Rugged Single-Track Off-road Mountain Biking Adventure in Maunawili Valley

Overall Rating

4.714.71 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews (Post a review)

Best way to see Kualoa Ranch!

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2017/11/13

I've never gone mountain biking before. In fact, before this year I didn't even ride a bicycle regularly. Suffice to say, the biking adventure was one heck of a workout!

With that in mind, I still think this tour is one of the best ways to see Kualoa Ranch. A lot of the rides are on the regular routes that the tour buses and ATVs use, so you see a lot of the film sites around the ranch anyway. Most of your tour will be on roads that see regular use by ATVs and horses, but there are a few single-track paths as well. Most of the route isn't overly challenging as a result, but there are a few areas where a mixture of incline/decline and rough terrain (rocks, sand) can be intimidating for newbies (like me).

I have to dedicate some time to talk about our tour guide, Keala: she was the best. Not only was she fun, knowledgeable, and experienced, Keala was also encouraging, accommodating, and generally looked after everyone in the group. From giving us instructions on riding the bikes, to talking about the history of Kualoa and culture of Hawaii, to getting us prepared for the trail and terrain, Keala was brimming with enthusiasm the entire tour!

We all got a bunch of snacks (Clif and granola bars) as well as three bottles of water for the ride, with hip pouches to hold all of them. After being introduced to the bikes and given some advice on how to best ride them, we got to test them out to get familiar before actually going on the ride. While the route we took was hilly, each tour is adapted to suit the group.

The weather was perfect, but there was quite a lot of mud and puddles due to the heavy rains the prior day. After we finished the ride, we enjoyed sandwiches, chips, and cookies for lunch with cold water. While tiring, the tour felt a lot more like I was "experiencing" Kualoa Ranch for real instead of just going from one site to another. The area is incredibly beautiful, and mountain biking around the valley has to be the best way to see it!


  • Styrofoam dinosaur bones


  • Bikes lined up as we explored a bunker


  • Panoramic view of the valley

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip!

Reviewed by: Ryan, 2017/08/30

Very informative and beautiful scenery. Kualoa Ranch is a must.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent ride, amazing views!

Reviewed by: William Clark , 2017/07/05

Mountain biking at Kuala Ranch was amazing. Some fire road, some single track, with nonstop views. Our guide (Roedalph) pointed out all of the movie sets on the ranch, and we had a great time. Would definitely recommend it.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic and fun

Reviewed by: Cyn , 2017/03/24

A great day's activity and a very active one too. Very scenic some beautiful spots. The weather was hot so bring lots of water. Guides were awesome and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountain Biking

Reviewed by: Jon, 2017/03/01

This is a terrific tour and luckily it was just my son and I in Keala and she did a wonderful job


  • Beautiful Day

Reply from activity provider

That was lucky! We usually have several more riders.. Glad you had fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Dro, 2016/12/19

If you like to mountain bikes and amazing scenery with a great guide, you must do this tour.
My girlfriend and I did it. At first she thought it was going to be challenging but anyone with a good enough physical condition can do this tour. Bring your camera! some ice water, (water is provided but bring your own ice water if you can,) You need all the basics, you're going to be outdoors for a long period of time so you need sunblock, some mosquito repellent, a book-bag, sunglasses, ice water, some extra snacks for yourself and an extra battery for your camera or a portable charger for your phone. Do it!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo! We hope you will come ride again next time.. We hope to have some new trails for you by then. Happy Holidays!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!

Reviewed by: Maritza, 2016/08/31

Great guide, well organized! Guide was knowledgeable and informative. Rode through lush landscapes. Ranch has been used to film various movies such as Jurrasic Park, Windtalkers, Godzilla.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch Mountain Bike Adventure

Reviewed by: Bob, 2015/10/07

Great ride, spectacular scenery. Our tour guide, Metaus, was superb--lots of fun, a pleasure to ride with.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect,perfect, perfect!!!!

Reviewed by: Emi, 2014/12/11

We loved this tour, was fantastic!
It was a perfect way to know more about Hawaii!!!
Our guides were the best!
All in these tour is perfect and highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MTB through Jurasic Park

Reviewed by: MAE, 2014/04/08

As an avid cyclist, a bit more of a workout might have been better, but understanding that everyone is not, the leisurely group tour was fine/good. Our guide, Mattius was easygoing, yet professional and made the excursion both informative and fun. I recommend this tour for anyone at the beginning level who is looking to see some beautiful scenery!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch Mountain Bike Adventure

Reviewed by: Randy , 2014/03/11

It was our 2nd time on this adventure, this time it rained hard the day before and during the activity but it just added to the fun level,a fun time was had by our whole family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

briliant

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/30

Cycling throught the rain forest was a great exsperence seeing all the places were film were made and just being at one in the forest. the guild was very good and helpfull. Enjoyed the whole thing thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Ride.

Reviewed by: Jon & Denise., 2009/12/17

From being collected from and dropped of at our hotel, our guide Jeremy made us feel entirely comfortable and at home.
We are intermediate riders and did not find the ride exceptionally challenging.
However having said that, the ride was quite spectacular with some breath taking views. We found our guide to be informative, professional and knowledgeable.
His understanding of the history, culture and inhabitants of Oahu and what pertained to the area in which we were riding, was quite intriguing.
We would highly recommend this activity to beginners and intermediate riders alike.
When we return next year we will most definitely be taking the ride again.
Thank You once again, it was a lot of fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The great Bike Tour

Reviewed by: Kazuya, 2009/02/06

I've really enjoyed this bike tour.
It seems to be suited for beginner or intermediate.

If you are intermediate biker, don't miss the upper class course that you can request to the guide.
There are lots of bush, rock and the crossing point of the creek.
It's so fun!
You feel more fulfilled.

And Jereny, the guide was so nice guy.
He told us not only the course but also many histories about the ranch.



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI