Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Kayak & Snorkel Self-Guided Tour with Kayak Rental reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Kayak & Snorkel Self-Guided Tour with Kayak Rental

Overall Rating

4.58 4.58 / 5

Reviews

71 reviews
Post a review

Best Activity in Oahu!

Reviewed by: Kimberly, 2021/11/22

This was my favorite activity I did in Hawaii on this trip! It’s my third time to visit Oahu and this is by far the best thing I’ve done on the island. The views are incredible, the reefs are beautiful, and you feel like you’re swimming with the fishes when snorkeling. The kayak out to the sandbar is a little bit of a challenge, but not too bad if you take your time and do a tandem kayak. The view from the sandbar is definitely worth the challenge. The guides for this activity were very knowledgeable and helpful, they go over everything with you before you go out into the bay. I will definitely be doing this again! Highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty area

Reviewed by: AJ Black, 2021/10/08

We had fun….but tt was windy and a tough paddle. Snorkeling was a zero. Sandbar was under water. It’s a beautiful place, though. Maybe wait until it is not windy.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!!

Reviewed by: BuNNY, 2021/09/19

Weather was tough. Super workout, but it was an adventure. So much fun! Best birthday morning work out!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for what sounds like a windy kayak adventure! Thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review and photos too! We really appreciate that. Glad to hear that you had a good adventure and a good workout for your birthday. That's awesome! Happy birthday, thank you again, and hope to see you again soon! Mahalo nui loa!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't take small children.

Reviewed by: Mom of 4, 2021/09/16

We had a party of 6, 2 adults, 14yo, 10 yo, 7yo, and 5 yo. We took 3 tandem kayaks. Wish we could have done 2 since the younger 2 were basically extra weight! The guide did not show good snorkeling so the tedious paddle to the sand bar was not exciting for the family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Wes, 2021/09/16

The location was amazing and the view was fun. We loved our time in the east part of the island.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Wes! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure. And thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us! We really appreciate that. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Renju, 2021/09/16

It’s a great workout; reaching the sandbar was well worth the effort.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Renju! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel experience! And thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for us. We really appreciate that. Glad to hear you got a good workout and had a good time! The sandbar is amazing and well worth the workout for sure. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time!

Reviewed by: Valerie, 2021/09/01

We had such a fun time going out on the kayak's. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Everything was explained without feeling rushed. They give you maps and explain where to go and how long it will take to get there. We had so much fun! I highly recommend doing this.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Valerie! That's awesome! Thank you so much for coming out and kayaking with us! And thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review and photo. That is so helpful and we really appreciate it! Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Valerie, 2021/09/01

We had so much fun kayaking. They were so nice and friendly, they explained everything. They gave us a map of the different areas to go and approximately how long it would take to get there. We had a great time! Would definitely recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Valerie! Thank you so much for taking the time leave this awesome review and photo for us! I am so glad to hear you had a great experience, and hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!!

Reviewed by: Cee , 2021/09/01

Awesome time. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The water bag was crucial for keeping everything dry. It was about a 45 min paddle out to the sandbar but totally worth it. It’s a must do.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cee! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure, and thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review! We really appreciate that. Glad to hear you had such an awesome experience. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!

Reviewed by: Ivy, 2021/08/25

If you have kayaking skills, this is the way to snorkel and experience Kaneohe Bay without paying a lot of money. Amazing snorkeling experience.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ivy! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review for us. I am glad to hear it sounds like you had a very good experience with us, but I did want to point out that a 1-star is actually the worst score possible in their rating system. I was really concerned when I saw that we had received a 1-star review, but then was relieved to read your review and hear that it sounds like you had a good experience. I don't know if you're able to change it now, but if so, 5 stars would be the best possible score, 1 star is the worst. But no matter what, stoked to hear you had a great kayak and snorkel experience, hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing!

Reviewed by: mg. a. s, 2021/08/15

Don't worry if you cannot swim! The water is shallow and clear. The staff take time to prepare you with their instructions and tips on kayaking. It only took us 2 hours instead of the 4 even with switching passengers. Make sure you are wearing water shoes or flip flops at least.
Lovely place! The green scenery is breathtaking. I was looking for a coffee shop, maybe I missed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Purely Awesome!

Reviewed by: Drew, 2021/08/12

The kayaking to the sand bar was one of the best experiences we've ever had. This is mainly because the sand bar itself was just an amazing experience. Then the coral reefs.... wow! Just wow! If you get the chance and the water is deep enough, kayak over them (but be careful NOT to touch them, even with the paddles) and you'll be treated to some beautiful and colorful eye-candy.

While the people checking us in and giving us instructions were friendly, the one thing that bothered us was the "nickel and diming". I mean, you'd think renting the kayaks would get you the usual... water proof bag, etc. BUT, you had to pay for the bag ($5) on top of the kayaks. Then want an anchor? Well, that'll cost you another $5. So that part sort of left a sour taste in our mouths.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Drew! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! Glad you had an awesome time out there. I am sorry to hear that you felt "nickel and dimed" by our process. We do have an all inclusive package that includes an anchor, dry bag, and snorkel gear. However, many people do not require or want a dry bag or an anchor, which is why for a la carte rentals those items are optional, and it's less expensive to rent the kayak without them. All necessary equipment is provided, but anchors, dry bags, and snorkeling gear are optional, or included in that all inclusive package. Hopefully that makes sense. Thank you again for joining us. Hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling was not good

Reviewed by: Tonia Williams , 2021/08/08

We got out to snorkel area and it was so shallow I thought I was going to hit the coral. I only seen brown coral and literally no fish. We left early.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Adventure

Reviewed by: Patrick S, 2021/08/06

My wife and I did the full 8 hour day. We had a blast exploring the bay through snorkeling and kayaking. The staff on sight was helpful and efficient. It was a very enjoyable day overall. The only issue we ran into was knowing which reef was which. They provided a map which was very helpful and pointed out various landmarks to look for. We would definitely do this again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Patrick! That's awesome! So glad to hear you had a great kayak and snorkel experience with us. Thank you so much for joining us and thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us. We really appreciate that! Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience at the Kaneohe Sandbar!

Reviewed by: Rosalie, 2021/08/04

My family and I had a wonderful time kayaking to the Kaneohe Sandbar. We would love to do this again in the near future!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Rosalie! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure and thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review and photo! That really means a lot to us and we really appreciate it! That's such and awesome photo. You should post that on social media and tag us, and we'll repost and tag you!
Hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

could have been better

Reviewed by: Jess, 2021/08/03

when we went to check-in, they told us to wait for 2 hours because it's too windy. Our check-in time was at 8am and we had to wait until 10:30am. I would absolutely not recommend going in the morning because this side of island is very windy, rainy, and weather cannot be expected at all. Weather app tells you it won't rain but it spontaneously rains, especially in the morning. Also, water doesn't get high enough to kayak or snorkel in the morning often because of this. I don't even understand why they even have morning session to book tho. They totally could've sent us an email in the morning before we arrive, so that we don't have to wait there doing nothing for 2 hours, which was very unfortunate. Anyway, we waited and did kayaking and self-snorkeling, which I also hoped there was an instructor leading the kayaking or snorkeling but wasn't. everything was verbally told and self-learning. (kayak rental staff/instructor was extremely kind, I really liked him. nothing was his fault, it was just more the system how they work was not the best.) They did not recommend to go to sandbar, in fact they say going to sandbar is advanced and do not recommend for first time kayaking people. Then why do they even have it on their activity title? you expect fun kayaking to kaneohe sandbar and beautiful snorkeling, but in reality, we did not get to go to kaneohe sandbar, only coral reefs. overall, I don't regret doing this activity, just wish it was better. Also, 4 hour renting is way enough. we only did about an hour and half and was able to go both reefs and snorkel there. Giving 4 stars only because we went there for our honeymoon activity and it was fun between two of us no matter what, but if not, I wouldn't be much happy and fun with it tho.

  • view of island from one of reefs

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great staff

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2021/08/02

Everyone was super helpful, friendly, and informative.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lynne! That's great to hear! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure, and thank you for this awesome review. We really appreciate that. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We would love to do it again!

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2021/07/29

The staff was friendly and gave clear instructions. We had a great time as family. At the beginning we were afraid since it was our first time; however, we managed to get to the sand bar. While in the water, we found another person who was very nice to help us get there. Thanks so much!
Thanks!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Sharon! That's great! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure, and thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us. We really appreciate that. Glad you and your family had a great experience and hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun times on the water!

Reviewed by: Oll fam., 2021/07/24

5 adults and 1 5 year old. Only one person with experience on the water via dragon boating.

Becky checked us in and let us know the water conditions weren’t good for beginners at 8am, we had to pass the time for 90 minutes but it made it worth it.

Joey helped set us up with pfds and the kayaks and answered all of our questions. We had a ton of questions. Joey was awesome.

We had a 4 hour block but we called it a day after 2 hours on the water, we saw some turtles, inconspicuous sea cucumbers and a lot of reefs.

We brought our own dry bags but you can rent from them as well. You can also rent snorkeling equipment.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. That really means a lot to us and we appreciate it very much. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice adventure!

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2021/07/18

We rented a double sea kayak for a paddling adventure across Kaneohe Bay. In about 3 hours we enjoyed snorkeling on the reef and playing around on the sandbar. Was about 4 miles paddling total, but definitely worth it.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for spending a day kayaking and snorkeling with us! And thank you also for taking the time to leave this awesome review. That really means a lot to us and we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kristin, 2021/07/17

Highly recommend! Was one of our favorite parts of the trip. Definitely get an anchor!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this awesome review! And thank you for spending a day kayaking and snorkeling with us. We really appreciate that. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sandbar!! Saw a sea turtle!

Reviewed by: Family of Five, 2021/07/11

Absolutely beautiful sandbar! Though we were too tired after going there and back, and could not go snorkeling at the other coral sites. Saw a sea turtle really up close at the sandbar and we were amazed. The sandbar was gorgeous and looked like paradise on earth.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Family of Five! Thank you so much for taking time to leave such an awesome review for us. We really appreciate that. Stoked to hear you had such a good experience, albeit tiring. That paddle to the sandbar can be a beast! Thanks so much for joining us for a kayaking adventure. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MUST DO!

Reviewed by: Blk_peami , 2021/07/10

Our first experience was so fun that my husband and I went for seconds end of our trip in Oahu.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Awww, that's so great to hear! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure (twice!). That is really awesome. And thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for us. We really appreciate that feedback. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time.

Reviewed by: Alex, 2021/07/08

This was fun. Not to hard to get out to the sandbar and the scenery is amazing. For someone that has never kayaked before this was a great first time. My group agreed that we would do this activity again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Alex! That's awesome! Thank you so much for the awesome review, and please do come see us again soon! Stoked to hear you and your group had a great time! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must Do in Oahu

Reviewed by: PbPalumbo, 2021/07/03

From booking this experience to actual having the experience was AWESOME! Whether you're a beginner or a pro kayaker this is a super majestic and beautiful area to experience kayaking. The staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable of the area & scenic snorkel spots to paddle too. All the snorkel equipment is included in the rental. I recommend this place highly.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for a day on the bay, and thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review for us! We really appreciate that. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family adventure

Reviewed by: Beth , 2021/06/26

Our family of 4 (two adults and two kids (ages 5 and 8) really enjoyed this half day adventure. The crew was friendly, the boats and gear were clean, and the paddle and snorkle were fun.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Beth,
That's awesome! I am so glad to hear your family had such a good time kayaking and snorkeling with us! Thank you so much and thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review. That means a lot to us and we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ask in advance about Portuguese Man 'O War

Reviewed by: judyg, 2021/06/25

I think this rental may be great if someone in your party is familiar with kayaking in Kaneohe Bay, because a guide does not go out with you. Also, we were snorkeling in one of the spots designated on the map we were given and swam right into a group of Portuguese Man 'O War just past the reef. We were stung pretty badly and had to cut our excursion short. We weren't warned about this in advance and saw other folks going out to potentially the same location without warning.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha. I'm sorry to hear that you got stung by Man o War. I know they are a pain. Unfortunately, we cannot predict where they will be any more than we can predict where any other marine life would be. Actually, it's way easier to predict where other kinds of marine life may be, but the Man o War can be anywhere. They just drift with the current. People actually being stung is very rare, so I'm sorry to hear you had the misfortune of coming across one. But I do hope it was clearly advertised that this is an unguided rental and not a guided tour of any kind. Thank you. Hope to see you again, this time with no Man o War encounters.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Christina, 2021/06/21

First time kayaking in Hawaii, the staffs were friendly. My boyfriend and I had a great time kayaking towards the sand bar, it was beautiful!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Christina! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us and for leaving such an awesome review. We really appreciate that. Stoked to hear that you had a great time, hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome adventure

Reviewed by: Tony, 2021/06/11

Was windy but still pushed on through and made it to the sandbar. Awesome adventure and very beautiful. The water was super clear. Saw corals, and the beautiful scenery which opened my eyes to the wonders of Hawaii!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tony! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure. Glad you were able to brave the wind and have an awesome kayak and snorkel adventure! Thank you for taking the time to leave such awesome feedback and pictures. We really appreciate that. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy enough for beginners, with incredible nature

Reviewed by: Annika, 2021/06/03

The guides who helped us set up were very polite and helpful, let us know where to go to see the most fish, and we had an amazing time snorkeling around coral, fish, sea cucumbers and then we even saw two sea turtles right next to our kayak, which was a highlight of our vacation. highly recommend

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Annika! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure, and thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback! We really appreciate that. Stoked to hear you had a great time. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories