Makani Catamaran Island Style Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

To participate in any of our on island activities, all travelers arriving to Hawaii must complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine, and the most up-to-date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Makani Catamaran Island Style Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail

Overall Rating

4.55 4.55 / 5

Reviews

206 reviews
Post a review

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Cheryl and Will, 2020/03/18

We had a wonderful trip, saw whales, and .... manta rays coming and going! Knowledgeable captain and marine biologist made this an informative and exciting experience. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani is the most relaxing and romantic Waikiki sunset catamaran cruise

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2020/03/02

Compared to other Waikiki sunset catamaran cruises I have been on, Makani was by far the most spacious and relaxing experience. This boat is much bigger so it doesn't feel crowded at all. There is ample space on the front of the boat to hang out and there is a big cabin inside if you would like to sit at a table with chair. Other booze cruises can have a party scene but this is the best option if you prefer to have a peaceful experience. This crew was SO engaged with the passengers and really wanted us to have a good time. The food included a really good local style dinner and they had a good selection of drinks.

  • Best cruise for a romantic evening

  • Great local style dinner

  • Front of the boat has a comfortable net to lounge on

  • First time I saw the green flash!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Island Style Sunset Dinner it was a great experience

Reviewed by: Guillermo, 2019/12/31

We took the Makani Catamaran Island Style Sunset Dinner with my wife to celebrate our 10th anniversary of marriage. The landscape of the sunset in the middle of the sea was outstanding. The trip started at 5 PM and the catamaran (which was the same one which appeared in an old Hawaii Five 0 show) moved across the cost line of Waikiki in the Diamond Head direction. The buffet dinner and drinks were served before the sunset (around 6 PM). The view was terrific.
We returned to the harbor around 7 PM. It was amazing the view of the buildings of Waikiki at night during the return trip. The weather was perfect. The music was very nice as well as the crew. We strongly recommend this experience.

  • a view of the buffet before the sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience during a Waikiki sunset and dining on a Catamaran

Reviewed by: Guillermo, 2019/12/30

Last night, I took the Makani Catamaran Island Style Sunset Dinner Sail in company of my wife. They picked us up at our hotel in Waikiki (exactly at the time it was announced previously) and they took us to the harbor.
The Makani Catamaran is the same one that appeared in one of the Hawaii Five-0 shows, few years ago. The Catamaran left the harbor at 5 PM and started the navigation across the Waikiki cost line in the direction of Diamond Head. The sunset took place at 6 PM. The view of the sunset in the middle of the sea was real spectacular! The return started after the sunset and approximately when we were reaching the east side of the Diamond Head. During the return we were able to see another great view which was: the lights at the buildings of Waikiki during night.
Before the sunset a buffet dinner was served, and drinks were available since we left the port. Before arriving the port homemade cookies were distributed (great ones!).
No dressing code was required, which was an advantage. The music during the whole event was also great. The captain and the crew were very gentle.
Then we were returned to our hotel in Waikiki. We recommend this activity.

  • During the sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: ぶーちゃん, 2019/12/19

このツアーに参加して、まず言いたいことは皆さん参加するべきです!!船から見るサンセット、船上で食べるビッフェ式のディナーなどどれも100点満点!!まず最初にバスで迎えが来るんですけど運転手の方の対応も良く、船員の方々もとてもハワイらしくフレンドリーでこちらも気分がとても良かったです!舟も大きく私たちが参加した時は20人程度だったのですが広々して、窮屈という感じは全くありませんでした!またハワイに行く機会があったら参加したいと思います!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good crew and nice experience

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2019/12/06

The booking was easy to make and the round-trip bus ride was a definite plus - the driver dropped us off at our hotel as a courtesy. The boat ride was pleasant and the food was decent and bountiful. The crew was very friendly and excelled at their jobs. I thought it was very thoughtful of them to help passengers with motion sickness by providing a bottle of essential oils. The sky was cloudy on this particular evening, a sunset was not seen. However, the lights of Honolulu were gorgeous and the overall atmosphere was most enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this excursion, I only advise that you try to plan accordingly in terms of weather so that you may see a sunset. One thing to keep in mind during the winter months is whale sightings are possible. Thank you to the crew

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Way to End Our Trip

Reviewed by: K&R, 2019/12/05

We booked as the ending of our trip in Honolulu. It was very relaxing. Food was ok and the drinks a bit weak for the price and the pricing was not clear. But the sailing was smooth, the crew was friendly, and the view was spectacular.

  • Great view

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Marcus, 2019/12/02

I have been around catamarans for 30 years and this boat and crew were fantastic!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much!! We always appreciate it when a fellow boater enjoys the Makani experience! We look forward to having you aboard again! Happy Sailing! Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Amy and Grayson, 2019/11/18

We have been on many other dinner cruises all over the world. This one was amazing. The staff was so kind, friendly and hard working. The boat was very clean and a beautiful smooth ride. My daughter lives here and I am in from Denver. She will bring all her guest that come from the mainland to enjoy this wonderful night out at sea! Thank you, Amy and Grayson J

Reply from activity provider

Love it!! Thank you so much we look forward to having you aboard on your next visit to Oahu! Have a great day! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise if you like sunset!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2019/11/18

The boat departed the pier just after the posted time. There’s a cash bar onboard and they have the must-haves there; Mai Tai, pina colada, among others. Buffet was open after the sail went up, about 15 minutes into the cruise. Basic stuff, chicken, rice, egg rolls, but nicely done. It’s mid November so the sunset was about 5:50, and on the one side the setting sun, the other Diamond Head and Waikiki, it really is a very nice setting for photos. The crew was friendly and took good care of us. We turned back after an hour and the last 30 minutes or so you also get the night view of Waikiki as the last light disappeared behind the horizon.
Make sure you take a Dramamine If you get sick on boats, because with all the activities in the area wakes can turn even the calmest sea into a roller coaster, and it was pretty windy that day. Also if you don’t show up on time the driver won’t wait, and you’ll just have to get a taxi or uber to the on-site check-in point.

  • Diamond Head at sunset

  • Last gleam of the sun

  • Waikiki at night, taken on the return

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best part of our vacation. Highly recommend! We may book again for this trip.

Reviewed by: Kim Tate, 2019/11/17

We had so much fun on this dinner cruise! We highly recommend it. The crew were fun and the food/drinks were tasty. The views of the sunset and shoreline were amazing. The music was perfect and enjoyable. This activity has been our favorite part of our vacation.

Kim Tate and Brad Haycock
Anchorage, Alaska

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My Review

Reviewed by: Jean, 2019/09/23

On September 18, 2019, my friend and I went on the sunset dinner sail. We were picked up close to our hotel about an hour before we sailed, so we got there in plenty of time. The crew was outstanding, very knowledgeable about the boat, keeping all of us safe, they were personable and made the cruise fun!! We were served a free drink with the opportunity to buy more. The food was very good for the most part with a variety of foods to choose from. The egg rolls were a little too hard IMO, but the chicken and stir fry vegetables were excellent! The weather was perfect, the views of the city were so picturesque and beautiful, enhanced by the appearance of a rainbow as we were leaving the dock! The sunset was breathtaking! I got a great picture of a sailboat sailing near us just as the sun was setting! It was a little cooler being over the water, so a light sweater might be in order. Being on the water was so relaxing, the waves were mesmerizing. You don't have to worry about getting seasick, because the boat is very stable (unless one is really prone to seasickness). There was plenty of room on board to move around and the other passengers were so friendly and helpful. We were brought back to our hotel around 8:30, the perfect ending to a perfect evening, after our first full day in Honolulu!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really nice

Reviewed by: Ursula, 2019/09/04

It was a really nice experience. The catamaran was clean. The food was really good. The drinks were delicious. I would recommend. We did this for our date night and it was really nice to see the sunset. It had a really nice vibe.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was the most wonderful experience

Reviewed by: knguyen, 2019/08/31

Sunset sail, great crew, great music, good food. what more can you ask for. This is one of the best trips we have in Hawaii.
I have no word to describe how anyone would not join this cruise. The scene was gorgeous and the crew couldn't be more inviting. Everyone was kind and make sure that we are safe and still have fun. I enjoyed most is the Mai Tai and the buffet . What a relaxing way to enjoy the sunset. I highly recommend this event. Is a must to do in Oahu

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dynamite Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Karrie B, 2019/08/28

Without having any expectations we can say that this excursion rocked! The captain and crew absolutely exceeded expectations in all areas - food, fun, booze, music, atmosphere and views! We weren't sure what to bring or really what to expect - bottom line is, you don't need to bring anything except a smile and a desire to relax and enjoy a great evening (and a camera if you're interested in getting some spectacular pics of the sunset, beaches, and some gorgeous coastlines). The food was quite delicious and well prepared (we've been on cruises like this before in other area's and is typical "rubber chicken" stuff - that was not the case here - excellent steak, bbq chicken, veggies, and fixings! The crew (doubling as bartenders) did not skimp on the drinks and made some truly good cocktails. The crew were also fantastic in checking on everyone and making sure everyone was having a good time and getting what they needed. The music they played was awesome and really helped set the atmosphere - you could dance by the moonlight or sunset and have a few romantic moments - or just some good atmosphere. We would absolutely go again!

  • A group of us together for sunset on deck!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best sunset / dinner cruise on the islands!

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2019/08/26

The captain and crew of this boat were phenomenal! They created at atmosphere that was relaxed, fun and entertaining (no easy feat considering the diverse group on board!). The food was surprisingly excellent (we had low expectations and were quite pleasantly surprised) :) The drinks were quite good, generous and not watered down at all (again, something common on other cruises). The views were spectacular and the captain made sure that everyone knew what was coming and how / where to enjoy the sights. We would absolutely go out on this boat / trip again any time were on the island. Cannot recommend this trip highly enough.

  • View coming back into port!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We do try our best to bring a great sailing experience to all of our guests. Have a great day! Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Sailing

Reviewed by: Penny, 2019/07/30

We had a beautiful night onboard Makani Catamaran.
Sailing out from Waikiki Beach was a dream for us. Once out of the harbour they set the sails and we sailed along with views of the beach and Diamond Head. We even saw a turtle. The bar was open soon after and drinks were very reasonable. The buffet dinner was delicious, very fresh and tasty. The sunset was beautiful!! The crew was very professional and friendly. Thank you for a lovely sunset sail. We hope to come along again soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great - except for the sea sickness

Reviewed by: MarZ, 2019/07/30

The crew was great and the food was delicious. Advice for those who get sea sick: premediciate! The catamaran isn't huge, so riders definitely feel every wave. The evening we went the water was really rough and seasickness definitely puts a damper on an otherwise great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great - except for the seasickness

Reviewed by: MarZ, 2019/07/28

The crew was great and the food was delicious. Advice for those who get sea sick: premediciate! The catamaran isn't huge, so riders definitely feel every wave. The evening we went the water was really rough and seasickness definitely puts a damper on an otherwise great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Time On Oahu's South Shore!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2019/07/13

We had the most awesome time on Makani Catamaran! The views of the city are beautiful and give you a very different perspective of the city from the ocean.

The catamaran is well maintained, clean, and very stable on open waters. The best place to sit is up front near the trampolines as you head out towards Diamond Head.

Captain Brad, Adam, and Tommy were very personable, and made sure that all passengers were having a great time.

We highly recommend this sunset cruise. It is so relaxing and absolutely stunning!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Murray becker, 2019/06/28

Tonight my girlfriend and I did the sunset tour with Kia, Alicia and Brad. It was a bumpy ride because of the wind and they really looked after all of us. It was a full boat and they managed to cater for everyone very well. We would highly recommend this tour. They staff were lovely, the view is spectacular, the dinner was brilliant and the cocktails were unreal! Over all a great experience! Definitely give it a go, you won’t regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had such an amazing time!!!!

Reviewed by: Candace Manly, 2019/06/23

We actually got there a bit early so we’re lucky enough to get one of the few free parking stalls right in front of the dock. While standing in line I notice this seemed like it was going to be a crowded venue with how many people were there, but to my surprise it was quite comfortable.
We were greeted immediately once on the boat by the staff who were very accommodating. They answered any questions we had and even assisted with taking pictures of my husband and I so we could have the beautiful sunset in the background.
The food was also better than I expected. There was a wide array of options including some meats, vegetables, and vegetarian options. They were all really tasty.
The bar opened right as we got into open water and stayed open till last call after we docked. We bought the souvenir cups which if you refill more than twice is worth the $8 to purchase. You get more per refill and the refill is cheaper. Plus, it’s a great travel cup with lid and straw.
There was music playing in the background speaker than was a nice gentle theme. It set the tone for a nice relaxing ambiance. Not to obnoxious and not elevator type either. I quite enjoyed it as well.
Even my expectation with the boat itself was surpassed. It looked a little smaller than I expected but it was also quite comfortable. The seating was on the lower deck with several tables in the dining area. Most people started out The trip in this seated area (as we did). Everyone ended up on the top deck meandering around by the end of the trip.
I vividly remember this little girl who at the beginning of the trip was crying and fussing. Seemed like she was having a miserable time and no one could console her. By the end of the trip even this little girl was laughing and living the night up like the rest of us. I thought to myself if the staff can manage to make this little girls night amazing then they can do anything!!
This was an amazing adventure and I would recommend it to anyone who asked!!!

  • Enjoying the beautiful sunset scenery

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Grace, 2019/06/21

We had such an amazing experience on the sunset dinner cruise. The crew were extremely friendly and fun, and the food was good. I just couldn’t stop thinking “how lucky are we” the entire time. Highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves and we often think as well "how lucky are we" to be able to share Makani with everyone!
Have a beautiful day!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent experience for my first time in Hawaii.

Reviewed by: Ray and Tanya, 2019/05/09

This was a great evening out. I had never been to Hawaii before, and my wife who had been previous with her family, had never experienced a dinner cruise. It was a great first experience for both of us.
The location was easy to find and the checking in process simple and fast.
When we were asked to board, the crew were friendly, approachable, and very professional.
The bar which was opened almost immediately when we were in open water was excellent, and the buffet dinner was also excellent. While not a sit still and eat in a cozy posh restaurant experience, this dinner cruise was more adventure styled and casual party atmosphere.
The number of guests on board was perfect (no more than 50?), not too many and not too few, for an excellent social mix. We met several wonderful people from around the world, and enjoyed the conversation and camaraderie.
The sunset as expected did not disappoint and the early evening sky line of Honolulu, Waikiki and Diamond Head, plus all the other sights was breath taking.
My wife and I would definitely recommend this cruise for those who desire to enjoy the outdoors while enjoying the sunset. The catamaran certainly gave us the feeling of being closer to the ocean, elements and each other.
We were very pleased that we selected this sail experience over others.
Smaller boat (catamaran).
Smaller guest number. We heard the some cruises have over 100 guests.
Perfect length. It was just over 2 hours on the ocean.
No dinner show to distract from the experience.
And perfect crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening

Reviewed by: Keith stokes, 2019/04/29

This was a great experience, the shuttle arrived right on time to pick us up, had to wait on the dock for about 20 minutes while the prepared for us to load which wasnt to bad, there was just the right amount of people so it wasnt to crowded, the food was amazing, the bar service top notch, and it was a nice smooth sailing and a perfect position for everyone to see the fireworks, would recomnd to to anyone to do from couples to families

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise... helpful and friendly staff!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2019/04/23

I would recommend this dinner cruise. The views were great! The staff was friendly and willing to please. The sunset was amazing! The food was tasty..but some of the food was not hot. But overall...a great experience for the price. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A delicious, romantic, and exquisite dinner cruise

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/03/26

This was our first sailing experience in Hawaii and we were more than satisfied with the evening. From the boat, to the crew, to the food, and the sunset, everything was perfect. The 65' vessel was clean and spacious with plenty of room to walk around and take in the views from every direction. Diamond Head crater in the evening light was majestic and stunning.
Throughout the sail, the crew were all helpful and attentive. In addition to their regular duties of serving food and drinks and providing knowledge of marine life (we saw a whale!), they also played the role of photographers and were kindly willing to take pictures of guests with the beautiful sunset as the backdrop.
Also worth mentioning was the delicious food. If you're vegan or vegetarian, no need to fear! They were very accommodating and provided various options like tofu wraps, spring rolls, rice, potatoes, and steamed/sauteed tofu with veggies. I certainly did not leave hungry! And of course the exotic cocktails were refreshing and yummy.
The Makani Catamaran dinner cruise exceeded our expectations and left us eager to set sail again!

  • Enjoying our complimentary mai tai and the view!

  • A stunning, multicolored sunset

  • Mesmerizing sunset in paradise

  • Mixed veggies, white rice, tofu roll, and grilled tofu. Also available: beef and chicken.

  • Another sailboat enjoying the evening water

  • Diamond Head in the golden sunset glow

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We are so happy to have you experience Makani, we look forward to having you aboard again!
Have a great Makani Day!
Aloha MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazingly great tour!!!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2019/02/24

Amazing tour!! Captain Brad, Adam, and Chris did a great job pointing out whales. We saw 6 including a baby. Beautiful sunset made the trip even more special. The boat was spotless and comfortable. The food was good and they had a good selection of trips. The boat trip on the catermaran was fun and it wasn’t too crowded. Highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just a wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Drew F., 2019/02/23

We went out for a wonderful sunset cruise on a beautiful catamaran with a tremendous crew. Kia was especially nice giving us extra tips on where to visit on the island during our stay. We saw a wonderful sunset and we’re lucky enough to see a mother humpback whale with her calf who was frolicking all over the place. We weren’t sure what to expect for food but it was quite delicious with chicken teriyaki, an Asian beef dish, rice and other nice seections. The drink tickets that come with the price offer a nice bonus. We were lucky enough to go on a nice clear night so we saw a gorgeous sunset. On top of everything, I researched other sunset dinner cruises and this was easily the best value. I would very highly recommend this for someone looking for a really nice night out!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience! Best tour!!

Reviewed by: Alaskan Fans, 2019/02/22

This was a wonderful experience! Whale watching was great. Brad, Adam, and Chris were very friendly. They were helpful pointing out where the whales were. We saw 5 or more whales. Even a baby. The boat is clean and comfortable. Food was good and they had a good selection of drinks. Highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories