This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Star of Honolulu - Oahu's Best Whale Watch Cruise (from Aloha Tower)

Overall Rating

3.78 3.78 / 5

Reviews

551 reviews
Post a review

wonderful day

Reviewed by: Carrie, 2019/03/21

I had a wonderful time on the cruise ship. Crab and steak are my favorite foods, but my most memorable experience was with my tour bus driver, Lola Tripp. She was an amazing woman, and her lively personality and insight into oahu made my trip worthwhile. I definitely recommend anyone who wants a good experience to apply for the Lola bus! Give five stars.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: Keb, 2019/03/20

Very nice time on the ship. Plenty of room to move around to see whales. Saw 8 whales on our trip. Lots of blows and flukes. I recommend this trip to anyone looking for a whale sighting. The boat was professionally staffed and the buffet was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time whale watching!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/02/22

Great choice for a whale watch especially if you have children or people in your group who are more sensitive to motion sickness. The thing that sets this whale watch apart from all the others is size and stability of the boat and all of the activities available on board while heading out to look for whales. This could almost be described as a fun Hawaiian tropical lunch cruise with whales. In addition to a delicious lunch buffet and frequent whale sightings there is also hula lessons, lei making and ukulele lessons. The captain and crew are always on the look out for whales, so while you are doing the activities the captain will announce which side of the boat the whales are on so you do not miss any of the whale action while eating or participating in the activities. With whales being wild animals and not always predictable in where they will be, having activities to keep the kids occupied makes this a great option for families

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We didn't see any

Reviewed by: Mira, 2019/02/15

The ship was fine, but the trip was disappointing, since we didn't see any whales. We did the trip in the second half of January in 2018.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day for whale watching!

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2019/01/31

We were very lucky to see whales throughout most of the tour. At least 10 sightings, usually with 2 whales at a time.

Food was delicious but it was hard to sit and enjoy your meal when you are looking for whales too. Every time someone shouted "WHALE!", everyone dropped everything but their cameras and ran towards the edge of the deck.

Luckily, there were a lot of whales out that day so I got to finish my food and saw plenty of whales.

Photos don't do justice for whale watch tours, it's better to watch with your own eyes. You don't want to be fussing over your camera because next thing you know, the whales have disappeared back underwater.

Wonderful experience, would love to go again!

  • Cloudy but still a nice day for whale watching.

  • 2 whales in the distance.

  • They're so fast, it's hard to take good photos.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Look for the turquoise color in the water!

Reviewed by: Pigalicious, 2019/01/31

The skies were grey and even with light drizzle the humpback whales were there along with the warm crew of the Star of Honolulu to greet us in Hawaii! I've never seen so many whales on one whale watch and it was my first time to see a turquoise color right next to the whale. Their white pectoral fins turns changes color underwater so it was easier to spot them this time around. The lunch on board was delicious...... The roast beef and those macadamia nut cookies keeps you going back for more. Thank you Star of Honolulu for a very stable ride and wonderful experience to see these enormous animals up so close!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whales watching

Reviewed by: Lau, 2018/04/28

Fantastic experience and kids loving it!!!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We saw whales.

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2018/04/14

Great time. You have access to all decks. Naturalist answers all question. Plenty of seating. Servers available for sodas and coffee and cocktails. Breakfast is optional at additional charge. Bring your camera for photos of whales and view of waikiki. Enjoyed very much. Tour was wworrth. The money for sure. We did early bird . We were back before lunch time. Bring light jacket for early morning. You will enjoy this ride. Super big ship very stable. Stay on deck for best views. They know exactly where the whales are.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: DonzGC, 2018/04/07

Unfortunately we did not see any whales - they did offer a free return trip but we did not have the time to take this offer up.

I understand it is a gamble - but the weather was very bad and windy - locals told us that when the water is that rough you tend not to see whales - maybe they should have given us option prior to boarding.

Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful day seeing whales and dolphins

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2018/03/31

The crew was friendly. We saw whales nearly the whole time we were on board. The cocktails were tasty and the entertainment was great. We will do this again with our family. Next time, we will do the food option. The kids wanted to eat as soon as they brought out the food.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw three pods of humpbacks!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2018/03/16

It was amazing, encourage others to go. We saw a tail slap, fins, and a whale clear the water! Enjoyed it immensely. The captain even stayed out a little longer because we saw so many.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching tour

Reviewed by: Al and Becky, 2018/03/11

At least 25 sightings some even swam under the boat. Food was also very good, and the staff were all customer focused and friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not bad

Reviewed by: Inge, 2018/03/03

Nice ride, kind staff. No whales. There was a promise to have a free new cruise if whales were not spotted, but I did not see the lady, who had to organise that. So, bit disappointing all in all

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a wonderful time on this whale watching cruise!

Reviewed by: CathyG, 2018/02/25

We were very fortunate, we had a lovely sunny day and we saw 3 or 4 whales. The crew were very helpful.The buffet meal was of good variety, tasty food and people were able to return as many times as they wanted. With regard to the whales, as stated in the tour blurbs there are rules about how close the boat can get to the whales because of this and how fast they breach and disappear I would suggest putting the camera aside and fully enjoying the experience with your own eyes, which is quite a thrill.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

the food was normal, but lots of activity on board that you can participate. quite a great experience.

  • not bad, clear blue sky and we can see the whale few times.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale cruise

Reviewed by: Amber, 2018/02/12

Breakfast is good and we saw probably 5-8 whales!! Highly recommend during whale season

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good time even without whales

Reviewed by: Vivian, 2018/01/28

We took our grandchildren on the Star of Honolulu whale watching cruise. Unfortunately the whales were elsewhere and not a single one was spotted. That certainly did not stop us from having a wonderful time. The day was beautiful, the boat comfortable, the staff very informative and friendly. The wonderful bonus, because there were no whales spotted, we have been given a return voucher good for anytime this whale watching season. A great value and will go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Views, disappointing for whale watching.

Reviewed by: Mel, 2017/12/27

We didn't see much of the whale, only a blip, but there is nothing in voucher. The views are great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise was wonderful, loved the entertainment and food!

Reviewed by: Deborah Newsome, 2017/12/26

Cruise entertainment and food was great. Very disappointed that I saw no sea life, not even a dolphin )-.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Met Expectations

Reviewed by: DLineen, 2017/03/25

Understanding the boats cannot come closer than 100 yards, outs seemed to stay 200-300 yards away. Unless you have a telephoto lens, just use your eyes and retain the memory because any other camera, including phones and GoPros, will just show the whales as a small blip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family fun

Reviewed by: Tuyet D, 2017/03/23

I would highly recommend this tour. It was very fun, staff were all amazing and we got amazing photos and views of Honolulu. Great short trip (a few hours). We got to see a school of dolphins swimming along the boat which was also amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Many Whales & So Much Fun!

Reviewed by: CoCoCorinne, 2017/03/17

We got so lucky, getting to see a few different pods of whales! The boat was about 50 feet away, so the views of the whales (including Waikiki and Diamond Head as the backdrop) were spectacular!
The lunch buffet was excellent. Plenty of yummy options to choose from.
After lunch, activities were set up - lei making, plus ukulele and hula lessons. The cruise was a great way to spend the day!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whales!

Reviewed by: HulaHoney, 2017/03/08

We enjoyed this cruise. There are activities besides whale watching (lei making, ukulele lessons and hula lessons). We saw whales and dolphins. This is great for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: James, 2017/02/28

I will definitely recommend to my friends. It's great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: James, 2017/02/28

I will definitely recommend to my friends. It's great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Kookie, 2017/02/23

I was hoping to see maybe a blow or just a brief glimpse of a whale but we saw a whale show like I could never imagined. They called it the running of the bulls and it was whales breaching the water together jumping and showing off like they new we were there to see them. Breakfast was good a few more options for the price would have been appreciated, maybe bacon, potatoes, or some veggies and cheese to go with the scrambled eggs.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesomely amazing!!

Reviewed by: L. Burrell, 2017/02/22

My family went on this amazing trip expecting to see whales spray and slap their tails against the water. We did get that and so much more. We got to see at least two whales breaching numerous times and just playing, diving in and out of the water. It was so incredible. That early wake up was 100% worth it. The boat was very spacious and I really enjoyed the ride. The crew narrator was very informative and the whole crew, especially the captain were very professional. Highly recommend this outing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu whale watching

Reviewed by: Judith, 2017/02/19

Great things were the weather, water and warmth of the staff. Whale sightings were unfortunately few and at a great distance such that mostly splashes and puffs of water were seen only. Boat was nice, top deck offers the best views. Kids had fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch & Breakfast

Reviewed by: johnschettko, 2017/02/11

Excellent Crew involvement, Breakfast was good. No Whale sighting due too choppy water and high winds.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching Honolulu

Reviewed by: Jay Jay , 2017/02/07

This tour was very enjoyable. Even though we didn't get to see but one whale. The captain and crew made every effort to locate them. And we did encounter a whale but the whale didn't want to entertain us which is no fault of the crew. The boat ride itself was nice and relaxing. I would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories