Makani Catamaran Island Style Sunset Dinner Sail from Waikiki - Exclusive Deal! reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Makani Catamaran Island Style Sunset Dinner Sail from Waikiki - Exclusive Deal!

Overall Rating

4.56 4.56 / 5

Reviews

198 reviews
Post a review

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Amy and Grayson, 2019/11/18

We have been on many other dinner cruises all over the world. This one was amazing. The staff was so kind, friendly and hard working. The boat was very clean and a beautiful smooth ride. My daughter lives here and I am in from Denver. She will bring all her guest that come from the mainland to enjoy this wonderful night out at sea! Thank you, Amy and Grayson J

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise if you like sunset!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2019/11/18

The boat departed the pier just after the posted time. There’s a cash bar onboard and they have the must-haves there; Mai Tai, pina colada, among others. Buffet was open after the sail went up, about 15 minutes into the cruise. Basic stuff, chicken, rice, egg rolls, but nicely done. It’s mid November so the sunset was about 5:50, and on the one side the setting sun, the other Diamond Head and Waikiki, it really is a very nice setting for photos. The crew was friendly and took good care of us. We turned back after an hour and the last 30 minutes or so you also get the night view of Waikiki as the last light disappeared behind the horizon.
Make sure you take a Dramamine If you get sick on boats, because with all the activities in the area wakes can turn even the calmest sea into a roller coaster, and it was pretty windy that day. Also if you don’t show up on time the driver won’t wait, and you’ll just have to get a taxi or uber to the on-site check-in point.

  • Diamond Head at sunset

  • Last gleam of the sun

  • Waikiki at night, taken on the return

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best part of our vacation. Highly recommend! We may book again for this trip.

Reviewed by: Kim Tate, 2019/11/17

We had so much fun on this dinner cruise! We highly recommend it. The crew were fun and the food/drinks were tasty. The views of the sunset and shoreline were amazing. The music was perfect and enjoyable. This activity has been our favorite part of our vacation.

Kim Tate and Brad Haycock
Anchorage, Alaska

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My Review

Reviewed by: Jean, 2019/09/23

On September 18, 2019, my friend and I went on the sunset dinner sail. We were picked up close to our hotel about an hour before we sailed, so we got there in plenty of time. The crew was outstanding, very knowledgeable about the boat, keeping all of us safe, they were personable and made the cruise fun!! We were served a free drink with the opportunity to buy more. The food was very good for the most part with a variety of foods to choose from. The egg rolls were a little too hard IMO, but the chicken and stir fry vegetables were excellent! The weather was perfect, the views of the city were so picturesque and beautiful, enhanced by the appearance of a rainbow as we were leaving the dock! The sunset was breathtaking! I got a great picture of a sailboat sailing near us just as the sun was setting! It was a little cooler being over the water, so a light sweater might be in order. Being on the water was so relaxing, the waves were mesmerizing. You don't have to worry about getting seasick, because the boat is very stable (unless one is really prone to seasickness). There was plenty of room on board to move around and the other passengers were so friendly and helpful. We were brought back to our hotel around 8:30, the perfect ending to a perfect evening, after our first full day in Honolulu!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really nice

Reviewed by: Ursula, 2019/09/04

It was a really nice experience. The catamaran was clean. The food was really good. The drinks were delicious. I would recommend. We did this for our date night and it was really nice to see the sunset. It had a really nice vibe.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was the most wonderful experience

Reviewed by: knguyen, 2019/08/31

Sunset sail, great crew, great music, good food. what more can you ask for. This is one of the best trips we have in Hawaii.
I have no word to describe how anyone would not join this cruise. The scene was gorgeous and the crew couldn't be more inviting. Everyone was kind and make sure that we are safe and still have fun. I enjoyed most is the Mai Tai and the buffet . What a relaxing way to enjoy the sunset. I highly recommend this event. Is a must to do in Oahu

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dynamite Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Karrie B, 2019/08/28

Without having any expectations we can say that this excursion rocked! The captain and crew absolutely exceeded expectations in all areas - food, fun, booze, music, atmosphere and views! We weren't sure what to bring or really what to expect - bottom line is, you don't need to bring anything except a smile and a desire to relax and enjoy a great evening (and a camera if you're interested in getting some spectacular pics of the sunset, beaches, and some gorgeous coastlines). The food was quite delicious and well prepared (we've been on cruises like this before in other area's and is typical "rubber chicken" stuff - that was not the case here - excellent steak, bbq chicken, veggies, and fixings! The crew (doubling as bartenders) did not skimp on the drinks and made some truly good cocktails. The crew were also fantastic in checking on everyone and making sure everyone was having a good time and getting what they needed. The music they played was awesome and really helped set the atmosphere - you could dance by the moonlight or sunset and have a few romantic moments - or just some good atmosphere. We would absolutely go again!

  • A group of us together for sunset on deck!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best sunset / dinner cruise on the islands!

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2019/08/26

The captain and crew of this boat were phenomenal! They created at atmosphere that was relaxed, fun and entertaining (no easy feat considering the diverse group on board!). The food was surprisingly excellent (we had low expectations and were quite pleasantly surprised) :) The drinks were quite good, generous and not watered down at all (again, something common on other cruises). The views were spectacular and the captain made sure that everyone knew what was coming and how / where to enjoy the sights. We would absolutely go out on this boat / trip again any time were on the island. Cannot recommend this trip highly enough.

  • View coming back into port!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We do try our best to bring a great sailing experience to all of our guests. Have a great day! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Sailing

Reviewed by: Penny, 2019/07/30

We had a beautiful night onboard Makani Catamaran.
Sailing out from Waikiki Beach was a dream for us. Once out of the harbour they set the sails and we sailed along with views of the beach and Diamond Head. We even saw a turtle. The bar was open soon after and drinks were very reasonable. The buffet dinner was delicious, very fresh and tasty. The sunset was beautiful!! The crew was very professional and friendly. Thank you for a lovely sunset sail. We hope to come along again soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great - except for the sea sickness

Reviewed by: MarZ, 2019/07/30

The crew was great and the food was delicious. Advice for those who get sea sick: premediciate! The catamaran isn't huge, so riders definitely feel every wave. The evening we went the water was really rough and seasickness definitely puts a damper on an otherwise great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great - except for the seasickness

Reviewed by: MarZ, 2019/07/28

The crew was great and the food was delicious. Advice for those who get sea sick: premediciate! The catamaran isn't huge, so riders definitely feel every wave. The evening we went the water was really rough and seasickness definitely puts a damper on an otherwise great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Time On Oahu's South Shore!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2019/07/13

We had the most awesome time on Makani Catamaran! The views of the city are beautiful and give you a very different perspective of the city from the ocean.

The catamaran is well maintained, clean, and very stable on open waters. The best place to sit is up front near the trampolines as you head out towards Diamond Head.

Captain Brad, Adam, and Tommy were very personable, and made sure that all passengers were having a great time.

We highly recommend this sunset cruise. It is so relaxing and absolutely stunning!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Murray becker, 2019/06/28

Tonight my girlfriend and I did the sunset tour with Kia, Alicia and Brad. It was a bumpy ride because of the wind and they really looked after all of us. It was a full boat and they managed to cater for everyone very well. We would highly recommend this tour. They staff were lovely, the view is spectacular, the dinner was brilliant and the cocktails were unreal! Over all a great experience! Definitely give it a go, you won’t regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had such an amazing time!!!!

Reviewed by: Candace Manly, 2019/06/23

We actually got there a bit early so we’re lucky enough to get one of the few free parking stalls right in front of the dock. While standing in line I notice this seemed like it was going to be a crowded venue with how many people were there, but to my surprise it was quite comfortable.
We were greeted immediately once on the boat by the staff who were very accommodating. They answered any questions we had and even assisted with taking pictures of my husband and I so we could have the beautiful sunset in the background.
The food was also better than I expected. There was a wide array of options including some meats, vegetables, and vegetarian options. They were all really tasty.
The bar opened right as we got into open water and stayed open till last call after we docked. We bought the souvenir cups which if you refill more than twice is worth the $8 to purchase. You get more per refill and the refill is cheaper. Plus, it’s a great travel cup with lid and straw.
There was music playing in the background speaker than was a nice gentle theme. It set the tone for a nice relaxing ambiance. Not to obnoxious and not elevator type either. I quite enjoyed it as well.
Even my expectation with the boat itself was surpassed. It looked a little smaller than I expected but it was also quite comfortable. The seating was on the lower deck with several tables in the dining area. Most people started out The trip in this seated area (as we did). Everyone ended up on the top deck meandering around by the end of the trip.
I vividly remember this little girl who at the beginning of the trip was crying and fussing. Seemed like she was having a miserable time and no one could console her. By the end of the trip even this little girl was laughing and living the night up like the rest of us. I thought to myself if the staff can manage to make this little girls night amazing then they can do anything!!
This was an amazing adventure and I would recommend it to anyone who asked!!!

  • Enjoying the beautiful sunset scenery

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Grace, 2019/06/21

We had such an amazing experience on the sunset dinner cruise. The crew were extremely friendly and fun, and the food was good. I just couldn’t stop thinking “how lucky are we” the entire time. Highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves and we often think as well "how lucky are we" to be able to share Makani with everyone!
Have a beautiful day!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience for my first time in Hawaii.

Reviewed by: Ray and Tanya, 2019/05/09

This was a great evening out. I had never been to Hawaii before, and my wife who had been previous with her family, had never experienced a dinner cruise. It was a great first experience for both of us.
The location was easy to find and the checking in process simple and fast.
When we were asked to board, the crew were friendly, approachable, and very professional.
The bar which was opened almost immediately when we were in open water was excellent, and the buffet dinner was also excellent. While not a sit still and eat in a cozy posh restaurant experience, this dinner cruise was more adventure styled and casual party atmosphere.
The number of guests on board was perfect (no more than 50?), not too many and not too few, for an excellent social mix. We met several wonderful people from around the world, and enjoyed the conversation and camaraderie.
The sunset as expected did not disappoint and the early evening sky line of Honolulu, Waikiki and Diamond Head, plus all the other sights was breath taking.
My wife and I would definitely recommend this cruise for those who desire to enjoy the outdoors while enjoying the sunset. The catamaran certainly gave us the feeling of being closer to the ocean, elements and each other.
We were very pleased that we selected this sail experience over others.
Smaller boat (catamaran).
Smaller guest number. We heard the some cruises have over 100 guests.
Perfect length. It was just over 2 hours on the ocean.
No dinner show to distract from the experience.
And perfect crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening

Reviewed by: Keith stokes, 2019/04/29

This was a great experience, the shuttle arrived right on time to pick us up, had to wait on the dock for about 20 minutes while the prepared for us to load which wasnt to bad, there was just the right amount of people so it wasnt to crowded, the food was amazing, the bar service top notch, and it was a nice smooth sailing and a perfect position for everyone to see the fireworks, would recomnd to to anyone to do from couples to families

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise... helpful and friendly staff!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2019/04/23

I would recommend this dinner cruise. The views were great! The staff was friendly and willing to please. The sunset was amazing! The food was tasty..but some of the food was not hot. But overall...a great experience for the price. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A delicious, romantic, and exquisite dinner cruise

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/03/26

This was our first sailing experience in Hawaii and we were more than satisfied with the evening. From the boat, to the crew, to the food, and the sunset, everything was perfect. The 65' vessel was clean and spacious with plenty of room to walk around and take in the views from every direction. Diamond Head crater in the evening light was majestic and stunning.
Throughout the sail, the crew were all helpful and attentive. In addition to their regular duties of serving food and drinks and providing knowledge of marine life (we saw a whale!), they also played the role of photographers and were kindly willing to take pictures of guests with the beautiful sunset as the backdrop.
Also worth mentioning was the delicious food. If you're vegan or vegetarian, no need to fear! They were very accommodating and provided various options like tofu wraps, spring rolls, rice, potatoes, and steamed/sauteed tofu with veggies. I certainly did not leave hungry! And of course the exotic cocktails were refreshing and yummy.
The Makani Catamaran dinner cruise exceeded our expectations and left us eager to set sail again!

  • Enjoying our complimentary mai tai and the view!

  • A stunning, multicolored sunset

  • Mesmerizing sunset in paradise

  • Mixed veggies, white rice, tofu roll, and grilled tofu. Also available: beef and chicken.

  • Another sailboat enjoying the evening water

  • Diamond Head in the golden sunset glow

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We are so happy to have you experience Makani, we look forward to having you aboard again!
Have a great Makani Day!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazingly great tour!!!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2019/02/24

Amazing tour!! Captain Brad, Adam, and Chris did a great job pointing out whales. We saw 6 including a baby. Beautiful sunset made the trip even more special. The boat was spotless and comfortable. The food was good and they had a good selection of trips. The boat trip on the catermaran was fun and it wasn’t too crowded. Highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just a wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Drew F., 2019/02/23

We went out for a wonderful sunset cruise on a beautiful catamaran with a tremendous crew. Kia was especially nice giving us extra tips on where to visit on the island during our stay. We saw a wonderful sunset and we’re lucky enough to see a mother humpback whale with her calf who was frolicking all over the place. We weren’t sure what to expect for food but it was quite delicious with chicken teriyaki, an Asian beef dish, rice and other nice seections. The drink tickets that come with the price offer a nice bonus. We were lucky enough to go on a nice clear night so we saw a gorgeous sunset. On top of everything, I researched other sunset dinner cruises and this was easily the best value. I would very highly recommend this for someone looking for a really nice night out!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience! Best tour!!

Reviewed by: Alaskan Fans, 2019/02/22

This was a wonderful experience! Whale watching was great. Brad, Adam, and Chris were very friendly. They were helpful pointing out where the whales were. We saw 5 or more whales. Even a baby. The boat is clean and comfortable. Food was good and they had a good selection of drinks. Highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience and Friendly Crew!

Reviewed by: Christa, 2019/02/22

This was a great cruise. It was very relaxing. The catamaran was well-maintained and clean...even the bathroom!
The crew, Captain Brad, Chris, and Adam were very friendly. They offered to take pictures, informed us about the area and Were very quick to spot Whales.
The food was good, particularly the spring rolls.
The sunset was beautiful!
The captain did a good job making sure that we were able to have the best view of the sunset. We saw several Whales, including a juvenile.
The drinks were delicious.
Be sure to bring a sweatshirt or light jacket if going in February.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Julian, 2019/02/18

The staff were very friendly and helpful! There’s an open bar with a variety of drinks, non-alcohol are bottomless! The buffet tasted great! Only down side is the amount of food wasn’t quite enough for few rounds for everyone given there were 20 plus people. We happened to catch a few whales during the sail, which was extra! Highly recommended!

  • The view against the shore

  • Sunset

  • Night lights

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Sunset dinner sail

Reviewed by: Robert , 2019/02/16

Very nice casual and restful trip. The crew was very personable.

On our trip we saw whales.

Food was great with one exception that there was not enough. There is always a few customers that load there plates heaping full so other respectful customers don’t have enough to enjoy.

Suggest a little more food

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Fantastic Experience - We Will Be Back

Reviewed by: Rebecca Lyons, 2019/02/07

What an amazing adventure we had on the Mikani Catameran Sunset Dinner Sail.

The whole experience was sensational. From the time we were picked up from the hotel the arrangements were seamless. All the directions provided by Veltra were easy to follow, the driver was on time and super friendly and we felt instantly welcomed. The air conditioned van was very spacious and comfortable and our destination was just a short ride from Waikiki. Upon our arrival at the wharf we were met by the booking staff who assisted us to check in and provide our boarding pass.

Stepping on board the catamaran we were welcomed by the friendly staff who were all very professional and we instantly felt part of the family. The boat was spacious with lots of areas both inside and out to cater for all tastes.

As we sailed off into the spectacular Hawaiian sunset we enjoyed the expansive views of the Waikiki coastline. After an enjoyable sail, we were invited to enjoy a delicious buffet dinner and home made cookies for dessert. After dinner we settled in and prepared ourselves for the fireworks. We weren’t disappointed, the captain ensured we had the best vantage point to experience this spectacular show.

I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Hawaii, it was the highlight of our trip and something we will never forget. We will definitely be back next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Service, good experience

Reviewed by: Silvia, 2019/02/05

The cruise was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the duration of the trip was good. It was nice to receive a nice welcome and get a complimentary drink with the trip. The selection of the food was ok. Overall it was a nice experience and I would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful, laid back experience!

Reviewed by: Ild, 2019/01/04

Just got back to our hotel and my wife and I really enjoyed this experience. The sunset was stunning and we even got to see some whales! The captain and crew were really nice and friendly. My wife loved her cocktail and I got a Mana Wheat beer which was good. The food was nothing too special but my wife and I enjoyed it anyways. I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. If you're not expecting a five star restaurant experience, you will enjoy it too.

  • sunset from boat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience great value

Reviewed by: yusuke, 2019/01/03

They provided free pickup to and from our hotel. The party was appropriate size. The food was surprisingly good. The crews we're all friendly and they made sure everybody was having a good time. The scenery was absolutely amazing and took loads of great photos. We saw some dolphins follow us and it was a pleasant bonus. We will definitely come back for the next trip.
The only minor problem was they picked us up at 4pm, dropped us off at the pier 4:10pm and we had to wait until 5pm to board the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset catamaran sail

Reviewed by: Angeline L. Fasano, 2019/01/03

My husband and I throughly enjoyed the sunset cruise which happened to be on New Year’s Day 2019!
We were impressed by the professionalism and punctuality of the crew from start to finish.
We were picked up by their shuttle who pick up from Waikiki, cost was included. They arranged this at the time of booking.
Our favorite part of the cruise was the intimacy & the fact that we were able to see a whale!
There were 25-30 guests and the catamaran felt spacious and comfortable.
Tips; where something comfortable, long sleeves or sweater is a must. It gets quite windy and chilly. Photo opportunities are endless. Have fun and make sure to purchase the “sippy cup.” It’s a nice keepsake, but most of all it’s essentially more bang for your buck if you’ll be drinking more than the 1 drink ticket that is provided.
Oh and make sure to take Dramamine if you’re worried. about getting seasickz it can be a rocky one. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories