This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Star of Honolulu Whale Watch Cruise (from Aloha Tower)

We saw whales.

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2018/04/14

Great time. You have access to all decks. Naturalist answers all question. Plenty of seating. Servers available for sodas and coffee and cocktails. Breakfast is optional at additional charge. Bring your camera for photos of whales and view of waikiki. Enjoyed very much. Tour was wworrth. The money for sure. We did early bird . We were back before lunch time. Bring light jacket for early morning. You will enjoy this ride. Super big ship very stable. Stay on deck for best views. They know exactly where the whales are.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: DonzGC, 2018/04/07

Unfortunately we did not see any whales - they did offer a free return trip but we did not have the time to take this offer up.

I understand it is a gamble - but the weather was very bad and windy - locals told us that when the water is that rough you tend not to see whales - maybe they should have given us option prior to boarding.

Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful day seeing whales and dolphins

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2018/03/31

The crew was friendly. We saw whales nearly the whole time we were on board. The cocktails were tasty and the entertainment was great. We will do this again with our family. Next time, we will do the food option. The kids wanted to eat as soon as they brought out the food.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw three pods of humpbacks!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2018/03/16

It was amazing, encourage others to go. We saw a tail slap, fins, and a whale clear the water! Enjoyed it immensely. The captain even stayed out a little longer because we saw so many.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching tour

Reviewed by: Al and Becky, 2018/03/11

At least 25 sightings some even swam under the boat. Food was also very good, and the staff were all customer focused and friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not bad

Reviewed by: Inge, 2018/03/03

Nice ride, kind staff. No whales. There was a promise to have a free new cruise if whales were not spotted, but I did not see the lady, who had to organise that. So, bit disappointing all in all

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a wonderful time on this whale watching cruise!

Reviewed by: CathyG, 2018/02/25

We were very fortunate, we had a lovely sunny day and we saw 3 or 4 whales. The crew were very helpful.The buffet meal was of good variety, tasty food and people were able to return as many times as they wanted. With regard to the whales, as stated in the tour blurbs there are rules about how close the boat can get to the whales because of this and how fast they breach and disappear I would suggest putting the camera aside and fully enjoying the experience with your own eyes, which is quite a thrill.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

the food was normal, but lots of activity on board that you can participate. quite a great experience.


  • not bad, clear blue sky and we can see the whale few times.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale cruise

Reviewed by: Amber, 2018/02/12

Breakfast is good and we saw probably 5-8 whales!! Highly recommend during whale season

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good time even without whales

Reviewed by: Vivian, 2018/01/28

We took our grandchildren on the Star of Honolulu whale watching cruise. Unfortunately the whales were elsewhere and not a single one was spotted. That certainly did not stop us from having a wonderful time. The day was beautiful, the boat comfortable, the staff very informative and friendly. The wonderful bonus, because there were no whales spotted, we have been given a return voucher good for anytime this whale watching season. A great value and will go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Views, disappointing for whale watching.

Reviewed by: Mel, 2017/12/27

We didn't see much of the whale, only a blip, but there is nothing in voucher. The views are great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise was wonderful, loved the entertainment and food!

Reviewed by: Deborah Newsome, 2017/12/26

Cruise entertainment and food was great. Very disappointed that I saw no sea life, not even a dolphin )-.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Met Expectations

Reviewed by: DLineen, 2017/03/25

Understanding the boats cannot come closer than 100 yards, outs seemed to stay 200-300 yards away. Unless you have a telephoto lens, just use your eyes and retain the memory because any other camera, including phones and GoPros, will just show the whales as a small blip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family fun

Reviewed by: Tuyet D, 2017/03/23

I would highly recommend this tour. It was very fun, staff were all amazing and we got amazing photos and views of Honolulu. Great short trip (a few hours). We got to see a school of dolphins swimming along the boat which was also amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Many Whales & So Much Fun!

Reviewed by: CoCoCorinne, 2017/03/17

We got so lucky, getting to see a few different pods of whales! The boat was about 50 feet away, so the views of the whales (including Waikiki and Diamond Head as the backdrop) were spectacular!
The lunch buffet was excellent. Plenty of yummy options to choose from.
After lunch, activities were set up - lei making, plus ukulele and hula lessons. The cruise was a great way to spend the day!












Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whales!

Reviewed by: HulaHoney, 2017/03/08

We enjoyed this cruise. There are activities besides whale watching (lei making, ukulele lessons and hula lessons). We saw whales and dolphins. This is great for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: James, 2017/02/28

I will definitely recommend to my friends. It's great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: James, 2017/02/28

I will definitely recommend to my friends. It's great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Kookie, 2017/02/23

I was hoping to see maybe a blow or just a brief glimpse of a whale but we saw a whale show like I could never imagined. They called it the running of the bulls and it was whales breaching the water together jumping and showing off like they new we were there to see them. Breakfast was good a few more options for the price would have been appreciated, maybe bacon, potatoes, or some veggies and cheese to go with the scrambled eggs.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesomely amazing!!

Reviewed by: L. Burrell, 2017/02/22

My family went on this amazing trip expecting to see whales spray and slap their tails against the water. We did get that and so much more. We got to see at least two whales breaching numerous times and just playing, diving in and out of the water. It was so incredible. That early wake up was 100% worth it. The boat was very spacious and I really enjoyed the ride. The crew narrator was very informative and the whole crew, especially the captain were very professional. Highly recommend this outing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu whale watching

Reviewed by: Judith, 2017/02/19

Great things were the weather, water and warmth of the staff. Whale sightings were unfortunately few and at a great distance such that mostly splashes and puffs of water were seen only. Boat was nice, top deck offers the best views. Kids had fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch & Breakfast

Reviewed by: johnschettko, 2017/02/11

Excellent Crew involvement, Breakfast was good. No Whale sighting due too choppy water and high winds.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching Honolulu

Reviewed by: Jay Jay , 2017/02/07

This tour was very enjoyable. Even though we didn't get to see but one whale. The captain and crew made every effort to locate them. And we did encounter a whale but the whale didn't want to entertain us which is no fault of the crew. The boat ride itself was nice and relaxing. I would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Sightings, Beautiful Day, Delicious Food, Activities....FUN!!!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2017/02/03

I was so excited to see whales and I wasn't disappointed! Guaranteed indeed.
We saw a few pod of whales and it was always entertaining to watch them swim by and see their blows. I actually saw one that threw its tail out of the water up close when I was heading to the restroom, but very quickly that no one noticed it I think. I just got lucky, haha!
It was a nice cruise, great customer service from the crew, delicious food, and gorgeous views of the Waikiki coastline and Diamond Head! There were fun activities on board too like lei making, ukulele lessons, and hula lessons. I really enjoyed the trip! I was with a group of friends but as a mom, I would definitely recommend this for families with young children as well, it's a great activity for all ages so anyone are welcome!











Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would Definitely Go Again

Reviewed by: DannaJ, 2017/01/29

We got to see several whales and got some great pictures of breaches and blows. I was skeptical but was very happily surprised and would do it again next time I'm in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Bee, 2017/01/25

This was the first tour we took on our first trip to Hawaii in April of 2016. It was absolutely amazing. We had a good time on the Star of Honolulu except it was rather windy that day. Had a blast, regardless! There were several whale sightings but, not close enough to see them which was disappointing. The breakfast was fantastic. We spent time walking about the ship taking some wonderful photos. We would definitely book another cruise when we return again.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale watching

Reviewed by: La Von, 2017/01/24

This was the first tour I took on my first trip to Hawaii. It was absolutely amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Extremely Disappointing!

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2017/01/24

The overall cruise was extremely disappointing because throughout the entire cruise we saw a single whale spout either 4 or 5 times as it exhaled and a brief cloud of mist was observable for about 2 seconds. Because the spouts were so brief, I only actually saw 2 of them. However, technically, we did see a whale and were not eligible for a free re-booking.
I don't blame Star of Honolulu for the lack of whales - they are wild animals! But, I did expect more from them and am disappointed that seeing mist from a whale for a total of less than 20 seconds in a multi-hour cruise at least 100 yards away is considered a whale sighting.
Other than the lack of seeing whales - which was the entire point of going on the cruise! - the cruise itself is actually pretty good. The employees were very friendly, the food was better than expected (bring your own coffee though), and the views of Oahu from the ocean are gorgeous.
The ship is a bit dated and worn around the edges, but it was clean and offered a lot of indoor and outdoor viewing options. Because there are 4 decks, I never felt like it was crowded even though there were a lot of people on board.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the price.

Reviewed by: Joe, 2017/01/17

We didn't pay for the meal, instead we ate ahead of time. We had a nice time. Saw some whales, but not very close. Still it was worth the price for a morning out on the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch Cruise

Reviewed by: Misha, 2016/06/03

My husband and I went on this cruise on one of the last days of our vacation. We did not see any whales or dolphins, but we still had a fantastic time! Since we did not see any whales we received a voucher for a free cruise for both of us. The crew was very knowledgeable and energetic. My only wish was that we would have picked to do this cruise earlier in our vacation so we could have used the voucher for the return cruise to hopefully see some whales.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Oahu Categories