cage is allowed to float away about 20 feet. Observing the sharks was a thing of beauty and simply can't be described in words. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2012/11/08

Was the last thing that I did on my trip and I am glad I saved the best for last!!! It is something that you will NEVER forget!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

north shore shark adventure

Reviewed by: Janny Buruma, 2012/02/02

i had a great time with the shark adventure crew. the staff was very funny and gave lots of information! the sharks were amazing but didnt come to close to the cage when i was in there which i was hoping to see. if u are going with a large group of people u dont get to be in the water long either which i though it would be 30min but only ended up 15 min at most, but all in all great experience and i would do it again and i recommend it to anyone who visits the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories