North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Overall Rating

4.48 4.48 / 5

Reviews

269 reviews
Post a review

Exciting Shark Adventures

Reviewed by: Gavin, 2021/10/17

It was truly awe inspiring to see these amazing animals in the wild. The crew was informative and helpful. The waters were choppier than normal, so there was some sea sickness, but that wouldn’t stop me from doing it again. Completely loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Amber, 2021/10/11

Over all an awesome time!! Mattie and staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely felt like you got to spend a good amount of time in the cage and see many big beautiful sharks!! 100% would love to experience this again! 10/10

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Tiffany W. , 2021/07/15

Both my husband and I really enjoyed this experience. It was a little rough in the beginning getting used to the waves and the cage up against the boat but once they release you a little it gets a lot easier. There were plenty of sharks and some other animals to check out while inside the cage. Definitely glad we did this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top Highlights of Oahu

Reviewed by: Clara C., 2021/07/06

Reposted from Yelp:

*COVID Update*

This was one of the top highlights of my group's trip to Oahu. All of us had never been in a shark cage before, let alone see a 12-foot shark in the same water!! I recommend going with North Shore Shark Adventures because the guys are so friendly. Bring cash for tip!

I made online reservations through VELTRA. The time and date I chose online was apparently not available, but they notified me promptly after I booked. They were able to offer another time that worked for my group. I recommend booking for early morning tours because the water is more calm. Sea sickness is not fun, and one person in my group had a terrible experience with it. I felt bad for him.

Our boat had 14 people plus the captain and a deck hand guy. They split the 14 people into 2 groups to go in the shark cage. The shark cage fit my group of 8. We had our snorkel gear, GoPro, and underwater phone cases ready! I recommend bringing towels because it gets cold on the boat ride back to shore. I felt like we were in the cage for a while. It was plenty of time to get to the bottom of the cage, take videos, and see the sharks.

Logistics: meet at Haleiwa Harbor. Parking is free by the restroom. I didn't see any showers there, and there's also no doors in the restroom stalls. Wear shoes that are easy to remove. You won't be wearing them on the boat. I didn't have to bring my reservation or show anyone anything; just told them the name on our reservation.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience!!

Reviewed by: Rachel Price, 2021/06/03

My husband and I took our 3 small children on this adventure!! It was awesome!! The guides were very personable and lots of fun! We had the best time!! The sharks were so close and just beautiful! We will definitely be doing this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love it!

Reviewed by: The Letners , 2021/04/23

We had an amazing honeymoon would definitely do it again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10 out of 10!!

Reviewed by: Erika , 2021/04/16

We had such a great time on this tour! The crew was fantastic and so friendly! The water did get a little choppy, but it just added to the overall experience. We saw so many sharks and learned a lot. I would recommend this tour to anyone!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure

Reviewed by: Neanne, 2021/04/05

My boyfriend and I had a great time. Our shark tour guides were very nice and informative. We say dolphins on our way to the cave and they stopped the boat, so we could admire the dolphins.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark adventure

Reviewed by: DJ Smart, 2021/03/25

It was amazing! Matty was the best! I saw a rainbow, a whale and sharks! They even had great jokes and gave knowledges about the ocean and sharks!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time with Sharks

Reviewed by: Ricardo B, 2021/01/05

It was really great, nice view of the sharks, enough time, just enough people in the cage, perfect, I will just suggest that the guides are a little more excited about the tour itself, maybe they were not excited because it was 1 p.m.

  • close view with my gopro

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Tyler O, 2020/02/18

Has the time of my life, it was a once in a lifetime experience. If I ever had the chance to do it again I wouldn’t hesitate. Guides were great and the shark experience even better. Oh yeah and we saw whales!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best excursion we did on Oahu!

Reviewed by: Rachel Clarke, 2019/12/01

We had such a wonderful time and this was such a unique experience. It was actually very windy on the day we went so we got jostled around a lot but it did not affect how much fun we had. This is one of the coolest experiences we’ve ever had as a family. We would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Abigail, 2019/04/08

It was an awesome experience! Seeing the sharks so close was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best birthday gift ever!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/10/08

I love the ocean and swim with sharks in Hawaii was on my bucket list. To celebrate my 78th birthday, my daughter decided to take me on this amazing shark cage diving tour. What a great experience! We saw a lot of different species of sharks, they are amazing animals. The crew was really nice and made us feel safe during the entire process. Thank you HawaiiActivities.com for helping me during our booking process. This was the best birthday gift I could ask for!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely worth it!!

Reviewed by: werduffy, 2018/07/24

Great activity when visiting Hawaii!

Crew was great and the pics were amazing!!

Book the early times for the best viewing and less chance of weather cancellation

Recommend taking Dramamine for the trip even if you have an iron stomach

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark of a good time!

Reviewed by: Bossman, 2018/06/01

Captain Dave and deck hands Dave and Martin were fantastic. We had young and old on the trip and everyone had a good time - except maybe the ones who got seasick - it was a little rough on the day of our trip according to Martin. The time in the cage was worth the cost and each person had plenty of time in the cage to see the sharks. You have to have some strength in your arms to hold onto the cage and keep your body in position to see the sharks. Not sure if the rough conditions added to that or not. Once in a life time experience, so if you are unsure about doing it - do it for sure! The ocean water was an amazing deep blue that was a surprise to me, it was awesome!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best day ever

Reviewed by: Rebecca Rogers , 2018/05/04

Had the best time there was a little to many people in the cage at one time but it was still the most amazing thing I ever got to experenice!I would defefenitly recommend this dive!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Rebecca! It's so great to hear you had an amazing experience! Many thanks for the recommendation, we hope to see you again for another Shark dive!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks

Reviewed by: Derek, 2018/04/26

Staff was great. Sharks came close but not too close which was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!

Reviewed by: Kat, 2018/03/31

This was on my bucket list, and definitely worth the wait!!! If I ever get back to North Shore, I will definitely be doing this again!! The crew was awesome!! So friendly, and willing to help whether someone needed help or had a question. Mahalo!

Reply from activity provider

We are delighted you enjoyed your tour! Thank you very much for your awesome review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark dive

Reviewed by: Gina, 2018/01/05

What a fantastic experience! One of the best excursions we have ever done in Hawaii. The whole family had a great time. We have two boys , age 6 and 9, and the loved the experience too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome!!!! The best experience ever!

Reviewed by: Estefania & Salva, 2018/01/01

We enjoyed a lot the experience! It was super cool! We saw a lot of sharks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark cage dive

Reviewed by: TQu, 2017/10/13

A lot of fun and easy to do! Crew was helpful and professional and funny! It would be nice to have fewer people on the tour so you can see more in the shark cage! Did see several sharks!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So glad we did this!!

Reviewed by: Patsy in Texas, 2017/09/22

Oh my goodness, this was so much fun!! Dave & Dave, our captains were really fun. They were knowledgeable and taught us some interesting stuff about the sharks. When we got to the cage, the sharks started swarming around the boat. It was so exciting. Then we climbed in the cage and had the most amazing experience with the sharks. My boyfriend was hesitant when I told him I wanted to do this, but after it was over he was so glad we did. So am I! Highly recommend a underwater camera/video. Thank you so much North Shore Shark Adventure for something we will never forget and get to brag about to all our friends! Aloha & Mahalo!

  • Sharks swimming around the boat as soon as we got to the cage

  • My and my guy on the boat on the way out there

  • Taken from in the cage

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Sawyer, 2017/09/22

This trip to go cage diving with the sharks was incredible and unforgettable! To start off the bat, the crew Matt and Tanya were very nice, and knowledgeable. They are quick to ease anyones fear of being in harm or of risking the sharks being harmed in any way. Matt is full of jokes, almost like we got our own stand up before the main event! It was I believe 20 minutes of being in the water, more than enough time to watch the galapagos sharks swim by so elegantly. Once you get in the cage, you just seem to forget everything else, being surrounded by sharks close enough to see their pupils as they pass. Ultimately the sharks are rather disinterested in you, and more interested in the boat hoping for them to drop some crabs in the water thinking it's a fishing vessel. If you are on vacation, I would highly recommend this adventure, especially if you have a love for sharks like I do!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Triple A's... Adventure, adrenaline, and amusing.

Reviewed by: Creavone and Tonya, 2017/09/21

First time in Hawaii and wanted to make sure we had a fun and exciting time. Once I saw this shark cage activity, I knew we had to try it since we are so outgoing. North shore have the best crew members who know what they are doing. They make you feel calm and secure. It was such a great experience being in the cage and seeing the sharks swim around up close. We were able to get amazing photos with our go-pro and a lifetime of memories. Plus bragging rights of swimming with sharks. Highly recommended if you love water and sharks!

  • Sharks galore

  • Great angle

  • Being fearless

  • More sharks

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the great review!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

we had a great time

Reviewed by: Valeriy, 2017/09/08

in a nutshell. my granddaughter describe this family adventure as: "I was sleepy this early morning, but I was so excited afterwords to see the sharks in the ocean". The service was nice, very comfortable boat ride and well organized team. we watched the sharks for 20 minutes and it was like 20 minutes exploring the other world, the world of ocean and beautiful ocean creatures - sharks. so excited, so much fun. it definitely worth the money we spent. thank you the for some complementary souvenirs, my granddaughter liked the stickers )) we would recommend this activity and experience for families with children, and others. thank you, Valeriy, Russia.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous Galapagos sharks

Reviewed by: Alexey, 2017/09/06

I'm more than excited to write this review. Thanks for a good time this morning. I'd recommend this adventure for anyone who loves the ocean and these fantastic creatures. Sharks were friendly and gorgeous. The crew was knowledgeable and professional. This is definitely five stars experience with lots of fun. We enjoyed the morning on a comfortable boat, with an excellent crew and Sharks! I have done similar activities before, and I can tell that you did a good job guys. I can't image the better way to meet the sharks. Thank you guys! Save the sharks and ocean. Aloha! #northshoresharkadventures, @NorthShoreSharkAdventures

  • They are very curious about what is going on in the cage

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!!

Reviewed by: Emese, 2017/08/17

Highly recommend it to any age saw 3-4 sharks probably 10-12 ft each. They are amazing creatures! Mac and Max were very helpful and funny!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Staff

Reviewed by: Rennee Rapert, 2017/07/12

This experience was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made the entire experience enjoyable and fun.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark swim 2017

Reviewed by: Henry, 2017/06/05

Had a great time swimming with the sharks even though it was in a cage. It was a little windy and the waves were rocking the boat so make sure you can take the rough waters. One got really sick from the motion but only one. It was really fun and well worth it. These sharks were very docile but swam by gracefully for some really good picture taking. I nor anyone on the boat ever felt unsafe swimming with the sharks. So much fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories