Islandview Oahu Shark Dive Tour - Swim and Snorkel with Sharks in Hawaii reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Islandview Oahu Shark Dive Tour - Swim and Snorkel with Sharks in Hawaii

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

24 reviews
Post a review

An unforgettable experience!

Reviewed by: Casey, 2018/07/28

My wife and I had such a great experience! The sharks come close but stay at a safe distance. The guides are very knowledgeable about the ocean and have utmost respect for the sea. I recommend taking the earliest trip to have the calmest sea so you don’t have to work too hard fighting waves and currents. A+ outfit!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Another review.... Here is a YouTube video of our fun experience

Reviewed by: Santa Kevin Scott CA, 2018/07/24

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=fagyTFAHomg

Hope the link works here. It was great fun diving with these guys on this boat. Who need a cage when you can be free with nature. You can cut and paste the link if it don't auto link.

  • Close up view of a Galapagos Shark

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Shark experience!! Bucket list you can cross off.

Reviewed by: Santa Kevin Scott , 2018/07/16

The guys on boat really do a great job. We had a lot of sharks around and great memories made. We will be coming back again for sure. Only wish a few other types of sharks would have joined us. A hammerhead or tiger shark would have been a treat. I studied sharks in Oceanography for 3 years. So know a ton about sharks. Loved every second of being in the water with them.
Mahalo

  • Here I go getting a close up shot. Grandson took this with his GoPro.

  • I dove down for a great view and shots. Shot with GoPro.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/13
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun - I booked it twice!

Reviewed by: Mike in SC, 2018/05/12

I’ve been on several shark dives in the past - almost all without cages. This experience was right up there with all the rest.
Without a cage you really get to understand that, unlike Shark Week hype, sharks are not out to get us.
You share the ocean and appreciate them as they go about their own business. We had up to 17 sharks in the vicinity on the my second trip, including Galapagos, Sandbar, and Scalloped Hammerheads. A couple would cruise by closer, but most seemed content to keep their distance.
The team made both dives very informative as well as enjoyable. Their cameraman ensures that you’ll have pictures to share with family and friends. I used my GoPro, but still got the pictures they took as well.
If I’m ever back on Oahu, I’ll book a couple more outings with them.

  • That’s me, having a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Shelby, 2017/05/30

Can't say enough about how awesome this was! Wish I could do it every day. Was quite nervous at first but once you get in the water it is so calming to just watch the sharks in their world. The Island View guys were great, gave us all the info we needed before getting in and answered all of our questions.

My only advice for the company is to give a bit more instruction on finding you at the harbor - all we really had was the name of the boat (which is outdated) and we can't exactly walk the whole place reading boat names. We found them eventually and all was well.

If you have the time, this is absolutely a must-do in Oahu. You won't regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Taylor, 2017/05/09

We loved our experience! The instructors were professional, informative and made us feel safe. We were able to see several Galapagos sharks and a barracuda even joined us at one point. And the whole experience was captured through pictures available for purchase afterwards. Overall, our group had an amazing experience and would definitely recommend to others!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: George, 2016/11/10

This was an awesome experience. I had done the shark cage before, but I never thought that I'd be able to swim with the sharks without cage. I was a bit skeptical about the safety, but once I was in the water, I didn't feel threatened at all. It was just a calm and relaxing experience, and the sharks were not interested in humans at all. The sharks we saw were mostly Sandbar Sharks and Galapagos Sharks, and they only eat fish. They were more attracted to the sound/vibration of the boat engine. So the guide instructed us to stay away from the boat, and we stayed together as a group. We only have a group of 5 with 1 guide and 1 photographer in the water, so the experience was very intimate.

I highly recommend this activity to anyone, and really observe the sharks in their environment. Forget about Shark Weeks, Jaws, etc., and go see them with their own eyes so you can cure people's misconception about these beautiful creatures.

  • Galapagos Shark

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience swimming with sharks!

Reviewed by: Amy Walter, 2016/09/26

First time ever swimming with sharks and it was definitely one of the coolest experiences of my life. Naturally, I was pretty nervous but the moment I stepped on the boat and met the owner/boat captain and his two employees I was immediately put at ease. They are all local guys who are extremely knowledgeable about sharks, told us what to expect, and gave very specific instructions. The owner said he has been doing this for 30 years. Plus, they were very kind and personable which added to the experience.The safety swimmer gets in the water before you and is with you the entire time. He will hold your hand if you are nervous. Sharks are misunderstood creatures so put your preconceived notions and fears about them aside and go on this adventure! You won't regret it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

INCREDIBLE

Reviewed by: Kelcie, 2016/08/06

The staff was so friendly and knowledgable! They made everyone feel safe, and provided pictures they took of everyone! An unforgettable experience, and I can't wait to go again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories