This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail, Honolulu City Lights & Fireworks on Fridays

A wonderful, laid back experience!

Reviewed by: Ild, 2019/01/04

Just got back to our hotel and my wife and I really enjoyed this experience. The sunset was stunning and we even got to see some whales! The captain and crew were really nice and friendly. My wife loved her cocktail and I got a Mana Wheat beer which was good. The food was nothing too special but my wife and I enjoyed it anyways. I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. If you're not expecting a five star restaurant experience, you will enjoy it too.


  • sunset from boat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience great value

Reviewed by: yusuke, 2019/01/03

They provided free pickup to and from our hotel. The party was appropriate size. The food was surprisingly good. The crews we're all friendly and they made sure everybody was having a good time. The scenery was absolutely amazing and took loads of great photos. We saw some dolphins follow us and it was a pleasant bonus. We will definitely come back for the next trip.
The only minor problem was they picked us up at 4pm, dropped us off at the pier 4:10pm and we had to wait until 5pm to board the boat.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset catamaran sail

Reviewed by: Angeline L. Fasano, 2019/01/03

My husband and I throughly enjoyed the sunset cruise which happened to be on New Year’s Day 2019!
We were impressed by the professionalism and punctuality of the crew from start to finish.
We were picked up by their shuttle who pick up from Waikiki, cost was included. They arranged this at the time of booking.
Our favorite part of the cruise was the intimacy & the fact that we were able to see a whale!
There were 25-30 guests and the catamaran felt spacious and comfortable.
Tips; where something comfortable, long sleeves or sweater is a must. It gets quite windy and chilly. Photo opportunities are endless. Have fun and make sure to purchase the “sippy cup.” It’s a nice keepsake, but most of all it’s essentially more bang for your buck if you’ll be drinking more than the 1 drink ticket that is provided.
Oh and make sure to take Dramamine if you’re worried. about getting seasickz it can be a rocky one. Hope this helps. Enjoy!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great evening!

Reviewed by: Rob, 2018/11/25

An overall outstanding experience! Food was good but not crazy good. Can’t have too high expectations for a buffet on a catamaran though. The crew was wonderful. Initially thought there would be too many people for the boat to be comfortable but there was plenty of space for people to move around and take the pictures they wanted. The sunset was amazing and the trip lasted the perfect amount of time. I didn’t feel like they were rushing us back but we weren’t out so long that we got bored. Would highly recommend overall!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail - 11/17/18

Reviewed by: Kathy and Mitch, 2018/11/20

We would highly recommend this trip to anyone. The crew was very entertaining and accomodating. The catamaran was very clean and there was plenty of room for all....no crowding.
The delicious dinner was well organized and there was plenty!
We had a great time overall and again, would recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Check out another dinner cruise.

Reviewed by: RJAK, 2018/11/19

Was deopped off at the port waiting in the rain for over a hour to board the boat. Small boat, no tables to sit at to eat your food, limited food on board and no desert and drinks expensive for 6 oz. I would suggest a bigger boat for dinner cruise because of the small boat and limited food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not Enough Room

Reviewed by: Kim, 2018/10/22

The cruise overall was fun. Dinner was great. However, there was just not enough room onboard for all the people attending. I had to stand the whole time or try and find a rail to lean against. This was especially tough during dinner when we were bouncing through the waves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sunset and amazing crew

Reviewed by: Kyna, 2018/10/14

It was actually my second time doing this with my boyfriend. We did the cruise back in february 2018.
We had a great time and the crew was amazing as always. They’re very accomodating & energetic. They made sure everyone was having a great time which is awesome. We really did appreciate it! I loved the sunset especially when we were sitted in front. We were also able to take different photos in a different angle. The cocktails that were served as well taste amazing! I highly recommend this activity for anyone who wants to experience this beautiful sunset cruise. For future participants it might get cold so just bring a jacket or sweater to be sure. Enjoy!






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience...Great Customer Service.

Reviewed by: Emily R, 2018/10/02

This trip was definitely above our expectations. First, I want to applaud the customer service of this Company. Our first tour was cancelled due to weather. They informed us promptly and immediately rescheduled us for an alternative date. When we arrived after the boat, there had been an error in some customers booking causing a delay in the boat's departure. Not only did they extend our time, but our drinks were compensated due to the delay. We were more than obliged to wait for the late arrivals :). The boat was not crowded, the service was fantastic, and the music was great. As promised, we enjoyed the beautiful boat and the fantastic views of the sunset, city and diamond head. Everything was literally as promised. We would definitely recommend to friends.


  • Sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing way to experience the beauty of Waikiki from a breathtaking perspective

Reviewed by: Dionne, 2018/09/24

The sailing vessel was very impressive and incredibly well maintained and professionally operated. I am a sailing enthusiast and this catamaran was extremely smooth and well built to service a delightful dinner event. The crew was attentive, while also allowing the guests to enjoy their cruise and take in the beauty of Waikiki. The cruise had a personal ambience to it while accommodating the 25 to 30 guests that were on our specific sailing. We did not feel crowded at all, and it was nice to not feel like a “herd” of guests on those double decker party cruises. The food was tasty and filling. We did get to enjoy actually sailing on the main and the jib, and we only motored for a very short time. There is something magestic and almost spiritual about sailing on the sea. The cobalt blue water beneath, and the gentle trade winds so effortlessly powering the huge sails is an experience to treasure.

The only encouragement that I would make to the Makani experience is to provide some gentle Hawaiian music on top where the forward trampoline is. Most guests enjoyed staying forward on the trampoline, and the music only played below in the bar/covered seating area.

We chose to have the Makani pick us up from our hotel and the driver and vehicle were very professional. We recommend this option as it made the entire experience effortless. I would definitely do this activity again. It was worth the time and was a good value.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail, Sat, 9/22/2018

Reviewed by: Greg & Donna, 2018/09/23

This catamaran cruise this evening was an unforgettable experience! We have been coming to Oahu for over 15 years as a couple (this is our 25th wedding anniversary trip) and have never seen Honolulu and Waikiki from a boat tour before. The Makani was an excellent first-time experience: Well captained and crewed, this vessel holds people above and below deck. It has a head (bathroom) that is easily accessible before or during the voyage. The crew did a nice job with the meal and beverage service, were on top of all the ship and passenger details, and readily and easily answered our questions. We sat topside in the front on bean bag canvas seats by the webbing and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the boat, the water, and the sunset and coastline. It was fun to sail as far as Diamond Head and see the lighthouse, as well as Koko Crater. Also, the hotel pickup and dropoff was a nice experience. The suggestions on attire were right on track. We would someday like to try the Friday night fireworks cruise!


  • Thanks for the savings deal Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunset sail!

Reviewed by: Boyd & Trina, 2018/09/11

We took the sunset sail on Saturday night to cap off our honeymoon and we were not disappointed! Saw a great sunset,a school of dolphins and has a delicious dinner. If you want to go on a Friday though to stay out and view fireworks definitely book before your trip because it sells out!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Sunset Cruise!

Reviewed by: Boyd & Trina, 2018/09/10

My wife and I took a Saturday evening sunset cruise while in Oahu on our honeymoon. It was the perfect ending for our trip.

The pickup was efficient and smooth from our Waikiki hotel. The crew did a great job of interacting with the guest and sharing their knowledge of the sea-life and other boats we saw. We even saw a school of dolphins! The food was also plentiful and good.

The best advice I can give, the best night to go is Friday so you can stay longer and view the fireworks, but is best to book early because it probably won't be available to book once you get to Hawaii.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Gold

Reviewed by: Connecticut girl, 2018/07/26

Picture this the sea, the sky, the sun, the sail, and friends coming together on the Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail and you will experience the best part of my Hawaiian vacation.

The crew is fantastic. The music, the food and drinks are superb. The view of Honolulu is breath taking. As the catamaran takes me around the harbor I connect with the natural beauty of the mountains and the horizon. The sun slowly slips away and I am wrapped in Hawaiian gold.

The Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail is a must do.


  • sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

For a totally different view of the sunset this cruise is one to experience! Great vibes on the ride! Smooth sailing!!!!!!!!!! I think everyone had the aloha vibe and we all had a great time chatting with each other about beautiful Oahu!

Reviewed by: KCSN, 2018/07/11

We had a great time. It was definitely a perfect opportunity to get away from it all. With that said it’s worth the cost! The dock was easy to find. They are the first booth as you enter the lot. Check in was easy at 1700 and sailed promptly at 530 pm. It was nice to unwind with a friendly crowd from all walks of life while “chasing” the sunset. The crew were super chill and attentive. The food was okay. That night they had tofu rolls, egg rolls, white rice, glazed chicken, and ginger beef with veggies buffet style/self serve. Then had chocolate chip cookie after served by crew member. The bar was rolling so I take it everyone was enjoying their drinks. The package came with one drink, it can be used towards juice or soft drink or with spirits. The part I enjoyed the most was having the moment to sit back, relaxing and enjoying the “waves”. But for the most part, I did enjoy socializing with other people on the cruise. That night was filled only with good vibes. We did the cruise on mid part of our stay here in Oahu and it couldn’t have been more perfect. We were busy running around “chasing” for the best of the best and the 2+ hr sail finally gave me the chance to “breathe” if you will. We had plenty’s of time to take pictures and a crew member was more than happy to assist as well. He gave us the heads up as far as what to expect and he was right on. No surprises on board! Just how I like it! You can sit in the enclosed area which I do not recommend if you get sea sick or you can stay standing, do your Kate and Leo’s pose, sit and relax by the nets. Ladies it does get windy so unless you also want to be Marilyn Monroe, wear shorts or pants! There’s a parking lot directly by the dock for $1/hr. It was a smooth sail (take it from me..I am one to guaranteed to get nauseous just from standing on the beach). There were no children on board. I didn’t travel with my children this time so I am not sure if that is stated on the description site..


  • Ahhh

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Carla M. LeMaster , 2018/06/23

It was my first time going on a dinner cruise and it was everything i hoped it would be. The weather was nice and the view was beautiful. I was with my family that came to visit and they enjoyed it too. The food and customer service was good. I would bring back my family and friends here again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thrilling and gorgeous views of Waikiki

Reviewed by: Sheena De Laza, 2018/06/22

I particularly enjoyed the unique views of Waikiki that we got on the catamaran. The breeze was nice and the beautiful sunset made it all the more special. I would love to do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Jovy, 2018/06/22

The dinner cruise was fun and a very enjoyable one. Our relatives from Philippines whom we treated with the cruise were really surprised and they’re so grateful. It was perfect and worthy experience for all of us.

Reply from activity provider

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves! We look forward to having you aboard again in the future! Mahalo! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ride a beautiful new catamaran into the Hawaiian sunset

Reviewed by: Ben W., 2018/05/27

We really enjoyed the Makani Dinner Sail. Booking was easy through the website and the pick-up instructions were clear. When we arrived at the Illikai at the appointed time, the shuttle driver greeted us by name and we were off!

On board, the crew was super-friendly and low-key, not uptight or scoldy at all, which is always nice when you're out on an adult dinner cruise. And I was really happy that once we got out into open water, the captain shut off the engines and proceeded under sail. Much nicer ambiance without the diesels droning. Drinks were perfectly fine. My only critique would be food quality. The buffet they rolled out was perfectly fine for a boomer reunion picnic but as a picky millennial, I would happily pay a little extra per ticket for a level-up on the dinner spread. Maybe audition a few new caterers? Just didn't think it was at the same standard as everything else. Overall though, a really lovely break from Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The End of Hawaii Holiday

Reviewed by: Kelly and Brent, 2018/05/12

Great Crew, very good food, meet a lot of nice people. Enjoyed the beautiful sunset and fireworks!! Definitely a must do while in Waikiki. Was the best way to end our Hawaii holiday!!


  • Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must-Do!!!

Reviewed by: Quaston , 2018/04/30

Absolutely amazing! First time Hawaii visitor and this sunset dinner sail was by far my favorite activity. The crew members on the ship were very friendly, food was great, and the killer sunset was to die for. Highly impressed! If you like good food, music, and nice people, book this sunset dinner sail! Overall experience is a 10/10.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time with great views

Reviewed by: Zoe, 2018/04/30

This was a really fun outing and I highly recommend. You get a good few hours on a spacious catamaran. The staff were all friendly, helpful and funny. Food was delicious and buffet style with vegetarian options which was a plus. Included in the price is pick up and drop off which helped us immensely.

The views did not disappoint

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time on catamaran!

Reviewed by: Eduardo, 2018/04/29

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful time on this catamaran, with some good food sitting down on nets while sailing through the Waikiki waterfront. We didn't even go on Friday which includes the fireworks and still think it was more than worth it. Will definitely do it again if I am back in Hawaii in the future.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Eduardo
We are so happy you both enjoyed yourselves. It is our goal to give everyone a memorable experience and it looks like we succeeded. We look forward to having you aboard Makani the next time you are in Hawaii!
Best Regards, MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was great and relaxing cruise

Reviewed by: Jennielynn, 2018/03/22

The cruise was great and relaxing! The crew was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed how the trip brought us to see a scenic view of the island. Food was ok. Drinks were better! Would have been better on a less cloudy day but really no complaints.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your Sail Makani experience with us. So glad to hear you got to relax and enjoy the beautiful Hawaiian Sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Dinner Cruise exceeded our expectations!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2018/03/15

We originally tried to book the Star Line dinner cruise, but it was booked up. I'm glad we decided to book the Makani dinner cruise. It exceeded all of our expectations! The boat wasn't very big, but was able to accommodate up to 65 people.
The crew were very welcoming and willing to help with anything we needed during our ride. They really made the whole experience a lot more personable than we would have gotten if we booked the Star Cruise.
The food was a small buffet style selection. It was all you can eat, and was excellent! They don't have an open bar, but there's one free drink included in your purchase. The bartender Chris was a real cool guy. Probably the most popular guy on the boat. I can't seem to put my finger on why lol.
To cap the night off the fireworks over the water were amazing! To see Waikiki lit up and glaring with fireworks was the highlight for me. I would definitely recommend wearing a light jacket, possibly even some pants. It gets extremely windy during the ride!
If you're considering doing the dinner cruise you can't go wrong with the Makani!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your Sail Makani experience. So glad to hear you decided to sail with us. Looking forward to sailing with you once again.
Sending much Aloha!
Makani & Staff

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Activity

Reviewed by: Kenji, 2018/01/04

I feel like overall this was a good experience. The original booking was cancelled due to weather, but they were great about rescheduling (or cancelling altogether if we wanted) since it was weather. We went with another couple and were glad that we did. However, we did this more as a surprise and didn't have as much info as we should have (like someone not being great on boats). Despite that it was a fun experience. Like many things, it is what you make of it. The food was fine and the drinks were apparently good (I can only speak for the ones I tried but I enjoyed them). Once you get out on the water you kind of have to make your own activities since you are on a boat and that's the whole point of the experience.

If you want to have an enjoyable time on a boat, its a great experience, but if you come hoping to be entertained or something then you will be disappointed. For the price its not terrible (with the rebate). Going with a positive mindset makes for a good time. Good company also helps.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing, Chill, Perfect!

Reviewed by: Kiennan, 2018/01/04

A friend and I both took our ladies on a surprise sunset cruise with Makani Catamaran and it was fantastic. It was definitely one of those experiences that was so much fun time flew right by.

The great thing about this catamaran cruise is that you launch out of Kewalo Basin on a slip, not off of a beach like some Waikiki cruises. This means that if you want you can really dress however you like- shoes, jeans, dresses.

Once you get on the boat, you're introduced to the crew and they go through the obligatory house-keeping topics: Crew introductions, location of bathrooms, safety items, where you can go on the boat, etc. Then they go over how food and drinks work.

Food for us was a buffet of five items: Veggie/tofu wraps, rice, potatoes, shoyu(soy sauce) and ginger chicken- which was the best in my opinion, and beef stir fry. Each item had one tray's worth of food, which was easily enough to satisfy everyone on board, although I don't believe there were any left overs. I've read reviews stating the food was a little nicer than Panda's Express, and that seems like a very fair statement.

The cruise came with one free drink. On the boat non-alcoholic drinks are $2 and alcoholic drinks are $6, and the more alcoholic ones like Long Island Iced Teas are $8. You can buy a commemorative cup for $8 which holds about twice as much as the disposable cups you would get otherwise. Our bartender made good recommendations based on what flavors I told him we were looking for.

The best part is just being out at sea with the people you're with. Aside from the crew instructions at the beginning, it's very hands-off. You just wander around the ship enjoying your company and great views. Although it can get a little windy, it's quiet enough that you can converse at a normal volume easily. If you get cold you can spend a few minutes on the inside of the boat to warm up a bit.

If this is within your budget, I highly recommend it. It's simple, clean, and fun.





  • Picture of the commemorative cup. Quarter at bottom for size reference.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise!!

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2018/01/03

The Capt and crew made the experience so much fun! The water, the weather, the skyline- the drinks! Highly recommended the specialty of the boat. Again - can’t say enough about the crew - very personable and engaging!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: AC , 2017/11/08

We had to reschedule due to President Trump's visit to Oahu and disruption of island traffic. They were very accommodating and pleasant in assisting us. We may have missed the fire works but the views were awesome, the music pleasant, and the dinner varied/good! Mahalo to the Capt and crew!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much! We will pass on your comments to our crew. Mahalo! MakaniCat

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful ride!

Reviewed by: Victor, 2017/10/14

Great captian and crew. Free pick-up and return from Waikiki, didn't have to be concerned about drinking too much. Fun evening and great fireworks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

Oahu Categories