This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Amazingly great tour!!!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2019/02/24

Amazing tour!! Captain Brad, Adam, and Chris did a great job pointing out whales. We saw 6 including a baby. Beautiful sunset made the trip even more special. The boat was spotless and comfortable. The food was good and they had a good selection of trips. The boat trip on the catermaran was fun and it wasn’t too crowded. Highly recommend this tour!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just a wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Drew F., 2019/02/23

We went out for a wonderful sunset cruise on a beautiful catamaran with a tremendous crew. Kia was especially nice giving us extra tips on where to visit on the island during our stay. We saw a wonderful sunset and we’re lucky enough to see a mother humpback whale with her calf who was frolicking all over the place. We weren’t sure what to expect for food but it was quite delicious with chicken teriyaki, an Asian beef dish, rice and other nice seections. The drink tickets that come with the price offer a nice bonus. We were lucky enough to go on a nice clear night so we saw a gorgeous sunset. On top of everything, I researched other sunset dinner cruises and this was easily the best value. I would very highly recommend this for someone looking for a really nice night out!



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience! Best tour!!

Reviewed by: Alaskan Fans, 2019/02/22

This was a wonderful experience! Whale watching was great. Brad, Adam, and Chris were very friendly. They were helpful pointing out where the whales were. We saw 5 or more whales. Even a baby. The boat is clean and comfortable. Food was good and they had a good selection of drinks. Highly recommend this tour!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience and Friendly Crew!

Reviewed by: Christa, 2019/02/22

This was a great cruise. It was very relaxing. The catamaran was well-maintained and clean...even the bathroom!
The crew, Captain Brad, Chris, and Adam were very friendly. They offered to take pictures, informed us about the area and Were very quick to spot Whales.
The food was good, particularly the spring rolls.
The sunset was beautiful!
The captain did a good job making sure that we were able to have the best view of the sunset. We saw several Whales, including a juvenile.
The drinks were delicious.
Be sure to bring a sweatshirt or light jacket if going in February.






Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Julian, 2019/02/18

The staff were very friendly and helpful! There’s an open bar with a variety of drinks, non-alcohol are bottomless! The buffet tasted great! Only down side is the amount of food wasn’t quite enough for few rounds for everyone given there were 20 plus people. We happened to catch a few whales during the sail, which was extra! Highly recommended!


  • The view against the shore


  • Sunset


  • Night lights

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Sunset dinner sail

Reviewed by: Robert , 2019/02/16

Very nice casual and restful trip. The crew was very personable.

On our trip we saw whales.

Food was great with one exception that there was not enough. There is always a few customers that load there plates heaping full so other respectful customers don’t have enough to enjoy.

Suggest a little more food

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Fantastic Experience - We Will Be Back

Reviewed by: Rebecca Lyons, 2019/02/07

What an amazing adventure we had on the Mikani Catameran Sunset Dinner Sail.

The whole experience was sensational. From the time we were picked up from the hotel the arrangements were seamless. All the directions provided by Veltra were easy to follow, the driver was on time and super friendly and we felt instantly welcomed. The air conditioned van was very spacious and comfortable and our destination was just a short ride from Waikiki. Upon our arrival at the wharf we were met by the booking staff who assisted us to check in and provide our boarding pass.

Stepping on board the catamaran we were welcomed by the friendly staff who were all very professional and we instantly felt part of the family. The boat was spacious with lots of areas both inside and out to cater for all tastes.

As we sailed off into the spectacular Hawaiian sunset we enjoyed the expansive views of the Waikiki coastline. After an enjoyable sail, we were invited to enjoy a delicious buffet dinner and home made cookies for dessert. After dinner we settled in and prepared ourselves for the fireworks. We weren’t disappointed, the captain ensured we had the best vantage point to experience this spectacular show.

I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Hawaii, it was the highlight of our trip and something we will never forget. We will definitely be back next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Service, good experience

Reviewed by: Silvia, 2019/02/05

The cruise was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the duration of the trip was good. It was nice to receive a nice welcome and get a complimentary drink with the trip. The selection of the food was ok. Overall it was a nice experience and I would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A wonderful, laid back experience!

Reviewed by: Ild, 2019/01/04

Just got back to our hotel and my wife and I really enjoyed this experience. The sunset was stunning and we even got to see some whales! The captain and crew were really nice and friendly. My wife loved her cocktail and I got a Mana Wheat beer which was good. The food was nothing too special but my wife and I enjoyed it anyways. I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. If you're not expecting a five star restaurant experience, you will enjoy it too.


  • sunset from boat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience great value

Reviewed by: yusuke, 2019/01/03

They provided free pickup to and from our hotel. The party was appropriate size. The food was surprisingly good. The crews we're all friendly and they made sure everybody was having a good time. The scenery was absolutely amazing and took loads of great photos. We saw some dolphins follow us and it was a pleasant bonus. We will definitely come back for the next trip.
The only minor problem was they picked us up at 4pm, dropped us off at the pier 4:10pm and we had to wait until 5pm to board the boat.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset catamaran sail

Reviewed by: Angeline L. Fasano, 2019/01/03

My husband and I throughly enjoyed the sunset cruise which happened to be on New Year’s Day 2019!
We were impressed by the professionalism and punctuality of the crew from start to finish.
We were picked up by their shuttle who pick up from Waikiki, cost was included. They arranged this at the time of booking.
Our favorite part of the cruise was the intimacy & the fact that we were able to see a whale!
There were 25-30 guests and the catamaran felt spacious and comfortable.
Tips; where something comfortable, long sleeves or sweater is a must. It gets quite windy and chilly. Photo opportunities are endless. Have fun and make sure to purchase the “sippy cup.” It’s a nice keepsake, but most of all it’s essentially more bang for your buck if you’ll be drinking more than the 1 drink ticket that is provided.
Oh and make sure to take Dramamine if you’re worried. about getting seasickz it can be a rocky one. Hope this helps. Enjoy!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening!

Reviewed by: Rob, 2018/11/25

An overall outstanding experience! Food was good but not crazy good. Can’t have too high expectations for a buffet on a catamaran though. The crew was wonderful. Initially thought there would be too many people for the boat to be comfortable but there was plenty of space for people to move around and take the pictures they wanted. The sunset was amazing and the trip lasted the perfect amount of time. I didn’t feel like they were rushing us back but we weren’t out so long that we got bored. Would highly recommend overall!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail - 11/17/18

Reviewed by: Kathy and Mitch, 2018/11/20

We would highly recommend this trip to anyone. The crew was very entertaining and accomodating. The catamaran was very clean and there was plenty of room for all....no crowding.
The delicious dinner was well organized and there was plenty!
We had a great time overall and again, would recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Check out another dinner cruise.

Reviewed by: RJAK, 2018/11/19

Was deopped off at the port waiting in the rain for over a hour to board the boat. Small boat, no tables to sit at to eat your food, limited food on board and no desert and drinks expensive for 6 oz. I would suggest a bigger boat for dinner cruise because of the small boat and limited food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not Enough Room

Reviewed by: Kim, 2018/10/22

The cruise overall was fun. Dinner was great. However, there was just not enough room onboard for all the people attending. I had to stand the whole time or try and find a rail to lean against. This was especially tough during dinner when we were bouncing through the waves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sunset and amazing crew

Reviewed by: Kyna, 2018/10/14

It was actually my second time doing this with my boyfriend. We did the cruise back in february 2018.
We had a great time and the crew was amazing as always. They’re very accomodating & energetic. They made sure everyone was having a great time which is awesome. We really did appreciate it! I loved the sunset especially when we were sitted in front. We were also able to take different photos in a different angle. The cocktails that were served as well taste amazing! I highly recommend this activity for anyone who wants to experience this beautiful sunset cruise. For future participants it might get cold so just bring a jacket or sweater to be sure. Enjoy!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience...Great Customer Service.

Reviewed by: Emily R, 2018/10/02

This trip was definitely above our expectations. First, I want to applaud the customer service of this Company. Our first tour was cancelled due to weather. They informed us promptly and immediately rescheduled us for an alternative date. When we arrived after the boat, there had been an error in some customers booking causing a delay in the boat's departure. Not only did they extend our time, but our drinks were compensated due to the delay. We were more than obliged to wait for the late arrivals :). The boat was not crowded, the service was fantastic, and the music was great. As promised, we enjoyed the beautiful boat and the fantastic views of the sunset, city and diamond head. Everything was literally as promised. We would definitely recommend to friends.


  • Sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing way to experience the beauty of Waikiki from a breathtaking perspective

Reviewed by: Dionne, 2018/09/24

The sailing vessel was very impressive and incredibly well maintained and professionally operated. I am a sailing enthusiast and this catamaran was extremely smooth and well built to service a delightful dinner event. The crew was attentive, while also allowing the guests to enjoy their cruise and take in the beauty of Waikiki. The cruise had a personal ambience to it while accommodating the 25 to 30 guests that were on our specific sailing. We did not feel crowded at all, and it was nice to not feel like a “herd” of guests on those double decker party cruises. The food was tasty and filling. We did get to enjoy actually sailing on the main and the jib, and we only motored for a very short time. There is something magestic and almost spiritual about sailing on the sea. The cobalt blue water beneath, and the gentle trade winds so effortlessly powering the huge sails is an experience to treasure.

The only encouragement that I would make to the Makani experience is to provide some gentle Hawaiian music on top where the forward trampoline is. Most guests enjoyed staying forward on the trampoline, and the music only played below in the bar/covered seating area.

We chose to have the Makani pick us up from our hotel and the driver and vehicle were very professional. We recommend this option as it made the entire experience effortless. I would definitely do this activity again. It was worth the time and was a good value.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail, Sat, 9/22/2018

Reviewed by: Greg & Donna, 2018/09/23

This catamaran cruise this evening was an unforgettable experience! We have been coming to Oahu for over 15 years as a couple (this is our 25th wedding anniversary trip) and have never seen Honolulu and Waikiki from a boat tour before. The Makani was an excellent first-time experience: Well captained and crewed, this vessel holds people above and below deck. It has a head (bathroom) that is easily accessible before or during the voyage. The crew did a nice job with the meal and beverage service, were on top of all the ship and passenger details, and readily and easily answered our questions. We sat topside in the front on bean bag canvas seats by the webbing and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the boat, the water, and the sunset and coastline. It was fun to sail as far as Diamond Head and see the lighthouse, as well as Koko Crater. Also, the hotel pickup and dropoff was a nice experience. The suggestions on attire were right on track. We would someday like to try the Friday night fireworks cruise!


  • Thanks for the savings deal Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunset sail!

Reviewed by: Boyd & Trina, 2018/09/11

We took the sunset sail on Saturday night to cap off our honeymoon and we were not disappointed! Saw a great sunset,a school of dolphins and has a delicious dinner. If you want to go on a Friday though to stay out and view fireworks definitely book before your trip because it sells out!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Sunset Cruise!

Reviewed by: Boyd & Trina, 2018/09/10

My wife and I took a Saturday evening sunset cruise while in Oahu on our honeymoon. It was the perfect ending for our trip.

The pickup was efficient and smooth from our Waikiki hotel. The crew did a great job of interacting with the guest and sharing their knowledge of the sea-life and other boats we saw. We even saw a school of dolphins! The food was also plentiful and good.

The best advice I can give, the best night to go is Friday so you can stay longer and view the fireworks, but is best to book early because it probably won't be available to book once you get to Hawaii.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Gold

Reviewed by: Connecticut girl, 2018/07/26

Picture this the sea, the sky, the sun, the sail, and friends coming together on the Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail and you will experience the best part of my Hawaiian vacation.

The crew is fantastic. The music, the food and drinks are superb. The view of Honolulu is breath taking. As the catamaran takes me around the harbor I connect with the natural beauty of the mountains and the horizon. The sun slowly slips away and I am wrapped in Hawaiian gold.

The Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail is a must do.


  • sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

For a totally different view of the sunset this cruise is one to experience! Great vibes on the ride! Smooth sailing!!!!!!!!!! I think everyone had the aloha vibe and we all had a great time chatting with each other about beautiful Oahu!

Reviewed by: KCSN, 2018/07/11

We had a great time. It was definitely a perfect opportunity to get away from it all. With that said it’s worth the cost! The dock was easy to find. They are the first booth as you enter the lot. Check in was easy at 1700 and sailed promptly at 530 pm. It was nice to unwind with a friendly crowd from all walks of life while “chasing” the sunset. The crew were super chill and attentive. The food was okay. That night they had tofu rolls, egg rolls, white rice, glazed chicken, and ginger beef with veggies buffet style/self serve. Then had chocolate chip cookie after served by crew member. The bar was rolling so I take it everyone was enjoying their drinks. The package came with one drink, it can be used towards juice or soft drink or with spirits. The part I enjoyed the most was having the moment to sit back, relaxing and enjoying the “waves”. But for the most part, I did enjoy socializing with other people on the cruise. That night was filled only with good vibes. We did the cruise on mid part of our stay here in Oahu and it couldn’t have been more perfect. We were busy running around “chasing” for the best of the best and the 2+ hr sail finally gave me the chance to “breathe” if you will. We had plenty’s of time to take pictures and a crew member was more than happy to assist as well. He gave us the heads up as far as what to expect and he was right on. No surprises on board! Just how I like it! You can sit in the enclosed area which I do not recommend if you get sea sick or you can stay standing, do your Kate and Leo’s pose, sit and relax by the nets. Ladies it does get windy so unless you also want to be Marilyn Monroe, wear shorts or pants! There’s a parking lot directly by the dock for $1/hr. It was a smooth sail (take it from me..I am one to guaranteed to get nauseous just from standing on the beach). There were no children on board. I didn’t travel with my children this time so I am not sure if that is stated on the description site..


  • Ahhh

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Carla M. LeMaster , 2018/06/23

It was my first time going on a dinner cruise and it was everything i hoped it would be. The weather was nice and the view was beautiful. I was with my family that came to visit and they enjoyed it too. The food and customer service was good. I would bring back my family and friends here again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thrilling and gorgeous views of Waikiki

Reviewed by: Sheena De Laza, 2018/06/22

I particularly enjoyed the unique views of Waikiki that we got on the catamaran. The breeze was nice and the beautiful sunset made it all the more special. I would love to do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Jovy, 2018/06/22

The dinner cruise was fun and a very enjoyable one. Our relatives from Philippines whom we treated with the cruise were really surprised and they’re so grateful. It was perfect and worthy experience for all of us.

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves! We look forward to having you aboard again in the future! Mahalo! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ride a beautiful new catamaran into the Hawaiian sunset

Reviewed by: Ben W., 2018/05/27

We really enjoyed the Makani Dinner Sail. Booking was easy through the website and the pick-up instructions were clear. When we arrived at the Illikai at the appointed time, the shuttle driver greeted us by name and we were off!

On board, the crew was super-friendly and low-key, not uptight or scoldy at all, which is always nice when you're out on an adult dinner cruise. And I was really happy that once we got out into open water, the captain shut off the engines and proceeded under sail. Much nicer ambiance without the diesels droning. Drinks were perfectly fine. My only critique would be food quality. The buffet they rolled out was perfectly fine for a boomer reunion picnic but as a picky millennial, I would happily pay a little extra per ticket for a level-up on the dinner spread. Maybe audition a few new caterers? Just didn't think it was at the same standard as everything else. Overall though, a really lovely break from Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The End of Hawaii Holiday

Reviewed by: Kelly and Brent, 2018/05/12

Great Crew, very good food, meet a lot of nice people. Enjoyed the beautiful sunset and fireworks!! Definitely a must do while in Waikiki. Was the best way to end our Hawaii holiday!!


  • Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must-Do!!!

Reviewed by: Quaston , 2018/04/30

Absolutely amazing! First time Hawaii visitor and this sunset dinner sail was by far my favorite activity. The crew members on the ship were very friendly, food was great, and the killer sunset was to die for. Highly impressed! If you like good food, music, and nice people, book this sunset dinner sail! Overall experience is a 10/10.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time with great views

Reviewed by: Zoe, 2018/04/30

This was a really fun outing and I highly recommend. You get a good few hours on a spacious catamaran. The staff were all friendly, helpful and funny. Food was delicious and buffet style with vegetarian options which was a plus. Included in the price is pick up and drop off which helped us immensely.

The views did not disappoint

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

Oahu Categories