Page 4) North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Overall Rating

4.49 4.49 / 5

Reviews

254 reviews
Post a review

Location Directions

Reviewed by: Lisa Gordon, 2012/09/08

We had a problem finding the dock where that particular boat went out. There should have been a dock # or a sign that said where it was. We waited at the wrong Shark Encounter dock because there was no sign. Otherwise, it was 5-star and highly recommended to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SHARK!!!!!!

Reviewed by: George, 2012/08/13

Didn't know what to expect, but knew what we wanted to see......SHARKS!!!!

And we saw at least 15 swimming around us. For those who didn't get in the water (like my wife), the guys running the boat did what they could to get the sharks to the top so they could see them, too. Nice that they thought not to leave those folks out of the adventure.

But the big thrill is being in the cage with all of those sharks all around you. We got terrific pictures with just the sharks and with us in the foreground and them in the back.

Great trip. We recommend it. P.S. take the early trips as the afternoons can get rough on the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Adventure!

Reviewed by: Rwillwin, 2012/07/19

The sea was angry that day, but the crazy eight crew pulled through! I have always wanted to swim with sharks and am so glad we were able to fit this in during wedding week. Despite the windy rough weather, the crew felt comfortable going forward with the adventure after deeming the conditions safe enough. They were very professional and provided great customer service and were very open in providing information. The water and cage were the most comfortable place to be on our adventure and the sharks provided a great show. The view was spectacular and we all survived. I would definitely do this again and recommend this to anyone considering this activity. Thank you Hawaiiactivities and Jessica for helping us decide on this adventure. Great job by all!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: Joe, 2012/07/04

Excellent adventure for the family! Crew was very nice and made every effort to ensure we had a good time with a focus on safety since the water was a bit rough. We saw lots of large sharks, definitely a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Dive

Reviewed by: Tok2me64, 2012/06/25

Considering this is my 2nd submission I will repeat it because it was so fun! I talked my brother into doing this activity with me so when he agreed I was excited. First of all the capt and crew were super cool!! I am a straight out Claustrophobe and was nervous about the snorkel and mask having never used them but after I gained my bearings it was awesome to see we were surrounded by one of earth's most feared predators. There really was nothing to fear but I had been secretly hoping for a Great White drive by but accepted the sharks we were surrounded by. It was phenomonal to be in their domain as spectators. Overall it was a very cool activity that I would definitely recommend to all, minus the fact that after being the first cage down the remaining time was left with me hanging my head over the railing and counting the minutes until our return to shore. What good is dramamine I ask?
Thanks again for the ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Miss

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/11

We had an amazing time!!!! The crew were friendly and fun, saw so many sharks!!! Would recommend to anyone.
The only downfall was we paid $60 for a DVD of us swimming with the sharks, however when we went to watch it, it did not work!! : ( We tried to contact the crew but have had no reply.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was great fun

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/17

Great adventure...We could see many sharks may be 40-50 or even more...
Just be careful and try NOT to eat anything before coming to this activity as there are high chances of you puking after u are done and also u might feel like relaxing the rest of the day ...so donot plan something very important on the same day...

Though very exciting...I personally felt it is little dangerous too...
Staff did assure us the safety and told us they have been doin this since 11 years and not even a single person was hurt by a shark so far....which is gud

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/11

One word...INSANE! By far one of the coolest things I have ever gotten the chance to do. Some of the sharks even sueface and you can see their fins cutting through the water like Jaws. They are very non-agressive...they know you are there but they could care less...they just want some crab. I was able to go mid-March during whale watching season and the whales gave us a great show...one actually came out of the water about 100 yards from the boat, it was absolutely breath taking. I would definitely go again and drag everyone I know! Thank you North Shore Shark Encounters for an unforgettable experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Experience E-V-E-R

Reviewed by: Josh G, 2012/03/23

Booked this activity about 2 weeks before I left for Oahu. Pure excitement before launch. It was a quick ride out to the location, easy intrusctions and pure fun and amazement being able to see sharks in the natural habitit. They seemed to be flying effortlessly through the water around the cage and the boat and showed no aggression towards us, only curiousity. Such a great experience and wish I could of done it each day for the rest of my vacation. i highly recommend this for EVERYBODY.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

north shore shark adventure

Reviewed by: Janny Buruma, 2012/02/02

i had a great time with the shark adventure crew. the staff was very funny and gave lots of information! the sharks were amazing but didnt come to close to the cage when i was in there which i was hoping to see. if u are going with a large group of people u dont get to be in the water long either which i though it would be 30min but only ended up 15 min at most, but all in all great experience and i would do it again and i recommend it to anyone who visits the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent, excellent!!

Reviewed by: Cy Talbot, England, 2011/11/03

This trip is worth every penny if you haven't experienced something like this before, or even for another visit. They said we were guarranteed seeing some sharks and they didn't disappoint. On my trip we saw about 15 - 20 circling the cage.

Shuttle bus picked me up from the hotel on time and we were taken to the harbour in the north. Boat ride out to the cage was about 3 miles (20 mins or so) and then the passengers were split into 3 groups of 8, each group having 20 mins in the water surrounded by 10ft sharks. Great!! No need to be nervous, you're totally safe in the cage.

The staff were friendly and ready to answer questions.

Would recommend one of the earlier trips, i went for the 9am one.

One final tip, take at least two underwater cameras as the shots are amazing!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark week every week

Reviewed by: Maj Juul, 2011/07/13

Having seen too much "Shark Attack" and "Shark Week" on Animal Planet and Discovery Channel, I wasn't too happy with my decision to do this activity. Though when I went in the cage, I wasn't scared at all, but fascinated by the beautiful creatures that sorrounded us. Just a tip; bring motion sickness pills. P.s. I'm not scared of sharks anymore.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Last Day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Tim From Kansas, 2011/05/30

The worst thing about the trip was I had to go home. I did the 7 am tour and the staff was great. The boat was nice and clean everything was way above board. I bought the video and I watched as soon as I got back home on the mainland and I still cant believe the beautiful sharks and how many of them were in the waters it was not what I expected but thankful. If you are reading my post you better do this.. One of the best tours I went on while I was in Hawaii...My last comment I cant wait to do it again someday..

With my deepest Mahalo to the Famous North Shore Shark Adventure

Tim from Kansas

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Dive

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/02/06

Awesome experience! Nothing like it. Plenty of parking and in an awesome area, Haleiwa. The ride out to the cage was not long, before a short safety brief. Once in the cage, it's a unique feeling to know one of the oceans apex predetors are swimming around you. They get pretty close, and is well worth price of the tour. A definite must do if visiting the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Tour

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2010/11/21

i highly reccomend this to anyone! This was our first time doing any type of interaction with sharks, and it was one of the coolest things i have done. It is truly amazing to see sharks in their natural habitat and so close to you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You'd be Insane NOT to do it!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Alvarez, 2010/10/16

The Hi-light of our trip. The crew was AWESOME. They were very informative as well as entertaining. Even though we were in the ocean with a lot of sharks we still felt completely safe. This is the closest you can come face to face with nature w/o fearing for your life (well, almost - it is a little scary at first). The sharks are amazing animals. Can't put into words what its like to look a shark in the eye. You have to see it for yourself. We were in the cage for about 20-30 minutes, but it seemed like an hour and there was plenty of room. If you tend to get sea sick just take a pill and do it anyway. You won't regret it. Definately get the DVD, its about $65 and worth every penny. I'm pretty cheap myself, but knew I couldn't pass the DVD up. Totally worth it. Just DO IT and don't forget your underwater cameras.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

3 in more and I could kiss a shark

Reviewed by: Hoang nguyen, 2010/08/30

Sharks were amazing, staff was amazing, the whole adventure was worth it. Sharks are right in front of your face and I even had a stare down with a shark. He was lucky I needed air our I would've punched him in the gill. Will do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swimmin with the fishes...

Reviewed by: Hawaii 2010, 2010/08/28

We headed out to the shark cage at 7:30 am and sadly no sharks. The crew was as disappointed as we were and let us know that if we didn't have a shark experience they would reschedule us or refund our money. Lucky for us there was a cancellation on a boat later that morning - so we headed out again - and we were not disappointed. 5 - 6 sharks circled the cage the entire time we were on the water. Nothing like looking a shark in the eye! Fabulous time and would recommend it to anyone wanting to have an up close and personal experience with a shark(s).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excelent and Awesome

Reviewed by: Generalmx, 2010/08/20

That really was great, so many sharks swimming around you.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome...

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/08/10

It was a very enjoyable experience for me. Wouldn't have done it anywhere else and their expertise has really given me confidence and comfort about the whole experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

just wanted to see some sharks..

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/07/31

and i did! it was great, met my expectations and more. the crew was great and made sure i came back in one piece! i would definitely do this again

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Montreal couple, 2010/07/21

This was the most fun we had on Oahu. Captain Dave and Crewman Chris are very professional, knowledgeable and entertaining. We felt safe in their capable hands...which was especially important, given the fact that this is an incredibly thrilling activity! Sooooo scary....being in the water, surrounded by numerous sharks of varying size (basically bigger than you, and much faster too!) certainly makes the adrenaline pump!

We bought the DVD of our experience, and we appreciate the fact that it is your choice to have your experience taped or not, and is therefore more personal and not 'pushed' at you for purchase. Just got home last night, and immediately watched it!

We recommend this activity to all but the faint of heart!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommended

Reviewed by: Honeymooners, 2010/06/25

What an outstanding adventure! My wife and I had a great time. Captain JR and Chris created one of the best overall experiences we had in Hawai'i. They were funny, and knowledgeable about what we saw off the North Shore. Compared to other trips we took around O'ahu, they were the most reasonably priced as well. We're glad we bought the DVD to show how many sharks we saw, and the pictures impressed all our family... Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks Galore!

Reviewed by: Matt, 2010/06/05

Myself and a close friend were visiting Oahu for 5 days, and she decided that we should take the time to go 'swimming with sharks.'

Now, keep in mind that I have a tremendous fear of drowning and also am not too keen on the idea of swimming with sharks, but I was convinced to 'live a little,' and I signed us up for the North Shore Shark Adventure- and I am SO GLAD that I did.

The staff were EXTREMELY helpful, witty, and sarcastic in the right places. They put everyone's fears to rest at the beginning of the tour, and were extremely knowledgeable about everything regarding the tour and more. (Who knew that specific sharks will just bump you with their noses and then leave you alone because they have taste buds on the outside of their bodies?)

For our tour, the wind was really picking up and the seas were a bit choppy, so there was a little bit more salt water swallowed than I care for and 1/2 our party got seasick..* (they recommend buying dramamine at the beginning of the to

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: Plano, TX, 2010/06/02

What a great excursion! The most challenging part of the experience is getting in and out of the boat -- which really is not that hard. It is so great to see sharks up close. I highly recommend this adventure. My boyfriend was freaked out that I had booked this excursion...and now all he does is brag about it. He has no regrets and both of us would do it again in a heart beat. Don't miss out on this treat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Encounter

Reviewed by: John, 2010/05/08

This was an outstanding activity that we will talk about for years to come. What an experience. I would do it again. The staff was outstanding to the details.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exhilarating!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/06

Definitely a must do when visiting Oahu! It is a once in a lifetime experience! Definitely buy the DVD that is offered so you can enjoy the adventure without having to worry about taking pictures! There were a lot of swells the day we went out & even though I normally never get seasick, I was slightly nauseous by the end of the ride. There were a lot of sharks that day & the boat crew really made the experience worth while! GO DO IT!! You will not regret it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: Pat Weil, 2009/12/13

This was an amazing experience. The whole family enjoyed it so much, we can't wait to do it again next year.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Marina, 2009/10/31

The crew was great and we had a good amount of time to view the sharks (usually I think these activities end too quickly, but I was very happy here). Unfortunately, when I went the waves were really strong and I got bruised and sea sick being tossed around, but I think if the weather was more calm, it would've been really amazing. I would definitely do it again. I do, however, wish that the cage was larger or that they would let no more than 2 people in at a time because there's not that much space to maneuver, and if there are waves you're always running into the other people. The sharks are very graceful and beautiful and do come rather close so that you can get some great visuals, but for those that are afraid, they never come close enough for one to feel unsafe. In fact, they don't seem particularly interested in the people as much as they are in just swimming around. I didn't purchase a video, but I think I would next time, just because it was very difficult to get good pictures w

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Cool

Reviewed by: Phoenix Mom, 2009/08/26

Don't chicken out! It is worth it! The crew was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories