This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Islandview Hawaii Shark Swim Adventure Tour (from Haleiwa, North Shore)

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

19 reviews (Post a review)

Great Shark experience!! Bucket list you can cross off.

Reviewed by: Santa Kevin Scott , 2018/07/16

The guys on boat really do a great job. We had a lot of sharks around and great memories made. We will be coming back again for sure. Only wish a few other types of sharks would have joined us. A hammerhead or tiger shark would have been a treat. I studied sharks in Oceanography for 3 years. So know a ton about sharks. Loved every second of being in the water with them.
Mahalo


  • Here I go getting a close up shot. Grandson took this with his GoPro.


  • I dove down for a great view and shots. Shot with GoPro.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: A&H, 2018/07/15

So amazing!!! My husband and I have looked over our footage everyday since

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience!

Reviewed by: Christine, 2018/06/18

I was a little unsure about what to expect but once we got on the boat the tour guide did an awesome job of making us feel more comfortable. He explained everything and was very professional. It was amazing to be so close to the sharks and to have a new understanding of them. I would do it again for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun - I booked it twice!

Reviewed by: Mike in SC, 2018/05/12

I’ve been on several shark dives in the past - almost all without cages. This experience was right up there with all the rest.
Without a cage you really get to understand that, unlike Shark Week hype, sharks are not out to get us.
You share the ocean and appreciate them as they go about their own business. We had up to 17 sharks in the vicinity on the my second trip, including Galapagos, Sandbar, and Scalloped Hammerheads. A couple would cruise by closer, but most seemed content to keep their distance.
The team made both dives very informative as well as enjoyable. Their cameraman ensures that you’ll have pictures to share with family and friends. I used my GoPro, but still got the pictures they took as well.
If I’m ever back on Oahu, I’ll book a couple more outings with them.


  • That’s me, having a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience in all of Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jerry Herberger, 2018/02/22

What could be more exhilarating than interacting with an animal you have been taught all your life to fear? You have guides that take total care of you, from safety briefing to taking pictures of your interaction. This was my second time and the thrill was just as impressive as was the first time. This experience should be the number one activity for any tourist on Oahu. We were with 7 sharks and one barracuda. The speed and agility of sharks must be experienced to be appreciated. Sharks are magnificent animals. Thanks again guys for the ultimate experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark watch

Reviewed by: Colin & Jamie, 2017/10/05

Outstanding experience with a wonderful crew and photographer! Explained everything clearly and ensure we had a safe enjoyable time! Visibility was fantastic and sharks a beauty to observe! Going back if we can before we leave!! Highly recommend this team!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: @Bakerbroductions, 2017/09/05

Amazing! Saw 20+ sharks and got within inches of them. (90% were sand bar sharks with 2 hammerheads sprinkled in there). Definitely coming back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!!!!!

Reviewed by: Victoria , 2017/08/29

Such a wonderful, once in a lifetime experience with very calm and professional tour operators. Even took the time to capture the experience on camera and send all of the photos via email, free if charge. Only wish we had more time to go again!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had an awesome time!

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/08/09

We had a blast! The instructors were great. You can't do anything about the people who panic in the water... Wish you could though.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow!

Reviewed by: Meagen, 2017/06/19

This was amazing! I am so glad we picked this as an activity! I would do this again if we ever make it back to Oahu. We saw sharks from the minute we got out and they were around us the entire time. It was a little intimidating at first, but the guides were always watchful above and below the water so I felt as safe as you possible could be given the chosen activity. The only thing I would say could be better was finding what area you are suppose to be to board the boat, there are no signs for check in or really where you are suppose to be and I wish I would have taken my camera I wanted some pictures but felt the group rate was too high. I would recommend this to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Intense

Reviewed by: Jerry Herberger, 2017/06/01

An absolute must do. My wife did not want to go in, but through the reassurance of the guys she did and was happy she did. The crew was great. At first there is lots of anxiety and then it lessens. Swimming with those majestic animals is beyond words. It must be experience. Again thanks guys

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Shelby, 2017/05/30

Can't say enough about how awesome this was! Wish I could do it every day. Was quite nervous at first but once you get in the water it is so calming to just watch the sharks in their world. The Island View guys were great, gave us all the info we needed before getting in and answered all of our questions.

My only advice for the company is to give a bit more instruction on finding you at the harbor - all we really had was the name of the boat (which is outdated) and we can't exactly walk the whole place reading boat names. We found them eventually and all was well.

If you have the time, this is absolutely a must-do in Oahu. You won't regret it.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Taylor, 2017/05/09

We loved our experience! The instructors were professional, informative and made us feel safe. We were able to see several Galapagos sharks and a barracuda even joined us at one point. And the whole experience was captured through pictures available for purchase afterwards. Overall, our group had an amazing experience and would definitely recommend to others!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This was epic!

Reviewed by: Jannette, 2017/01/23

This was a really great experience. Uncle Dave-the captain, Shane, and Rider all made the trip educationall, fun, and really put us all at ease. I was amazed at how many sharks we saw!

This was one of the best experiences of my life!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2016/11/28

Without a question this is a 5 star experience. This is one of those moments in life you will never forget and will probably want to do again. The staff is very friendly and experienced and they have great respect for the ocean and its creatures. They gave us a safety briefing and explained what to expect with the sharks and what not do, first thing we heard was "keep all the negative associations with sharks at the shore, go in with an open mind".
We got to swim around Sandbar & Galapagos sharks ranging from 5-10 feet, absolutely mind blowing. Some of them were curious and came close to us! It was a little scared first, but the guide kept us safe during the whole time. While we were enjoying that magical moment another crew member took great pictures of the encounter.
Absolutely a must-do activity if you are in Hawaii. I would love to go out with the Islandview Hawaii crew again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: George, 2016/11/10

This was an awesome experience. I had done the shark cage before, but I never thought that I'd be able to swim with the sharks without cage. I was a bit skeptical about the safety, but once I was in the water, I didn't feel threatened at all. It was just a calm and relaxing experience, and the sharks were not interested in humans at all. The sharks we saw were mostly Sandbar Sharks and Galapagos Sharks, and they only eat fish. They were more attracted to the sound/vibration of the boat engine. So the guide instructed us to stay away from the boat, and we stayed together as a group. We only have a group of 5 with 1 guide and 1 photographer in the water, so the experience was very intimate.

I highly recommend this activity to anyone, and really observe the sharks in their environment. Forget about Shark Weeks, Jaws, etc., and go see them with their own eyes so you can cure people's misconception about these beautiful creatures.


  • Galapagos Shark






Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience swimming with sharks!

Reviewed by: Amy Walter, 2016/09/26

First time ever swimming with sharks and it was definitely one of the coolest experiences of my life. Naturally, I was pretty nervous but the moment I stepped on the boat and met the owner/boat captain and his two employees I was immediately put at ease. They are all local guys who are extremely knowledgeable about sharks, told us what to expect, and gave very specific instructions. The owner said he has been doing this for 30 years. Plus, they were very kind and personable which added to the experience.The safety swimmer gets in the water before you and is with you the entire time. He will hold your hand if you are nervous. Sharks are misunderstood creatures so put your preconceived notions and fears about them aside and go on this adventure! You won't regret it!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

INCREDIBLE

Reviewed by: Kelcie, 2016/08/06

The staff was so friendly and knowledgable! They made everyone feel safe, and provided pictures they took of everyone! An unforgettable experience, and I can't wait to go again!!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing time!

Reviewed by: JLW, 2016/07/08

This tour turns everything you think you knew about sharks completely on its head. After a short ride out from the harbor, you arrive at your snorkel site. You quickly and quietly get in the water (with no cage!) and voila, you are swimming with 5-8 foot sharks all around. This was a very professionally run and awesome adventure on the North Shore. Highly recommended to anyone with a sense of adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories