Waikiki Luau Dinner with Polynesian Show & Fire Knife Dance | Rock-A-Hula reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waikiki Luau Dinner with Polynesian Show & Fire Knife Dance | Rock-A-Hula

Overall Rating

4.74 4.74 / 5

Reviews

140 reviews
Post a review

Great Time, Great Show!

Reviewed by: Star, 2024/06/07

Good time overall! We enjoyed the dinner and show package.
Upon arrival we assumed we would be provided with the traditional lais (flower garlands) so didn't bring/wear our own, but we were told that is an additional cost...a little disappointed to come to a luau type event and not see everyone in hawaiian lais/ flowers.

The welcome drink provided was nice and there were a variety of food options available at the buffet.
We enjoyed the dancing and show during dinner... it made it more personable.
It would be great if there was more spacing at the table between guests (you're seated at a large rectangular table with other attendees) and if glasses were provided for bottles ordered (we received disposable plastic cups with the champagne we ordered)
The theatre show was overall great. It was nice to see music through time.
Wonderful singers, especially the host Chardonnay. The Chief fire dance was definitely my favorite part of the evening. You can see the work that goes into this production...it was a highlight of our trip and provided us with great memories for our hawaiian vacation! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great option if looking for something different or indoors for rainy weather.

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2024/05/20

We were on Oahu during an especially rainy time when many luaus were being cancelled because of rain. We were happy to find this one that was covered for the meal and the entertainment, guaranteeing it would not be rained out! The venue is relatively small for a more intimate feeling than many other places.
Service was quick and welcome drinks were nice.
All in all the food was good other than the pork being a little dry.
The entertainment included an Elvis and Michael Jackson impersonator, in addition to the traditional dancers and fire dancer.
Staff was friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Performance

Reviewed by: Tipsuda Luangthong, 2024/05/14

- That was a great show! Excited about every performance. Delicious food with plenty of choices. The staff is welcoming, adorable, smiles all around, and polite to every customer.
- I love the performance! The stage acts are fantastic, and every actor performs so well. The singing is incredibly beautiful
- A place near the accommodation, convenient to travel to, and easy to find parking.
- My husband and I will definitely come back to use the service again, and we'll bring our family along next time.

  • Food is amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WHAT A GREAT SHOW!!!

Reviewed by: Charie Bueno, 2024/05/13

Its our first time to travel to hawaii and attending a luau is for sure one of the things we want to try! I came across online this activity and booked it right away. We had it last night and all i can say was just WOW!!!!! LITERALLY WOW! Me and my husband did the Rock a Lua in the heart of waikiki, Just few steps aways from our hotel. We were greeted with sweet smiles of the reception and entertainers and sent to our table, The set up is good on the dining area, And come to the buffet set up it was all Gooooood!!! Also with the Roasted Pig? Omg! It was so goooooood especially the skin part! The welcome to dinner buffet and the performances in between was just really entertaining! We come to the performance time to the theater and its SPECTACULAR!!! we didnt expect that the show was like that, not the usual show but a lot of performances from singing to dancing with Elvis Presley and Michael Jackson. Hahahahah that was the main show! Its kinda scary but at the same thing all of our jaw dropped! Its a jow dropping show and performances. The Dances were really good too, the band, the set up. Basically everything it was a lively and very entertaining show. Id do it over and over again if given a chance! THE WHOLE BUFFET AND SHOW WAS A SPOT ON!!! ITS WAS REALLY GOOD!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience!!

Reviewed by: Louisa , 2024/05/06

I’ve always wanted to go to a luau and this didn’t disappoint!! I enjoyed the food, the entertainment while we ate and the desert! My friend and I also got some hula lessons!! A huge highlight for me, I’ve always wanted to try hula dancing. After dinner we got to see the show, with performances from the 1940s up to the present! I especially liked the fire dancing. My friend and and I enjoyed this experience and I would say it was worth it! So if you’re like to have a luau experience with a rocking show, I would recommend trying this.

  • Tasty food!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A GREAT NIGHT!

Reviewed by: Renee, 2024/05/05

We had the most amazing night doing the luau and show. The hospitality was so beautiful, it was the best activity we did in waikiki. We travelled from New Zealand and appreciated how they sang us a maori song. The show was outstanding, we could not fault one thing. Thank you for the amazing time and showing us your beautiful culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST LUAU IN HAWAII

Reviewed by: Renee, 2024/05/05

Me and 3 friends came here and were blown away. The food was absolutely stunning and the entertainment was unreal. We travelled from New Zealand and were serenaded with a special maori (native language of NZ) song. The hospitality was just beautiful and the show was super fun!! Would recommend this over any other ones.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock A Hula Show

Reviewed by: Loriann , 2024/05/02

We did not have the dinner. We only purchased show tickets. The show was enjoyable. A mix of Hawaiian tradition with some rock and roll.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Ieasha, 2024/04/30

My parents and I had a great time. Loved that the performers were energetic. The food was great, especially the beef roast. Would go again and definitely recommend. Loved the ukelele performer, she sung a song for my parent's anniversary. It was a nice personal touch. Elvis and MJ impersonators were spot in and didn't try too hard. The fire performer was the cutest and was a nice surprise. I had the chance to learn a hula dance. Would recommend if you do not have a vip package to save your complimentary mai Tai to drink during dinner, lol I regretted not doing that. You do have the option to purchase more drinks though. I had virgin one and it was so tasty. The workers are polite and helpful. A great overall experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Food and Great Show

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2024/04/29

We really enjoyed our Luau dinner and Show! We were sat with other guests and started the night off with fresh pineapple and Mai Tais, which were delicious! The performers were very friendly and the food was great, including the vegan option for my wife, which was a Beyond patty and salad. The pork was great, but my favorite was the roast beef. The show was very impressive as well; their Elvis and Michael Jackson impressions were great! They also had a traditional fire-knife performer and this was very entertaining as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We will definitely do it again!

Reviewed by: Roxy Arriola, 2024/04/27

This was such a fun and entertaining experience. The food choices were great and did not disappoint. The staff were very attentive during the dinner. After the dinner, we went into the theater to watch the performances. We enjoyed every single performance from the traditional Hawaiian dances to the Elvis and Micheal Jackson impersonators. One of our favorite parts is how they incorporated original pictures of Hawaii during the show. We will definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times!

Reviewed by: MV, 2024/04/23

Very entertaining! Great music. Great dancing. Lots of searing and such nice staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not exactly what I would expect of a traditional Luau. Excellent proffesional performers, but not so much hula during the performance. The food is fantastic and very traditional, but you don't see the pig cooked.

Reviewed by: Wen, 2024/04/18

We chose this Luau experience because it was in Wakiki area. First you arrive to a mall and go to floor 4 for dinner. Dinner was outdoor under a covered area. The food quality was great and the entertainment during the meal was fantastic. Hula dancers and music. Thye even invited guests up to try hula. For us the dinner was the best part. Now on to the show.
If you are looking for a traditional Hula show at a Luau, go elsewhere. This show is in a theatre, so you are indoor. The show is Hawaiian dance thru the ages. It begins with a traditional hula dance and ends with one, but the majority of the show is Elvis and Micheal Jackson performances. Now, the quality of the performance by the performers was first class. All the singers and dancers were excellent performers, so for a show, it was well worth the money we paid. It just isn't what you think of for a traditional Luau. It is better to take a shuttle and to somewhere like Gerards if you want a traditional Luau experience including making Laies and seeing the pig pulled from the ground.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yes!

Reviewed by: Destiny Paine, 2024/03/11

It took a bit to get to the top of the building but it was worth it. We got there and they were very helpful. Greeted up with a lei and took us to our table. Gave us our drink order (non alcoholic) and took our picture. The line up of food was quite amazing! All kinds of food to please everyone's liking. They also had dessert. It rained pretty good so they were able to cover the side so we didn't get wet. After dessert we we inside to watch the Rock a hula. And it was awesome. Elvis and Michael Jackson preformed along with the amazing hula dancers. It ended with an amazing fire show! It was well worth it! Go see it

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing performance with stunning dinner

Reviewed by: Gordon, 2024/03/09

This combo offers an immersive and entertaining experience that captures the spirit of Hawaiian culture. The evening begins with a warm welcome and traditional lei greeting, setting the tone for an authentic Hawaiian experience.

The dinner itself features a delicious buffet spread showcasing a variety of local dishes, including traditional Hawaiian favorites such as kalua pig, lomi lomi salmon, and poi. The food is fresh, flavorful, and provides a wonderful introduction to Hawaiian cuisine.

The performance showcases the rich cultural heritage of Hawaii and other Pacific Islands, with vibrant costumes, energetic dances, and soulful music that transport audiences to another time and place. One of the highlights of the evening is the fire knife dance, a mesmerizing display of skill and daring that never fails to impress. Watching the performers twirl, spin, and juggle flaming knives against the backdrop of the night sky is truly awe-inspiring and adds an exhilarating finale to the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula Luau Dinner with Green Room VIP Package

Reviewed by: Lonn, 2024/02/13

I purchased the Rock-A-Hula Luau Dinner with Green Room VIP Package as part of an early Valentines trip to the Island of Oahu. We are a couple who have been to each of the main Hawaiian Islands and look for unique experiences each place we travel. We have participated in other Luau's in Hawaii and similar other events in other places we have traveled. Upon arrival we were greeted with flower lei's. Then had Champagne and appetizers in the Green Room which had furnishings from Elvis's home. Cameron the manager who gave us the tour was very informative and could tell he had a passion for the production and the crew. The entire staff was very friendly and welcoming and during dinner came around and performed various songs, dances, and even did a "Hula Lesson" for anyone who wanted to participate. The food and drinks were very good as well. Following Dinner we went back to the main theatre for the show which was a good blend of history and entertainment. We appreciated the screens showing the history and how it coordinated with the entertainment on stage. Overall the Green room/Backstage tour experience was very good and we are glad to have opted for this option but also would recommend just the dinner and show experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding customer service and performance!

Reviewed by: Thomas H., 2024/01/22

There isn't enough gratitude that I can express for the staff at the Rock-A Hula show! I came with a date, but my flight arrived in late, so my date was there, but I missed everything up to the dinner and show.

They were so accommodating ensuring my date received all the perks that were promised, and kept her company until I arrived. Then, when I got there, they even accepted my bags, and brought me food to ensure I ate enough before the show! Just great customer service.

Now the show... Just awesome. As a musician, everything was on point. The band, vocals, especially the Elvis act! Highly recommend and glad it was the first thing we did to get me back in good spirits after missing some of the action due to my flight.

Thanks staff! What a great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Überaus freundliches Personal - sehr gutes Essen - großartige Show

Reviewed by: Wilhelm, 2024/01/09

Das Waikiki Luau Dinner bestach durch sein überaus freundliches Personal und das hervorragende Essen, das traditionelle polynesische Geschmäcker gekonnt in Szene setzte. Besondere Höhepunkte des Abends waren die mitreißende Polynesische Show und die spektakulären Auftritte der Doubles von Elvis Presley und Michael Jackson. Diese Darbietungen brachten eine einzigartige Energie und Begeisterung, die das Publikum faszinierte. Die Kombination aus exzellenter Gastfreundschaft, kulinarischen Highlights und diesen hochkarätigen Performances machte unseren Besuch zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis. Ein absolutes Muss für alle, die einen Hauch von Hollywood in der hawaiianischen Kultur erleben möchten.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a good time

Reviewed by: AY, 2023/12/16

It was our first activity in Honolulu. It is located in the mall area, so very easy to get to for most people staying in Waikiki. There are a lot of people, so there is a long line to get the food. But it was well organized and there is enough food provided. The food quality is ok. But the activities (learning the dance) at the buffet were fun.

The show was decent. I like that it was a mix of traditional and modern styles. If you are looking for only a traditional Hawaii type of show, it might not be good for you. But to us, it was a lot of fun to watch.

Overall it was a good experience for our first stop.

  • The roasted pig was so good

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau experience!

Reviewed by: Kati Pimentel , 2023/12/14

Great service and incredible show! The dancers and the singers are super talented! We really enjoyed our time in the Wakiki Luau and definitely recommend it! The food was served buffet style and you get a complementary drink. The drinks were only $10 after which is pretty affordable!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Show!

Reviewed by: Gina , 2023/11/25

Check in was easy, food was so good, employees were very helpful, loved the dancing while eating, free mai tai and the rock show was AWESOME!! Elvis was great, MJ was cool and Chardonnay was the best hostess. If I ever come back to Hawaii, I would definitely go to the show again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not really much of a Luau.

Reviewed by: Mr Ed, 2023/11/15

I'll keep this short and to the point. It really wasn't what most would consider a Luau. You're in a tiki-like environment in a mall for the meal and then you go to an inside theater for the show. The show is more of a Vegas-like show primarily consisting of an Elvis and Michael Jackson impersonator. The show was honestly pretty good, but just wasn't what was expected at a Luau.

On a good note, the food was decent and the performers were pretty good. If you just want a reasonably priced meal and a show then this is for you. If you're looking for a more traditional Hawaiian Luau then look somewhere else.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula

Reviewed by: Vanessa Steppe , 2023/11/11

This was a great multimedia show that we thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I really enjoyed the show!

Reviewed by: Casandra, 2023/10/25

I paid for the VIP package for a group of 6 people and everything went pretty smoothly from checking in to being seated at our table. Everything was pretty efficient from getting our meals to seeing the show. My only issue of concern was that I paid for the additional drink and we were not able to use them. We were told that there would be an opportunity to use them during the show but no one told us we had to get them before the show started because there would not be an intermission or an opportunity afterwards. The waiters need to clearly state that if you don't get your drink during your meal, you need to be sure to get it before heading into the show because you won't get the opportunity otherwise. The show was amazing from the MC, Elvis, to Michael Jackson! The dancers and band did a great job as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time seeing Luau

Reviewed by: Linh, 2023/10/21

Everything was okay, the server forgot to bring the welcome drink to us for more than 30 mins until we reminded him.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent show!

Reviewed by: Maggie, Brentwood CA, 2023/10/11

Great greeters, buffet. Dinner entertainment and show! Beverages were bad. The Mai Tai didn't taste like a MT. Sdas watered down or missing half required syrup at $5 each. Excellent value. My teen son loved it. We all did. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Rudy Vidana , 2023/08/01

Dinner & entertainment experience was great,from Elvis to the dancers.Micheal Jackson could some inprovement in both singing & dancing.I would definitely recommend this dinner & show to anyone.photograph was a little overpriced in my opinion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal experience!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2023/05/16

Overall, this was way more than we expected to experience at a Luau. First of all, the food was delicious and the spread was huge. The staff was incredibly friendly and it was a relaxed environment. I will say that it pays to do the VIP experience so that you don't have to pay out of pocket for a lei or for an additional drink (it was nice that it came with 2 premium drinks with the VIP option). The seating for VIP for the show was also excellent! The show wasn't just dancing, but an entire story through the years. The dancers and singers were so talented! The entire night was about a 4 - 4.5 hour long event and you really got the bang for your buck. I highly recommend this experience, especially if it's your first time going to a Luau!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Luau

Reviewed by: Larry, 2023/04/28

Our whole family of 7 enjoyed the Rock A Hula show

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An outstanding hula show

Reviewed by: SWY, 2023/04/20

This was an outstanding hula show filled with excitement and passion! The dancers were energetics and embodied the Hawaiian spirit. The fire dancer was flawless, and absolutely impressive.
We loved how we also got the personal touch as the dancers came into the audience during the show and we could take photos with the dancers after the show as well. Certainly recommend this!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories