Hanauma Bay Self-Guided Snorkel Tour & Gear Rental with Hotel Transportation reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hanauma Bay Self-Guided Snorkel Tour & Gear Rental with Hotel Transportation

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

71 reviews
Post a review

たっぷり楽しめる

Reviewed by: Coldhand, 2024/06/18

スノーケリングセットと送迎の金額としては妥当に思う。
マスク用曇り止めを持っていく方がより楽しめる。
時間は7時から12時半までとたっぷり楽しめる。
朝イチで入れるので、人がいない状態の写真が撮りやすい。

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Relaxing Float in a Volcanic Cone

Reviewed by: Raya, 2024/06/10

Worst part was getting up for a 5:50am shuttle pick-up. But it was well worth it. Our shuttle was full and there were more instructions at the top of the Bay, where gear rental was distributed and we were placed into manageable groups for the ticket office. But the organizers knew what they were doing, kept track of everyone, despite confusing looks on some of our faces (mine!). Plenty of room at the beach; clean basic facilities. Information booth was staffed by very knowledgeable and helpful guides. I noticed a long line at the locker & gear rental. In the past 10 years of 4 snorkeling trips (I'm obviously not avid), Hanauma Bay comes in 3rd as far as plentiful ocean life.* Maybe because of climate change, 10 years ago was the last of the best of snorkeling? Glad I went though. I was going to skip it because of the tourism. But the agencies in charge struck the best balance possible for an endangered reef and we humans who want to pay our respects to Kanaloa and Pele, for the beautiful gifts they bestowed.
*(1st: Boracay; 2nd: St Lucia; 4th: Kauai)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Aki, 2024/04/25

Hanauma Bay was a really great and fun experience. It's an early activity but the water isn't too bad, as it's quite easy to warmup in the ocean. The ride to Hanauma Bay from our pick-up location was prompt and comfortable and that genuinely enhanced the experience. The driver, Orlando, was very kind and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service. Easy solution.

Reviewed by: Steve, 2024/04/23

Overall, beautiful and the service made our life so much easier. We would recommend these guys again.

With the bay...
Fish weren't as plentiful as the pictures...by a long shot.

Perhaps planning on being there at high tide would help with making the space easier to snorkel.

Interesting process getting into the bay.

Great friendly service from the crew we booked with helping us manage these processes at the bay.

Food and drink options there are slim and no where to sit and eat them as you wait for transport back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was okay

Reviewed by: MJL, 2024/04/23

The tour guide on the drive out was great, very friendly. Gear worked well and was clean. We got chairs and an umbrella which was really nice since we were there a while. I didn’t love the actual bay, however. The snorkeling was only okay and we didn’t see nearly as many types of fish as I would have expected for a place boosting great snorkeling. I have been to better. The reef was also super shallow so hard to navigate around the sections safely without touching the coral. It also was very sandy so the view wasn’t clear. Overall I would not pick this activity again just since the snorkeling wasn’t great. However, the driver and equipment was great so I didn’t want to knock their rating down just because the experience wasn’t amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We snorkeled Hanauma Bay!!!

Reviewed by: GinVill, 2024/02/25

We were in Waikiki and I was able to book on Wednesday for a snorkeling trip on Friday. We were picked up on time, Veltra had all the supplies we needed (get an umbrella...there's no shade and you are there for a long time). The bay was beautiful. They picked us up from the bay on time. We had an amazing day. Thanks, Veltra!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experiencia, with One weird thing

Reviewed by: Charly, 2024/02/24

The Bay itself is amazing.
Hotel pickup and drop off was on time. Everyone very Nice and polite.

The One thing i didint like was that they ask You for You to bring cash to pay for the entrance. And give your money to another guest, and ask Himmler to pay for the whole party. Is confusing and weird. Specially after finding Out that at the entrance the DO accept cards.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family day start to the day!

Reviewed by: Pauleen, 2023/10/21

Really well organised activity with Kaimana Tours. Our driver Koa was excellent, providing lots of insights to the surroundings during our drive there. Pickup was on time, in a comfortable spacious van. We arrived and were first in line to get tickets which was simple and organised. The snorkeling gear was great, both sizing and quality for what we needed. I’d recommend going on the 6am pickup, as by the time we left at 11, it was getting really busy and there were not many places with shade. Kaimana offer umbrellas & chairs for hire too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Place

Reviewed by: Emily, 2023/10/02

Hanauma Bay is a beautiful place and the water is so pretty. The day we went, it was unfortunately very windy and the water was pretty choppy. We were able to see some fish, but the water wasn’t very clear due to the waves, but that’s nature for you! The snorkeling gear was very difficult for me. Water kept getting into my mask and it was very uncomfortable. I wish I had my own full face mask. But it was still an enjoyable time and would do it again. Our driver to the location was very friendly and did a great job. It was through kaimana tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well organized

Reviewed by: Mike, 2023/07/18

These guys have the operation perfected. I recommend. taking the very first shuttle in the morning and sacrificing a little sleep to do so. The payoff will be no one in the bay and everything to yourself for the first 30 to 40 minutes. Even after that, you will still have the crowds beat.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Driver Mark was incredible.

Reviewed by: Liz Faidley, 2023/07/10

First of all, we passed Hanauma Bay and stopped at the Lanai Lookout, which was an unexpected bonus that I wouldn't have ever seen, being on a work trip with a very brief window to go out on a Sunday. I'm very grateful to him for a joyful trip, the extra stop (thank you!!!!!), and the information he shared en route to Hanauma Bay, about where different creatures may be seen, areas of the bay, types of fish, and even local characters (yes, fish). One of the fish characters (I think a Humuhumu? but I could be wrong) was described as a chihuahua who will pester you if you cross paths, LOL! The bay is simply some of the most beautiful water and fish I've ever snorkeled in the company of. Just incredible. 11/10. Thank you for an amazing experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I would do this again!

Reviewed by: Heather Kastern , 2020/03/03

Shuttle pick up and drop off were seamless. The perfect amount of time at the Bay to get through admissions, snorkel, float, sun and snack! The gear worked well and fit like a glove.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2020/01/20

Fabulous destination. Everyone enjoyed the snorkelling. Weather was a bit unpredictable. We got to see Buster the seal.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Retired Travelers , 2020/01/18

We had a great time snot at Hanauma Bay. We saw a lot of beautiful marine life and enjoyed our time there. Our tour guide was very nice and informative.

  • We had a fun time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service and communication!

Reviewed by: Rlal, 2020/01/08

Prompt service to and from the pick up site! Driver even called to confirm I was present. Wow! Great host and service. Thank you for your time and insight in the journey!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience!

Reviewed by: Summer X, 2019/12/31

The driver of the shuttle is very helpful and funny. The design of the activity is very family friendly. Kids won't feel too tired or bored.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanauma Bay Date transfer

Reviewed by: Dan, 2019/11/27

Excursion was made online but had to be changed by email to the next day after the planned event. It all happened seamlessly! Thank you. We will use you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Extremely good service!

Reviewed by: Dan, 2019/11/27

We made online reservations for the next day to Hanauma Bay snorkeling but had to change the reservation day and time and within a few short hours they change was made through email and the trip and driver were very nice!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good time, affordable price! Well worth it.

Reviewed by: T & girls, 2019/11/24

Great experience but wish it was with better weather. High tide and very choppy waters made visibility difficult. Still a good opportunity!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: J Davidson, 2019/11/22

We had a great experience with the shuttle to Hanauma Bay. The driver was very polite and helpful. The van was comfortable and the timing was perfect. The company representative I talked to on the phone was very helpful and gave me excellent advice on where to park our car while we were on the excursion. I would highly recommend this experience. Well worth the price!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!

Reviewed by: Gus, 2019/10/15

Had a wonderful experience, start to finish, thanks to this company’s wonderful staff! Very beautiful snorkeling adventure for a great price. Our agent, Ashton, did an outstanding job with our booking. Our driver for pickup and drop off was right on time and very professional and courteous.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really nice experience guided by really nice and professional people. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by: Davide, 2019/08/31

Really nice experience guided by really nice and professional people. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Driver on time for both pick up times. Professional and friendly.

Reviewed by: melinda, 2019/08/26

The Driver was at our hotel on time, he was courteous and professional. Friendly as well. He gave good directions and made sure our snorkel gear was in good working order. He was early for our pick up and got us safely back to our hotel. The bay is amazing and it was by far the best place I have snorkeled and that is why I returned with my family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reliable transportation

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/02/24

Second time I have used this tour to get to and from Hanauma Bay. Especially a great value if you already have your own snorkeling equipment as you can take the price down a few dollars without equipment rental.

Go first thing in the morning and be ready to get into the water by 8am or earlier. That way you can snorkel without the crowds until the circus arrives around 10am. By then I had already gotten 2 full hours of relatively unspoiled pics of all that I wanted to take and enjoyed lounging on the beach until the pickup time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shuttle to snorkeling

Reviewed by: Jessi L, 2019/01/30

Our driver was amazing! He kept up a running commentary on all the best places to eat, names of plants, celebrity houses, the works. He was always willing to answer questions no matter how stupid they sounded. He gave up plenty of info on the area we would be snorkeling in and the best parts of the reef to visit. He unfortunately did not have a pair of prescription goggles that I could use (I forgot to mention when booking) but he let me know I could rent a pair at the bay to ensure that I could see all the wonders below the ocean. He also had underwater cameras for purchase which was a bonus!!!

10/10 I would totally book transportation to go snorkeling with this company again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So. Much. Fun!

Reviewed by: ELevine, 2018/12/24

My son was SUPER excited to go snorkeling so we booked a day through Veltra. Our driver showed up within 5 minutes of our pickup time (a feat with traffic) and got us going. He was very personable and helpful in getting us our equipment. We had an AMAZING day at Hanauma Bay (reef-safe sunblock only, people!) He was right on time for our pickup and turned on the AC so we could sit comfortably while waiting for the rest of the guests to return. We had a great amount of time to be in the water and had so much fun! My son got an acceptance call to the first choice college while we were waiting. Our driver said Congrats and even again as we were getting out of the van. It
was a fabulous day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best place in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Dee, 2018/08/20

This was the most beautiful place ever. The kids really enjoyed the snorkelling here, lots of beautiful fish to see. The online booking process was simple and price was very affordable. Our driver was friendly and explained how to use the equipment. Pickup and drop off was on time. Highly recommend! Will be back to do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super fun time!

Reviewed by: Lacey S. , 2018/06/18

Our shuttle time was for 9am and we’re were picked up at 8:59am in a 12 person van. It only took 20 minutes to get to the bay but then we had to wait for 15 minutes just to park and get out. Our drivers name was Diogo and he was super friendly and nice to look at too lol :) After being fitted for our gear we walked to the entrance and paid our $7.50 per person over 13 years to get in and watched a 10 minute video about the history of the bay. It’s a little ways to walk down to the bay and can be tiring to walk back up after snorkeling but they offer shuttle service for $1.25 each way or $2.50 for the day. Take the shuttle. There’s a snack bar at the top if you want a $4 precooked hotdog but it’s better to bring your own snacks. We got into the water at 10:15am and met back up with the driver at 2pm to go back to our hotel, again he was right on time. Overall the kids thought it was fun and we would do it again. The best snorkeling is off to the left side of the beach. The water gets clearer the further you go out.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and awesome place.

Reviewed by: Deivyn07, 2018/03/28

This review is more for the Hanauma Bay. Such a beautiful place and all-around outstanding experience. I would definitely recommend a visit even if you don't plan on snorkling. I am grateful to have found this tour to take.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing trip !

Reviewed by: Crystal , 2018/02/28

My driver was so nice and friendly ! I ended up being the only one on the shuttle ! He was so nice and friendly and told me about the island and answers all my questions ! It made my experience very good ! I also changed the time and I again was the only one to get picked up and no problem! They were very nice on the phone as well and it was a great price !

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories