This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waikiki Casual Sunset Cruise with Friendly Local Crew

Very good and relaxing cruise

Reviewed by: Kate from CA, 2018/07/09

The crew was very nice, friendly and helpful. The view was spectacular.
Highly recommend.


  • Waikiki sunset taken from the boat ride.


  • View of the Waikiki coast line, also taken from this trip

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A friendly sunset

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2018/06/05

The cruise is BYOB, so you make your own party! Some drinks were provided, but we all brought our own drinks to share, too, and we also brought some finger foods.

The crew was really friendly, and we also got along well with the other passengers. It was a fun and relaxing night.

The "glass bottom" windows are actually in four corners of the boat. It wasn't a very compelling part of the cruise, especially in the evening. While they do have lights under the boat so you can sort of see the coral in the dark, the boat isn't always moving slow enough to spot out things.

The windows are kind of a novelty, but if you really want to see underwater I would suggest going in the mornings. For sunset, this is a really fun relaxing BYOB cruise that I'd definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and relaxing boat cruise in Waikiki!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

I love cruising with Hawaiian Glass Bottom Boat. This was my 3rd time on the boat and I plan to come back many more times.Nothing better than cruise along Waikiki enjoying a few beers with friends while watching the sunset. The price is great, the crew is always friendly and professional and you can really feel the aloha spirit. If the ocean conditions are good you can even see the marine life from their glassbottom viewing area.
What I also like about this boat is that this is a nice option for anyone who does not want to go on the crowed booze cruises from Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening on the water with friends

Reviewed by: Tammy, 2018/06/04

We were a group of 5 people and we got to the boat early. Jason was gracious enough to let us on and get the party started earlier than was scheduled. Jason and Ford were wonderful as they explained the history of the island, kept us supplied with water and also were our photographers. We got beautiful pictures of the sunset.

It's a simple cruise, but, well worth the money. WE all had a great time and would schedule it again.

Thank you Jason and Ford.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Dana, 2017/10/22

We were extremely pleased by our experience on the cruise in September. Travis and his crew member were friendly, insightful and made the trip an overall memorable experience for us (even more so when my boyfriend proposed while we were watching the sun set)! We cannot be more pleased and would definitely go again when we visit beautiful Oahu and Waikiki in the future. Thank you so much! Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience and Would Do Again

Reviewed by: Bryan, 2017/08/16

It was a lot of fun. I went with my friends during sunset. There were bottomless Mai Tais which were great and we brought our own beer. The tour guides were great at explaining some history regarding the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great guides

Reviewed by: Allison, 2017/07/19

Definitely 2 thumbs up for the glass bottom boat and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a beautiful sunset. I loved that our guides were so accomodating and they even let our 5 year old steer the boat. Great memories were made that we'll never forget!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely, Stunning sights of Oahu coast

Reviewed by: Shelley L., 2017/06/04

My husband and I took the sunset tour with Waikiki Glass Bottom Boat Tours. We did other things/tours on our trip, but this tour was by far the most lovely and peaceful experience we had. I was looking forward to seeing marine life, but was soon distracted by the sight we came from. The stunning, emerald Oahu coast, with its gleaming white buildings and Diamond Head mountain looming to the right. It took my breath away and rendered us quiet. The sun sank over the distant mountain, yet it was light for a long while after. As far as marine life, we saw one fish. The sight of the coast was the real highlight. The tour guides were fun, had tidbits about the skyscrapers and the oldest buildings, local history and natural landmarks. It was our favorite part of the Hawaii vacation.


  • The Waikiki, Oahu coast from the boat. Pictures do not do it justice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good activity

Reviewed by: Carol, 2016/10/22

Enjoyed the cruise. It was relaxing. I would do it again. I think that the glass bottom part may be better during the day as it was harder to see things at night. I guess not as much activity. However, the crew was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice boat trip

Reviewed by: Crystal, 2016/09/30

Veltra was easy to use. They got the activities approved quickly and we also received timely notification that the time had been changed from the one that was listed on Veltra's website. Glass bottom boat cruise arranged for pick up for us. I don't know if it was my fault or the way these things are communicated through a third party but I put in the wrong hotel and got my pick up location. When I fixed that mistake, I got the same location. However, they ended up picking up people a couple blocks from our hotel. The actual boat ride was nice. The crew was very nice and knowledgeable. We didn't see much during this trip through the glass bottom portions of the boat but it was still a nice, relaxing sunset cruise. The only thing I would say is to make sure you arrange your own transportation back to your hotel. We were not told that there was not arrangements to get us back to our hotel until the boat ride was over. We then had to scramble to find a way back. This should be more clearly stated By either veltra or the boat company. Usually when someone picks you up, they bring you back, but that is not the case here so beware. All that being said, I would take this cruise again. The crew were good guys.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Crystal,

Thank you for booking with HawaiiActivities.com / VELTRA Inc. On behalf of Hawaii Glass Bottom Boat we sincerely apologize that the return transportation was provided upon the completion of the activity. For those that request a pick-up, a return transfer is definitely provided.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Sunset Glass Bottom Boat Cruise.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Alison S., 2016/09/22

We were fortunate enough to get last minute tickets to this boat tour. The booking agent even offered to have transportation set up for us, but it ended up being an easy walk from our hotel (Ala Moana). Once we got on the boat we were offered free water, juice, or beer. From the moment we walked onto the boat, our tour guides were welcoming and informative. They showed us the different landmarks we were passing and also gave us suggestions for other places to check out while we were here in Hawaii. The boat was not crowded so we had plenty of room to walk around and check out the views from all angles. I was enjoying the views so much I almost forgot to look in the 4 ports where the glass bottom of the boat was. It was a little murky from all the waves but we ended up seeing coral, turtles, and fish. This was by far one of the best experiences of our entire trip. Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories