Page 3) North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Overall Rating

4.49 4.49 / 5

Reviews

254 reviews
Post a review

Excellent Time

Reviewed by: Ross, 2014/07/28

The crew was very cool and helpful, they seemed quite knowledgeable and very helpful and conscientious of people's needs. It felt like Shark Week for real!!! We would recommend this activity for anyone looking for fun and something awesome to remember for years to come.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2014/07/26

Incredible experience, there were up to 10 sharks at some points, coming up close to the cage. It was very safe and secure at all times.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Adventure

Reviewed by: Kevin D, 2014/07/03

My girlfriend and I decided to do this as a spur of the moment adventure and it was well worth it. The crew was very friendly and knowledgeable about the sharks we would be seeing. The boat fit 16 people so we were split into two groups of 8 that took turns going into the cage. The cage was large and was able to fit 8 people comfortably. The instant I went underwater there were three sharks just swimming right by the cage. We ended up seeing about 6-8 different sharks and it was a surreal experience. I would highly recommend this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Awesome

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2014/06/28

I was so scared but it was amazing!! The staff was so funny and so great!! The boat ride alone was so beautiful!! It's a beautiful location!! So many sharks!! They were all around a us!! It was amazing! I highly recommend motion sickness aides if your not use to the boat rocking!! It was a tour I would visit again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Cage Diving!

Reviewed by: Steve, 2014/04/26

Amazing experience to see such beautiful creatures up close! Highly recommend to everyone!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a rush!

Reviewed by: Amanda and John, 2014/04/25

This was an incredible activity. There were quite a few sharks and we were right there with them. It was crazy. We even saw a whale on our way out to the cage. While we were in the cage we could hear the whale singing. It was an awesome activity. The crew was very nice and helpful. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: Matt Buckland , 2014/04/14

Amazing experience! Well over a dozen sharks swimming around, close to the cage. Plenty of time in the water. I would definitely recommend the video which probably adds a few minutes to your experience and is reasonably priced. The staff was personable and safety focused making for a great experience. Of all the activities we have done this trip this is the one we will do again our next time out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Jill, 2014/04/09

This was probably the best experience in my life. So awesome and a must do if you're in Oahu! I'm definitely doing it again and bringing more friends! The sharks come so close and if you get lucky like us, you'll see some whales! Definitely do it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Jenn, 2014/04/07

I went on this with my boyfriend and we had lots of fun! Def was not scary but very neat to see the sharks from a different perspective.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome North Shore Shark Aventures!

Reviewed by: Joe & Karen, 2014/03/23

Thanks so much to North Shore Shark Adventures! We had such a great time and the sharks we saw were countless! Even saw a barracuda who lingered around the cage. Captain Tanja and the crew were fantastic. They were knowledgeable,friendly,and funny. We brought home a video of our adventure and are so glad that we did! We would do this again in a minute! (This coming from someone who is afraid of everything = Karen!) I would recommend this adventure to anyone visiting the island. See you next time NSSA!

Joe & Karen, Coquitlam, BC Canada

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

Reviewed by: Bryan, 2014/03/09

If there is ANYTHING you ever do in your life....DO THIS....ABSOLUTELY AMAZING LIFETIME EXPERIENCE....UNFORGETTABLE

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark tank

Reviewed by: Robyn, 2013/12/07

The shark tank was a blast! The crew was fun, professional, lots of energy, they made the experience worthwhile. They made us a video, totally worth the extra $, explained everything extremely well. I was a little unsure as we entered the cage but once we got in and saw all the sharks no fear, just fun. We saw many sharks, they were curious swimming around the cage, they didn't try to ram it or anything crazy. Just a great morning swimming with the sharks! This is a must!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks sharks and more sharks

Reviewed by: Steve M, 2013/10/19

If you want to see sharks up close, this is the place to be. Up on the North shore, wich in my opinion is the nicest part of the island. My brother and I had a great time. I still can't believe how big the sharks were. Crew was great !

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks experience

Reviewed by: frank, 2013/10/09

it was a greats experience. At a certain point you have to realize that you have real sharks around you. This is something that I will definitely try again at my next visit in the area? be aware that the sea is not all the time calm and waves can bring you a different experience... Gravel could be mandatory
A must to do... Great

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Without a doubt, the best thing I did all week.

Reviewed by: Rob R, 2013/09/02

When my friend asked me to do this with him, I was a bit hesitant. Not knowing what to expect, my imagination relived several scenes in "Jaws". After doing some research and coming to the realization that North Shore does this on a daily basis without people loosing limbs, I agreed. It turned out to be an absolutely phenomenal experience. We arranged for the hotel pickup and once in the van, took the 45 minute ride to the North Shore area of Oahu. Once at the marina, it's about a 20-30 minute ride out to the cage. The Captain went over all the safety instructions thoroughly and describes what types of sharks we would be seeing. His shark lecture was very informative and wasn't stumped when questions were asked. Once at the site, the cage is secured to the side of the boat and after the 8-10 passengers get in, the cage is allowed to float away about 20 feet. Observing the sharks was a thing of beauty and simply can't be described in words. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I recommend this experience

Reviewed by: Adventurer, 2013/08/24

I strongly recommend this experience! The crew were helpful, down to earth and nice which made the experience even better. I recommend purchasing the video of yourself under water with the sharks - it will be a lifelong memory.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Load up on Dramamine and take the morning trip

Reviewed by: KellyB, 2013/08/11

This would have been an awesome trip if it hadn't been ruined by motion sickness. And I wasn't the only one affected, there were 6 other people hanging their heads over the side of the boat with me. This excursion is definately a do-over only next time I'll take the morning trip and start loading up on dramamine the night before. I want to mention, though, that the captain and crew were very nice and knowledgeable of sharks and shark conservation and I will go with this company again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better last time

Reviewed by: Karmine, 2013/08/06

I went on this 3 yrs ago and it was much more fun. They no longer feed the sharks and they stuffed the tank with too many people. Last time it was 4 ppl inside cage this time they put 8 ppl in it!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Karmine, We apologize that we didn't exceed your expectations this time, We will strive to do better on the next. We upgraded our cage less than a year ago and it is now about 65% bigger than it was back 3 years ago. Being the shark tour with the biggest cage, we currently average 5 - 8 people maximum at any given time. We have upgraded our boats within the past 2 years since 3 of our boats were burned back in 2011. We hope to better service you on your next trip out here. Thank you once again for choosing North Shore Shark Adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Adventrue

Reviewed by: Ken and Family, 2013/07/26

This trip was great!!!! We saw many large sharks. Water was pretty rough, a little hard getting out of cage. We ranged in age from 13 to 50 and everyone enjoyed it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

shark adventure

Reviewed by: amanda, 2013/07/16

This was a great experience! There were sharks all over the place, defiantly wasn't disappointed. The only bad part about it was all the people that got sick, & especially the one that got sick while in the cage. Everything else was awesome. I would recommend it to anyone going to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great beyond my expectation

Reviewed by: DemoskiJ, 2013/07/10

Great beyond my expectation. Wondeful experience would do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!!!!

Reviewed by: Chris S and family, 2013/07/08

My teenage daughter really wanted this experience, my wife not so keen. It was well worth it, about 20 large sharks swimming around you whilst you are safe in the cage. Even my wife thought so. It was a good experience, the crew were good and organised.
The slow rolling sea can affect some :-)

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Chris S and Ohana,

We are glad that you folks enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you folks on your next Hawaiian Vacation. Aloha

Robert
Shark Rez

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My review

Reviewed by: Canadiantraveller, 2013/07/02

Had ourselves a good time. Got sea sick on the boat ride though. Recommend you bring some gravol. A good activity to do while you are in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Famous North Shore Shark encounter

Reviewed by: Sergio Delgadillo, 2013/06/30

This was amazing event!!!! It was a safe trip, and it was awesome seeing the sharks swimming very close. I'm looking forward to doing it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

swimming with Sharks. fun!!!!!

Reviewed by: Bigrbull, 2013/05/30

We had a great time! Everyone saw 3-4 8 to 10 foot sharks! Would sure do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Cage Experience!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/11

Was such a cool day!!

Really glad we did this, was just amazing!! Recomend to all!!

Got a wee bit sea sick, so do recomend that people that suffer from sea sick to take some pills the night/morning before doing it, but it was well worth feeling a little sick as it was such a awesome experience!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swim with the sharks

Reviewed by: Vicky Judd, 2012/11/09

this was my 2nd time and it was different than the 1st, i love it and will do it again when i come back to Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2012/11/08

Was the last thing that I did on my trip and I am glad I saved the best for last!!! It is something that you will NEVER forget!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

play theme from jaws!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/30

Totally worth every cent! 8 to 12 foot sharks by the bushel basket! Came right up to the cage....cage was a nice feature! My favorite part of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HIGHLIGHT OF MY TRIP

Reviewed by: TCheesman, 2012/09/11

When I first started planning my Hawaii trip, this was the NUMBER 1 adventure I wanted to do. How often do you get to say... 'yeah, I swam with sharks'. Now amount of words can describe how amazing, thrill seeking, over the top this adventure was...but I'm going to try. I first want to commend the staff of Hawaii Activities. For the first time in 11 years, the boat broke down the day i was suppose to go. Just my luck But the staff worked their magic and reschedule me and I was able to full-fill the highlight of my trip. It was SOOO unbelievably easy too because they make all the accommodations for you. Once at the boat site, you jump on and set off. I would recommend the earliest time available. The earlier, the smoother the waves FYI. So once out there, you are just in awe. There are sharks. AND you are about to get in a cage surrounded by them! I was so scared but this is something I knew I had to do. So i sucked it up and the moment you put your head under the water.... you are stun

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories