Majestic Waikiki Whale Watch Afternoon Cruise - See Hawaii's Humpback Whales reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

To participate in any of our on island activities, all travelers arriving to Hawaii must complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine, and the most up-to-date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Majestic Waikiki Whale Watch Afternoon Cruise - See Hawaii's Humpback Whales

Overall Rating

3.91 3.91 / 5

Reviews

257 reviews
Post a review

Brought to tears by these MAJESTIC animals

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2020/03/09

Yes, I was actually brought to tears by seeing these amazing animals so close. I unfortunately didn't get any photos of the whales themselves because I was so mesmerized by them. This Majestic whale watch cruise did a great job of spotting whales and getting closer to them (but not too close). We were able to have amazing sightings of these graceful creatures, even though weather and ocean conditions weren't ideal. I'd do this every single day if I could!

  • Even on a windy day we were able to have great whale sightings!

  • Huge windows makes it easy for you to have a great view even from inside the boat

  • Comfortable seating inside and outside

  • Very nice atmosphere inside

  • Great views from the front of the boat, on the top deck, or inside

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We’re grateful to hear you had an amazing day witnessing these beautiful creatures! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you'll join us again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Time Spent With My Mom

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2020/03/04

My mom had been wanting to do a whale watch cruise for a very long time now and she was very excited when I booked this tour to do with her. Once the boat had departed they had told us that lunch will be open the entire trip. We did not want to miss seeing the whales so we went to get lunch as soon as they announced that it was open. While eating our lunch the captain had announced that they had spotted a whale and that was the first time we were able to see whales on our tour. For the entire time we followed the same mother and calf whale that we had spotted in the beginning. We were able to spot them many times during the duration of the tour! My mom was also able to see some dolphins during the tour as well. It was such an amazing experience for both my mom and I and we both would love to go and do this tour again next whale watching season!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We’re so happy you and your mom enjoyed your whale watch cruise with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and recommendation. We can't wait for you to join us again in the future! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

超好玩的 大家ㄧ定要來參加 非常有趣的體驗 So good !!! I love it !!! 超好玩的 大家ㄧ定要來參加 非常有趣的體驗 So good !!! I love it !!!

Reviewed by: Chen, 2020/02/15

超好玩的

大家ㄧ定要來參加

非常有趣的體驗

So good !!! I love it !!!

超好玩的

大家ㄧ定要來參加

非常有趣的體驗

So good !!! I love it !!!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching in hawaii

Reviewed by: STEHEN RAYNES, 2020/02/08

Our experience started good and just got better. From pick up to drop off. The staff made the day from pick up, on the boat from service to knowledge. When we spotted the whales was the icing on the cake. Overall a fully enjoyable day.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experience, we’re glad you enjoyed exploring with us. We hope you’ll join us for another whale watch cruise soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rare exciting experience

Reviewed by: Hannah R., 2020/02/04

We had a wonderful time on our whale watching excursion! We were picked up by the bus - it was early/on-time. We made it to the dock, got our picture taken (didn't buy it, it was too pricey!), then on to the boat. The boat was huge and there was plenty of seating inside and on the top deck. We opted out of lunch, which I think was for the best since me and my husband didn't feel that great on the ride out in the open water. But it did look nice and drinks were available for purchase. Once we got out on the water, we started seeing some whale blows and headed more in that direction. We then saw dolphins swimming next to our boat which was just as exciting as seeing the whale! But what was even cooler was once we got closer to the whale, marine biologist said that what we were seeing was the dolphins were playing with the whale, which he hadn't seen in 4 years! He was very informative. We also enjoyed some live music which seemed the bring the whales and dolphins around more! We probably saw about eight whales in all, ten dolphins and one sea turtle. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, aside from feeling a little seasick.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your whale watch cruise with us! Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you aboard again soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching cruise.

Reviewed by: Rick, 2020/01/29

It was great. Saw lots of whales and got lots of pictures. Awesome ship as well.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We’re happy to hear you had an awesome whale watch cruise with us! We're glad you enjoyed watching the whales! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and taking part in the Aloha spirit. We hope you’ll join us again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Whale Watching Experience!

Reviewed by: Tonya and Stan, 2018/05/13

We booked this activity for our first full day in Oahu. The shuttle pickup location was fairly easy to locate with the instructions given. The boat was very nice and spacious, and the staff were friendly. The food and drink selection for lunch was good. I enjoyed the hot tea and coffee options as it got a little chilly at times out on the desk. We saw whales right away, right along the coast of Diamond Head. They tracked the whales and we were able to see the pair come up to the surface multiple times during the course of the trip. The guide was very informative, giving us a lot of facts about the whales, their migratory patterns, etc. Make sure to take your Dramamine... I bought some and didn't have any issues... but I definitely saw a few people who got seasick and did not have quite as good of an experience as we did. The professional photographer was a nice addition, and allowed us to enjoy being present in the moment while they captured the whales. We purchased two prints at the end of the trip that were beautiful. Make sure to bring a light jacket, and binoculars (I was glad I remembered mine!).

  • The one pic Stan took before we found out about the pro photographer being on board!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time, food and whale watching!

Reviewed by: Awberg, 2018/04/08

This whale watching trip was the highlight of our week long vacation on Oahu! I will recommend this whale watching trip as a most do for anyone going to Hawaii! Food was excellent; the onboard naturalist was great and the boat and crew were first rate.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time with the family

Reviewed by: DBA, 2018/03/11

The family enjoyed it very much, the staff was helpful abd informative.. plus we got to see whales abd dolphins..

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a brilliant day

Reviewed by: Juliek, 2018/02/03

We were very happy with our experience day.The whole trip was fab,from the food to seeing the whales,such majestic creatures.Would highly recommend anyone to do this trip.Youll love it

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Neat Experience!

Reviewed by: Happy traveler , 2018/01/27

The staff aboard the vessel were accommodating and informative. There was a nice buffet with a full service bar. The captain went out of his way to make sure we had a whale sighting. There were professional photographers on board to capture photos of the whales if you miss getting your own in all the excitement of seeing a whale for the first time. I will definitely do this again on my next visit to the Island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was nice. Server was excellent and very friendly.

Reviewed by: Margaret Gagnon, 2017/12/22

Saw several whales, good photo opportunities, nice music, food was okay, and accommodations were good in spite of rainy, overcast weather. The photos for purchase were overpriced.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We would definitely go again.

Reviewed by: Clare Morgado, 2017/03/16

We are local and go whale watching at least once a year. We have been whale watching on four islands and on as many different boats. As for comfort and ease of viewing we enjoyed "The Majestic" the most.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mixed feelings...

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/01/13

Let me start by saying that everyone was so friendly. My husband was here on a business trip so I came to do this tour on my own. The free transportation they provided went very smoothly. Pick up from my hotel and drop off at the end. One of the reasons I picked this tour group was the guarantee to see whales. Upon arriving, they welcome you and let you know where the lunch buffet is and that you can sit on any floor. The weather was beautiful and the sailing was very smooth. Unfortunately, there were no whales or aquatic life to be seen. At the end of the tour I was given a voucher to come back another day. I came back the next. Unfortunately again, I had the same experience. I found out later from locals that it's hard to see them in major boat trafficking areas. So while I didn't get to see any whales or aquatic life, the trip itself was nice. I was able to converse with other travelers and have some nice water time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GOOD EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by: gregory , 2017/01/03

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF BOTH AT SUTTLE PICK UP AND ON THE CRUISE. THE MAJESTIC (ATLANTIS) SHIP IS VERY CLEAN AS EXPECTED WITH VERY GOOD CREW MEMBERS. THE NATURALIST EXPLAINED WHAT WHALES ARE DOING IN THE HAWAII AREA. FOR ALL OF MY FAMILY THE SEAS AND WEATHER WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE SIZE OF THIS VESSEL. SEAS WERE ABOUT 3 TO 4 FEET WITH TRADE WINDS AT 15 MPH. SO FOR ALL OF US VERY NICE. REMEMBER THIS IS HAWAII. WARM YES.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watch

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/04/24

Great family activity for all ages. The naturalist on the boat was very nice and obviously loves his job. He was very knowledgeable and was very funny as well. Even though it was almost the end of the season 4/1 we did see several whales. The boat was very smooth sailing and the lunch buffet was nice. Nice way to start out a vacation after a long day of travel.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and relaxing

Reviewed by: John, 2016/04/17

My wife and I decided to go whale watching and the first time out we did not see any whales. However, they have a guarantee so we went out a second time a few days later and saw lots of whales. It was fun and exciting. It was really enjoyable and the cruise back to Honolulu was relaxing. I would recommend this to anyone and I would definitely do this whale watching cruise again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice

Reviewed by: Mama, 2016/04/05

Very nice experience! I was going with my 8yd son. Very impressive!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watch

Reviewed by: Marcela Lozano, 2016/03/26

I think it is a tourist trap. We were very disaponted. We felt they were bot looking fot whales but that they allready had a route fixed

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time! Whales! And more Whales!

Reviewed by: DColby, 2016/02/23

My husband and I booked this spur of the moment the last day we were in Honolulu in late February. Very friendly staff, boat is catamaran style but has indoor and outdoor decks. Large enough so anyone concerned about being on the ocean in a small boat needn't worry. They serve lunch and also do dinner cruises but we didn't partake in those. They guarantee you will see whales and we were so excited to see four! We were able to float along with a mother and a week old calf. Mother breached the water twice and the baby spent the entire time jumping exuberantly trying to imitate. Such beautiful and graceful animals. Humpback whales go to Hawaii to mate and give birth so it's a perfect place for a whale watch! Great activity for couples and families. Definitely recommend Navatek/Atlantis activities (they do whale watches plus glass bottom boat & submarine tours).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Navatek whale cruise

Reviewed by: Vonda, 2016/02/19

My husband and I had a great time! Cousin K was awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What you gonna do???

Reviewed by: Pat, 2016/02/13

3 whales about 100 yards away. I wish I could post some whale pictures.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day

Reviewed by: Krish, 2016/02/12

We had a great day along with our 2 year old daughter
Saw whales quite a few times along with some calves
Even the boat ride was great to get in the views
Taking a camera is a must

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice enough but too short

Reviewed by: Leah, 2016/02/02

The ship and crew are lovely and we saw a pod of 3 whales come up 3 times, but it felt too brief. We were in one location the whole time and before you knew it we were heading back. Maybe thats what all whale watching tours are like. If there was a longer option I'd do that next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience!

Reviewed by: Jan B, 2016/01/31

Great buffet lunch, accommodating service staff and siting a number of whales - what could be better?

I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching

Reviewed by: Shawna, 2016/01/30

We saw a family of whales on our trip! It was a good day out although I think it would be better to see them on another island....

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Excursion

Reviewed by: Mike & Donna, 2016/01/20

Awesome Boat, great crew, good food, spent a lot of time watching whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour but didn't get close to the whales

Reviewed by: Clayton, 2016/01/17

The tour was professionally organised and well run. The boat provided plenty of viewing opportunities for all onboard. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable. We found some whales but didn't get really close (which was the only downside).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service

Reviewed by: Emily, 2016/01/06

Service and crew were great! Saw a couple humpback whales swimming from a distance. May have not been late enough in the season to see as much as expected.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Navatek whale watch

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/04/21

End of season for whale watch so we didnt get to see one but it was lovely just to cruise around the ocean. Nice weather on that day. Free transportation pick up and friendly staff. Got free re sail voucher but upgraded mine to atlantis submarine which was amazing to see things underwater. Will sign up to this in the future again

  • About to sail

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories