Waikiki Surf Lesson at Ala Moana Beach

Surf at ala moans beach

Reviewed by: Regan, 2017/07/21

The instructor is kind of young but they are really enthusiastic.Indeed it is very helpful and my families do really have a goodddd time. I especially appreciate that cheerful attitude which make you feel comfortable for the whole surfing time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surf lessons

Reviewed by: royp, 2017/04/17

Had a great time with these ladies! They did an awesome job explaining and teaching us what to do. Would definitely surf with them again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

priavte surfing lessons

Reviewed by: Bo Wilhelm, 2016/08/20

The instructors we had were unbelievably professional, fun, courteous and accomodating. My daughter and I definitely recommend private lessons.





  • Mahalo for everything.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing Lesson

Reviewed by: Jon Brookins, 2016/03/24

We had a great time with our surfing lesson. The instructors were very helpful and encouraging. Would highly recommend as a fun morning activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing at Ala Moans beach

Reviewed by: Regan, 2015/08/28

The instructors are doing the awesome job, this is the second time I joined this tour and they are taking very good care for my daughter since she is not a very good swimmer. My sister is the first time to join the tour but she really enjoying it . For sure I will recommend to my friends !!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for the review! It's always nice to hear our hard work paying off for the customers :) We're glad your daughter and you had a good time with us and we hope to see you again! Mahalo.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Sang, 2015/04/24

It was my first time surfing!!! I had so much fun!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,
We are so happy you had a great time! We loved surfing with you and we can't wait to see you some day soon!

Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

so good

Reviewed by: kim byoung ho, 2014/10/06

wondeful experiance
nice teacher
nice surfing
i wanna try again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

girls who surf waikiki

Reviewed by: amyc, 2014/08/30

I expected a stand up paddle board group lesson but ended up with a solo surf lesson and had a great time. Chris was a good instructor and got me out into the water and riding the waves in hardly any time at all. He was also close by and attentive to my safety and form. It was great fun and I plan on doing it again the next time I'm in Hawaii....

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Amy! We're so glad you loved the surfing solo mission :) We can't wait til you're back in the water surfing again. Chris Casey definitely is a great instructor and we love that you had such a great time. Stay in touch with us on our facebook or instagram and we'll see you when you're back on island! Mahalo ~ Girls Who Surf

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

recommend to take surfing lesson!

Reviewed by: Laulea, 2013/09/30

It was 2 times to take surfing lesson. Izzy was a very friendly and wonderfull instructor. I had a great and fun time!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really fun thing to do

Reviewed by: vikbmart, 2013/09/17

We had heard really great things about Girls Who Surf so had picked them for our very first surf lesson. One downside is that apparently it is impossible to actually get a female instructor which makes you wonder about the name of the group. Our instructor was Warren and he did a good job of explaining what all to do and then took us into the water. I was horrible at it and opted to sit out and let my husband finish the course instead and he actually ended up doing rather well. They took photos for us and since we were such bad surfers and there were so few photos they gave us a discount on the photo package. Both Warren and the photographer were really nice. Only possible negative of the outing is that even though we had provided height/weight info ahead of time they did not bring a board big enough for my husband and had to go get another board which delayed the start of our lesson. Wasn't a big problem since the weather was nice and we basically just sat on the beach waiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great expericence

Reviewed by: Laulea, 2013/08/05

I took group surfing lesson. The instructor was very helpful and kind. He put me in as many waves and I had a great time! I'd like to try to take the lesson again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience!

Reviewed by: Bigrbull, 2013/05/30

Three of us from Nebraska went surfing! One got up on waves! had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Times

Reviewed by: Candice, 2010/12/28

My sister and I went surfing for the first time and had a blast! Cherry and Carol were awesome and put us in as many waves as possible. Girls Who Surf will be on my list of things to do the next time I'm in Oahu! I would recommend Girls Who Surf to anyone looking for a safe, fun time!!!!!

Candice
Houston, Texas

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Warm wishes from cold Cali,

Reviewed by: Adrienne and Randy Tabije, 2010/06/04

Thank you so much for my surfing experience! Four days was definitely not enough for me and I miss it already. You all were so kind and helpful. This was, by far, the best surfing experience I've had in all my attempts to learn. Because of that, I'm planning on picking up some classes out here in California once the weather gets better. So hopefully by the time I return next year, I'll be on a much smaller board =). You guys are awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do!

Reviewed by: Stephanie Broughton, 2010/06/04

My two hours with Mito were such a highlight of my time on Oahu I am telling lots of people who are going to the islands that this is a "must do" activity. We had so much fun together and I actually was able to stand, sort of. I have balance problems and thought this was something I would try and enjoy, no expectation of success. I am still not the best in the balance arena, but I did stand on two feet without hands--an accomplishment for me and a credit to Mito's skill as a teacher.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Coolest experience ever!

Reviewed by: Mermaid Marie, 2009/06/27

I always was interested in surfing and it has been a long time dream of mine to surf. The instructors are extremely helpful and encouraging. I had sooooo much fun and i surprised myself with how many waves I actually caught. I can honestly say that I picked up a new hobby.=)
P.S. Yuko is amazing!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gotta surf when you're in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Surfin' Steve, 2009/02/13

Learning to surf must be on just about everyone's 'must-do' list when they come to Hawaii. It was on mine because my Dad surfed in California while he was with the Marines.

I rented a board in Waikiki and went out on my own. Paddling is great exercise but I wasn't even able to stand up. I found an ad for Girls Who Surf in the Army MWR magazine and called them. At my first lesson, I was able to stand up and ride on a half dozen waves!

I went for another seven lessons over the next five months progressing from using a 12-foot board to being able to surf with a 7-foot board. I wanted to progress fast and the instructors at Girls Who Surf gave me the skills to do it.

Through Girls Who Surf, I gained confidence, strength endurance in my upper body and have improved my balance skills. My first lesson wore me out paddling for waves. Eight months later, I was able to paddle a mile to a surf-break then surf for an hour-and-a-half and still had energy to spare

My friend Jackie wa



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: kiki, 2009/02/12

Great company for a first time surfer, girls are awesome instructors who really make u feel empowered! Totally feel like I had a great surf experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/02

The instructors were great-very supportive and helpful.
You need to warn people to wear some footgear-there are sharp rocks that cut our feet walking in after surfing. Also, a photographer/video would be nice since we can't hold on to cameras
while surfing (and you would make more $$).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI