Waikiki Luau Dinner with Polynesian Show & Fire Knife Dance | Rock-A-Hula reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waikiki Luau Dinner with Polynesian Show & Fire Knife Dance | Rock-A-Hula

Overall Rating

4.52 4.52 / 5

Reviews

548 reviews
Post a review

Fantastic night with friends and family with spectacular show

Reviewed by: Savannme , 2022/11/19

This is my first time joining the Luau dinner with Polynesian Show. When we arrived there was a traditional Hawaiian dance to greeting us. The Luau dinner was tasty. But the line was moving a bit slow. Buffet dinner was starting at 6pm, but when we started getting the food, it was already passed 6:30pm. Not enough time to enjoy the food.
The show was spectacular. Great music and dance including Polynesian and Contemporary choreography. The fire knife dance was scary awesome. I highly recommend this show if you are interested in a lively, entertaining night in Honolulu!

  • The dancers

  • Professional performer

  • Buffet Line

  • Tasty roast pig

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice Experience

Reviewed by: topeaglee, 2022/11/18

The Luau dinner and Rock-A-Hula are situated at a very convenient location. The Luau buffet-style dinner had many different options including roast pig and dessert. The line was moving a bit slow. Not enough time to enjoy the food. The Rock-A-Show was very good. Really enjoyed the hula dancers and singing. Overall it is a great activity if you like dinner and show.

  • Menu

  • Buffet Line

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome dinner and show along the Waikiki Beach

Reviewed by: chocoUS, 2022/11/17

First time attending to this Luau and Polynesian Show called Rock -A-Hula. The dinner and show took place at a very convienent location along the Waikiki Beach. Getting situated to the seating was very easy. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. The dinner itself had a good variety buffet style and was tasty. Overall the line on waiting for the food could have been better. Took me appx 30 minutes before I was lining up for the buffet line. By the time I got my food, only had about 30 minutes left to eat. Felt a little rushed. The Rock-A-Hula definitely is a must see. Very nice production, dancers were great, and singers were impressive. Overall I highly recommend doing this activity.

  • Very tasty pig

  • Outside of the Luau dinner

  • Free Mai Tai and Menu

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review

Reviewed by: Marisa Ramirez, 2022/11/17

Upon arrival to the Luau we were greeted by a young lady selling beautiful purple lei’s. Of course we had to have one not only for the beauty, but the feeling of being welcomed in to the community as well.
The host/dancer/MC/ bartender was extremely friendly with everyone. We were ushered to our seats by a wonderful young man that not only performed at the luau, but also at Rock a Hula. This young man was full of passion for the culture and the love of dance.
The drinks and pineapple were at great start to our dinner as well as the traditional dancing while we waited for the main course.
There was plenty of dishes to chose from including seafood, pork, beef, chicken, and even vegetarian choices. I personally recommend the fried pig skin as it was the absolute most delectable dish we were privy to enjoy during our visit. After dinner we tried each of the 5 different desserts. None of them blow your socks off, but are nonetheless tasty as well. There is also after dinner coffee for those of you who enjoy a nice hot cup of Joe before the Rock a Hula.
You could order drinks during dinner and before the Rock a Hula began as well.
The choice of a local musician and singer was a wonderful way to start the show. The classic Elvis performance seemed to fit the show perfectly and added to the fun filled and interactive show. The only thing that felt out of place was the Michael Jackson performance. While it wasn’t bad, it just didn’t seem to fit in to the rest of the event in general. I would give the luau and Rock a Hula a 7 out of 10 stars.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exactly as expected and a little more

Reviewed by: Josh B, 2022/11/16

Overall we got exactly what we were expecting, which, for us, was actually refreshing. So many businesses mislead these days. We were happy with our experience and pleasantly surprised at the Rock A Hula show afterwards.

Our first impression was great. The setup under the large tents and the decor and dishware were all very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were seated quickly and immediately served our complimentary Mai Tai and offered fresh pineapple at the table. We ordered more adult beverages and while they tasted fine, did not seem to have much if any alcohol in them. The MC did a good job of keeping things running smoothly and had an upbeat attitude. We enjoyed the dancers and learning to hula felt very welcoming. They presented the roasted pig with the traditional apple in its mouth. Definitely try some along with the crispy skin. We found the food at the buffet somewhat bland, but that was our experience throughout most of Hawaii.

After dinner we proceeded to the large theater for the show. This presentation is much bigger and longer than we anticipated. We would attend this show by itself without the dinner and pay handsomely for it. The Elvis and MJ impersonators were great! The charisma and crowd interactions of both of them and other entertainers were spot on! The show is a bit long and disjointed though. And while we do love MJ and his songs, some seemed a bit "off-brand" for a Hawaiian themed hula show. Thriller was one, even though the zombies were great and so was Michael.

Overall we'd give the luau and show a 7 out of 10. Food and drinks could be better and show could be shorter and more on-brand. We would still highly recommend it, especially for the price.

  • Elvis is in the building!

  • The luau

  • The dancers!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value, Loved the show!

Reviewed by: hawaiihasmyheart, 2022/10/19

The show was great! The Michael Jackson and Elvis impersonators were super! The luau was what we expected; we normally don't do buffets. But the food was plentiful and the Mai Tai was great! Every employee had a smile on their face and seemed really happy that we were there. I can't say enough about the show; it made the night a real good value!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it! Wonderful staff! Spectacular show!

Reviewed by: Rock a Hula Fun, 2022/10/16

From before we stepped into the venue, we were pleased! We had a scheduling snafu (our own fault), and was so pleased with how the manager, Joyce, handled it! (Thanks again Joyce, for your help!) Then, we were off to the luau. Things were seamless; we were greeted with smiling faces throughout the night. After being given our Mai Tai, we were seated and ate the great typical luau foods. After eating salad, beef, pork, potatoes, mac salad, desserts, etc., with some entertainment sprinkled in, we headed to the outstanding show.

The show was spectacular! Great music and dance from the 1920's to the present. It was great to see that some of the hard-working servers at the meal then went onstage as hula dancers and singers! The Michael Jackson and Elvis impersonators were fabulous! They had the voices, movements and showmanship down pat! It ended with a fire show.

At the end, they announced that we could get photos taken with the Michael and Elvis. I thought there would be someone there taking photos (and about $20), but was pleasantly surprised that we could just walk up to the stars and take pictures on our phones for free!

I wouldn't hesitate to go again, and recommend it to anyone! Time in Waikiki is valuable; this is a great way to spend a whole evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do Experience that Exceeded my Expectations!

Reviewed by: Michele N. , 2022/10/11

The dinner and show were a great way to spend time in Hawaii, and I would do this one again! The food was tasty, plentiful, and offered more of a variety of choices than some of the other luaus I’ve attended on the island. Be sure to come hungry! I was thrilled that I could enjoy a welcome mai tai since they had a nonalcoholic option. I thought I was going to have to miss out, but they had me covered, and it didn’t taste like it was only pineapple juice. After the delicious dinner and fun fellowship with other guests, it was time for the show. The transition from the dining area to the show venue was smooth. The staff was so helpful. Shout out to Sheena!

Some of the performers in the show had also attended to us at the luau. It was awesome to see them in their element on stage. They were professional in both settings, and so talented on stage. I felt like I was watching friends perform. I knew the show was about Hawaii over time, but I was pleasantly surprised when “Elvis” came on stage and you also had to bolt me to my seat when “Michael Jackson” appeared. Both performers were believable! The fire dancer was lit! (Pun intended) and the energetic dancers and singers were top notch. Be sure to come with a camera to take lots of pictures with the flash off, of course! You will not be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So glad there was a covered area from the rain!

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/09/29

Tasty buffet dinner! The food was DELICIOUS. I really liked the variety of food - and dessert options! While I'm not vegetarian, I did notice there were a few vegetarian options - including the fried rice (my favorite). There was some hula dancing for the first part of the dinner and we could join in for hula lessons. I liked that this was an outdoor dinner BUT there was a covered tent above us in case of any rain.

And, it did end up raining. Lucky for us, the covered tent kept us nice and dry. Then, we headed inside to the indoor theater where we saw the Vegas-style impersonators for Elvis, Michael Jackson, and a local performer.

  • Really liked this covered tent for the rain

  • Tasty buffet menu

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Luau Dinner with Polynesian Show & Fire Knife Dance | Rock-A-Hula / Luau Buffet Package: One Welcome Drink & Rock-A-Hula Show Premier Seating

Reviewed by: Beck, 2022/09/24

Loved the show, food was ok but I was disappointed they didn't have steamed white rice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rockahula

Reviewed by: Jason, 2022/04/20

The whole experience was simply awesome and whether you are in Hawaii for 2 days, 7 days , 2 weeks DO NOT MISS THIS !

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice show. Crap food.

Reviewed by: El Faraón , 2022/03/12

Michael Jackson and Elvis were pretty convincing though the venue was not full capacity by any means… perhaps the ticket prices too high? The food was a whole other story… steak was cold, lobster was rubbery, fish was mediocre, the drinks were not good, the greeting Mai Tai tasted like Hawaiian Punch with some cheap vodka?! Everything was skimped on despite us getting the highest tier ticket available, even the photos were skimped on.. so they messed up the first picture and at the end they only gave us one picture not the two.. yes, we wanted the messed up picture!! We paid a lot of money for this event and the food was horrible so we wanted at least something to take back home. Just disappointed. Expected just a little something for $700

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock a Hula

Reviewed by: Rick, 2020/01/29

It was great. The show was great and so was the food.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very entertaining show!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/11/18

I did the Green Room package which was neat being able to go back stage to see how things work behind the scenes along with being able to sit right in front of the stage to eat and watch the show which gave you a great view being so close to the performers. I like how they always include a local artist to perform too, so you are able to see not only Michael Jackson and Elvis but someone local as well. It's also nice that everything is indoors so you don't have to worry about the weather ruining your plans.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Luau Like No Other

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2019/11/11

I was able to go to the Rock-A-Hula Luau green room package. I got to go explore backstage and get a tiny glimpse of how all the action happens. I also got to take a picture with Michael Jackson before the show. The staff and crew members were very kind and made sure that everything was to my liking. I described this show as a Luau like no other because it was a Luau with a twist. All the music were the classics from Elvis Presley and Michael Jackson with the local culture included into the dance routine and into the stage outfits. The show also featured a local girl with a beautiful voice. For those who would like to watch a Luau in cushioned chairs and indoors I would definitely recommend this Luau to you!

  • Amazing performance done by a local siger

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fun night with friends at Rock-A-Hula!

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2019/11/07

I attended Rock-A-Hula for the first time this past week and it was really entertaining! I went with a couple friends and we chose the Green Room Tour. With this package we were sat at a stage-level table so we were closest to the performers. The three course meal included lobster, beef tenderloin, salmon and was completed with a yummy mac-nut pineapple gelato. The cocktails were really good, my favorite was the lychee martini! It was really fun to be able to take photos with Michael Jackson before the show and they also offered us a complimentary glass of champagne. The show was very exciting and entertaining; my favorite performer was the local artist Meliana. All of the dancers, musicians, and singers were very talented and seemed like they all had a ton of fun up on stage. Overall, it was a great night and I would recommend it to anyone on vacation wanting a fun and entertaining night out.

  • Local artist Meliana sang How Far I'll Go (Moana), I Can't Help Falling in Love, and her original song

  • Fire dancer was really talented

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mahalo

Reviewed by: Dave and Paulie, 2019/08/03

Well done. We loved the show and would do it again. We highly recommend this show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock a Hula Wow

Reviewed by: Grace, 2018/11/07

This whole show was amazing and I know I will go back again it was so worth it. If I'd not seen the originals it would be great but having seen them this was absolutely awesome and so much like the originals

  • The Michael Jackson is so real and I wasn't a fan but am now

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Elvis Lives On in the Rock a Hula Dinner Show.

Reviewed by: Steve & Louise, 2018/10/28

when we arrived there was a traditional Hawaiian dance to greet us. we then went into the venue for appetizers, which were well presented and very tasty. when we went into the main stage area we could not believe the position of our seat. right in front of the stage. the meal was exquisite and all 4 courses were cooked to perfection. when the show started the production was amazing. it was choreographed like a Broadway show. the Elvis impersonator sounded great and really looked the part. When he went through the crowd during "Suspicious Minds" he kept laughing between lyrics, just like Elvis did in his live performances. a simple touch but excellent attention to detail. We also had a Michael Jackson performer who was also very good and entertaining. His 'Moon Walk' routine was spot on.

Overall it was an exceptional evening out that beat all our expectations

Even the regular seating had great views so it doesn't matter which meal plan you book, just book it you will not be disappointed !!!

  • Elvis Is Alive!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic night!!!

Reviewed by: Julie , 2018/10/02

Purchased our VIP package from the outset it was a great night good food fantastic entertainment and a very lovely waitress all made it a very special evening. The costumes were amazing and singers and dancers excellent a true taste of Hawaii and its culture along with a lot of happy memories of different musical stars we have

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula Dinner and Cocktail Show

Reviewed by: Christine, 2018/09/18

Loved it. Luau Buffett Dinner excellent. Cast members made it so much fun. Cocktails spot on.
Really enjoyed the Show - will be recommending to my friends

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful dinner and show...Spectacular!!!

Reviewed by: Roger, 2018/08/05

Wonderful dinner and show impersonators spot on and interactive with audience fire show was a wow factor dancers and singers wonderful excitement, something that my wife and I would do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A toe tapping show the whole way through!

Reviewed by: Vacation Mama, 2018/07/06

I really wanted to see an Elvis show while staying in Hawaii. I googled Elvis shows and this one had excellent ratings. We booked the Luau Buffet and show. When we got there we were taken to our seats. Everyone was really nice. They start everyone with a Mai Tai that was really good. We then started the buffet line. The food was great quality & really good. My husband & I enjoyed it very much. During dinner there was a little hula show. It was very fun to watch our server dancing! She was great! After dinner we were escorted to the theater. I was very surprised by the venue. It didn’t seem like it was very big from the outside but once we got in I was pleasantly surprised!! The show was absolutely amazing!! Each performer was outstanding. Every detail about the show was right on point; the band, the dancers, the choreography, the costumes, the singers and the impersonators!! I really enjoyed it! We loved that they also have a meet & greet after the show. I would recommend this show 100%!!

  • Elvis Rocks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent experience for Rock-A-Hula Dinner & Cocktail Show with Fire Knife Dance

Reviewed by: arya, 2018/06/26

If you want a typical Hawaiian luau this show is not for you. But if you enjoy music going as far back as the 1930's then this show is highly recommended. Most of the music was done by Elvis and Michael Jackson. The performers were great. The fire dance was great but was very short/limited. The performance was done indoors in a theater with theater seating which was great but again if you want to experience an outdoor luau this show is not for you.

The location of the show is in the heart of Waikiki Beach on the 4th floor of a mall. We drove from Marriott Ko olina Resort which is about 20 miles away and took is about 45 minutes to get to the show. So if you are planning to come from the Ko olina/Aulani Resort area plan to drive for 45-60 minutes. There is ample parking to self-park. The parking is free for the 1st 3 hours with validation. After the show you can walk around in the area for shopping. The check in experience was great and was very fast. All the workers were very helpful and hard working. The food was simple, tasty and healthy, especially the curry fish.

overall my family and I enjoyed this show and would recommend it to others.

My family and I had a great experience and would recommend this show.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking evening

Reviewed by: Regina, 2018/06/17

We went along to this night not knowing a lot about the performance, other than it was in a very convenient location for us and that it was a very reasonable price. We left being blown away by the sheer professionalism, talent and wow factor of the performers and entire evening.

The pre show dinner was tasty and filling, the service friendly & prompt.

The show was in a lovely theatre with exceptional stage and lighting setup and from the moment the show started our eyes were glued to the stage.

The singers and dancers never missed a beat or note, the lighting was beautiful and the music fun and fabulous. We enjoyed the range of pop performers throughout the eras with Elvis and Michael Jackson impersonators as stand out performers! Even at the meet and greet afterwards Michael was perfectly in character - when I asked him how long his show makeup took he replied in a wonderfully accurate voice "makeup? What makeup??"

The fire dancer was also phenomenal with even bar staff remarking that they tried to align their breaks with his performance to go watch from the back of the theatre! Who needs to go to an overpriced louwow when you've got wonderful traditional hula dancers and performers right here.

5 stars - all round a phenomenal night and a "must see" for all visitors!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome night

Reviewed by: Tonya, 2018/06/15

The personal attention that you receive during the dinner and pre-show entertainment made you feel so special. The staff remembered your name and details about you — such as where your from, the drinks you like, etc was above and beyond. The food was delicious. My daughter is a vegetarian and they went out of their way to create a vegetarian plate just for her!! The food options on the buffet were all delicious. Both the prime rib and the pork melted in your mouth.

Once we were seated in the theater the videos enriched the show. One of my favorite parts was how the hula girls appearance changed throughout the decades. Elvis was great and Michael Jackson was very impressive. It was more like a musical show than I expected. It was a great surprise. Best night I had in Waikiki ,,,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We totally rocked out at Rock-a-Hula!

Reviewed by: Linsey, 2018/06/06

My friend and I had such a totally awesome night at Rock-a-Hula, and want to go see it again! We got the VIP dinner show, and it was fantastic. From beginning to end, we were treated like VIPs, and couldn't have asked for better service, food or entertainment.

The cocktail and appetizer reception before the theater doors opened was a great prelude to our evening, and their original mai tais were really yummy too. So many delicious things to nibble on that I had to be careful and not get too full before dinner! Oh and dinner, salad, steak, lobster and dessert...so.... tasty! Plus our server was so attentive and awesome :)

Our VIP seats go us close to the stage so we had an amazing view of the performance, and man was it awesome! Elvis, Michael Jackson and Katy Perry, all on one stage for a seriously rockin' evening. The woman who played Katy Perry was my favorite! Not only did she look and sound exactly like her, but she was the sweetest person too!

The fire knife dance was scary awesome, and the perfect topper to a great night. Perfect option if you just want a fun time in Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A cool show with Elvis!

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2018/06/05

If you've been to a luau before and want to see another dinner show that isn't exactly a luau, this will probably fit the bill. There's plenty of Hawaiian entertainment and a buffet similar to what you'd find at a luau, but generally speaking this is a more "American" dinner show, like one you'd find in Las Vegas.

The featured stars are Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, and HIRIE, a local artist, but there are also a variety of dances, including Polynesian and contemporary choreography. Hirie performed some of her own hits as well as newer songs such as "How Far I'll Go" from the movie Moana!

There's also the hula, Tahitian, and fire knife dancing that you'd normally see at a luau, but there's a good balance of traditional and contemporary. This is an awesome alternative if you've already been to the other luaus in Waikiki.

  • Fire dancer

  • MJ, Elvis, and Hirie at the finale

  • Elvis & hula dancers

  • MJ

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing night!

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2018/06/04

The food and service were great. We had the luau-style buffet dinner and everything was delicious, especially the whole roasted pig. A luau cannot be complete without it! The hula dancers and musicians were also very fun and friendly. The show dancers were so talented too. Especially Elvis, he even went into the audience at one point and interacted with some of the crowd! Adding a local singer to the mix was a nice touch as well. It gave a more authentic feel that you are in Hawaii as she sang along with Elvis and Michael Jackson. The evening show was a wonderful way to end the night. I highly recommend this show if you are looking a lively, entertaining night in Honolulu!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock a hula rocks!

Reviewed by: Mat, 2018/05/21

What I love about this show is its variety performance. It has hula dances, Michael Jackson, Elvis and fire eater. All the performances were very good. I love Elvis. I would have loved to see more hula dances but overall it was good. Also, I wish it was a little longer. We opted for the pre-performance buffet dinner and it was good too. The band was good as well. I highly recommend this show to everyone. It is worth it. It is not the usual luau but it had a las vegas impersonators. My family enjoyed it including my teenage kids. It is for all ages. Very well choreographed. Love that it is inside an indoor theatre.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories