This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail, Honolulu City Lights & Fireworks on Fridays

For a totally different view of the sunset this cruise is one to experience! Great vibes on the ride! Smooth sailing!!!!!!!!!! I think everyone had the aloha vibe and we all had a great time chatting with each other about beautiful Oahu!

Reviewed by: KCSN, 2018/07/11

We had a great time. It was definitely a perfect opportunity to get away from it all. With that said it’s worth the cost! The dock was easy to find. They are the first booth as you enter the lot. Check in was easy at 1700 and sailed promptly at 530 pm. It was nice to unwind with a friendly crowd from all walks of life while “chasing” the sunset. The crew were super chill and attentive. The food was okay. That night they had tofu rolls, egg rolls, white rice, glazed chicken, and ginger beef with veggies buffet style/self serve. Then had chocolate chip cookie after served by crew member. The bar was rolling so I take it everyone was enjoying their drinks. The package came with one drink, it can be used towards juice or soft drink or with spirits. The part I enjoyed the most was having the moment to sit back, relaxing and enjoying the “waves”. But for the most part, I did enjoy socializing with other people on the cruise. That night was filled only with good vibes. We did the cruise on mid part of our stay here in Oahu and it couldn’t have been more perfect. We were busy running around “chasing” for the best of the best and the 2+ hr sail finally gave me the chance to “breathe” if you will. We had plenty’s of time to take pictures and a crew member was more than happy to assist as well. He gave us the heads up as far as what to expect and he was right on. No surprises on board! Just how I like it! You can sit in the enclosed area which I do not recommend if you get sea sick or you can stay standing, do your Kate and Leo’s pose, sit and relax by the nets. Ladies it does get windy so unless you also want to be Marilyn Monroe, wear shorts or pants! There’s a parking lot directly by the dock for $1/hr. It was a smooth sail (take it from me..I am one to guaranteed to get nauseous just from standing on the beach). There were no children on board. I didn’t travel with my children this time so I am not sure if that is stated on the description site..


  • Ahhh

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Carla M. LeMaster , 2018/06/23

It was my first time going on a dinner cruise and it was everything i hoped it would be. The weather was nice and the view was beautiful. I was with my family that came to visit and they enjoyed it too. The food and customer service was good. I would bring back my family and friends here again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thrilling and gorgeous views of Waikiki

Reviewed by: Sheena De Laza, 2018/06/22

I particularly enjoyed the unique views of Waikiki that we got on the catamaran. The breeze was nice and the beautiful sunset made it all the more special. I would love to do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Jovy, 2018/06/22

The dinner cruise was fun and a very enjoyable one. Our relatives from Philippines whom we treated with the cruise were really surprised and they’re so grateful. It was perfect and worthy experience for all of us.

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves! We look forward to having you aboard again in the future! Mahalo! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ride a beautiful new catamaran into the Hawaiian sunset

Reviewed by: Ben W., 2018/05/27

We really enjoyed the Makani Dinner Sail. Booking was easy through the website and the pick-up instructions were clear. When we arrived at the Illikai at the appointed time, the shuttle driver greeted us by name and we were off!

On board, the crew was super-friendly and low-key, not uptight or scoldy at all, which is always nice when you're out on an adult dinner cruise. And I was really happy that once we got out into open water, the captain shut off the engines and proceeded under sail. Much nicer ambiance without the diesels droning. Drinks were perfectly fine. My only critique would be food quality. The buffet they rolled out was perfectly fine for a boomer reunion picnic but as a picky millennial, I would happily pay a little extra per ticket for a level-up on the dinner spread. Maybe audition a few new caterers? Just didn't think it was at the same standard as everything else. Overall though, a really lovely break from Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The End of Hawaii Holiday

Reviewed by: Kelly and Brent, 2018/05/12

Great Crew, very good food, meet a lot of nice people. Enjoyed the beautiful sunset and fireworks!! Definitely a must do while in Waikiki. Was the best way to end our Hawaii holiday!!


  • Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must-Do!!!

Reviewed by: Quaston , 2018/04/30

Absolutely amazing! First time Hawaii visitor and this sunset dinner sail was by far my favorite activity. The crew members on the ship were very friendly, food was great, and the killer sunset was to die for. Highly impressed! If you like good food, music, and nice people, book this sunset dinner sail! Overall experience is a 10/10.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time with great views

Reviewed by: Zoe, 2018/04/30

This was a really fun outing and I highly recommend. You get a good few hours on a spacious catamaran. The staff were all friendly, helpful and funny. Food was delicious and buffet style with vegetarian options which was a plus. Included in the price is pick up and drop off which helped us immensely.

The views did not disappoint

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time on catamaran!

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2018/04/29

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful time on this catamaran, with some good food sitting down on nets while sailing through the Waikiki waterfront. We didn't even go on Friday which includes the fireworks and still think it was more than worth it. Will definitely do it again if I am back in Hawaii in the future.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Eduardo
We are so happy you both enjoyed yourselves. It is our goal to give everyone a memorable experience and it looks like we succeeded. We look forward to having you aboard Makani the next time you are in Hawaii!
Best Regards, MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was great and relaxing cruise

Reviewed by: Jennielynn, 2018/03/22

The cruise was great and relaxing! The crew was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed how the trip brought us to see a scenic view of the island. Food was ok. Drinks were better! Would have been better on a less cloudy day but really no complaints.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your Sail Makani experience with us. So glad to hear you got to relax and enjoy the beautiful Hawaiian Sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Dinner Cruise exceeded our expectations!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2018/03/15

We originally tried to book the Star Line dinner cruise, but it was booked up. I'm glad we decided to book the Makani dinner cruise. It exceeded all of our expectations! The boat wasn't very big, but was able to accommodate up to 65 people.
The crew were very welcoming and willing to help with anything we needed during our ride. They really made the whole experience a lot more personable than we would have gotten if we booked the Star Cruise.
The food was a small buffet style selection. It was all you can eat, and was excellent! They don't have an open bar, but there's one free drink included in your purchase. The bartender Chris was a real cool guy. Probably the most popular guy on the boat. I can't seem to put my finger on why lol.
To cap the night off the fireworks over the water were amazing! To see Waikiki lit up and glaring with fireworks was the highlight for me. I would definitely recommend wearing a light jacket, possibly even some pants. It gets extremely windy during the ride!
If you're considering doing the dinner cruise you can't go wrong with the Makani!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your Sail Makani experience. So glad to hear you decided to sail with us. Looking forward to sailing with you once again.
Sending much Aloha!
Makani & Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Activity

Reviewed by: Kenji, 2018/01/04

I feel like overall this was a good experience. The original booking was cancelled due to weather, but they were great about rescheduling (or cancelling altogether if we wanted) since it was weather. We went with another couple and were glad that we did. However, we did this more as a surprise and didn't have as much info as we should have (like someone not being great on boats). Despite that it was a fun experience. Like many things, it is what you make of it. The food was fine and the drinks were apparently good (I can only speak for the ones I tried but I enjoyed them). Once you get out on the water you kind of have to make your own activities since you are on a boat and that's the whole point of the experience.

If you want to have an enjoyable time on a boat, its a great experience, but if you come hoping to be entertained or something then you will be disappointed. For the price its not terrible (with the rebate). Going with a positive mindset makes for a good time. Good company also helps.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing, Chill, Perfect!

Reviewed by: Kiennan, 2018/01/04

A friend and I both took our ladies on a surprise sunset cruise with Makani Catamaran and it was fantastic. It was definitely one of those experiences that was so much fun time flew right by.

The great thing about this catamaran cruise is that you launch out of Kewalo Basin on a slip, not off of a beach like some Waikiki cruises. This means that if you want you can really dress however you like- shoes, jeans, dresses.

Once you get on the boat, you're introduced to the crew and they go through the obligatory house-keeping topics: Crew introductions, location of bathrooms, safety items, where you can go on the boat, etc. Then they go over how food and drinks work.

Food for us was a buffet of five items: Veggie/tofu wraps, rice, potatoes, shoyu(soy sauce) and ginger chicken- which was the best in my opinion, and beef stir fry. Each item had one tray's worth of food, which was easily enough to satisfy everyone on board, although I don't believe there were any left overs. I've read reviews stating the food was a little nicer than Panda's Express, and that seems like a very fair statement.

The cruise came with one free drink. On the boat non-alcoholic drinks are $2 and alcoholic drinks are $6, and the more alcoholic ones like Long Island Iced Teas are $8. You can buy a commemorative cup for $8 which holds about twice as much as the disposable cups you would get otherwise. Our bartender made good recommendations based on what flavors I told him we were looking for.

The best part is just being out at sea with the people you're with. Aside from the crew instructions at the beginning, it's very hands-off. You just wander around the ship enjoying your company and great views. Although it can get a little windy, it's quiet enough that you can converse at a normal volume easily. If you get cold you can spend a few minutes on the inside of the boat to warm up a bit.

If this is within your budget, I highly recommend it. It's simple, clean, and fun.





  • Picture of the commemorative cup. Quarter at bottom for size reference.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise!!

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2018/01/03

The Capt and crew made the experience so much fun! The water, the weather, the skyline- the drinks! Highly recommended the specialty of the boat. Again - can’t say enough about the crew - very personable and engaging!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: AC , 2017/11/08

We had to reschedule due to President Trump's visit to Oahu and disruption of island traffic. They were very accommodating and pleasant in assisting us. We may have missed the fire works but the views were awesome, the music pleasant, and the dinner varied/good! Mahalo to the Capt and crew!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We will pass on your comments to our crew. Mahalo! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful ride!

Reviewed by: Victor, 2017/10/14

Great captian and crew. Free pick-up and return from Waikiki, didn't have to be concerned about drinking too much. Fun evening and great fireworks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing evening

Reviewed by: Sande, 2017/09/25

We took the cruise for my daughter's birthday and she said it was her best birthday ever. The music set the mood for a really fun night. The drinks were great and definitely not watered down! The food was really good and plenty of it! It was the most beautiful sunset I've ever seen. The staff was super friendly and fun. The fireworks at the end of the night was a perfect way to end an amazing evening. I wouldn't think twice about booking this again on our next visit to Hawaii, it was the highlight of our trip! Thank you!


  • Amazing evening on the cruise!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing cruise, dinner and sunset!

Reviewed by: Garrett, 2017/09/22

We had a wonderful time out on the Makani Catermeran this week. The crew was very friendly, funny and accomodating. The boat ride was also very smooth ( per the weather conditions ) and all of us looked like we had a great time. We never felt cramped, the boat was plenty large enough. Food was pretty good as well as the drinks!!! We stuffed our selves! One of the crew even fished as we sailed along, unfortunately nothing was caught this time out. The views of waikiki and diamond head were amazing! It was great to get to see the skyline from the ocean. The sunset was beautiful and was timed great on our way back! Thank you everyone at Makani Catameran!


  • Amazing sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Elisa Stern, 2017/09/13

We attended the dinner sunset cruise on Sunday September 10, 2017. Transportation is included at no additional cost. Our assigned time to ba at the pick up location was 3:40 for a 3:50 pick up. We were told to look for a black or silver Mercedes Sprinter Van. Many passed by with out stopping. As the time got later every van that flew past us just made us that more concerned that we may not get picked up. We were unstructured to call the Makani if there was any delay in transportation. When I called the recording said I was the third caller. When it finally said I was next and someone would be with me shortly, five minutes later it said they were experiencing high call volume and leave a message. I tried this a couple of times with no luck. Found out after the fact that they don't answer calls after hours so it does no good giving a number to customers. Around 4:10 a van came by. They had a small sign in the front window for Makani. The driver said he was just from a transportation company who gets called sometimes to pick up Makani guests. He received the call late which meant all the remaining guests would be that much later. We mad four stops on the way to the boat to pick up additional passengers and each was more upset than the previous. Makani should contact passenger and let them know that the transportation is running late or have someone answering the phone.

The weather was a little rainy but it was still. Ice to get out on the water. We still had a nice time and the sunset pics were okay. You can't control the weather. The food served was actually really good. Teriyaki chicken, rice, egg rolls, veggies, etc. cookies for dessert. Beers were $6. Other boats included alcohol for around the same price fare but didn't have availability last minute. When we saw the boats that we called which didn't have availability they looked over full. All in all it was a good experience.







Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Ben, 2017/09/12

This cruise was incredible! My wife and I only had a few days in Waikiki and chose carefully how we wanted to spend our time. The cruise was definitely the highlight of our trip. The views were incredible, the staff was friendly, and the food was really good! If you're looking for a great photo op this is the place. It can be romantic, but also something fun to do with family or friends. The next time we are in Waikiki we will definitely take this sunset cruise.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Sara, 2017/09/06

My husband and I had an amazing time on the Makani sunset dinner cruise while on our honeymoon in Hawaii! The only downfall, as others have mentioned, is having to wait to get checked in. With the arranged transportation, we arrived an hour before the boat set sail and could not check in until 30 prior to the departure time. The staff took excellent care of everyone throughout the night to make sure we all had a good experience. The food was casual but very good- especially the spring rolls! Drinks are reasonably priced with a variety of options. We especially enjoyed that the cruise was on a catamaran for a more intimate feel compared to a larger cruise ship. We would definitely recommend this sunset dinner cruise to anyone in O'ahu for vacation!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your honest review. We have begun to implement earlier check-ins based upon past guests experiences. We look forward to having you aboard again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Evening Cruise!

Reviewed by: B. Evans, 2017/08/26

We had a wonderful evening on Makani. After reviewing several dinner cruise options, we selected Makani due to the great reviews and good price. It was one of our favorite excursions on our vacation!
The pros: The staff was great - funny and personable. The food was good and there was a large drink selection, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. It was a very relaxing cruise with a beautiful view; it lasted approximately two hours, so you get to enjoy the sunset, as well.
The cons: There is only one, which is that they provide transportation, but not from our hotel. Though they didn't require us to go very far, it was a bit confusing trying to find our pick up point as that particular hotel has several locations. Also a slight put off considering we passed our hotel going to the marina. All was fine in the end though, as it was nice that transportation was provided at no additional cost.
Overall, I would highly recommend this excursion. We really enjoyed the relaxing, beautiful evening aboard the Makani Dinner Cruise.

Reply from activity provider

Thank yo so much for your review! We continue to strive to build a better experience for everyone. We look forward to having you aboard again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing Sunset

Reviewed by: Moradi's, 2017/08/23

This cruise is very relaxing and gives you the opportunity to calm down and enjoy the evening in a friendly and family oriented environment, specially if you have already done lots of adventurous activities elsewhere. I definitely recommend to go on this cruise as part of your Oahu trip. We saw lots of couples and families and they all seemed to be enjoying the cruise, specially during the sunset. In addition, the food was pretty good too. It included several options and there was plenty so I think you won't leave the boat hungry. If I go back to Oahu, I will go back on this cruise again specially towards the end of my trip to chill, relax, and take good sunset pictures.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for choosing Makani Catamaran! We aim to please! Look forward to having you aboard again soon. Aloha MakaniCar

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Ben, 2017/08/20

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice sunset dinner cruise the other night in the Makani catamaran. The night started off with a friendly driver picking us up at our hotel and bringing us to the boat. The only criticism of the whole night (very minor) is that we arrived at the boat around 4:40 but we're not able to "Check in" until 5 even though the girl was sitting in the booth waiting until 5. So rather than checking in as people arrived we now had an awkward line waiting to check in. Then we waited another 15-20 minutes to board the boat. Like I said, minor but the timing could have been better. Once aboard, the crew was great and got us quickly out of the harbor to enjoy the amazing views of the city and mountains. The food was as expected, a decent buffet. The drinks were good and reasonably priced.
What you are paying for is the views and that sunset! That was worth every penny on our trip. The catamaran boat let you enjoy the experience a lot more as you are free to move around and sit on the front netting.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice view

Reviewed by: Claire , 2017/08/10

It was my first time to be on the cruise and I loved it!
The food was delicious, the view was amazing, and the staffs were very nice and friendly. There were about 12~13 people on the cruise at a time, so the space was enough for everyone.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are happy you enjoyed your Makani experience, we look forward to having you aboard again! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice, chill, romantic cruise

Reviewed by: Despacito, 2017/07/27

My girlfriend and I went on this cruise on a whim for some romance. We got a deal, so decided to try it out. Also, we are locals who live on Oahu, so it was convenient. The staff (captain, first mate, and bartender) were kind of hokey, but friendly and on it. Dinner wasn't served right away, but drinks (beer, cocktails, soda, water) were available at the bar. You get one free drink ticket. The prices were reasonable, and they accept credit/debit cards. The dinner buffet consisted of teri chicken, beef stir fry, tofu lettuce wraps, veg lumpia, boiled red potatoes, and rice, and they were all tasty. I opted out but you get a cookie for dessert. The catamaran was clean and spacious. The ride was smooth, and the ocean was beautiful. We didn't see any sea life, but we understand that nature doesn't run on our time. The first mate announced the sunset when she saw it beginning, which was thoughtful. All the passengers were able to take pictures. We met a newlywed couple from Seattle. The passengers were a good group, all just chillin' and enjoying the perfect weather. My girlfriend got a bit cold when the sun went down and she brought a sweater, so I'd suggest that. Also, wear shades, slippers, and comfortable clothing, nothing fancy.

The only criticism I had was that you have to check in 30 mins. before departure, and wait in the hot sun. The check-in attendant wasn't very friendly, but it's ok. It's not great to sit in a hot shack all day waiting to repeat the same instructions over and over to passengers. The parking isn't bad. We parked at Kewalo Basin Park and walked about 10 mins. but paid parking is $1/hr, I think.

The cruise is a good way to relax, so I would recommend it for locals and tourists.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your candid review! We are always glad to have our island residents aboard, it looks like your enjoyed your Makani experience as well. We will remind our check-in staff of the canopy use and how important it is for customer service. We look forward to having you sail with us again. Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Dan long, 2017/07/26

The crew was awesome! They were funny and very informative. The first mate was the best!!! I would highly recommend them.

Reply from activity provider

Sounds like you've had a great Makani experience! We will let our 1st Mate know that he has a fan!! Thank you so much! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little dissapointed

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2017/05/04

The cruise was just fine. If you want a real sunset cruise, the catamaran is not the way to go.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner sail

Reviewed by: royp, 2017/04/17

Had an amazing time! Crew was awesome and food and drinks were great! Would recommend this for first time Hawaii visitors.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME

Reviewed by: Manu N, 2017/03/06

THIS WAS THE MOST NICE OUT OF THE DINNER CRUISES WE ATTENED

Reply from activity provider

We are glad you enjoyed yourselves, Looking forward to having you aboard again for the Makani experience! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |

Oahu Categories