Hawaii Submarine Scooter Turtle Encounter & Snorkel Cruise reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Hawaii Submarine Scooter Turtle Encounter & Snorkel Cruise

Overall Rating

4.81 4.81 / 5

Reviews

36 reviews
Post a review

Insane Waves made for seasickness.

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2021/09/12

It was fun, great experience. The waves were very strong that day so probably the only reason i cant give a 5. We both got sick and didnt enjoy as mich as we should have.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater Scooter Experience

Reviewed by: Glenda G., 2021/07/17

From the boat ride to the Underwater Scooter ride this was a fabulous outing. The scooters were so much fun for everyone. Our group of 4 ages ranged from 19 to 67 years old and we all enjoyed it. We highly recommend! We would definitely do this again. Very well organized.

  • Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever!

Reviewed by: Flo, 2021/07/06

Absolutely amazing!!!
This was the highlight of my trip. I had the most enjoyable time. My husband on the other hand got sea sick. Notice to anyone going, please bring sea sick meds even if you think you've never been sea sick before. The boat is not like a ship...you will feel every wave!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Submarine scooter. Best time ever

Reviewed by: Tracy Webster, 2021/05/27

This was an amazing thing to do. Staff was awesome , friendly and very helpful. We had an absolute blast!!!!! Recommend this for sure as a must do. Outside of the scooter we got to swim/snorkel with a sea turtle which was outstanding. Thank you for the adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun

Reviewed by: Glenn K, 2021/05/22

Had a blast staff was more than helpful and patient with me and my wife... A must do

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing time!

Reviewed by: Karen Harlan, 2021/04/17

Everyone was absolutely amazing! I truly enjoyed this tour and everyone on the boat was patient and helpful! I am a non swimmer and I felt so comfortable with them!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience

Reviewed by: Bhargavi, 2020/12/14

very friendly people, good customer service, best water experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I liked This Activity Better Than Anything Else I've Done

Reviewed by: Martin F, 2020/03/02

I've been on 3 trips in the last 2 months with activities scheduled everyday for jet skiing, snowmobiling, fishing, etc. and this was the most fun I have had doing any of them.

My wife is claustrophobic and just couldn't do it, so I took her turn and did it twice. There is a bag of fish food on the front of the scooter, and you squeeze it and wave it around and the fish go nuts literally right in front of you and eat from your hand. I saw 6 different species of colorful fish and a sea turtle so close I could have touched it.

They videotape you doing it and take photos, so you can show your friends who aren't going to understand unless they see it. When they do see it, they all want to do it too. Would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mesmerizing

Reviewed by: Sherry, 2020/02/29

I took a deep breath, ducked under water and up into the globe of my personal submarine. There was a small chain link bag of fish food that I was instructed to shake, by hand motions, from the diver that stayed near and guided me around. The fish swarmed around me, bumping my fingers as they eagerly gobbled the food. It was surreal. The trip began with A few of us boarding a large motorized rubber raft that took us to a sandbar. The guide had a dog that was very enthusiastic. At one point it jumped into the water and swam behind the boat, which continued on leaving the dog way behind. At one point it was so far behind it was hard to see it. A real swimmer. We jumped into the water and were instructed how to use the Seabob. It pulled us around the water, which was too shallow to really get the feel of the machine. Low tide was not a good time to do this. It was an incredible experience. I highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2020/01/14

We had a wonderful time with this scuba scooter adventure. The crew was awesome and really looked after us. I loved every minute of it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience, but rough seas.

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2019/07/25

The scooter experience was great. Very unique. If you tend to seasickness go with the first group. Luckily, I did or I don’t think I could have done it. The area where we scootered is rough, and quite a few people got sick. I had hoped to snorkel and swim afterwards, but was too sick. My companions were just fine.
Saw several turtles and different kinds of fish. Also, morning trips are supposed to be calmer than afternoon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

YOU CANT MISS THIS EXPERIENCE!

Reviewed by: Francine Vargas, 2019/07/24

OMG- my husband and I found this activity last minute, and we went ahead and booked with the hope that would be a cool experience. It went above and beyond on our expectations, and all I can say is that we are so happy we found you guys! My husband loves to snorkel, I on the other hand don’t.. I tried before and my hair usually gets stuck in the equipment, water comes inside of my ears and mouth... this is an Amazing alternative to snorkel, but much much better!
The whole staff was smooth and patient. You will see so many fishes, it’s def incredible! Worth every penny, and I even think they should charge more... 1st class experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Freakin Awesome

Reviewed by: Leonard P., 2019/07/16

Words can't explain...the entire experience was awesome from start to finish. From the excursion to the staff, top notch!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best adventure in Oahu!

Reviewed by: DEEPER, 2019/04/12

Crew, Equipment exceeded expectation, for swimmers and non swimmers alike. IWS Underwater scooter is an event you will cherish. My wife and I were thankful they could take us on short notice. A complete package from reservation, pick up, instruction, operation, pics and drop off.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater scooters

Reviewed by: Michael and Katie, 2019/02/01

Overall the was a great time! The crew was great and did an excellent job with the underwater photography. Great pics and video!

Would recommend this adventure to anyone.

Be sure to bring dry clothes and towels

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Shelbee K, 2018/10/01

Such an amazing experience! Would definitely do this again! The crew that took us was great, as well :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Kate, 2018/09/27

I am so glad we did the underwater scooters. Staff was professional and knowledge and very patient with the visitors with a language barrier. Would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater scooter experience

Reviewed by: TomP, 2018/07/13

This was amazing just like your first zip line experience except with a whole different technology and this time underwater. The staff was awesome and welcoming. Pictures/video for souvenirs and the definite conversations back home were very well done and superbly arranged by the divers - Kudos on the shots!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater Scooters

Reviewed by: Joe and Teddi, 2018/03/31

A Professional diver was assigned to each individual which was reassuring. A sea turtle was by us practically the whole time. Our diver caught an small octopus a let us touch it. The photos and video also was worth buying as many friends at work have enjoyed watching it and would like to try this someday!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Steve M, 2018/01/02

I was treated excellently and had an absolutely wonderful time. The divers made sure I had a close-up experience with all the marine life. The only thing they could add in the advertisement is to tell clients to arrive wearing swimwear, there are no change rooms on the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ok

Reviewed by: Irene, 2017/12/05

The should have better explained the process. An example would have been better. Also, they should have been more encouraging to those who were uneasy in the water and refunded part of the cost if someone was unable to participate, especially since the water was very rough and it was raining.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Christine , 2017/11/06

Great time, my husband and I throughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommended this to anyone, at any age, as well as at any health issues, we both felt extremely safe and you did not need to know how to swim.

My husband is not in the best of health and it was a great experience on his bucket list.

  • Really worth doing, I can’t swim and I had no fear whatsoever

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Under water scooters

Reviewed by: Alan, 2017/08/23

Definitely the best value, best experience of our holiday. Awesome team, good gear and most probably the best value for money in Waikiki. Thanks guys for the experience, the photos and videos and the care and encouragement you gave my nervous wife, she is still talking about the fish and turtles she saw and how safe she felt in the scooter. Photos are now in pride of place on the photo board at home.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experiment!

Reviewed by: Mai, 2017/07/30

My kids loved it! Would definitely recommend it friends and family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience!

Reviewed by: Kacey , 2017/07/22

I would love to do this activity again! It was a unique experience and the crew/divers were very friendly and helpful. Definitely worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great guides.. awesome experience

Reviewed by: Anirudh, 2017/06/14

awesome experience. This was out first underwater activity and at first i was not confident to get into water.. but, the guide was all was there next to me the whole time. you don't need to know how to swim to do this. Don't miss the snorkel with fish and turtle around you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underwater Scooters

Reviewed by: Kim H, 2017/02/04

FAAAAAABULOUS!! Great, casual way to spend a morning or afternoon. Plenty of snorkeling, splashing, swimming. You can relax on the boat or entertain yourself in the water while you wait for your ride. The people were fun, helpful, and organized. Fish were plentiful. The sea turtle was a special treat.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Now I know what my sons and husband talk about when scuba diving

Reviewed by: Tomi61, 2016/10/23

Engaging staff explained everything thoroughly
Great adventure and an easy way to get below the surface and see the life there

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scooter Adventure

Reviewed by: Gale Moses, 2016/08/22

It would have been "a once in a lifetime" opportunity in the Pacific ocean in Hawaii. Unfortunately the three of us anxiously awaiting our turn on the underwater scooters became seasick. Had we known the swells of the ocean, from tropical storm Darby, may have affected us negatively, maybe we could have prepared better. Perhaps somewhere in the confirmation the vendor could have mentioned motion sickness and recommended we take or put on something "just in case" we might be affected. My son made it into the scooter gear but came up because bubbles kept getting in his nose, eyes. Others on the boat did have a great time! We won't go again. We will snorkel next time. It just didn't work out for us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: Aquablue94, 2016/08/07

You can swim, snorkel or just enjoy the scenery from the boat while small groups take their turn touring the waters below with the scooters. The crew was very helpful and courteous. Everyone had a great time!

  • Paired off with colored bands.

  • Feeding and touching fish!

  • Sea turtles nearby... divers watching over you.

  • You're riding an actual scooter you can move about underwater with!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories