Islandview Shark Dive Tour - Swim & Snorkel with Sharks in Hawaii reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Islandview Shark Dive Tour - Swim & Snorkel with Sharks in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.98 4.98 / 5

Reviews

41 reviews
Post a review

Crew was great, saw two sharks but it was a great experience.

Reviewed by: Joey S, 2021/10/23

Careless shark diving was a great experience.
No GoPros allowed on this trip but they take photos for you and some videos.
We saw two sharks on this trip and sandbar and a Galapagos but they were very active and would come very close, but you can also see them 80 yards down, because the water is clear.
The last 10 minutes you are somewhat free to dive down and swim with them.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Here Sharky

Reviewed by: Megan Rish , 2021/10/02

What an amazing adventure to go on! Hop on in the water and the sharks come to you! It’s amazing you can even see other creatures if they come near too!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Samantha, 2021/09/30

Amazing experience. The guys were very nice and knowledgeable. Made the experience fun and relaxing. We saw about 4-6 sharks and a barracuda. Highly recommend these guys.
We will definitely be coming back to them next visit. And they take photos for you for free

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't come to Oahu and not experience this adventure!!! It's worth the entire visit

Reviewed by: Jacquelyn , 2021/09/17

Amazing experience with these spectacular creatures that don't get the credit they deserve. This tour was definitely an eye opener and will give participants a far better and more educated perspective about not only the shark population but several others as well. Thank you IslandView Inc and the 3 guides who made the experience far more sensational than I suppose I was expecting.
The lead guys name was Sam but unfortunately, I don't recall the other two who were out in the water with us and taking photos. They absolutely made this adventure outstanding for us all!! You guys are awesome. I'll be back!!!

  • Picture compliments of IslandView Inc and the tour they hosted

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Cara, 2021/09/15

We really enjoyed our snorkeling with sharks. The guides were great and we spent quite a bit of time in the water just swimming with the sharks. One of our favorite activities we did in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous

Reviewed by: Kahla, 2021/09/01

This tour was amazing! The crew and captain was very knowledgeable, extremely nice and friendly, and funny. The Captain did all he could do to attract the sharks for us and the safety divers made sure we felt safe in the water and had everything we needed. It was a little choppy, but that part was out of their control, so I'm good with it! Overall, 10 out of 10!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark/Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Erica , 2021/08/26

This tour was so much fun!!!! The guys were very knowledgeable and made us feel comfortable
I would highly recommend no cage. I would be lying if I said I was not nervous. SO MUCH FUN

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal, Once in a Lifetime Experience with the Sharks!

Reviewed by: Daniel A., 2021/08/23

A heartfelt welcoming by the family team! Loved that they are down to earth, invoke conversation with you, dead serious about your safety and constantly staying vigil of your swim out with the sharks. They constantly checked in with you to see how you’re doing from riding to from on the boat, to swimming in the open ocean. It was great to see the sharks get up close to you to make you a bit alert but nothing I could say was dangerous and a close encounter. I will come back to them for sure!! Island view Shark Dive Tour will be the place I’ll be recommending others to go try. Thank you team for a spectacular experience for my son and I.

  • Papa looking at the silvers

  • Silvers looking at us!

  • Kiddo looking at them silvers

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: MBoboc, 2021/07/31

This was by far my favorite activity of the trip! Loved swimming cageless with the sharks and the pictures they gave us were amazing! Exciting and spiritual at the same time. Would love to do it again….

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark dive

Reviewed by: Mom, 2021/07/28

This was such a wonderful adventure. My daughter and I enjoyed the trip out on the water. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience! Cage-free is a must!

Reviewed by: Taylor, 2021/07/10

We had a fantastic experience - I can't believe in retrospect that we were considering doing this in a cage. The team makes you feel at ease and safe, the crowd wasn't too large, and the boat more than adequate. I especially love that they take free photos in the water for you! Great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pelagic Shark dive

Reviewed by: Cory, 2021/07/03

The trip was amazing. Boat crew was friendly and made the trip special for everyone. Being in the water cage free and being able to see the magnificent Galapagos sharks silently glide in and out of view was an experience I will remember for a life time. I will do this again next time I’m in on island.

  • Pic taken by safety diver

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of Oahu

Reviewed by: Peter, 2021/06/22

Bottom line: This experience was the highlight of our time on Oahu and both of my children (11 and 14) rank it as the most incredible experience of their lives. It really is remarkable.

My 11 year-old was nervous prior to the dive, but her fears were addressed before we even left the harbor. The staff was informative and reassuring. Sam in particular told us exactly what to expect and answered all of our questions. The staff of three on the boat was very respectful toward the ocean and the sharks.

No one tried to up-sell us on products or services during the experience, which was refreshing. The staff took photos of us underwater with sharks and shared them with us at no charge as we returned to the harbor.

You don’t have to be an experienced snorkeler for this... most of our group pretty much floated on the surface the whole time.

Highly, highly recommend. The small group size, informative staff and thrilling experience of freely swimming with sharks was just unbeatable.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Peter,

We appreciate your wonderful review! We're so happy to hear everyone in your party enjoyed themselves.

Until next time!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Char, 2021/05/25

This experience was amazing and the crew even better. Got to see three sharks, and although my heart was pounding I felt shockingly safe and had a great time. Would definitely do it again and I don’t think I could do/experience it any other way but this way again. Please do check these guys out! 100% recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Isaac, 2021/05/24

Everyone on the boat had a great vibe that made the trip that much better. There’s nothing like swimming on the open ocean with sharks

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I couldn't imagine it any better.

Reviewed by: Flo, 2020/12/30

I couldn't imagine it being any more amazing. The tour guides were all really professional and a safety diver made sure we didn't accidentally swim into the boat. We got very good diving glasses as well. The sharks themselves were really calm and didn't show any aggression at all and none of us got afraid once they did show up. If i had to describe it, I'd say it feels a bit like standing in front of a cow, a horse, or a dolphin. You know they are multiple times as big as you and could easily kill you, but there is no danger as they simply don't behave like that. And the same goes for the sharks.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Rebecca, 2020/11/16

We had a wonderful time and even saw Hammerhead sharks!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Most memorable part of my trip!

Reviewed by: Kate, 2019/08/29

Me and my friend first agreed to do a caged experience with the sharks, but I'm so glad we chose to do it without the cage! It was a better experience. The guides were helpful and experienced, and we luckily saw a Tiger shark! We did this on our last day in Hawaii and it wound up being the best part of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply Amazing!

Reviewed by: Mel, 2019/07/07

This was, quite simply, AMAZING! The crew were all super friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. As soon as we reached the snorkel spot we saw sharks, which came pretty close. We would absolutely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience

Reviewed by: Emma, 2019/06/09

Wonderful experience ! Me and my friend will never forget it !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An unforgettable experience!

Reviewed by: Casey, 2018/07/28

My wife and I had such a great experience! The sharks come close but stay at a safe distance. The guides are very knowledgeable about the ocean and have utmost respect for the sea. I recommend taking the earliest trip to have the calmest sea so you don’t have to work too hard fighting waves and currents. A+ outfit!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Another review.... Here is a YouTube video of our fun experience

Reviewed by: Santa Kevin Scott CA, 2018/07/24

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=fagyTFAHomg

Hope the link works here. It was great fun diving with these guys on this boat. Who need a cage when you can be free with nature. You can cut and paste the link if it don't auto link.

  • Close up view of a Galapagos Shark

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Shark experience!! Bucket list you can cross off.

Reviewed by: Santa Kevin Scott , 2018/07/16

The guys on boat really do a great job. We had a lot of sharks around and great memories made. We will be coming back again for sure. Only wish a few other types of sharks would have joined us. A hammerhead or tiger shark would have been a treat. I studied sharks in Oceanography for 3 years. So know a ton about sharks. Loved every second of being in the water with them.
Mahalo

  • Here I go getting a close up shot. Grandson took this with his GoPro.

  • I dove down for a great view and shots. Shot with GoPro.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/13
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: A&H, 2018/07/15

So amazing!!! My husband and I have looked over our footage everyday since

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience!

Reviewed by: Christine, 2018/06/18

I was a little unsure about what to expect but once we got on the boat the tour guide did an awesome job of making us feel more comfortable. He explained everything and was very professional. It was amazing to be so close to the sharks and to have a new understanding of them. I would do it again for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun - I booked it twice!

Reviewed by: Mike in SC, 2018/05/12

I’ve been on several shark dives in the past - almost all without cages. This experience was right up there with all the rest.
Without a cage you really get to understand that, unlike Shark Week hype, sharks are not out to get us.
You share the ocean and appreciate them as they go about their own business. We had up to 17 sharks in the vicinity on the my second trip, including Galapagos, Sandbar, and Scalloped Hammerheads. A couple would cruise by closer, but most seemed content to keep their distance.
The team made both dives very informative as well as enjoyable. Their cameraman ensures that you’ll have pictures to share with family and friends. I used my GoPro, but still got the pictures they took as well.
If I’m ever back on Oahu, I’ll book a couple more outings with them.

  • That’s me, having a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience in all of Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jerry Herberger, 2018/02/22

What could be more exhilarating than interacting with an animal you have been taught all your life to fear? You have guides that take total care of you, from safety briefing to taking pictures of your interaction. This was my second time and the thrill was just as impressive as was the first time. This experience should be the number one activity for any tourist on Oahu. We were with 7 sharks and one barracuda. The speed and agility of sharks must be experienced to be appreciated. Sharks are magnificent animals. Thanks again guys for the ultimate experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark watch

Reviewed by: Colin & Jamie, 2017/10/05

Outstanding experience with a wonderful crew and photographer! Explained everything clearly and ensure we had a safe enjoyable time! Visibility was fantastic and sharks a beauty to observe! Going back if we can before we leave!! Highly recommend this team!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: @Bakerbroductions, 2017/09/05

Amazing! Saw 20+ sharks and got within inches of them. (90% were sand bar sharks with 2 hammerheads sprinkled in there). Definitely coming back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!!!!!

Reviewed by: Victoria , 2017/08/29

Such a wonderful, once in a lifetime experience with very calm and professional tour operators. Even took the time to capture the experience on camera and send all of the photos via email, free if charge. Only wish we had more time to go again!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories