Makani Dinner Cruise - Sunset, City Lights & Fireworks Sails (from Kewalo Basin)

Amazing cruise, dinner and sunset!

Reviewed by: Garrett, 2017/09/22

We had a wonderful time out on the Makani Catermeran this week. The crew was very friendly, funny and accomodating. The boat ride was also very smooth ( per the weather conditions ) and all of us looked like we had a great time. We never felt cramped, the boat was plenty large enough. Food was pretty good as well as the drinks!!! We stuffed our selves! One of the crew even fished as we sailed along, unfortunately nothing was caught this time out. The views of waikiki and diamond head were amazing! It was great to get to see the skyline from the ocean. The sunset was beautiful and was timed great on our way back! Thank you everyone at Makani Catameran!


  • Amazing sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Elisa Stern, 2017/09/13

We attended the dinner sunset cruise on Sunday September 10, 2017. Transportation is included at no additional cost. Our assigned time to ba at the pick up location was 3:40 for a 3:50 pick up. We were told to look for a black or silver Mercedes Sprinter Van. Many passed by with out stopping. As the time got later every van that flew past us just made us that more concerned that we may not get picked up. We were unstructured to call the Makani if there was any delay in transportation. When I called the recording said I was the third caller. When it finally said I was next and someone would be with me shortly, five minutes later it said they were experiencing high call volume and leave a message. I tried this a couple of times with no luck. Found out after the fact that they don't answer calls after hours so it does no good giving a number to customers. Around 4:10 a van came by. They had a small sign in the front window for Makani. The driver said he was just from a transportation company who gets called sometimes to pick up Makani guests. He received the call late which meant all the remaining guests would be that much later. We mad four stops on the way to the boat to pick up additional passengers and each was more upset than the previous. Makani should contact passenger and let them know that the transportation is running late or have someone answering the phone.

The weather was a little rainy but it was still. Ice to get out on the water. We still had a nice time and the sunset pics were okay. You can't control the weather. The food served was actually really good. Teriyaki chicken, rice, egg rolls, veggies, etc. cookies for dessert. Beers were $6. Other boats included alcohol for around the same price fare but didn't have availability last minute. When we saw the boats that we called which didn't have availability they looked over full. All in all it was a good experience.







Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Ben, 2017/09/12

This cruise was incredible! My wife and I only had a few days in Waikiki and chose carefully how we wanted to spend our time. The cruise was definitely the highlight of our trip. The views were incredible, the staff was friendly, and the food was really good! If you're looking for a great photo op this is the place. It can be romantic, but also something fun to do with family or friends. The next time we are in Waikiki we will definitely take this sunset cruise.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Sara, 2017/09/06

My husband and I had an amazing time on the Makani sunset dinner cruise while on our honeymoon in Hawaii! The only downfall, as others have mentioned, is having to wait to get checked in. With the arranged transportation, we arrived an hour before the boat set sail and could not check in until 30 prior to the departure time. The staff took excellent care of everyone throughout the night to make sure we all had a good experience. The food was casual but very good- especially the spring rolls! Drinks are reasonably priced with a variety of options. We especially enjoyed that the cruise was on a catamaran for a more intimate feel compared to a larger cruise ship. We would definitely recommend this sunset dinner cruise to anyone in O'ahu for vacation!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your honest review. We have begun to implement earlier check-ins based upon past guests experiences. We look forward to having you aboard again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Evening Cruise!

Reviewed by: B. Evans, 2017/08/26

We had a wonderful evening on Makani. After reviewing several dinner cruise options, we selected Makani due to the great reviews and good price. It was one of our favorite excursions on our vacation!
The pros: The staff was great - funny and personable. The food was good and there was a large drink selection, alcoholic or non-alcoholic. It was a very relaxing cruise with a beautiful view; it lasted approximately two hours, so you get to enjoy the sunset, as well.
The cons: There is only one, which is that they provide transportation, but not from our hotel. Though they didn't require us to go very far, it was a bit confusing trying to find our pick up point as that particular hotel has several locations. Also a slight put off considering we passed our hotel going to the marina. All was fine in the end though, as it was nice that transportation was provided at no additional cost.
Overall, I would highly recommend this excursion. We really enjoyed the relaxing, beautiful evening aboard the Makani Dinner Cruise.

Reply from activity provider

Thank yo so much for your review! We continue to strive to build a better experience for everyone. We look forward to having you aboard again soon! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing Sunset

Reviewed by: Moradi's, 2017/08/23

This cruise is very relaxing and gives you the opportunity to calm down and enjoy the evening in a friendly and family oriented environment, specially if you have already done lots of adventurous activities elsewhere. I definitely recommend to go on this cruise as part of your Oahu trip. We saw lots of couples and families and they all seemed to be enjoying the cruise, specially during the sunset. In addition, the food was pretty good too. It included several options and there was plenty so I think you won't leave the boat hungry. If I go back to Oahu, I will go back on this cruise again specially towards the end of my trip to chill, relax, and take good sunset pictures.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for choosing Makani Catamaran! We aim to please! Look forward to having you aboard again soon. Aloha MakaniCar

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Ben, 2017/08/20

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice sunset dinner cruise the other night in the Makani catamaran. The night started off with a friendly driver picking us up at our hotel and bringing us to the boat. The only criticism of the whole night (very minor) is that we arrived at the boat around 4:40 but we're not able to "Check in" until 5 even though the girl was sitting in the booth waiting until 5. So rather than checking in as people arrived we now had an awkward line waiting to check in. Then we waited another 15-20 minutes to board the boat. Like I said, minor but the timing could have been better. Once aboard, the crew was great and got us quickly out of the harbor to enjoy the amazing views of the city and mountains. The food was as expected, a decent buffet. The drinks were good and reasonably priced.
What you are paying for is the views and that sunset! That was worth every penny on our trip. The catamaran boat let you enjoy the experience a lot more as you are free to move around and sit on the front netting.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice view

Reviewed by: Claire , 2017/08/10

It was my first time to be on the cruise and I loved it!
The food was delicious, the view was amazing, and the staffs were very nice and friendly. There were about 12~13 people on the cruise at a time, so the space was enough for everyone.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are happy you enjoyed your Makani experience, we look forward to having you aboard again! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice, chill, romantic cruise

Reviewed by: Despacito, 2017/07/27

My girlfriend and I went on this cruise on a whim for some romance. We got a deal, so decided to try it out. Also, we are locals who live on Oahu, so it was convenient. The staff (captain, first mate, and bartender) were kind of hokey, but friendly and on it. Dinner wasn't served right away, but drinks (beer, cocktails, soda, water) were available at the bar. You get one free drink ticket. The prices were reasonable, and they accept credit/debit cards. The dinner buffet consisted of teri chicken, beef stir fry, tofu lettuce wraps, veg lumpia, boiled red potatoes, and rice, and they were all tasty. I opted out but you get a cookie for dessert. The catamaran was clean and spacious. The ride was smooth, and the ocean was beautiful. We didn't see any sea life, but we understand that nature doesn't run on our time. The first mate announced the sunset when she saw it beginning, which was thoughtful. All the passengers were able to take pictures. We met a newlywed couple from Seattle. The passengers were a good group, all just chillin' and enjoying the perfect weather. My girlfriend got a bit cold when the sun went down and she brought a sweater, so I'd suggest that. Also, wear shades, slippers, and comfortable clothing, nothing fancy.

The only criticism I had was that you have to check in 30 mins. before departure, and wait in the hot sun. The check-in attendant wasn't very friendly, but it's ok. It's not great to sit in a hot shack all day waiting to repeat the same instructions over and over to passengers. The parking isn't bad. We parked at Kewalo Basin Park and walked about 10 mins. but paid parking is $1/hr, I think.

The cruise is a good way to relax, so I would recommend it for locals and tourists.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your candid review! We are always glad to have our island residents aboard, it looks like your enjoyed your Makani experience as well. We will remind our check-in staff of the canopy use and how important it is for customer service. We look forward to having you sail with us again. Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Dan long, 2017/07/26

The crew was awesome! They were funny and very informative. The first mate was the best!!! I would highly recommend them.

Reply from activity provider

Sounds like you've had a great Makani experience! We will let our 1st Mate know that he has a fan!! Thank you so much! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little dissapointed

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2017/05/04

The cruise was just fine. If you want a real sunset cruise, the catamaran is not the way to go.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner sail

Reviewed by: royp, 2017/04/17

Had an amazing time! Crew was awesome and food and drinks were great! Would recommend this for first time Hawaii visitors.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME

Reviewed by: Manu N, 2017/03/06

THIS WAS THE MOST NICE OUT OF THE DINNER CRUISES WE ATTENED

Reply from activity provider

We are glad you enjoyed yourselves, Looking forward to having you aboard again for the Makani experience! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Suzanne Gilbert, 2017/02/05

Enjoyed our evening on the catamaran. Food was awesome, bar, music and an amazing view of Honolulu!!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for choosing Makani! We look forward to having you aboard again! Aloha Makani Catamaran

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very joyable

Reviewed by: Don, 2016/12/29

Lots of fun, good food, great crew. Safety and "fun" was the name of the game.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much we're so happy that you enjoyed our Makani experience! We look forward to seeing you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not a great experience

Reviewed by: AMD, 2016/11/28

My husband and I recently moved to Oahu, and my parents were coming to visit us for Thanksgiving....I wanted to find something different we could do so I thought a dinner cruise would be perfect and relaxing. The food was subpar, and they made it seem like it was going to be a huge spread. We did not get to see fireworks, when the weather seemed fine. And towards the end of the cruise, we were just hanging out in the same area for quite some time before we had to dock. I am usually not one to complain, or write reviews, but I suggest you ask specific questions if considering these particular cruises so you are not left disappointed. We felt as though it was a waste of our money, and we would have rather gone out for a nice dinner, and sat outside to watch the sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Scb271, 2016/11/04

Great trip...good food...beautiful scenery! I'd return to do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Catamaran cruise

Reviewed by: Wayne, 2016/10/18

Nice sailboat. Good food and pleasant sail. Would recommend.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect ending of a Day

Reviewed by: Will Wright, 2016/10/17

The catamaran was clean and very well kept in appearance. The crew was great and professional at all times plus courteous. We had a wonderful time and great experience on the sail and dinner. The food was good and plentiful! But be sure that you are aware that other than one drink non alcoholic or not is all that each get. Other than that it is extra but that was fine.


  • Huge cloud over Honolulu. What a site. No one even got wet! Lol

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hubbys Birthday Surprise

Reviewed by: Nika, 2016/10/03

I have to say that it was a great experience overall. The crew was very nice and accommodating, we were running late but they waited for us. The good was just average but the views of the sunset and fireworks definitely made up for it. We both had a really great time.


  • Gorgeous sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset CRUISE

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/09/26

A perfect way to finish our time in Waikiki, great music, great food on board and plenty of room to move around.
There was quite a swell way out near Diamond Head, so would highly recommend a seasick tablet!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really enjoyed the cruise

Reviewed by: Hashi/Rupert, 2016/09/25

Beautiful cruise, friendly, helpful crew and nice dinner.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had an amazing time!

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2016/09/19

This was my first boat, I have always had a fear of water. Decided to try something new and ended up having a wonderful time! The crew was great and it is such a relaxing ride. Good time to kick back, make new friends, and watch the sunset and fireworks. The best night I have had on vacation and would for sure do this again!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Vicki, 2016/09/19

Great time, highly recommend. Are crew was very knowledgable, the ride was good and fireworks display was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing night on the water

Reviewed by: Nicholas, 2016/08/31

My wife and I went for our anniversary and loved every minute of it. It's great to get out on the water in the beautiful Hawaiian sunset. The crew was very inviting and polite and friendly. The food was great and the drinks as well. Will be coming back to experience it again on Friday so we can see the fireworks as well!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening!

Reviewed by: SW , 2016/08/23

WOW!! What a beautiful evening. The crew was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was good. The view AWESOME!! We would definitely do this cruise again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fireworks cruise

Reviewed by: Allen, 2016/08/13

This was awesome! The boat is beautiful and the scenery even better! Food was a nice buffet and there was plenty to go around. The crew is the best and take care of you all evening! A must do on Friday nights!


  • What a boat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall good time

Reviewed by: Thao, 2016/08/08

Nice boat and sail. City lights and sunset beautiful. Got to see fireworks. Dinner Buffet very average. Best thing was the cookie for dessert. Some live entertainment would be nice.


  • Pretty city lights

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was ok evening out

Reviewed by: Sally, 2016/08/08

Nothing special, lots of people on the catamaran, the crew where great, unfortunately the food let the experience down, it was mediocre at best.....alcohol was served in plastic cups, that I understand but not a great deal of variety, hubbie said the signature cocktail was ok, captain was great at getting the position right for the fireworks, probably wouldn't do the cruise agin

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Ending To Our Trip

Reviewed by: Steve F, 2016/07/09

My wife and I did this cruise on our last night in Hawaii and we are so glad we did. We had a beautiful sunset to the west, Honolulu and Waikiki North, and the moon rising over Diamond Head to the east. To top it all off there was good food and the awesome fireworks show. Seeing these from the water is something I highly recommend.


  • Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head by moonlight.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI