Kaneohe Bay Kayak & Snorkel Self-Guided Tour with Kayak Rental reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kaneohe Bay Kayak & Snorkel Self-Guided Tour with Kayak Rental

Overall Rating

4.55 4.55 / 5

Reviews

97 reviews
Post a review

Disappointed

Reviewed by: Disappointed , 2022/06/30

The maps are not helpful. Once out of the cove, it was hard to find the landmarks to orient ourselves. Did not see any fish or turtles while snorkeling. The wind was so strong and guides did not give advice on how to navigate in high winds- were paddling hard on right side trying to go left but kayak continued to go right. Upon finally making it back to the cove the guides did not get up from their seats, didn’t assist us getting out of kayaks and just told us to put the paddles and life jackets back ourselves.
Would not recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Dara, 2022/05/29

I absolutely enjoyed the experience. I wasn't able to see too many sea life, however, that didn't take away from the overall fun at all. I personally have a mild fear of the deep ocean, so going too far out into sea in a kayak frightens me. But it would be a miss opportunity for me to not try this at least once while on vacation. My only criticism is that the kayaking zone is a little confusing to figure out, so I felt it was too mixed up with the commercial zone and the military zone. The zone marker was hard to figure out so my group just follow other groups instead.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Dara! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! Thank you also for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us. We really appreciate that. I am very glad to hear it sounds like you had a great time kayaking with us and conquered your fears a little bit! That's great. I know it is a big bay and without a lot of markings or anything, we do our best with the map, but sometimes it is hard to figure out. Thank you so much again, we hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You don’t want to miss this!

Reviewed by: Lesley, 2022/05/27

I think this may be one of the best experiences I’ve had in my life- if you like to kayak and like to swim this is for you! Soo soo amazing!
If going alone make sure you bring waterproof case for your phone soo you can keep it with you in case of any trouble- you have full reception while in the water!
Great staff, beautiful scenery, and amazing experience!

  • The best part of kayaking is going where others can’t lol

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lesley! Wow, what amazing feedback! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure, and thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome review for us! We really appreciate it. It is so beautiful out there (awesome photo from the sandbar) and when we hear one of the best experiences of your life, that is just so gratifying and that really means a lot to us. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo nui!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable experience

Reviewed by: Shiela, 2022/05/16

I am impressed by how organized the entire check-in process was - after checking in, we were directed to receive instructions from one of the workers before heading down to get our gear and get launched in the water.

The day of our activity was very windy, so the workers made sure we understood all the landmarks, dos, and don'ts. It was my first time kayaking in the middle of the ocean. And even though I was scared, I felt safe knowing everyone was an expert with what they were doing.

We saw a big turtle while paddling back to the shore. What an experience! I definitely recommend to book your activities through Veltra.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Sheila,
Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome review for us. We really appreciate that. I am so glad to hear you had this kind of experience with us and with kayaking in Kane'ohe Bay. That's great. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kool Kayak Experience!

Reviewed by: May, 2022/05/07

My boyfriend and I purchased the kayak/snorkeling experience and it was quite the memory! Everyone was great helping us get set up and guiding us! When we went out and kayaked we saw so many different fishes during our snorkeling adventure! The crazy part was that it started raining while we were far out and snorkeling. Instead of kayaking back we continued to snorkel until the rain stopped! For the price and experience it was totally worth it!

Also I recommend purchasing the 4 hour experience because I don’t think you will be out for the whole 8 hours even tho it costs just a little bit more! We were our a max of 2 hours!

If you’re wondering on whether or not to purchase think no more! Overall it was an amazing experience and I highly recommend it! Also booking this package will prepare you for everything vs booking on the actual business site since this package has a dry bag, snorkeling gear, and the anchor (this will keep your kayak in place while you’re snorkeling). Hope this helps and you make great memories from this experience!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha May! Thank you for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave this great review for us. Your feedback is very valuable and much appreciated. I’m certainly glad to hear you had a great kayak and snorkel experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Reef, very windy day

Reviewed by: M. Graham, 2022/05/04

First off, the day turned out to be very windy and a little rainy and therefore want the best kayaking weather, but they did offer us a refund or reschedule. It was out last day and we didn’t have anything better to do so we stayed.
The guys getting our kayak and gear gave us some information about where to go and a little about the kayaks (hope to anchor them, out the heaviest in back), but nothing really about paddling or steering especially in the windy conditions. We had some idea, so it wasn’t too bad, but a little more direction would have been helpful.
Once on the water, it was choppy and a hard kayak, but we pushed through. It was hard to anchor in the sand because we had two anchors for three kayaks and the wind was too strong. We ended up tying all three to the two anchors and that worked. The spot was great to snorkel in (We went to horseshoe bend? It was the spot recommended for snorkeling). The coral was beautiful and on a clearer day would be gorgeous. There were fish, but it was harder to get close up to see them with life jackets on. We did see a giant fish and a huge turtle walk right under me. It was pretty cool.
A little more guidance on the kayaks and ensuring everyone has tips on paddling in currents and waves and’s provide defogger for the snorkeling and it would be great. Thank you!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Glad to hear you still had a good kayaking and snorkeling experience on a day with some tough conditions. All good feedback that we really appreciate. Thank you so much. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would be fun on a nice day!

Reviewed by: Carly, 2022/04/30

This would be an amazing thing to do weather providing!!

The day we booked was overcast and windy, when we arrive there was a bulletin board with things to know noting you would not see the sandbar clearly that day. We checked in wnd the lady had told the people behind us who asked to rent kayaks that the water was quite rough and that if you are begginers it’s probably not a good day to go out. We were worried as beginners then… the water was so rough we got about 20 mins out and the wind was blowing us all over the place and every wave we hit felt like we were going to flip the kayak. We decided it was not safe and decided to go back. They wouldn’t even refund us considering the weather conditions so it was a complete waste of money unfortunately. If they would of let us switch dates we would of been happy to do that but they don’t allow you cancel unless they decide the weather isn’t good enough. Was super disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Elsmeister, 2022/04/29

We chose this company due to the reviews, but unfortunately we were disappointed with the reality. The guy checking us in was fine, but very serious and not really friendly. The weather was pretty windy, so the conditions were not easy. However we were given no guidance from the staff on how to deal with this, or any tips. When we asked where we should aim for to reach the sandbar, we had the very unhelpful advice of 'its kind of where that yacht is now, so head for that'. Bearing in mind the yacht was moving! It would really have helped to have some clear markers or something to aim for, especially when wind and tides are taking you in the opposite direction! We got lots of don't go here or here' but not much else.
While the sandbar is around 1.5 miles out, so not too far, it really required knowing what you are doing, and some real strength to cope with strong winds and currents to reach it. Otherwise it could have been very dangerous. The sandbar was really interesting to see when we got there, but the strong winds bashed the kayak around so much we couldn't stay too long. Obviously that's not this company's fault though. Overall it wasn't what I expected and a bit disappointing unfortunately.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, I am very sorry to hear that your experience was a disappointing one. Unfortunately the wind/conditions are something we cannot control, and 1.5 miles in ocean conditions is quite a long paddle. You are correct, it definitely does require a good bit of strength and paddling ability. So, it's great that you made it to the sandbar in those conditions. It sounds like you did a good job finding your way and paddling in some challenging conditions. I am more sorry to hear that you didn't find our staff's instructions or briefing to be helpful. They limit how many characters my response can be, but we'd love to give you a better answer to your concerns if you want to email us directly. But I'm sorry our instructions fell short and weren't as helpful as they should have been, and sorry that led to a disappointing experience. Thank you for your feedback. That is very much appreciated, and hopefully something that we can use to improve our process for the future. Mahalo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Adventurous Experience!

Reviewed by: lucy, 2022/04/25

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience kayaking to the sandbar! It was easy to follow the instructions and the map to get to our destination. It is quite tiring, but the view is breathtaking. We did start our kayaking adventure around 9am, so those that had an earlier reservation at 8am were already at the sandbar, so we were on the lookout for the bright yellow kayaks when making our way there, but I can definitely see some getting lost if they went early in the gloomy morning. Weather conditions do vary on how visible and shallow the sandbar is, but we were lucky to get to see the sandbar exposed!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lucy,
Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us! We really appreciate that. Stoked you made it to the sandbar. And your feedback about the conditions, wind, tide, visibility, distance, difficulty level, all of the above is all very true and great feedback for people to hear. So we appreciate that as well. Stoked to hear it sounds like you had an overall good experience and good workout kayaking out there. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend and Worth Repeating

Reviewed by: Michaela, 2022/04/04

We had an amazing time and will be back on any future trip. We saw about a million fish and two turtles. I accidentally dumped everything out of the kayak and the dry bag kept everything perfectly dry. Snorkeling and kayaking here was one of the absolute highlights of our trip.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Michaela! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review of your experience! We really appreciate that. So glad to hear you had such a good kayak and snorkel experience with us. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Kayak Excursion!

Reviewed by: Toshi , 2022/03/30

My sister and I did this kayak excursion and it was amazing! Staff was nice and very helpful. Views from off the coast were amazing and we were able to choose our route/destinations. We actually chose to skip the main sandbar and headed to smaller, completely empty of other people sandbars that offered great snorkeling views!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Toshi! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure. And thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback. We really appreciate that. Stoked to hear that you had such a great kayaking and snorkeling experience with us. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cloudy at first but

Reviewed by: Douglas Greening , 2022/03/24

Sun came out! Spectacular views! Kayaking can be difficult, but really enjoyed the views!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Douglas! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome review. We really appreciate that. It certainly can be difficult paddling in ocean conditions, but definitely worth it for how beautiful it is, and hopefully a fun adventure and a good workout. Glad to hear you had a great kayaking experience with us. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do!

Reviewed by: Must do!, 2022/03/01

Kayaking to the sandbar was an absolute blast and would do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure. I am so glad to hear you had such a great kayaking experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience and amazing views from the Sandbar! Worth the kayaking effort

Reviewed by: Graham Tuscano, 2022/02/21

We did the morning 8am half day tour. It was around a mile long kayaking route but felt very easy with the mesmerizing views. We also saw some turtles, sea cucumbers on the way to the Sandbar. It was a bit windy but the ocean was calm and there were no large waves. Hands down best place for Kayaking with rewarding views and also nice place to snorkel around the reefs!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Graham! Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review of your kayak and snorkel experience with us. We really appreciate that great feedback. Stoked to hear you had such a great experience kayaking and snorkeling Kane'ohe Bay. Thank you for doing that with us. We hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Favorite

Reviewed by: Chris, 2022/02/19

Kayaking Kaneohe Bay and snorkeling along the various reefs was one of our favorite things from our stay on Oahu. Staff was friendly, patient, and helpful. Gave us some good tips of where to go and what to see in the bay. We would definitely do this again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Chris! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome and positive review for us. We really appreciate that. Stoked to hear it sounds like you had a great experience. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo for supporting He'eia State Park and Kama'aina Kids!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great place to Kayak and snorkel

Reviewed by: Brian , 2022/01/29

Great place to Kayak to the sandbar and snorkel to see lots of fish and turtles.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Brian! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us. We really appreciate that. Glad to hear it sounds like you had an awesome experience. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time - nice staff!

Reviewed by: From AK, 2022/01/18

The staff was super nice and the equipment in good shape. They provided a waterproof map and told us the best spots to snorkel and maybe see turtles. We saw turtles and lots of fish! One note; When I booked the Yak Pack tour I was told it was thirty minutes to the sandbar. When I got there I learned it was actually more like 45 minutes. So that would take a good bit of our four hours. We wanted to snorkel too so we kayaked and snorkeled and didn’t make it to the sandbar which was just fine. Loved it. Brought snacks and drinks. Had a picnic on the kayak.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such awesome feedback and pictures of your experience. All very good feedback, and we really appreciate that a lot. Stoked to hear it sounds like you had a great kayak and snorkel experience with us. And even though you didn't go to the sandbar, the other areas you went to are definitely better snorkeling areas. The sandbar is just a longer paddle, but you'll have to come back and kayak out to the sandbar next time! Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service and a wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Kim, 2022/01/09

The workers were knowledgeable, friendly, and very welcoming. Getting into the water was easy and straightforward, and the kayaking itself was very fun. We went to the outer coral areas and then went all the way back over to the sandbar area. Generally for snorkeling, I recommend just sticking to the coral areas - there are a number of islands on the east side. The sandbar doesn't have too much going on, plus there are more people.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Sorry for the late reply, but thank you so much for taking the time to leave awesome feedback for us. We really appreciate that! Glad to hear it sounds like you had a great kayak and snorkel experience with us. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First timer friendly!

Reviewed by: Melody, 2022/01/01

We had the best time! The team was so nice and helped us learned to kayak (it was our first time!) they we’re super patient. I can’t wait to do it again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Melody! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback for us! We really appreciate that, and I am so glad to hear that you had this kind of experience as a first timer. That's great. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not as advertised.

Reviewed by: Kirk, 2021/12/29

Kayaking was fun but it was a little disappointing to find that the sandbar and related islands are all under water. The pictures showed a sandbar above water where you could exit the kayak and walk or play. In reality, the sandbars are 3-4 ft. under water. You can stand on them but you are just standing in the shallow water. According to the employee, the sandbars are under water most of the time - rarely are they exposed, due to tidal conditions. Need an extreme negative tide and the right time of the year to actually see sand. Would have been nice to know before we showed up for our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half day paddle

Reviewed by: Lisen, 2021/12/27

It was a very windy day unfortunately so we couldn’t paddle out to the proper sand bar ( they told us not to). We paddle to the smaller sand bars closer to the shore, but we should have needed a guide, it was hard to know if we were in the right place and we saw almost nothing such as fishes and stuff, we did see one turtle that raced past us so fast. We had booked for a half day but we where only away for 2,5 hours because also the water was cold…
Maybe this excursion should be during the summer months and not during winter time.
The crew where really nice and friendly and did there best to help us and guide us, although next time we would pay a little bit more and get a guide and maybe take a boat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience. Although the sandbar cannot be seen in December

Reviewed by: Jidapa, 2021/12/25

Overall great experience! probably one of the best place to go kayaking in Hawaii. However, please be mindful that the sandbar would be under water in December. It's still shallow enough to enjoy and have a nice photo though!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for leaving such great feedback. We really appreciate that. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing snorkeling

Reviewed by: Lin C, 2021/12/04

The sandbar wasn’t exposed that day so we opted to snorkel at the different reefs and I’m so glad we decided to do that. The reefs are beautiful and there are a lot of fish to see. We saw several turtles too. The staff are very friendly. You can still use your phone data out at the reefs which made it a lot easier to find them on Google maps. I highly recommend this excursion

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lin! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us. We really appreciate this wonderful feedback. I am glad to hear you had such a good experience and we hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everything was great.

Reviewed by: Carlos, 2021/12/04

Everything was great. Provided all the necessary items. If you are a do it yourself type of person book them. They have you in the water very quickly. Point you in the right direction and your off to explore.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Carlos! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak adventure and for taking the time to leave such an awesome review! We really appreciate the great feedback. Stoked to hear you had such a great experience. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Adam, 2021/12/04

This was a great add on to the end of our trip on Oahu. The kayak rental crew provides you with all the gear and info you need and then sends you on your way. Great way to get out and away from shore and see some of the reefs and that giant sandbar! Definitely recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Adam! That's awesome! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure, and thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review! We really appreciate that. This wonderful feedback means a lot to us. Stoked to hear you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great kayaking experience at iconic spot

Reviewed by: JTA, 2021/12/01

I had rented a tandem kayak rental at this place and they were really great in accommodating our schedule. Originally we were planning to go out on a Saturday, but the weather was not ideal, so we asked if we can reschedule and they did allow us to reschedule for later in the week as a one time exception.

It was a great idea to do that since the following Tuesday we went and the weather was fantastic (sunny and low winds).

The sandbar is about a 30-45 min kayak, and it wasn't rough at all. The scenery is beautiful and it was pretty cool to be standing out on a sandbar that far out from shore. Overall, I would definitely do it again as long as the weather cooperates.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for a kayak and snorkel adventure! And thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review for us! We really appreciate that. I am so glad to hear that things worked out and you were able to come on a different day with better conditions and have a good experience. Hope to see you again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Activity in Oahu!

Reviewed by: Kimberly, 2021/11/22

This was my favorite activity I did in Hawaii on this trip! It’s my third time to visit Oahu and this is by far the best thing I’ve done on the island. The views are incredible, the reefs are beautiful, and you feel like you’re swimming with the fishes when snorkeling. The kayak out to the sandbar is a little bit of a challenge, but not too bad if you take your time and do a tandem kayak. The view from the sandbar is definitely worth the challenge. The guides for this activity were very knowledgeable and helpful, they go over everything with you before you go out into the bay. I will definitely be doing this again! Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kimberly! That is awesome! I am so glad to hear you had such a great experience. And thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review for us. We really appreciate that. Please come back and see us again soon! Mahalo nui loa!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty area

Reviewed by: AJ Black, 2021/10/08

We had fun….but tt was windy and a tough paddle. Snorkeling was a zero. Sandbar was under water. It’s a beautiful place, though. Maybe wait until it is not windy.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!!

Reviewed by: BuNNY, 2021/09/19

Weather was tough. Super workout, but it was an adventure. So much fun! Best birthday morning work out!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you so much for joining us for what sounds like a windy kayak adventure! Thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review and photos too! We really appreciate that. Glad to hear that you had a good adventure and a good workout for your birthday. That's awesome! Happy birthday, thank you again, and hope to see you again soon! Mahalo nui loa!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't take small children.

Reviewed by: Mom of 4, 2021/09/16

We had a party of 6, 2 adults, 14yo, 10 yo, 7yo, and 5 yo. We took 3 tandem kayaks. Wish we could have done 2 since the younger 2 were basically extra weight! The guide did not show good snorkeling so the tedious paddle to the sand bar was not exciting for the family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories