Hans Hedemann Surf School Waikiki

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/09/12

Adam was an awesome instructor! Pick up and drop off was simple and easy. Staff all very friendly. Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adam was awesome!!

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/08/04

The school was great. We caught lots of waves and Adam was a great instructor.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surf lesson for Jesse trevino

Reviewed by: Jesse trevino, 2017/07/19

The 3 guys did an excellent job going over safety an simple instructions in the classroom, on the beach the were patient and helpful. I was satisfied with the results!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Place To Learn

Reviewed by: DLineen, 2017/03/07

Will, CJ and the staff were awesome. Highly recommend HH

Reply from activity provider

Aloha!
We are happy to hear our staff was a great service to you.
Mahalo for choosing HHSurf for your surfing experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time with Hans & Crew

Reviewed by: Beginner_Surfer, 2017/01/03

This is the 1st time I have enrolled with Hans Hedemann and staff. Staff was really nice as my son and I took the surf class in the 2hr group lesson. Two hours is plenty of time for the group size and I did not have to wait for other surfers on the water at all. I had taken the KOA lessons (also on Waikiki) earlier and Hans' School is much better in terms of distance to paddle to get to the surf location as well as the student to instructor ratio. Our package also included shuttle, pictures and a T-shirt which is awesome. My son (14yrs) said it was the best activity of the trip which is great since it's so hard to impress teens now-a-days. Because of the inclusiveness of the package and the surf location, we would definitely repeat and highly recommend this school.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,
We are so happy you and your son enjoyed the lesson! Here at Hans Hedemann Surf School we strive for excellence. We appreciate your great review and we hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo for surfing with us!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing Safety

Reviewed by: Cody Staggs, 2017/01/02

Private instruction was greatly informative. The group class should have been segregated from private and semi-private classes since they were not supervised as they should have been. they were like herding cats and safety was compromised.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cody,

We would like to thank you for your time at Hans Hedemann Surf School. Your review is greatly appreciated and your feedback will be used to better our services for the future. We hope you enjoyed your lesson regardless of the chaos in the water. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Feifei, 2016/11/11

I have taken two lessons. Instructor is helpful and patient. He can help you familiar with the steps and assist for your surfing. I have great experience in this school. And now I'm a big fan of surfing, thanks to the teachings.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Feifei,

Mahalo for the time to review us. We are happy that you had a great time with our surf school and made a great influence with surfing. Hope to see you surf with us again

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2016/09/06

The instructors were amazing and extremely patient! They made surfing very easy and fun for us. It was all of our first time surfing and it won't be the last!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We are very pleased to hear you had a great time! Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review! We hope to see you in the future! Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I Surfed in Waikiki!!!

Reviewed by: Louise, Maryland, US, 2016/07/13

The Hans Hedemann Surf School Experience was awesome. I actually surfed on Waikiki waves! What a memory!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Surfing Lessons

Reviewed by: Henry, 2016/07/02

Highly recommended, fun and friendly coaching. Worth trying.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2016/05/09

It was my first lesson of surfing but it was great. Teachers was super positive and professional! I loved surfing from my first lesson, so I took another one few days later. Was amazing, I woud love to come back to Hawaii and practice more!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trade the Mai Tais for a lesson

Reviewed by: Adam, 2016/05/07

I'd been wanting to do this the last two times i have visited Hawaii but had never gotten around to it... probably too many Mai Tai's! I'm so glad i managed to tear myself away from the local bars to give this a go this time. HHSS were great, the instructors were all really good even though 2 or 3 were clearly on their first day. I managed to catch a few waves and may have caught the surfing bug as well! Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice

Reviewed by: Mama, 2016/04/05

Very nice experience! I was going with my 8yd son. Very impressive!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Nice

Reviewed by: Mama, 2016/04/05

Very nice experience! I was going with my 8yd son. Very impressive!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Surf Sesh!

Reviewed by: Silas, 2015/10/14

Did a semi-private lesson with two friends which was perfect. Jordan man, so good, he was an amazing instructor, kind and supportive and super friendly, and he got us all up on our boards and surfing on our own within the first hour. The day was bright, waves were slow but incoming, and the view of Waikiki from the water was unforgettable! Thanks to Hans Hedemann Surf School and HawaiiActivities.com. Ah man, such a great way to spend the morning.


Reply from activity provider

ALOHA!! Nice to here!! and we are grad that you and your friends enjoyed surf with us!! Hope to see you again in Hawaii !!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hooked on surfing!

Reviewed by: Reese E, 2015/09/30

Okay, I'm hooked! I cannot wait to get back to Oahu, and get on a board again! The day was great in every way. Austin is an amazing instructor, and a cool dude. I felt safe and confident with him, and was surfing in no time. Absolutely awesome!! I also had the privilege of meeting CJ, and Rachel (Turtle Bay shop). Thank you both for all the encouragement and advice with my plans to make Oahu my home in the very near future. Looking forward to seeing all of you again...and, of course, surfing. Mahalo!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Reese,

Happy to here that you had a great time surfing with our surf school. Ill make sure to let Austin, Cj and Raye know.

We hope to see you again and surf with us

Mahalo

Zarra

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!

Reviewed by: UYK, 2015/08/02

We mistook the school location went other side of Waikiki beach. Veltra called us and school ban came to pick us up. We join the lesson about 30min late but everyone were nice and we had so much fun in the water!

Reply from activity provider

we are happy to hear that you enjoyed surf lesson! hope to see you again in the water !! Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hans Hedemann is a great school!!!

Reviewed by: Deb & Jim, 2015/08/01

I was completely surprised that both my kids were able to surf on the first class. They enjoyed it so much they (the kids) insisted on another session. Their teachers were so good the kids were interested in learning more!!! a big shout out to Travis, Tim and Adam. These young men are wonderful teachers and it was an honor to meet them. Hardworking, talented and yet so humble and compassionate to their culture and environment. It was a wonderful experience! I also want to say the office staff were also very nice. This picture is my son and his teacher Travis on the first session.


  • My son and his teacher Travis!!! Great Teacher!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! and Thank so much for 5 satrs!! hope to see you guy again in the water!! Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Happyutahfamily, 2015/02/05

The staff at Hans Hedeman surf school in Waikiki Went above and beyond to make sure my family had an enjoyable safe experience.
C.J. Was waiting for us in our hotel lobby with a big smile and welcoming personality.
Everyone from classroom to water were friendly and knowledgeable. I had the upmost confidence that my kids were in safe hands at all times.
The instructors did a great job and all three of my kids were able to get up and stay on their boards immediately.
Thanks to the Hans Hedeman school, my family had a great experience with memories they can keep for years ( and video to prove it !)

Reply from activity provider

So glad you and your family had a great time and a great experience! Thank you for your kind words. We certainly love what we do and love sharing it with others. We hope to see you again if you have the opportunity!
Much Aloha,
The Staff at Hans Hedemann Surf School

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing U.S.A

Reviewed by: Guest, 2014/09/24

Awesome to get up on a surfboard, with the help of an awesome crew

Reply from activity provider

Glad you had a good time!! Thank you for surfing with us!
Aloha!
HHsurf crew

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfs Up

Reviewed by: Hopper, 2014/02/17

Booking an activity online can be a pain, but with this site it was not. The pick up and drop off service is excellent
Surf Instructors was awesome in preparing me and the rest of us newbies on what not to do and what to be prepared for The instructor I had was pateint and very knowledgable in surfing I caught almost every wave with ease. I had fun and would surf again.

Reply from activity provider

Glad you had a great time!! We love teaching people to surf. Come back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: amy, 2013/10/14

good teachers and great waves!
this was the first time to play surffing but I could catch the wave!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming Surfing and for your review. See you again. Mahalo. Hans Hedemann

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

super surf day

Reviewed by: manuel, 2013/08/31

great expierence....we spent a great time with beautifull people!!!

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for the review Manuel. Glad we could be a part of your Hawaiian vacation. Aloha.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good times

Reviewed by: Moe, 2013/08/28

Friendly aloha spirit all around. If you're in Hawaii, then try surfing!! These guys are the best around by far. They take you away from the crowded side of Waikiki and truly give you a great lesson.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great experience

Reviewed by: ktt, 2013/06/02

Awesome experience. Lucky enough to pay for a group lesson and got a private lesson instead. Staff is friendly and social. Will have a great time. Was able to fully stand up on my 3rd attempt and stood up for the rest of the waves.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/19

This was an intense, 2-hour surf lesson that I absolutely loved! The weather was perfect, and catching waves right in front of Diamond Head was amazing.

I wasn't sure what to expect going in, but the group lesson gave you a short intro into surfing and then helped you to ride the waves for the rest of the time. We spent a good amount of time (enough to exhaust me) in the water, with detailed instruction for each of the instructors. I was a bit worried when I got there with the amount of people, as I wasn't sure how it was going to work out, but the staff at Hans Hedemann made this a supa way to spend a Saturday morning.

Huge thanks go out to the surf instructors of the day, so thank you to Shawn, Easton, and Zara for keeping our huge group going for the full 2 hours, you guys were fantastic! A great time that i highly recommend to anyone and everyone visiting Waikiki!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/08

This surf lesson were so cool! The instructors were really good and help out a lot. It was so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Experience!

Reviewed by: EYSL, 2010/12/30

We went on our Honeymoon and this was one of the activities that we have done. If this is your first time surfing, don't fret. The staff are professional and they teach you all the basics. Opt for the private lessons because if you are tired from paddling, the instructor can help you back to the waves hence more opportunity for you to keep on practicing to get better. The photographer was great as well as he managed to capture some great photos and you can get them all in a disc which was nice. Highly recommended...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!

Reviewed by: MinnesotaMike, 2010/04/23

My six year old daughter surfed! We all did! We all got up and we have the videotape to prove it! This was our first activity on our first day and it set a trend of quality that stayed throughout our trip. These surfers are great teachers, assistants, advisors, helpers, and just plain nice.

I can't recommend anywhere more than this school.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surfing For Everyone

Reviewed by: Ron Gurtiza, 2010/03/25

All the instructors made us feel comfortable and made sure we had fun and guaranteed we would all stand up. I signed up for the 2 hour class. The waves were knee to waist high and be prepared to do a lot of paddling. Everyone in my group stood up on the board. We all started posing for the camera while surfing. Very fun for all age groups. A school of dolphins showed up and jumping along with us. PERFECT DAY!!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI