Gunstock Ranch Horseback Riding Tours

Great day out riding

Reviewed by: Tom from canada, 2017/09/21

My wife and I went on an amazing first time horse ride. I would like to especially like to thank GRACE. She was patient and kind. My wife was very scared but she put her at ease and made her very comfortable. We had an amazing ride well worth the money! The instructions were easy to understand and to apply. The scenery was beautiful with views of the ocean and mountains. The horses were beautiful and gentle. We went up and down the trails which made the trails more enjoyable.Even the drive out to the ranch was spectacular which added to an amazing time. Thank you Grace we will definetly recommend the Ranch to everyone we know.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you had a nice time. We also like Grace, she is awesome! When you visit Hawaii again please make sure to come see us.
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock ranch is an amazing trail ride

Reviewed by: JamesC, 2017/09/05

My wife and I did this ride with our 2 kids ages 10 and 12. The ride was super easy with incredible views. The horses are super calm and barely move when getting on and off them. They are very well trained which makes the ride very pleasant and enjoyable. At times I felt like the horse just knew what to do with little instructions from me. The staff are super friendly and knowledgeable. I especially enjoyed the scenery of the mountains and the seemingly endless amount of open land which surrounded us as we walked through the trail. The trail included walking up and down beautiful hills, under and around shady trees, all at a pace which was relaxing yet exciting. I can't say enough about this establishment and would recommend any family to visit this ranch.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day at Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Michele Colletti, 2017/09/04

My husband and I and our 2 kids age 10 and 12 set out from k'Olina area to the ranch. I have to say the drive was amazing. Great views, beach pull off spots, food trucks and we also stopped off at a coffee farm on the way. Once at Gunstock Ranch the staff was super friendly and accommodating. The horses were incredibly trained and easy to ride. The horses were very very very calm and I would trust my 91 year old grandmother could ride them and be just fine. The place was very clean and the horses very well kept after. Hardly any bugs at all, although we did put bug spray on us before hand just incase. I saw beautiful butterflies during the ride on beautiful lush natural trees and bushes. Seriously the views looked like movie sets and later we learned filming was done there in the past. The ride was easy, smooth and very very enjoyable. The scenery was incredible. We rode so close to cows big ones and baby ones. They were very calm and I was happy to know the cattle ranch does not brand their cattle but tag them with numbers. The people at this ranch really do take care of the horses. It's extremely apparent the amazing caring hands these horses are in. You do not need any prior experience at all to do this excursion and I highly highly recommend them over any other ranch in the area. We have done family trail rides before but this one was the best! When we return to Oahu we will be back.



Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review Michele! We take great pride in the care of our horses and our ranch, we are so glad you had an amazing time! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Dmitriy Veryovka, 2017/09/01

My family and I have been on several horseback riding tours, and this one was certainly one of the best. For one, the staff were great! They were very attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable, making us feel like we were in good hands.The horses were extremely sweet and well-trained too. Additionally, the actual ranch where the riding took place was absolutely beautiful! We saw everything from a rare cave, to an amazing view of the ocean, which made for a bunch of great photo opportunities. I would definitely recommend horseback riding at Gunstock Ranch to anyone in Oahu looking for a change of pace from the typical beach scene of Hawaii.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review Dmitriy! We are so glad you had a great time at our ranch as we care so much about our guests! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: Edwin Foliaco , 2017/08/20

We were in Hawaii for our honeymoon and wanted to do something adventurous so we decided to go to Gunstock Ranch for some horseback riding. The booking was really easy and I received a call an hour later with confirmation of my purchase. Shortly after I received an email with the confirmation details and directions to the ranch. The process went really smooth. The route out to the ranch along highway 83 was absolutely spectacular! It goes right along the ocean coast with gorgeous views and the splashing water literally hits your car as you drive by because your so close. The ranch was very nice, easy to get to with a super friendly staff. There are restrooms which were very clean for being outdoors along with sinks to wash your hands afterwards. Plenty of parking.
They take safety precautions when mounting and unmounting the horses. They recommend that you wear a helmet also but you can sign a waiver if you choose not to. The horses are really friendly and very well trained. The trails are absolutely beautiful as you leave the ranch, enter into the mountain side, through forests, up and down hills, and a view of the ocean off in the distance. You get to see the cattle, and the baby calves as you ride. Leanna was our guide and she was very knowledgeable about the ranch, the area, and the horses. I could see her love for them and she was very friendly and made sure everyone in our group was doing good and having a great time. She recommended many things to do on the island and was very helpful answering any questions we had along the way. We had a great time and recommend Gunstock Ranch to anyone who is looking for a great horseback riding experience!


Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your review!
We truly appreciate the great time you had here at our ranch, and we hope to see you soon!

Mahalo nui,
Emily H
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Birthday ride

Reviewed by: Michele Marsh, 2017/06/09

We celebrated our June birthdays with a glorious 1 hr trail ride at your ranch on Tues June 6. The wranglers starting with Tate and the other girls were professional, extremely nice and treated us all like royalty! Our horses were gentle and extremely professional as well. The sights were magnificent and we would highly recommend the Gunstock Ranch to any tourists and locales visiting the North Shore!

Reply from activity provider

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your ride. We also think Tate is pretty great! Mahalo for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Emily @ Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Joy Barlan, 2017/06/01

Emily was an excellent tour guide! Me and my 2 adult sons went on this activity and had a great time. We would definitely do it again. Thank you Emily for being an awesome tour guide.


  • Birthday memories!!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha!
Thank you so much for choosing Gunstock Ranch. We are so glad you enjoyed Emily on your ride, we think she is excellent too! We hope you had a great birthday and hope to see you again.

Mahalo,
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Brittany Urmann, 2017/02/07

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The ranch was beautiful and so was the scenery on the ride. Our guide was wonderful and very fun/easy to talk to. This was my first time riding and it was a great experience. I highly recommend this!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful place to adventure

Reviewed by: Camille, 2017/01/08

I took my daughter on a ride at gunstock ranch as a 12th birthday gift. We arrived 40 mins before check in and watched the horses get saddled up, and had a chance to see the newborn baby sheep! The guide, Garrett, was incredibly friendly and more then happy to answer all her questions and calm her nerves before the ride began. The 600 acre, family owned ranch is absolutely gorgeous! Amazing views the whole hour. Caves that have been used for TV scenes, big open fields of cattle, wild boars running around, rainbow etc. I would definitely return for more rides in the future, and will be recommending it to all my friends!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to leave a review with so many details. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the ride. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day!!

Reviewed by: Torie, 2016/12/30

What is awesome about Gunstock Ranch is that it is in a very secluded area. The trail is very peaceful and we rode through grassy clearings and lots of cattle. It was a very small and intimate group (myself, my friend and the instructor), which I really liked because on other trails I've been on it involved following a long trail of people on their horses. This time I felt more in control of my horse. The horses are very well trained and know how to follow each other. I've tried to get mine to trot, but since I was on a beginner's trail it wouldn't allow me to do it. Also, the instructor, Garrett (hopefully I spelled his name correctly), was very pleasant and helpful throughout the entire trail.


  • Autograph and Stoney, featuring Torie and Sally

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Torie for taking the time to review your ride and include so many details. Our goal is to keep the rides small so people can enjoy the horses, guide and scenery better. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North shore horse Back

Reviewed by: Eric James elizondo , 2016/11/27

This place at gunstock ranch was amazing the workers there were supportive right off the back. The greeting felt like home, no worries even though we were late due to the place due to traffic the team was very understanding. The 10,000 acre ranch was nice riding cowgirl and McAllen and being followed bullet the donkey was very romanctic. The horses were very easy to ride our tour guide did a good job telling us a little about the ranch what they have to offer and how we can learn a little about HAWAII history there. Me and my wife will most diffently want to come back and do the night dinner I'd enjoy this again prob try the advance racing of horses.


Reply from activity provider

Aloha Eric, Mahalo for taking the time to review your ride. We are so happy to hear that you felt at home. How fun that our donkey, Bullet decided to ride along too. We hope you get to get to come back soon both the dinner and advanced rides are fun :) Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Schelton , 2016/10/18

Great experience with people who really love their job. Absolutely wonderfully for couple looking to have a romantic day. Eye opening view of the ocean and coast line. "Lobeable"!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!

Reviewed by: Misaki No, 2016/10/14

Not only I thoroughly enjoyed the sea and shopping this time, but also slightly different things wanted to do it and applied to this tour. I had not ridden a horse in Japan either and was the first experience of the throb.
When run on the shoreline of the north shore, and arrive; the place that is full of green far apart from the noise of Waikiki. There are not only the horse but also a chicken and the peacock.
A horse and the first meeting to be taken care of after arrival this time. Our fellow is Keahi and Ruby. I have gentle eyes having the rich mane. I have you teach how to get on at once and am a walk start. A guide walks the top and arrives in the next. I can take in the muscle of the horse whenever I step forward, and one step is very powerful. We stretch out the back not to break preparations and add it and the pace of the horse. The scenery from the horse is high and feels the comfortable wind. I might stop on the way, but walk the way with the pitch difference easily. I took a photograph at the good place of the scene. It was the experience that I could taste beautiful air and scenery in instant one hour, and was valuable.
A guide could tell neighboring restaurants and the recommended beach and was very kind. I want to recommend it to all of you by all means.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: JB12, 2016/09/20

This was a very nice birthday surprise from my wife. I've never gone horseback riding and my wife booked us a family tour and it was GREAT! I was scared at first because I've never rode a horse before, but our Ranglers Tate and Jayden were superb on showing us how to do everything! Tate and Jayden were outstanding. I would definitely ride again with them. They ensured our safety at all times which was a huge plus for me. The ride was amazing, relaxing, beautiful and calming. I could not have asked for a better birthday gift. Not only was the ride great but we all learned some things about horses. Our horses were great also! Def one of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii! We really had an Awesome time!


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to review your horseback riding experience!!! Happy Birthday! So fun to hear that the whole family got to enjoy a ride. We will be sure to let Tate and Jayden know. Hope to see you again when you come back. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do with Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Marinesa Baez, 2016/09/18

OMG! I booked this tour for my husband's birthday today. It was simply amazing. Initially he was a little apprehensive, but once we started riding he really enjoyed the ride. Our guide was simply the BEST (Tate) He was very informative and knew so much about the ranch and the horses. He made the ride so much fun! We also enjoyed (Jayden) who was our other guide. We can't wait to go back because we will definitely be coming back here to do another tour. The scene was beautiful although it rained some of our ride we still enjoyed it and had a blast!! They make sure you are comfortable and are enjoying every minute of it. It was our kids first time riding as well. They had so much fun until they would like to get horses themselves now. You CAN'T go to North Shore and not do this activity!


  • Great times!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Relaxing Ride!

Reviewed by: Cowboy Cerrone, 2016/09/16

Beautiful Ride! We just missed the hurricane that was forecasted to hit the island. There was no rain and the weather was fantastic. We did the beginner ride which took about an hour. We were able to see other animals on the farm. The farm is massive; over 600 acres I believe. Next time I would like to do the intermediate or advanced ride. The staff was very professional and polite. The tour guide was kind enough to give us a background of the history of the farm. I would definitely return and recommend to anybody that this horseback ride was beautiful and romantic. Try the sunset ride if you go with your significant other :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rosemary Silva-Quiroz

Reviewed by: Rosemary Quiroz , 2016/09/08

The scenic tour was gorgeous. Garrett was an excellent tour guide and was very informative. The staff at the ranch are very friendly and professional. I would totally recommend this place.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous Scenery

Reviewed by: Megan NZ, 2016/08/30

I booked this for my teenage daughter and I and we loved it!
The ranch is gorgeous and the scenery was amazing. The horses are beautiful and well cared for and the staff are patient and really nice.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone. We did the 1 1/2 hour scenic ride which is perfect for beginners and riders with minimal experience.


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it so much. Happy to hear you enjoyed your mother / daughter time. We hope to see you again soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding at Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Joe Randke, 2012/11/15

My wife and I enjoyed our visit and horseback riding experience at the Gunstock Ranch. We did not want to go to a heavily commercialized facility for horseback riding. There were a lot of animals at the ranch and the scenery was beautiful. The ride trail was nice and rustic which we wanted in our experience. The guide provided us great instruction and information about the ranch, the area and plants along the trail.
Our only improvement suggestions are for the restroom facility's cleaning cycle, grading and packing the access road and a more legible road sign.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Ride

Reviewed by: Ann S. St. Paul, MN, 2012/07/17

My husband and I had a great time on our ride at Gunstock Ranch. Ross, our trail guide, was the best. I haven't been on a horse in years and it was my husband's first time riding. Ross matched us with great horses and took us on a great ride. We helped herd cows, went into the brush and up a mountain for views that were just amazing. This ride was truly one of the highlights of our most amazing trip to O'ahu. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Nathan L.Â, 2010/06/08

Gunstock Ranch is terrific in every way. The scenery is spectacular and the trail guides are fantastic.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you!

Reviewed by: Josie and Andy, 2010/06/04

Thank you for such a fantastic trail ride! Our guide, Brittany was great and it was so nice to have options for canter. Out of all the holiday riding experiences we have had, this has been the best by far. I can definitely say that if it wasn't for the 21 hour flight from the UK, we would be there every weekend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Lover's Paradise

Reviewed by: Ambre, 2007/11/22

My 9-year old and I went horseback riding and we had a blast. She is a little horse lover. The guide was a lot of fun and was very knowledgeable about the somewhat historic ranch. The view from the top of the mountain was beautiful. I would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Oahu activity!

Reviewed by: George, 2007/11/12

I did this with my 23 year old daughter and we both felt that this was an outstanding activity! The ride was great - some hills, windy trails, spectacular views, just the right length - 90 minutes. The staff was super - Darleena couldn't have been better - so knowledgeable, friendly and patient! The horses were very calm and perfect for this type of ride. We both agree that this is one of the best things we've done on Oahu. We've already recommended Gunstock Ranch to other family members that are planning to visit Hawaii. (I'll send photos later)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI